Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Hole Puncher

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Northern Industrial Hole Puncher

Item# 14572
Just squeeze the handles and the compound leverage allows you to punch clean, accurate holes in sheet metal up to 14 gauge. Seven different size punches and dies 3/32in., 1/8in. 5/32in., 3/16in., 7/32in., 1/4in. and 9/32in. are made of high-carbon, hardened steel HRC50-52. Heavy-duty tool is made of drop-forged, heat treated steel. Tool handle is 8 1/2in. long with 2in. throat. Make a perfect round hole wherever you want it.no more hit-and-miss drilling. Pieces qty. 7.
Average Customer Rating:
4.591 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (22 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
22 of 22(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Hole Puncher
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Hole Puncher
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tool for the money

,
March 1, 2013
By Hickorydude
from Hickory, NC
"Used this to create about 300 holes (so far) for spot welding new metal to my 66 Mustang and it works like a charm. Highly recommend it to all my friends.
Now, if only Northern would offer replacement dies that would be awesome, but like I said I punched over 300 holes with the largest die on 19 gauge steel and still have plenty of the die left..."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Hole Puncher
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

It works!

,
June 13, 2012
By AABBCC
from Kansas
"Great product. for Riveted chainmail. FYI it can also punch a penny"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Hole Puncher
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Industrial Hole Puncher

,
May 14, 2012
By WUZFUZ
from Phoenix, AZ
"When I ordered this item I was expecting something that would not be as substantial as the product I received. I was very impressed the first time I used it on sheet metal. No deforming around the finished hole and it performed exactly as I needed. I really like the various size holes it's capable of punching. Money well spent."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Hole Puncher
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hole in one

,
January 10, 2012
By ChainmailJimmy
from Elk Grove, CA
"I needed a punch to make my own tags for the jewelry I make, and the metal was thick enough to give other punches more than they could handle. Works great, pops out a nice clean cut with a number of sizes. The thing weighs about five pounds, and durable is its middle name, just how I like it.
Well done boys and girls, well done..
-J
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Hole Puncher
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Value

,
January 9, 2012
By punchhappy
from Columbus, OH
"I use this punch for shop work of all types. Sheet metal, straps and general items. Good selection of sizes and decent openings. I wish it had a quicker way to change out sizes than the screw removal each time. This is a great buy and a must have for any shop work. Saves a great deal on the time it takes to drill holes in this type of material especially with multiple holes of the same size."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Hole Puncher
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

It's a good pruduct

,
October 17, 2011
By blacdesigns
from Altadena, CA
"I make jewelry and needed a hole punch thtat could accomodate a varied level of metal thickness. This hole puncher does the job and the price is the best I found and I researched many. It's a sturdy piece of equipment that will last many years."
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Hole Puncher
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value for the money

,
June 6, 2011
By metalwrkr
from Raleigh, NC
"This hand metal punch really delivers. It produces clean smooth holes in light gauge metal that don't have to be cleaned up with a file. For the money... you'd be hard pressed to find a better quality metal punch."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Hole Puncher
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Industrial Hole Puncher

,
March 14, 2011
By lalaroro
from Gold Canyon, AZ
"This is the same tool sold on jewelry making sites for twice the money. I have punched holes in 18 gauge copper with ease. Several sizes of holes can be made by switching the punching part. I like this tool it is very handy and has saved me time because I don't have to drill each hole. It is easy to use. I received it right away after I purchased it."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Hole Puncher
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Industrial Hole Puncher

,
September 7, 2010
By JAYE
from SoCal
"Just received this item and I'm very pleased with the way it performs.
Primarily using it for cutting 15 and 16 gauge copper and silver for
jewelry findings. So far so good! I was concerned that the thick metal gauges I'm using might strain the punch's maximum limits, but it works like a charm. Also a VERY GOOD VALUE compared to similar products.
2 suggestions for improvement: (1) Add 1 die size smaller than 3/32".
(2) Make replacement dies and punches available for purchase.
(3) Increase font size of instruction sheet. Needed a magnifier to read it!
Overall -- 5 stars!
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Hole Puncher
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tool

