Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Torin Big Red Heavy-Duty Shop Seat with Cup Holder, Model# TR6340

Torin Big Red Heavy-Duty Shop Seat with Cup Holder, Model# TR6340

Item# 1456609
The Torin heavy-duty shop seat with cup holder features a chrome-plated steel frame with a high-density foam seat. Capacity lbs. 400, Caster Size in. 3, Caster Type Swivel, Dimensions W x H in. 16 1/8 x 17 11/16, Height Range in. 17 11/16, Material Chrome-plated steel frame w/foam seat.
Average Customer Rating:
4.79 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (19 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 of 19(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for Torin Big Red Heavy-Duty Shop Seat with Cup Holder, Model# TR6340
Review 1 for Torin Big Red Heavy-Duty Shop Seat with Cup Holder, Model# TR6340
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice product

,
September 19, 2014
By Macsporty
from Gettysburg, PA
"Very sturdy and maneuverable seat. Great design and comfortable to use."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Torin Big Red Heavy-Duty Shop Seat with Cup Holder, Model# TR6340
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice enough...

,
September 18, 2014
By HalfJack
from St Louis, MO
"This is a pretty comfortable and sturdy seat. I really bought it for the cup holder, but surprisingly, I have not used it at all. The assembly is where I dock it. If you follow the instructions by not securing all fasteners until the end, you end up blocking one of the screws. Instead of disassembling, I just took wire snips and cut out a spot in the tray so I could secure the bottom part of the frame. Now, it looks a bit jacked up, but since it is in my garage... Meh, who cares..."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Torin Big Red Heavy-Duty Shop Seat with Cup Holder, Model# TR6340
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great piece of equipment

,
August 6, 2014
By ET42
from North Carolina
"Very heavy duty. Strong construction. Easy to assemble. Sturdy casters. Great Price."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Torin Big Red Heavy-Duty Shop Seat with Cup Holder, Model# TR6340
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

made very good

,
May 26, 2014
By vikes
from glendale az
"use it alot. its made very good. its strong, has big wheels to roll easy. lots of padding in the seat. glad I got it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Torin Big Red Heavy-Duty Shop Seat with Cup Holder, Model# TR6340
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

surprisingly stout seat

,
April 23, 2013
By hobbycarsathome
from SE TX
"I bought this for my home use. It was easy to assemble and very stout. Heavy gauge metal, steel reinforcements under the seat and heavy duty wheels. I have a little doubt about the durability of the plastic trays but it still gets a 5 in my book because of the price point."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Torin Big Red Heavy-Duty Shop Seat with Cup Holder, Model# TR6340
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best all around way to work on most anything

,
April 23, 2013
By CHSAWPNER
from Gallatin, TN
"I purchased this Heavy Duty Shop Seat to use mainly for working on computer systems. Instead of having to kneel down on my knees the Shop Seat is low enough for me to work on the computers sitting down. That is great but on top of that if I need to put brakes on my car it does double duty. Very durable and the tray and cup holder make it even better. I would recommend this to anyone that needs a comfortable way to work on things at a low level."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Torin Big Red Heavy-Duty Shop Seat with Cup Holder, Model# TR6340
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really Heavy Duty

,
April 23, 2013
By canon
from Kansas City, MO
"This has been great to scoot around and work and projects. I am big guy and this handles me just fine!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Torin Big Red Heavy-Duty Shop Seat with Cup Holder, Model# TR6340
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well built, nice casters

,
December 11, 2012
By BigBikerDude
from Orlando, FL
"I got one of these a year ago and it's survived a lot of use & abuse. I'm 270lbs and the seat has not had a problem. I use this rolling around the garage working on my motorcycles and the casters roll over cracks, cords, doorways and things pretty well.
I haven't had a problem throwing ratchets & screwdrivers in the plastic tray. It hasn't cracked or anything.
I just bought & put together a second one as a christmas gift. It goes together well too, with readable english instructions and no misaligned holes. The cup holder thing is kind of goofy but I just leave that off.
Thanks for building a product I don't have to complain about!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Torin Big Red Heavy-Duty Shop Seat with Cup Holder, Model# TR6340
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Shop seat

,
October 8, 2012
By AB1191
from Bristol, CT
"I bought this Torin seat to replace a cheap unit I purchased a few years ago. Head and shoulders above the unit it replaced . Strong frame, heavy-duty casters, comfortable seat. I expect to get many, many years of service out of it. Quality at a good price!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Torin Big Red Heavy-Duty Shop Seat with Cup Holder, Model# TR6340
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Buy It

