Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Tire/Wheel - 26in., Spoked

Northern Industrial Tools Tire/Wheel - 26in., Spoked

Item# 145123
Pneumatic tire on wheel can be used to build your own cart, replace wheels on your existing cart or in a variety of different ways. It has a weight rating of 300 lbs. 3/4in. dia. bearing. Spoke Diameter 1/8in. Tread Type Knobby, Tire Size in. 26 x 2 1/8, Tire Type Pneumatic, Hub Width in. 4 1/2, Load Capacity lbs. 300, Outside Diameter in. 26, Rim Type Spoked, Bearings Included Yes, Bore Diameter in. 3/4. Sturdy spoked wheel handles the roughest terrain Heavy-duty 300-lb. load capacity
Average Customer Rating:
4.65 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (40 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
0
39 of 40(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Tire/Wheel - 26in., Spoked
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Tools Tire/Wheel - 26in., Spoked
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

These tires are rock solid

,
August 13, 2012
By MrMeker
from Eureka, California
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I used four of these tires on a kinetic sculpture that our school built. They served us well over 42 miles of pavement, sand, and bay. They took a hammering. Our sculpture weighed 600lbs with both drivers, their camping gear, art, and pontoons. About two thirds of the way through the race, we got a flat. It turns out that bike tubes are too small to work on these tires, so we ran flat for 5 miles of pavement. These tires are the best we have used. They are used by many racers besides us. The bearings can be found at any hardware store and the tires can really take a beating. In the end, we raised a bunch of money for charity and we'll be coming back for more tires."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Tools Tire/Wheel - 26in., Spoked
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for Soap Box Racing!

,
May 23, 2012
By Oren
from Atlanta, GA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Bought these for a crazy soapbox race where I built a rolling mashtun that had to make it over a 16 inch jump. All 350lbs of myself and the cart made it over the jump at nearly 30 mph because of these wheels. I did change out the tubes and tires for speed. Added some high pressure tubes and slick tires to improve rolling resistance. Check out the pic to see it in action. We ended up winning the race and I owe it all these wheels!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Tools Tire/Wheel - 26in., Spoked
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

A great little wheel - for the price

,
February 15, 2010
By phidauex
from Boulder, CO
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"These wheels a real bargain - 3/4" axle shaft, steel spokes, and comes with a tube and tire, for half what you'll pay anywhere else. I've used these to make garden carts and even a sales kiosk on our walking mall here in Boulder. Very easy to work with.
Keep in mind that these are cheap wheels, though. I highly recommend removing the tube and tire before use, making sure no spokes are pushing through the rim strip, and then reseating the tube and tire to make sure they inflate properly the first time.
Don't plan on using them with brakes - the steel rims would technically work with some rim brakes, but NOT very effectively.
They are heavy as sin - not at all like a bike wheel! The bearings are a little shakey as well, I wouldn't put this on anything going over 5-10mph.
But, for what they are best for, utility carts and whatnot, they are a great value."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Tools Tire/Wheel - 26in., Spoked
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Wheel

,
July 25, 2009
By agrarian
from Perkasie, PA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"When I built my Whizbang Garden Cart, it was recommend that I purchase my wheels from NorthernTool. I was impressed with how sturdy and well-made the wheels were. And at a great price too!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Tools Tire/Wheel - 26in., Spoked
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

wheels that work

,
July 20, 2009
By showman
from Wisconsin
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I built a rickshaw that we needed for a show our community theater was doing.
I purchased some cheap wooden wheels from a local farm store. I decided to give my wife a test ride to make sure there wouldn't be any problems. That turned out to be a "back to the drawing board" moment. After picking her off the ground and promising to take her out for dinner , I ordered the Northern Wheels. They worked great and now that the show is over, I am going to modify the rickshaw so that I can pull it with a 4 wheeler. I think the wheels will be tough enough to take the abuse. Getting my wife back in the rickshaw however, may turn out to ba a problem.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Tools Tire/Wheel - 26in., Spoked
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

over priced

,
July 11, 2014
By Haybail
from Missouri
"Even on sale this wheel is over priced. You can get an old bicycle wheel to do the same thing."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-4points
0out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Tools Tire/Wheel - 26in., Spoked
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Tires

,
July 10, 2014
By SteadiRye
from Vancouver
"Great shipping and great price on great tires. Just great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Tools Tire/Wheel - 26in., Spoked
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
June 7, 2014
By John2020
from NEW YORK
"Searched for a long time for a nice quality wheel that could support a decent amount of weight for a project I was working on. I don't usually purchase from anything except amazon, but they didn't have anything that would work for me. This was perfect. Arrived ahead of schedule, packaged very well and made of high quality materials."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Tools Tire/Wheel - 26in., Spoked
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

sneakers with rims

,
May 26, 2014
By Williealso
from Belgrade, Me
"I was giving the garden cart but needed new tires and rims. Northern Tools had what I needed, ordered them, few days later received them and now the cart is back to work.
I was going to give it a 5 but after refusing my nick name because some one else has the same nickname. There are thousands of people in this world with same nickname but this company does know that I guess."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
-7points
0out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Tools Tire/Wheel - 26in., Spoked
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Duarable and hard to find