,
June 1, 2010
By CMengineer
from South Bend, IN
"This is a rugged and dependable tool that is a must for everyones toolbox. It makes quick holes with little noise and mess. The only drawback is the depth of the throat, but for most applications it is not a factor. It is simple to use, and will stand up to years of use."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Hole Puncher
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Punch with Punch

,
May 24, 2010
By JoyceD
from Massachusetts
"Makes good, crisp/clean holes in sheet metal. Suitable for my jewelry making. Its weight makes it a bit clumsy to use but the quality of the outcome is worth finding ways to stabilize it for accuracy. Good value AND great customer service."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Hole Puncher
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great little hole punch

,
October 19, 2009
By pkb7
from Williamsburg, Ma
"This is a great little hole punch. We use it in a classroom setting doing tinsmithing and light metal work. This punch works well on lighter gauged sheet metal aiding in the riviting process. It is a bit small which is an advantage for smaller hands but limits is use. I would also love to get a similiar punch in a larger size."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Hole Puncher
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good 'nuff

,
July 22, 2009
By Hojpoj
from Newport News, VA
"I'm using it for putting 1/8" and 3/16" holes in aluminum to run bolts through. It does the job fine for what it's intended, clean holes and little surrounding distortion. I know I'm using on stuff thicker than what is intended, but still managing.
Only improvements I'd make on it is a slightly deeper throat and either longer handles or a ratcheting handle arrangement."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Hole Puncher
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hole Punch

,
August 11, 2008
By Dkcflyer
from Chicago, IL
"This is the 2nd one that I have bought. The 1st is in my store repair shop. It is a little hard to squeeze at first, but makes clean holes in thin metals. Much better and more accurate than trying to drill. I also used it to make my metal piece concave by using a small punch and a large hole receptacle. Worked okay."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Hole Puncher
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Punch

,
April 14, 2008
By SignGuy
from Virginia
"I use this punch daily.
I use it mainly to punch holes in .040 aluminum signs for which it works perfectly. Paid for itself the first day.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Hole Puncher
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent tool!

,
March 21, 2008
By jewelgirl
from Illinois
"I love this tool! The punches are perfect every time, and it is easy to use. I'm going to get another as a back up, in case I lose or somehow break the one I have (yes I know it is steel), that is how much I love this tool!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Northern Industrial Hole Puncher
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Hole Puncher

,
January 14, 2008
By supersignz
from Mahwah, NJ
"I cannot believe I have been in business for almost twelve years and did not have a hole puncher. Normally, I would take my drill, determine what size bit I needed, then just drill the required holes into the substrate. Many times I then had to remove the excess material from around the hole. If I didn't do this, the job would not look professional. I learned about Northern Tool and, specifically, it's Hole Punch. For a minimum investment I received an excellent product with seven (7) dies for various sized holes, as well as a very nice carrying case for the product. I am embarrassed that it took so long for me to wake up! I am more than satisfied with this purchase and would strongly recommend it and Norther Tool to others."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Northern Industrial Hole Puncher
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hole Puncher

,
January 14, 2008
By tintapper
from Tilllsonburg, ON
"Excellent, excellent product. Although it may not work as well as a Roper Whitney product it still works very well. Makes holes effortlessly just over 1/4" diameter. Great buy"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Northern Industrial Hole Puncher
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Indespensible

,
October 30, 2007
By tukster
from Tennessee
"This tool has paid for itself many times over. I'm in charge of the pinewood derby for our 4 county district and I've been modifying over 100 trophies every year with sheet metal straps. The first year I spent hours building a jig to drill the pieces and more hours drilling and deburring the straps with mediocre results. The next 2 years this punch took care of all the holes in no time. I've also used it for punching holes in leather, tarps, and several different heavy fabrics with excellent results. You really can't afford not to have one of these in your workshop."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Northern Industrial Hole Puncher
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great tool, best price

,
October 29, 2007
By JSimpson
from Seattle, WA
"I had a little difficulty with the instructions the first time, probably due to my lack of experience with punches. It appears to be well constructed; all the parts moved easily and I punched several different types of metal including a multi-layered segment without any slipping or difficulty. Very good price (best I could find) and delivered quickly."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.