Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Torin Big Red SUV Garage Jack, 3 1/2-Ton, Model# T83014

Torin Big Red SUV Garage Jack, 3 1/2-Ton, Model# T83014

Item# 144885
Quick-pump action to a maximum height. Ideal for SUV and other high-profile vehicles. Meets ASME PALD safety standards. Max. Lift Height in. 21, Safety Valve Yes, Min. Lift Height in. 5 3/4, Lift Capacity tons 3 1/2, Dimensions L x W x H in. 25 x 16 1/2. U-joint release and 39 1/2 in. handle
Average Customer Rating:
3.939 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (33 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
2
27 of 33(82%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Torin Big Red SUV Garage Jack, 3 1/2-Ton, Model# T83014
Review 1 for Torin Big Red SUV Garage Jack, 3 1/2-Ton, Model# T83014
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not so great

,
February 28, 2014
By Dmarms150
from Bethel,mn
"At first look the jack seems indestructible. When I got home and took it out of the box you have to attach the quick lift side lever. In doing so the cheap little bolt securing it broke off. Now it was permanently attached. When using the jack the next morning it didn't fit under a ford escape because even though it's a low pro jack the side attachment doesn't fit under the vehicle unless you pump the jack up lowering the side arm. The deck length is short so not having the side quick lift arm under the vehicle wasn't a option. I guess you could leave the bolt out so you can remove it fast but why have it at all at that point. After returning I couldn't think of a single reason for needing it. Go with the Arcan XL35. Reliable, long high lifting deck, and fits under anything. Lifts a super duty on 35's off the ground."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Torin Big Red SUV Garage Jack, 3 1/2-Ton, Model# T83014
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Make A Good Anchor

,
December 7, 2012
By gfbeef
from Ben Wheeler, Texas
"Purchased this jack back in May of 2012 and had to return the 1st one 5-6 weeks later. The second jack failed the first of December. Would never purchase a Torin Jack again. I realize it is not a top of the line jack but it should last longer then 7 months with very light use. Hope that HT will replace since I do not have the receipt!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Torin Big Red SUV Garage Jack, 3 1/2-Ton, Model# T83014
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Torin's Customer Service

,
November 20, 2012
By WingingIt74
from Waterloo IL
"I bought one of these jacks awhile back locally (not from Northern) and the u-joint that releases the jack pressure broke after 2 uses. I called Torin and was told that since I didn't have a receipt, the part would cost $11 and they do not accept credit cards or personal checks..... what year is this???
I think the jack is good, but I wouldn't suggest to buy one just on Torin's customer service."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Torin Big Red SUV Garage Jack, 3 1/2-Ton, Model# T83014
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big Jack

,
October 15, 2012
By 78horse
from NC
"This jack is more than enough for me! I feel much safer as I crawl under my cars with this jack (and stands). This thing is a beast!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Torin Big Red SUV Garage Jack, 3 1/2-Ton, Model# T83014
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Dependable Jack

,
August 13, 2012
By Varmithunter
from South Georgia
"This jack has performed great for me over the past six years. I have not had a lick of trouble out of it and I like that it will go up to 21 inches."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Torin Big Red SUV Garage Jack, 3 1/2-Ton, Model# T83014
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Floor Jack

,
August 13, 2012
By RP76
from Roswell, NM
"A great jack for the occasional user. Not heavy duty enough for a real tire shop, but for our little shop it works great."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Torin Big Red SUV Garage Jack, 3 1/2-Ton, Model# T83014
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

,
January 16, 2012
By Emmons
from Rialto, CA
"This floor jack works great....I bought it because I own to older cars a 65 plymouth and a 39 buick, I needed a jack that could handle both, this one is a perfect fit for what I needed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Torin Big Red SUV Garage Jack, 3 1/2-Ton, Model# T83014
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value and performance

,
January 16, 2012
By BizOwner
from Raleigh, NC
"I bought this to avoid having to go to the dealer to get my 2 Dodge Sprinter 2500 High-top vans serviced. Regular shops do not have the headroom for the height clearance you need to raise up one of these. It more than paid for itself on the first oil change and tire rotation. Easily lifted the entire side of the vans or either end. The raised height is great and it is still low enough to get under a regular passenger car."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Torin Big Red SUV Garage Jack, 3 1/2-Ton, Model# T83014
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Product

