Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "Tjernlund Products Dryer Duct Booster, Model# LB1"

"Tjernlund Products Dryer Duct Booster, Model# LB1"

Item# 145794
"The Tjernlund Dryer Duct Booster allows homeowners to dry their clothes faster, prevent lint buildup and prevent dryer fires. Dryers are often installed in areas of homes where they cannot work effectively, leading to longer drying times, high energy use and lint buildup in ductwork. The Dryer Duct Booster eliminates these issues. U.S.A. Auto On/Off Yes, Color Chrome, Dimensions L x W x H in. 14 x 10 x 10 3/4, Mounting Hardware Included Yes. Highly recommended for homes with dryer exhaust duct run of 25 feet or more Lint Blitzer impeller repels lint Permanently lubricated motor is positioned outside of air stream for maximum motor life Easy installation in both horizontal and vertical ducts Maintains proper exhaust velocities in duct runs up to 100 equivalent feet, optimizing dryer performance"
Average Customer Rating:
3.875 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
6 of 8(75%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for "Tjernlund Products Dryer Duct Booster, Model# LB1"
Review 1 for "Tjernlund Products Dryer Duct Booster, Model# LB1"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

dries in 1/3 the time

,
August 12, 2013
By AaBbCc123
from brookings or
"Wife's laundry room had no dryer duct. Had to go up, through attic, and out eave. Well past length allowed by code, so had to install booster. Read about others with pressure switch problems, so by passed switch, and put timer in over dryer. No problems in 3 plus years."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Tjernlund Products Dryer Duct Booster, Model# LB1"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
August 15, 2012
By David12
from VA
"This product has worked wonderfully since I installed it over a year ago. The only time it has to be reset is if the power goes out and all that has to be done is unplugged for a minute or two, then plugged back in and its done. Clothes are dry in half the time needed and lint is never a problem. Installation was a breeze."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Tjernlund Products Dryer Duct Booster, Model# LB1"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works as advertized

,
May 14, 2012
By Ben3200
from Fort Lauderdale, FL
"My experience is based on 2 years of use with this dryer duct booster. I live in Florida and my duct is a coil monster running from the first floor to the roof what I estimate at 20+ feet of flexible ductwork with 3 90 degree turns. My dryer before the unit runs about 2 hours just to dry a load with constant lint built up. The fact that this unit can break up the lint was something that I spent the extra money for over a less expensive unit. Each year I have to go up to the roof and clear out the duct is not something anyone would like to do. With this unit I don't need to do this each year, and the amount of lint is significantly less. I just recently went up to the attic to check on the unit because I thought it had failed, because I didn't hear it running (the noisey part). It actually got quieter over the year. Granted on issue is that it is noisey, but it tells me that it is running, and occasionally it seems to run after dryier stops. I reset it by running dryer for an additional 5 minutes after cleaning lint trap and it stops. Advantage, it is service free, and cuts drying time 50-70%. No headache after installing. Disadvantage, occasionally runs on, but easily fixed. I checked the duct after 2 years of use, and lint buildup after blower is very little, compared to before the blower. Without this device, I would probably pay for 6 hours additional time for 4 loads of laundry per week. The cost of the unit is nothing compare to my electrical bill. The unit is well made and I highly recommend it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Tjernlund Products Dryer Duct Booster, Model# LB1"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Sensor Problems

,
March 8, 2012
By shaman
from Cocoa FL
"I have had the same problem as several other reviewers. The pressure sensor that comes with the unit is simply a bad design. I contacted Tjerlund several times to try to work out the wrinkles but every solution didn't work . On the rare occation an adjustment got the unit to turn on it wouldn't turn off even hours after the dryer had stopped. Tjurland are glad to help but refuse to admit that the problem is a design flaw. ( and it totally is ) Having said that the fan itself works great. My advice if you do buy the product is to bypass the sensor and put the unit on a timer. It's not as user friendly but it does work."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Tjernlund Products Dryer Duct Booster, Model# LB1"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Peace of mind and a money saver

,
May 25, 2010
By Hanks
from Hendersonville,NC
"I wanted to write a review on this product because, on reading the earlier reviews which seemed confusing. Firstly, you must read the directions. The fan automatically senses the pressure in the dryer duct by sampling the existing pressure from an empty dryer with a clean filter. So, it does this once when it first senses power and that sets the baseline that it uses to determine when to run and when to shut off. This setup procedure need never be done again unless, say, you have a power outage with the dryer full and it resets itself incorrectly.
Our dryer is electric and a pretty huge energy hog. I would say that total drying time is reduced by 20 to 40 % depending on the dryer load. The increase in the exhaust air velocity keeps lint from sticking to the inside of the dryer vent and buildup is a thing of the past as are worries of the related fire hazard.
The Pros:
fan impeller is separate from the motor so lint doesn't build up on the motor.
saves dryer time
keeps the ductwork clean
easy to install
Tjernland quality and support is EXCELLENT - prompt response by email or immediate telephone support.
Cons:
It is a bit noisy but, hey, it's in the basement.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Tjernlund Products Dryer Duct Booster, Model# LB1"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best Booster Fan I've Found