,
October 8, 2012
By KW09
from portland, OR
"These wheels are really hard to find for such a popular size and for industrial uses. This particular tire i have had very good luck with. I have bought 7-8 of these now and only had one where the spokes came loose which was ultimately a result of my "testing out the wheel" and putting too much weight on it. This is the best wheel you can find for you outdoor, industrial, and home project uses."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
13out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Tools Tire/Wheel - 26in., Spoked
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Cart Wheels for the Money

,
October 8, 2012
By Enegnod
from Monroe, LA
"Needing new tires for my cart, which had badly rusted wheels, I chose to replace both with these as the price was not that much greater than tires and tubes alone. It was quite easy to replace the old wheels by simply removing cotter pins and exchanging wheels. Now I have a like new cart that rolls and works like new !"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Tools Tire/Wheel - 26in., Spoked
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice wheel

,
August 13, 2012
By KAHNMAN805
from California
"This tire and wheel was a nice replacement for my garden cart, fit on with no modifications."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Tools Tire/Wheel - 26in., Spoked
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid

,
May 14, 2012
By Deceiver
from Maine
"I have a garden cart I made long ago and put bicycle wheels on it. The wheels eventually warped and wobbled. I ordered two of these, bought some 3/4" threaded rod and put these on. This cart is large and heavy. It hauls rocks and dirt. Takes the place of my wheel barrow. These wheels are very well made and very rugged. The spokes are thick. It looks like a bike wheel but when you see it you would never use it on a bike. No Issues. They roll and take the load and do the job. Very satisfied with them."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Tools Tire/Wheel - 26in., Spoked
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

26 inch spoked wheel review

,
May 7, 2012
By rexiup
from Central IL
"Excellent product. Using it to build a Whizbang garden cart."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Tools Tire/Wheel - 26in., Spoked
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

26" Spoked Wheel Worked Perfectly

,
April 9, 2012
By Insagor
from hartford, wi
"My wife purchased a garden cart from years ago. The wheels are made in China and the tires are impossible to find replacements for. I finally gave up and purchases a set of these 26" spoked wheels. These are heavy duty rims with what I would call real tires and tubes, with the ability to replace without having to hunt. For those with the same type of garden cart the only catch you will have to work with is to make sure you have a true 3/4" axle. The axle on the cart we have is metric so it just took some sanding to get it down to the correct diameter, which wasn't a big deal. The hubs on these wheels are also slightly wider, which is a nice thing to add to the stability but one thing to look at when taking measurements. My overall axle width (or length) did not have to be changed. I received the wheels within a week without issue. They are packaged without being inflated, which is what I expected. As these are fairly wide rims, when first inflating, make sure that you get the valve stem straight and help the tire to seat on the rim or you will get a bulge and need to deflate the tube and start again. This is nothing that you shouldn't be aware of on any other tire/tube. Very nice rims, my wife is very pleased to have her cart back together."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Tools Tire/Wheel - 26in., Spoked
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT DEAL FOR A TIRE & RIM

,
January 16, 2012
By RAZMAN
from Watertown,NY
"I purchased four wheels for a buggie i'm building. I have tested them and they have worked out just fine. For the quilty and price you can't go wrong. Great product."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Northern Industrial Tools Tire/Wheel - 26in., Spoked
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good sturdy tire

,
October 17, 2011
By aaronp
from glastonbury,ct
"good tire for the money,only issue I had was i had to slightly file down my axel, as this one was a hair smaller in diameter."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
Razman21
Watertown, NY 
 
Please wait while more information about Razman21 is loaded.
Additional information about Razman21 could not be loaded.
Great Deal & Great product
October 15, 2012
"I have purchase about 8 of them and they are a great deal and it's a great product."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Northern Industrial Tools Tire/Wheel - 26in., Spoked
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

strong, sturdy, heavy

,
October 10, 2011
By Cwolf88
from Williamsburg
"I rebuilt a garden cart that was the worse for wear after being outside for years.
One problem with plastic wheels is they won't take a lateral load. So a cart full of dirt sideways on a hill would fold the wheels.
These wheels are strong.
They'd be perfect if they were stainless steel. I had them powder coated. Otherwise, they'll rust fast."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Northern Industrial Tools Tire/Wheel - 26in., Spoked
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Useful Wheel

,
June 13, 2011
By PeterWB
from Dover, NH
"I bought a set of these ten years ago to make a garden cart, and bought a second set about five years ago to make a second cart. The fact that they are 26" makes it possible for them to go over a lot of bumps easily. Both sets are still going strong, despite the fact that I leave them exposed to the weather alot. The older one showing a bit of rust, but still works very well and handles a cartload of compost easily."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Northern Industrial Tools Tire/Wheel - 26in., Spoked
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Wheels

,
March 20, 2011
By stillfree
from Pennsylvania
"these wheels are very sturdy and well built. I like them so much I got 2 sets. They work on my carts I built, even on the roughest ground and almost any load I haul."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.