Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Press Brake For 40-Ton Shop Press - 29in. Length

Press Brake For 40-Ton Shop Press - 29in. Length

Item# 145532
This Press Brake turns your 40-ton H-press into a metal bender. Fits Item# 14591 shop press and many others. Gray. Application Steel, aluminum, Bending Brake Yes, Dimensions L x W x H in. 29 x 7 x 8 1/8, Max Bending Radius deg. 90, Max. Bending Capacity - Flat in. 1/2, Max. Lift Height in. 2 1/8. Bends steel @ 90 degrees 1/8in. x 26in., 3/16in. x 22in., 1/4in. x 10in., 1/2in. x 4in. Bends 100in. aluminum up to 26in. wide
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
8 of 8(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Press Brake For 40-Ton Shop Press - 29in. Length
Review 1 for Press Brake For 40-Ton Shop Press - 29in. Length
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

40 ton press brake

,
September 18, 2013
By jim42
from western colorado
"I use this bender with a 50 ton press to bend 8 gauge stainless steel. I have had good results with no problems. I did leave the retaining clips off of the guides so the bar will lift off to make it easy to remove the bent piece."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Press Brake For 40-Ton Shop Press - 29in. Length
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not what I had expected

,
July 10, 2011
By metalmaker
from Athens, TX
"Built heavily. Does well with light material. Does not press evenly on both sides so pieces do not bend the same across the length of the press. The plunger does not come back up on it's own. I have to pry it back up. Also, the opening for the work piece is very small making it quite difficult to manuever material in and out, especially when it does not recover easily."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Press Brake For 40-Ton Shop Press - 29in. Length
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Make your own car parts for your restoration

,
June 2, 2010
By mlbitting
from Annapolis, MD
"Several months ago I bought the Press Brake so that I could make my own car parts. When you are doing a restoration on an old vehicle many of the parts are rusted or unavailable. With this tool you can buy inexpensive stock steel, aluminum or other metal and make your own replacement brackets, etc. And if you are working on a Street Rod and need specially shaped brackets or other parts to fit your application you can custom build these parts for the price of bar stock. Quit going to a custom fabricator and paying more for one custom part than the price of the Press Brake!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Press Brake For 40-Ton Shop Press - 29in. Length
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product for a small 4x4 fabrication shop

,
June 1, 2010
By augie5
from Denver, CO
"I purchased the NorthStar Press Brake over a year ago to bend some 11 gauge Aluminum for the body of a 4x4 Tube Buggy. The quality of this Brake is great and it works flawlessly. I have bent 1/4" steel to make suspension brackets for all my Rock Crawlers and even bent up new fenders for my trailer.
This has become a valuable tool for my shop.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Press Brake For 40-Ton Shop Press - 29in. Length
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great!

,
July 20, 2009
By Smokeydog
from East Tennessee
"I have really used this much more than I thought I would. Have custom made a lot parts, handles and brackets. Very durable and has not shown any wear."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Press Brake For 40-Ton Shop Press - 29in. Length
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

BENDER

,
April 17, 2008
By deere1207
from west central iowa
"THE BRAKE IS WELL BUILT WITH HEAVY METAL PARTS. I HAVE ONLY USED IT TWICE BUT WORKS NICE AND ACCURATE. THEONLY THING I COULD SEE THAT WOULD BE AN IMPROVEMENT WOULD BE TO HAVE LONGER SLIDE SHAFTS AND SPRINGS SO YOU COULD OPEN THE JAWS FURTHER AFTER THE BENDS ARE MADE TO REMOVE YOUR MATERIALS."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Press Brake For 40-Ton Shop Press - 29in. Length
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for low volume production

,
September 19, 2007
By Ajay
from Miami, FL
"The brake works well with the shop press. We are able to bend plates for low volume production parts with no problems or concerns from the brake."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Press Brake For 40-Ton Shop Press - 29in. Length
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

clean, straight, accurate bend, every time

,
July 19, 2007
By farmerwannabee
from Rural Pennsylvania
"Yesterday, when I was forming a complex part for an antique grain binder, I again realized how much I've come to depend on my press brake. It is the perfect companion to my 40 ton Arcan shop press. I've formed everything from 1/2 X 3" steel bar for trailer hitches to .060" aluminum for a box cover. It has never let me down, has required no maintenance, and always produces a straight bend with the desired angle.
This brake went right to work for me and has never caused me to have a second thought. I'd recommend it to anyone with a hydraulic press big enough to use it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.