Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Engine Equalizer - 1250-Lb. Capacity

Northern Industrial Engine Equalizer - 1250-Lb. Capacity

Item# 145504
Includes two 10in. chains. Capacity lbs. 1,250, Chain Length in. 10.
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (8 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
5 of 8(62%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Engine Equalizer - 1250-Lb. Capacity
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Engine Equalizer - 1250-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Way did I weight ????

,
October 8, 2012
By ledfoot
from Saint Marys GA.
"I have worked on engines on and off for 50+ years and never thought I needed this to get the engines out and back in. Yes it can be done. But, This makes it so much better . This was priced at a fair price ."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Engine Equalizer - 1250-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

OK but not great.

,
September 3, 2010
By Shaymus
from Oakland, CA
"This did the trick and it was cheap. However, this was basically a one time use tool. My expectations may have been too high, and this was the first time I have used one of these engine levelers. However, My main issue is that I got the impression that you would easily be able to adjust the balance point of the engine under load to maneuver the engine out of a car. This was not the case. Once there was a load on the engine, there was too much friction on the mounting point to allow it to move when cranking the handle. It was OK to center the load prior to putting a load on the hoist but that was it. Next time, I would opt for a design that allowed the load of the engine to be on a roller to allow the balance point to be adjusted and to maneuver the engine out of the bay easier."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Engine Equalizer - 1250-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked perfectly

,
June 7, 2009
By Fordengineman
"I used this unit to pull and reinstall a 4.0 liter engine WITH the transmission attached, in a Ford Explorer. In order to be pulled the assembly must be rotated bit by bit to an angle of about 45 degrees. This unit handled the job perfectly. I couldn't imagine installing this engine without this unit or something similar.
A little grease on the surfaces that take the end thrust of the screw made it very easy to crank while under load. An expensive geared load rotor it's not. But for the money, I haven't seen anything else. This thing really does the job."
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Engine Equalizer - 1250-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad

,
November 18, 2008
By impalass396
from Texas
"I ended up using a seat belt strap to pull and install a V-6 in a 2000 Explorer. This product was useless, for this application. It may work better on a larger engine."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Engine Equalizer - 1250-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

works good

,
January 14, 2008
By Bnewyork
from NY
"i must say my order arrived quick. The product is great the attachment chains could be longer. I replaced my chevy 350 in a 1/2 ton truck and had to buy longer chain to reach. But it still worked great!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Engine Equalizer - 1250-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor Design

,
March 8, 2007
By BigJohn
from CT
"Very dissapointed. I would have prefered to pay a few dollars more and had a bearing at each end or even just a non-threaded portion of the rod passing through steel bushings. I would also like to see the crank able to be removed an placed on the oposite side. The crank handel knob also winds itself off as you change engine positions. The design of this product is an embaresment to the art of engineering."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Engine Equalizer - 1250-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Engine Equalizer

,
March 6, 2007
By AZ85346
from California
"Well-built and works well. A good value for your money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Engine Equalizer - 1250-Lb. Capacity
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disapointed

,
November 16, 2006
By goodybl
from Illinois
"I was very disapointed with the engine equalizer. I think for the price each end should have a bearing in it. When you are trying to change the load the way it is it is almost impossible to crank it with the bolt rubbing on both ends."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.