Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Ultra-Tow Single-Rail Folding Motorcycle Trailer, Model# 3806S084"

"FREE SHIPPING - Ultra-Tow Single-Rail Folding Motorcycle Trailer, Model# 3806S084"

Item# 14717
"This Ultra-Tow Single-Rail Folding Motorcycle Trailer has a longer, more durable ramp and a sturdier platform than most motorcycle trailers, which makes loading, transporting, and unloading your motorcycle safer and easier. Frame Material Steel, Overall Dimensions L x W x H in. 153 1/2 x 58 3/16, Side Rails Included No, Lights Yes, Coupler Size in. 1 7/8, Fenders Yes, Assembly Required Yes, Bed Tilt No, Deck Material Aluminum, Deck Size L x W ft. 6.04 x 96, Load Capacity lbs. 700, Wheel Size in. 4.80-12, Ramps Included Yes, Gross Vehicle Weight Rated lbs. 860, Rear Gate Yes, Brakes No. Folds for space-saving storage Rugged steel frame with aluminum floor makes frame lighter and stronger Requires 4in. minimum ground clearance"
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (12 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 12(92%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
33 Questions | 47 Answers
Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Ultra-Tow Single-Rail Folding Motorcycle Trailer, Model# 3806S084"
Review 1 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ultra-Tow Single-Rail Folding Motorcycle Trailer, Model# 3806S084"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Basis for a Motorcycle Trailer

,
January 12, 2016
By
from Raleigh NC
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
So far I have used the trailer once for a 300 mile round trip. This was only after I bound the electrical wire in looms, secured the loading ramp, balanced the tires, and replaced the pins in the frame.
Pro: Trailer Tracked well. Welds look good. All fasteners came with nylon lock nuts.
Con: License plate holder broke in half during the trip, losing the tag. Excessive length on the electrical wires, rear ramp had to be secured as it had 10” of swing at the top in the upright position. The rear hinged trailer floor section rose up when loading the bike. Joint pins heads came off.
This trailer can serve as a good starting platform, but as delivered, needs work on the wiring & license tag holder right out of the box.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ultra-Tow Single-Rail Folding Motorcycle Trailer, Model# 3806S084"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Trailer Mods

,
December 21, 2015
By
from FL
Folding trailer too flimsy. Arc weld steel joints an bolt 3-4' aluminum beams below main channel. The hubs come w/o any grease. I replaced the hubs with American made 5 lug hubs and good grease. This raised the trailer about 2" and now safe to go over rough roads and freeway speed. I haul a Bonneville and needed to round off the sharp channel end as it catches on sidestand spring. Later I added an extension to the ramp. The fender was strengthened using aluminum sheet cut to inside radius of fender and pop rivet in place. Small marine loops popped inside fender aluminum secure bungee cord which dampen fender vibration. Even made a side to side over the handlebars support from 1 1/2 aluminum tubing and now I can drive the bike right on, secure the bike with just one strap from over head support to mid handlebar, then I can get off and secure bike for a one man loading operation.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ultra-Tow Single-Rail Folding Motorcycle Trailer, Model# 3806S084"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Needs more support on frame.

,
August 14, 2014
By
from Manteo, NC
Great idea, stores very well but the weakness is in the supports where it folds. If your bike is of the shorter wheelbase variety you will have problems with the trailer. There is too much weight put on the folding joint in front of the wheels and the support there will bend and maybe fail if added support is not given it. I added the extra support by bolting on flat bar at that joint.
It is a great idea except for that one weakness.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+42points
43out of 44found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ultra-Tow Single-Rail Folding Motorcycle Trailer, Model# 3806S084"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Trailer/Needs Mods

,
April 26, 2014
By
from Elkins, AR
need to add:
-wire loom for all wires
-way to hold the wire loom at the axle joint so it doesn't scrape the ground when unfolded.
-bolts for the lights with lock/nylon nuts
-stabilizer for license plate side of fender
-heavy aluminum plate for license plate attachment (drill 2 holes through center of license plate - use fender holes to attach plate)
Suggestion for Northern tool - offer extra pins used with trailer to purchase separately.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+32points
36out of 40found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ultra-Tow Single-Rail Folding Motorcycle Trailer, Model# 3806S084"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Motorcycle Trailer

,
December 4, 2013
By
from Monroe, NC
I used this trailer to move a Suzuki 650 Burgman from CA to NC. Here is what I experienced"
1) The trailer is good overall. Depending on the size of the motorcycle you may have to mount it slightly back. In my case I had to build a wood fixture to keep the cycle further back in the trailer. No big thing. It is important to balance the weight so your tong weight is <200 lbs.
2) I installed bolts with self locking nuts where the trailer pivots. This was just so it would not keep bouncing at that point over the long haul
3) The lights did fall off over the trip. To prevent this in the future I installed self locking nuts on them instead. Do this or vibrations WILL work them loose. I could never keep them tight enough to stay on.
4) The fenders are not that good. The welds broke loose on one and it fell off. The road vibrations are just to much. But my trip was 5 days from coast to coast. They did replace them for me. There are better off the shelf fenders if you want them. I would recommend taking them to a local shop and having them reinforced and welded better is all.
The reason I rated it 4 stars is for the price you cannot beat it. They wanted to charge me $800 to move the cycle for me. I bought the trailer and sold it when I got moved. If I ever get my dream to have a motor-home I will buy another and use the cycle on it so I can get around when I camp.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+50points
61out of 72found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ultra-Tow Single-Rail Folding Motorcycle Trailer, Model# 3806S084"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good trailer for the money

