Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Auto Body Shaping Kit - 7-Pc. Set

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Northern Industrial Auto Body Shaping Kit - 7-Pc. Set

Item# 144972
Fiberglass handles on pick hammer, finish hammer and body hammer. Plus 4 dollies, including a double-end hand, utility, curved and bumper dolly. All contained in a convenient carrying case.
Average Customer Rating:
4.467 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (15 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 of 15(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Auto Body Shaping Kit - 7-Pc. Set
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Auto Body Shaping Kit - 7-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

A good starter set

,
April 26, 2013
By zombieprepared
from Largo, Florida
"If you're looking to get into the auto body re-shaping or repair business, this is a good set to start with. A variety of hammers and other tools to help shape and form. I like that the handles on these have a nice non-slip grip and the fiberglass gives good reverb when wacked on a panel. Comes with a nice plastic case so everything stays together."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Auto Body Shaping Kit - 7-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Hammer set.

,
August 13, 2012
By Madhater
from Gardner, MA
"Bought these for my son when his where stolen.
Except for the yellow color he loves them.
Says there just as good as he expensive ones where.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Auto Body Shaping Kit - 7-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great set for the price

,
March 14, 2011
By kah151
from ohio
"I am a begginer at body work and compared to other sets I have looked at in this price ranger this is a great set"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Auto Body Shaping Kit - 7-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

It is a good starter set of hammers and dollies

,
November 22, 2010
By StevefronOhio
from Cleveland, Ohio
"I needed a set of hammers and dollies for a project I am doing. A while back my garage was broken into and my tool cabinet and all my tools were stolen. So I am in the process of replacing some of the tools.
The old set of dollies I had were from Germany and were excellent. Not sure of the brand name but they were given to me by a friend who passed away.
He also gave me a set of Martin body hammers. So this kit had some big shoes to fill.
Took three days for the kit to arrive.
The case came split at the corners from shipping damage but that was OK as I have a plastic welder that I was able to fix the case.
The hammers are good but they have a fiberglass handle and I prefer the wood handles because they have a better feel. For fiberglass handled body hammers though, they have a really good feel to them. Much better than some of the other fiberglassed handled hammers I have tried. This kit comes with three hammers. They are pretty well balanced. The crown on the bumping hammer I felt needed to be a bit more so I fixed that by grinding. Overall I would give the hammers a two thumbs up but not 5 stars...maybe 4.25 stars.
The dollies are OK too. They are not really super smoooth as I like them to be but for the price, they are not too bad. I was able to finish off the faces and they were good. The kit comes with three dollies.
The faces of the hammers and dollies need to be finished off because they are a bit rough. I prefer a really smooth face on body tools. The smoother the better. So I put them on the sander and got them mirror smooth.
Overall I would give the whole body kit 4.5 stars. Not 5 because the case was cracked and the faces are a bit rough. The hammers feel pretty good for fiberglass and the dollies are not really big and not really small. A good compromise on size.
I would recommend this body kit for anyone who is starting out or just needs to fix a few dents and dings. A pro might have issues. This kit is made in China."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Auto Body Shaping Kit - 7-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hammer Set

,
September 1, 2010
By Dirty30
from TX
"Im a first timer at dolley and hammer use but this set has made me feel like a professional! I bought it just to experiment and get the feel so i could practice my technique and later on buy an expensive set but with the way these worked for me there is no need!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Auto Body Shaping Kit - 7-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Northern Industrial Auto Body Shaping Kit — 7-Pc.

,
May 26, 2010
By Wideopen
from Senoia Georgia
"They are not the heavy weights that other people have and I like that! These days you don't need a lot of excess weight to do the job. I like the case it comes in also!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Auto Body Shaping Kit - 7-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handy Set

,
July 13, 2009
By digruprguy
from Owls Head, ME
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I've had expensive body tools and these are every bit as good as ones I spent three times as much on. I don't do a lot of body work any more just stuff on mine and my families vehicles so I don't need the best but I wouldn't hesitate to buy these to use them in a professional shop. If I can't break then neither can you. The dollies seem to hold up well to tapping that usually flattens them if they are not hardened correctly so they must be good steel and the hammers are comfortable to hold and fit into close areas well. I recommend them."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Auto Body Shaping Kit - 7-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Durable and a good deal for the money.

,
March 23, 2009
By pktzygt
from Kittery, ME
"This kit is obviously not a professional kit, but seems durable enough to last a long while. I purchased this particular product over others based on the reviews of durability and price and it does not disappoint so far.
I didn't give this 5 stars because the dollies looked as if the edges had been ground smoothly, but not polished afterward. It shouldn't make a difference in performance of the product, but shows the difference between it and a more expensive kit."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Auto Body Shaping Kit - 7-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Northern Industrial Tools Auto Body Shaping Kit

,
November 17, 2008
By Cortez
from Arkansas
"Received my Northern Industrial Tools Auto Body Shaping Kit about a month ago. All items were as advertised and arrived on timely basis. Since then have used tools on 3 small projects. Could not have finished the projects without the tools.
I would recommend to anyone who is not needing body tools as a profession."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Auto Body Shaping Kit - 7-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Tools

,
August 11, 2008
By Crohnos01
from Battle Ground, WA
"I bought these hammers along with the Stud Gun (item 164564) to do a restoration on a 1980 Jeep J10 Pickup. The hammers and anvils are well made, and work really well. They have a nice balance and feel to them. Excellent buy at the price offered."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Auto Body Shaping Kit - 7-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reliable Tools

,
January 14, 2008
By Retnuh
from DeKalb, IL
"The hammers are strong and durable. The handles can hold up and the hammer heads do not become damaged from doing the job they are designed to do. This product definitely receives 5 stars."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Auto Body Shaping Kit - 7-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great buy for the price !

,
October 15, 2007
By Laturno
from Prospect, CT.
"The tools do not feel "cheap" and I've already successfully given them a workout. Great for the at home "I can handle that" type of person."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Auto Body Shaping Kit - 7-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

panel shaping kit

,
July 9, 2007
By smith
from canada
"Good for the price, hammers will need a touch up on the grinder to even out the tips."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Auto Body Shaping Kit - 7-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Auto Body Shaping Tools

,
July 9, 2007
By Albob
from Philidelphia,Pa
"I bought this kit to fix dents in the skins of Helicopters.We have a hard time getting the right tool for the job and these fit all the needs we have and I am looking forward to using these tools.I made shop aids and bought individual tools in the past and now we have to be more accountable for all tools at the end of the shift and with this kit there will be no chance of tools left on the aircraft. Thanx.."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Auto Body Shaping Kit - 7-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome value!

,
April 14, 2007
By lillycompany
from lavergne,TN
"this set is a great value.other sets of comparison sell for $150.00 or more.thank you for northern tool!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.