Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "Torin Hydraulic Shop Press - 20-Ton, Model# T52001B"

"Torin Hydraulic Shop Press - 20-Ton, Model# T52001B"

Item# 145220
"Heavy-duty H-frame has a 20-ton hydraulic bottle jack. Great for straightening, stamping, bending and bearing work. Stroke Length in. 6 1/3, Working Range in. 0-39 1/3, Continuous Force Tons 20, Dimensions L x W x H in. 25 7/8 x 29 1/2 x 59 7/8, Bed Opening in. 25 1/2. Bed 25 1/2in. Double return springs"
Average Customer Rating:
4.385 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (13 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
12 of 13(92%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Torin Hydraulic Shop Press - 20-Ton, Model# T52001B"
Review 1 for "Torin Hydraulic Shop Press - 20-Ton, Model# T52001B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good bang for the buck!

,
October 29, 2014
By kt62
from vermont
" Bought this for pressing front wheel drive hubs and bearings. Assembly was easy and quick. Finish was in great shape after shipping. This size is great for the do it yourselfer and small repair shop. The price was good too. My only complaint is the small puck that goes into the craddle that does the contact for pushing should be held in by a detent ball or something so you dont have to hold it in all the time. Other then that it worked great. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Torin Hydraulic Shop Press - 20-Ton, Model# T52001B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

20 ton press

,
February 4, 2014
By hard2please
from Fredericktown, MO
" This is what every shop needs, I use it all of the time. Pressing bearing on and off, works great for cvc joints, and u-joints, you can use it to bend pipe and so many more things. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Torin Hydraulic Shop Press - 20-Ton, Model# T52001B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

20 press

,
February 4, 2014
By jughead252
from elizabeth city nc
" we own a little motorcycle shop and the press works great, we use it in the shop daily. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Torin Hydraulic Shop Press - 20-Ton, Model# T52001B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

20 Ton Press

,
April 24, 2013
By JMTX
from San Antonio, TX
" This is adequate for the price. It needs a little fine tuning but works quite well. It was easy to assemble and had it working within 30 minutes. The fit and finish could be a little better but overall its a good piece of equipment. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
10out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Torin Hydraulic Shop Press - 20-Ton, Model# T52001B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great press

,
June 1, 2010
By dscsuperf
from Wisconsin
" This is a great buy. I have used cheaper models and brands of presses before, and have found them to be welded out of square. This machine in particular is of higher quality, and works flawlessly in my shop. It is a must have tool for any automobile mechanic. I also fabricate dies and punches that are used with this puch, and work great. I would reccomend this to anyone looking for a quality product at an affordable price. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Torin Hydraulic Shop Press - 20-Ton, Model# T52001B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

well built

,
April 21, 2008
By rbashley
from Charleston, SC
" I bought this press mostly for straightening. I've been using it for about a year and my only compaint is that the paint is chipping off. (a little spray paint and it was back to new) It's well build and heavy enough that I'm not too worried about it tipping over on me. It's easy to use and adjust. I've had to make some specialty "parts" for it to do all that I need it to, but that's to be expected. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Torin Hydraulic Shop Press - 20-Ton, Model# T52001B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great press

,
March 19, 2008
By buck33
from va
" saved me good money on price and use. works great and the price is much better than the local machine shop would charge. highly recommend. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Torin Hydraulic Shop Press - 20-Ton, Model# T52001B"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not Recommended

,
March 19, 2008
By PatF
from Cincinnati, OH
" After two jobs, the frame is totally bent out of shape. The frame is not designed to withstand the force exerted by the bottle jack. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
15out of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Torin Hydraulic Shop Press - 20-Ton, Model# T52001B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

,
January 21, 2008
By DrSathome
from Nevada
" I needed something to help me press pomegranates after a great harvest. I tried constructing my own press but it broke after the first use. The construction of this press is perfect for the job and also for the other jobs it can do as a normal press.
If you need a strong, well-built hydraulic press, this one is great and a good deal as well, especially when it goes on sale.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Torin Hydraulic Shop Press - 20-Ton, Model# T52001B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great for price

,
January 21, 2008
By willbur
from nc
" good heavy press solid construction. Only complaint is brace between bottom of legs does not fit. Otherwise seems to be as good as higher priced brands. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Torin Hydraulic Shop Press - 20-Ton, Model# T52001B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great 20Ton Press

,
October 8, 2007
By gdurso
from Leicester, MA
" I ordered the press a few months ago. I do car restoration. Needed to remove bushings from suspension parts I'm replacing. This press is basic but I was easily able to remove about 90% of the bushings. the last 10% will probably require some creativity on my part. Would definitely recommend this to a friend. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Torin Hydraulic Shop Press - 20-Ton, Model# T52001B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pressing Issues

,
July 19, 2007
By TommyA
from McDonough, Ga
" Most of the pressing jobs I need a press for are more than covered by this tools size. Small enough to fit into just about any corner of your shop and short enough you may want to add casters for portability. The capacity of 20-tons is well suited for a majority of my mechanic repair shop needs. You won't be disappointed. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Torin Hydraulic Shop Press - 20-Ton, Model# T52001B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shop Press

,
July 10, 2007
By Jumbo
from Emporium, PA
" I have not found any problems with the design or quality of this press. A good tool for the price. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.