,
July 28, 2012
By arif
from Seattle, WA
"My first mechanics stool - wish I would have bought one 20 years ago! Talk about a knee saver!! Just buy it, you won't be disappointed. High quality roller bearing wheels, runs over power cords and shop rags easily."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Torin Big Red Heavy-Duty Shop Seat with Cup Holder, Model# TR6340
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

SHOP SEAT MODEL TR6340

,
May 7, 2012
By TRIAL
from ALBANY, NEW YORK
"EXCELLENT STABILITY, EASY ACCESS TO LOWER TRAY. LARGE WHEELS TO ACCOMODATE SEMI-ROUGH SURFACES"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Torin Big Red Heavy-Duty Shop Seat with Cup Holder, Model# TR6340
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great seat

,
March 4, 2012
By MNmechanic
from minnesota
"i bought this seat after getting sick of using a cheap computer chair as a mechanics seat. im a pretty heavy set guy at about 350lbs and this seat holds up great. the seat is nice and squishy so i can comfortably sit on it for prolonged periods of time without getting sore. the cup holder is also a great touch for when its a hot day and i get thirsty for a "soda". i would have givin it 5 stars but the bottom plasic tray is very weak and flimsy. it works good for holding a ratchet or some wrenchs but dont go and throw a big impact on there. itll break right through. also when i bought mine it was missing one of the bolts. not big problems but enough to lose a star."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Torin Big Red Heavy-Duty Shop Seat with Cup Holder, Model# TR6340
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heavy Duty Shop Seat

,
June 14, 2011
By Papanick
"Had a cheaper hydrolic seat. I am a big guy and it lasted less than a year and was always afraid I was going to break it . THis is solid as a rock and you feel very secure when using it. It is a great product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Torin Big Red Heavy-Duty Shop Seat with Cup Holder, Model# TR6340
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Torin Shop Seat

,
June 6, 2011
By Hookedtrout
from S.E. Idaho
"Easy to build, frame and seat are heavy duty as described and it rolls and works great. Only problem I found is the plastic tray on the bottom was busted in short order, it serves no strength or support to the seat so it doesn't hurt the structure but it's flimsy and cheap and was broken very quickly."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Torin Big Red Heavy-Duty Shop Seat with Cup Holder, Model# TR6340
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Little Shop Seat

,
March 21, 2011
By TheShopMan
from Atlanta, GA
"This is an excellent quality product. It assembled quickly, rolls easily , the seat is comfortable, and the parts tray is great. I attached a small magnetic parts tray to th side rail to keep positive control of parts and pieces while doing a project. Oh, and the cup holder is a nice touch!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Torin Big Red Heavy-Duty Shop Seat with Cup Holder, Model# TR6340
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fantastic Design is Well Worth the Price!........

,
September 8, 2010
By DACLeadr1
from Clovis, NM
"I'm starting to get "up there" in AGE now, see? And, when you have to do those little jobs that require you to stoop down low (or, even get down on your knees), you will begin to appreciate this Mechanic's Shop Seat. There was one other product out there that I felt was better than this, overall. But, guess what? It cost $179.99......Do the math......This Torin product took me roughly 1/2 hour to assemble - and, that was taking my time, mind you. I'm not 100% sure that this product is totally bullet-proof, but the constuction quality seems to be above average for the price range; it should last a long time with proper use and care. I have been wanting/ needing something like this for awhile now, and I feel confident that I will use this product when I have to perform those dreaded "bending down" tasks. The casters are ball-bearing and mount securely to the frame. This product appears to be able to support someone heavier than myself ( I weigh roughly 190 lbs.). Overall, I am satisfied with this purchase, and would recommend it to a friend. A small investment like this will go a long way towards saving your back!...."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Torin Big Red Heavy-Duty Shop Seat with Cup Holder, Model# TR6340
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shop seat

,
February 15, 2010
By Magnum3744
from Austin, Minnesota
"Received today easy installation instructions, Very low priced and excellant construction. Should last a long time. A+++++ for shop or garage needs."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Torin Big Red Heavy-Duty Shop Seat with Cup Holder, Model# TR6340
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great rolling stool

,
October 20, 2009
By jeb21
from montgomery al
"I purchased this rolling stool for myself. I works great and is very heavy duty. The tray is also nice."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Torin Big Red Heavy-Duty Shop Seat with Cup Holder, Model# TR6340
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Torin HD Shop Seat

,
August 13, 2008
By ngas
from Gary, IN
"I love this seat! It is very friendly to heavier people. It rolls great and is comfortable as well. I would recommend this seat if you are looking for a strurdy, heavy duty seat."
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.