,
February 22, 2010
By StuE
from SE, Michigan
"I have a dryer run that is about 24 feet long with four 90 degree turns in it. About ten years ago I had installed a different brand of dryer vent booster to solve poor clothes drying issues. When it stopped working I looked for a better engineered replacement.
I am over all very happy with this particular model from Tjernlund Products. That's not to say that it has no faults... Like Bob42, I also experienced controller issues. From his review, I'd say my replacement controller performs the same as his (timer based) and overall I'm happy with it's operation. Once in a while the booster fan will start up when the pressure sensor senses a pressure change from quickly opening the door of the house (guess the house is "tight") and sometimes it runs a little long (a few minutes) after the dryer has stopped (depends on where it's at in the controller's timer cycle when the dryer stops).
Fan operation can't be beat. Much stronger then my old unit and designed to last. Very good product. Fix the controller issues and it's the best I've found on the market today."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Tjernlund Products Dryer Duct Booster, Model# LB1"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed

,
January 17, 2010
By Ppermkr
from Texarkana, AR
"Installed this fan on an existing 30+ foot horizontal run with 2 90 degree elbows. Was getting considerable condensation in the piping without a fan. Installed the fan exactly to the directions: 25 ft from the dryer and 7.5 ft from the outlet (well within specs). Fan ran once then would not run any more. Tjernlund tech service sent me another circuit board. Fan still would not run. Could occasionally get the fan to run if I closed the dryer duct outlet. Finally gave up and wired the motor to by-pass the circuit board. The line conditioners that supply the air to the circuit board are small the cheap. Save your $$$, buy something simpler and less costly."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Tjernlund Products Dryer Duct Booster, Model# LB1"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well after initial stumble

,
March 16, 2009
By Bob42
from Atlanta
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"My dryer duct runs about 25 feet, with 3 - 90 degree bends, and several smaller radius curves. As the dryer aged, I became concerned about the possibility that I was asking too much of the blower, so I decided to add this booster.
Instructions for installation are clear and simple, and not too restrictive. (You can mount it in any but two basic orientations.) Installation went smoothly. I tested it without duct tape, in case I needed to remove it. There's an initialization procedure that lets the microcontroller learn the static pressure when the dryer is off and the blower is off, and the pressure when the dryer is off and the blower is running. The micro is supposed to be able to figure out from this when the dryer is on or off, and run the blower only when the dryer is running. Everything went as described. After initialization, the blower started within about 30 seconds of the dryer starting. It shut off within 30 seconds of the dryer stopping. It all seemed to be working, so I applied metal tape to seal it. Within 24 hours, probably on the second load of laundry, it didn't start at all. I learned this because my wife complained that the dryer was taking longer than usual to dry the clothes. So I re-did the initialization procedure. The blower worked again for a couple days, although sometimes it would quit for a minute or five in the middle of operation. Then it failed to start again, so I called Tjernlund for support. They were very helpful. I sent them pictures of the installation. They sent me a replacement controller board which contained a different microcontroller program. The replacement board has a simpler algorithm, not as clever, but it works. The blower comes on whenever the dryer starts, and shuts itself off on a timer. If the dryer is still running, it notices the dryer is on and starts up again for a fixed time interval. So when the dryer shuts off, the blower continues longer than necessary, but it isn't really noticible and doesn't hurt anything.
I asked if they had a current-sensing switch, so it could cycle based on whether the dryer was drawing current, but they didn't. Such a switch would be a better solution, but would probably be more difficult to install in most systems, so I don't really blame them for not having such a switch.
As to performance, the dryer loads seem to get dry more quickly, though I can't really say how much. It's very difficult to accurately measure the drying time of a load, since "a load" varies greatly depending on the residual water content. I think we're seeing shorter drying times, but since we usually start the dryer and wander off somewhere, we don't really pay much attention to how soon the clothes are finished.
What I've really achieved is peace of mind. The force of the air at the point it exits the house is MUCH stronger with the booster running. This gives me confidence that I'm not building up lint in the duct. And simple logic tells me that with more air passing over the clothes, they must be getting dry sooner.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Works Fantastic
February 12, 2012
"Definite Recommend!
Make sure you seal all the seams and connections of your duct with aluminum tape.
I had to open the back of my new Bosch dryer and seal the exhaust tube for the integrated pressure sensor to work properly.
Works great!!"
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)