,
January 9, 2012
By Sherrill
from Austin, Texas
"This jack is heavy-duty enough to handle any vehicle we own. I like the sturdiness of it and it really moves well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Torin Big Red SUV Garage Jack, 3 1/2-Ton, Model# T83014
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

decent

,
June 13, 2011
By dbefrd
from dallas, tx
"I bought this jack to do work on our pickup and yukon. I picked this one for several reasons, higher lift than most and reasonably priced. So far its done just fine, but the foot petal feature which is nice, seems to slip and doesnt grip the post very well its bolted to. Overall not bad I expect to get a few years out of it but looking at the qaulity when it dies I'll move up the qaulity scale next time."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Torin Big Red SUV Garage Jack, 3 1/2-Ton, Model# T83014
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Torin Big Red SUV Floor Jack

,
June 10, 2011
By weekendmechanics
from Cos Cob, CT
"Purchased this item to use for personal use. I was very happy with the quality of the product. It is very easy to use and very sturdy. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone that is looking for this type of tool. My son and I use the jack on our older vehicles and we use it often. My son is a shop mechanic and like this better than what he has at work. Great product."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Torin Big Red SUV Garage Jack, 3 1/2-Ton, Model# T83014
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

torin 3.5 ton jack

,
March 23, 2011
By pjhduramax
"This is a good jack works very well.Just a little slow jacking up a car but works well. Well construsted except could have better wheels on it.Other than that good jack for the price."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Torin Big Red SUV Garage Jack, 3 1/2-Ton, Model# T83014
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

poor quality

,
March 22, 2011
By jimbo12
"I use the jack once in a while to rotate tires. After 3 or 4 rotations over a year and a half it started leaking fluid. I didn't notice it until after the one year warranty period had expired. I'm on my own to find a place to service it. I guess I'll just have to buy another one.... Not very happy with my choice.... Wish I had spent more money on a jack made in the USA or Europe."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Torin Big Red SUV Garage Jack, 3 1/2-Ton, Model# T83014
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Jack

,
August 26, 2010
By kord
from Dallas
"Great jack for picking up four wheel drives when others are just too short"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Torin Big Red SUV Garage Jack, 3 1/2-Ton, Model# T83014
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Convenient

,
August 23, 2010
By FarmerH
from Charleston, SC
"We have 2 of these jacks and have found them to be reliable and convenient. I espeially like the lift pedal since we have mostly use them on pickup trucks. This makes the job go faster. The only concern I have about them is that they are quite heavy and sometimes we need to take them out of the shop and use them elsewhere. They are not too heavy to move though and the lightweight jacks are more expensive and do not have the lift pedal feature."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Torin Big Red SUV Garage Jack, 3 1/2-Ton, Model# T83014
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works as expected

,
May 31, 2010
By finnfur
from VA
"Initially bought this to move a vault . I chose it because it had heavy construction and wheels . We needed to wheel the vault about 15 feet to put it up on a ledge. Worked as expected and now I use it on the farm to lift tractor and machinery.
This has the muscle for tough jobs but its not good for low profile needs.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Torin Big Red SUV Garage Jack, 3 1/2-Ton, Model# T83014
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Heavy Duty

,
February 25, 2010
By jeepmkcomin
from NC
"I received this as a gift the past christmas. It works and it works very well. My only complaint (reasoning for 4 stars) is that the foot pedal feels a little loose even though it has been tightened and the pedal doesn't quite lift it all the way (which in reality is okay). The pedal itself is a nice feature though and the jack has great lifting power. I have used it on tractors, a chevy pickup truck, and a jeep so far."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Torin Big Red SUV Garage Jack, 3 1/2-Ton, Model# T83014
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Torin Big Red SUV floor jack

,
February 22, 2010
By Lesterthetester
from Punta Gorda , Fl
"This floor jack works great on all my vehicles from my small Kia Optima, Sedona minivan & my dodge 2500 ram pickup. It is also easy to use on my boat trailer and travel trailer. I've had no problems with this jack and it's easy to use."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Torin Big Red SUV Garage Jack, 3 1/2-Ton, Model# T83014
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Torin Big Red Floor Jack

,
February 22, 2010
By greg98087
from Lynnwood, Wa. Land of much rain and moss.
"I have been using this without any problems lifting my F150 4x4 and my
VW Touareg which weighs as much as the truck. The only problem I have
is when jacking my old Oldsmobile. I need to remove the foot pedal to
get to the jacking points. Not much of a nuisance for the price.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Torin Big Red SUV Garage Jack, 3 1/2-Ton, Model# T83014
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Life Saver

,
February 22, 2010
By JDBART
from Illinois
"I do alot of Tractor work and normally have to add wooden blocks to the floor jack in order to get the highth that I need. With the Torin Big Red I don't have to do this which makes my workl much safer. Excellent Product."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.