,
September 18, 2013
By
from Florida
Good trailer for the money but needed a few areas addressed to make road worthy. The fenders are " very flimsy " and they shook so bad that my tag broke off and was lost on my first 500 mile trip with the trailer . Tailight bulbs did not last long like this either.
The wheels would not rotate free when first putting the trailer together . Removed wheel hubs and found little to no grease in bearings . On close inspection found new bearings dirty , so cleaned and repacked . I don't think the trailer would have gone 100 miles the way the bearings and hubs was setup form the factory
Instead of using the quick clevis pins I bolted the bottom rail together with grade 5 bolts and it made the trailer a lot more stable pulling my 700 pound bike . It is easy to unbolt if I want to fold it up .
I did weld a extra support to the front hold down bar on both sides to stabilize the front . Smaller bikes probably would not need this .
I did do a few updates, but this trailer was a good buy for the money to custom fit my bike too and was half the cost of other trailers I looked at .
My bike is very easy to load and unload by myself with this low profile trailer .
Describe Yourself: Professional
+26points
30out of 34found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ultra-Tow Single-Rail Folding Motorcycle Trailer, Model# 3806S084"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good trailer, but needs upgrades/clarification

,
June 8, 2013
By
from IOWA
First, I feel that Northern Tool needs to be more clear on the weight rating/GVWR. The GVWR is stamped on the trailer as 700lbs (as described by someone else), but the specs of the trailer on the description say:
Gross Vehicle Weight Rated (lbs.) 860
Load Capacity (lbs.) 700
Shipping weight: 290lbs
To start, GVWR means that the TOTAL weight of the trailer + wet weight of bike cannot exceed the listed GVWR weight. So, if the load capacity is 700lbs, and the GVWR weight is 860lbs (spec description online), simple math means the trailer only weighs 160lbs. Initially assembling the trailer, I can maybe buy that, but the shipping weight is 290lbs?! All it's shipped in is a 1" tubular steel skeleton frame that maybe weighs 75lbs, at the absolute most. Something doesn't add up, but it is clearly stated on the trailer that the GVWR is 700lbs, so that's what'll be used for any liability issues one would think.
So, now that that is over. Before even running the trailer down the road, fill the bearings with high quality bearing grease with the provided zirks. The hub is essentially empty out of the box. Take it a step further and install some bearing buddy's, or alternatives, to make sure the bearings are always packed.
We got this as a wedding gift from my in-laws, but I am genuinely concerned about trailering our 550lb bike with this thing not knowing the real GVWR. All I've done is assembled it and driven it 10 miles unloaded, so take my review with a grain of salt, I suppose.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+22points
26out of 30found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ultra-Tow Single-Rail Folding Motorcycle Trailer, Model# 3806S084"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

caveat

,
May 10, 2013
By
from South Hero, VT
The woman at the vehicle registry pointed out that on the certificate of origin, the gross vehicle weight rating is 700 lbs. Since the trailer weighs 333 lbs, that leaves only 367 lbs. If this is in error, it should be corrected.
The convenience of loading and the low center of gravity are the features that attracted me to it. I've just returned from a long road trip with it and have some comments. I thought that with torsion bar suspension, it might be good, as I have seen good use of that design. In this case however, it is almost useless. I had to slow WAY down on some concrete slab roads in PA to keep the thing from bucking. The fender attachment is so whippy that it will probably lead to problems down the road if it is not stiffened.
Keep in mind that this was designed to carry 'choppers' if necessary so the wheel trough is way long forward, and to get the tongue weight within reason, some front wheel chocking will be required, despite the advise of the manufacturer. Also, the forward crossbar that one would use to lash the handlebars has no torsional rigidity, so ALL of the torsion control would fall on the aft lashing to the axle ends. I found it best to use only that point, and lashed even the handlebars to it. It's also a good idea to put a strap around the loading ramp going forward to the bike. If you don't, the bolt holes at the pivot points will get elongated, as the locking pin holes are only a couple of inches away, so the leverage of the ramp on this connection is tremendous.
If you're carrying a bike with a fairing, you'll probably see a lot of shaking going on in the rearview mirror; expect to have some missing or broken parts when you arrive at your destination. I had the wheels balanced, but between the shaking fenders and the general turbulence behind the towing vehicle, it may be impossible to solve the problem.
I hope this helps.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+25points
31out of 37found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ultra-Tow Single-Rail Folding Motorcycle Trailer, Model# 3806S084"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

folding motorcycle trailer

,
January 23, 2013
By
from Houston, TX
Well designed and built. When unfolding, be careful with the wiring harness; it can be damaged at the fold points and if it scrapes on the ground. Comes with a 1-7/8" coupling. Needed to swap it out for a 2", as both my other trailers use 2". Was concerned about the 60 day delivery delay. NT should consider reshoring and building them closer to the customers.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+15points
18out of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ultra-Tow Single-Rail Folding Motorcycle Trailer, Model# 3806S084"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product, great price.

,
October 15, 2012
By
from Gardiner, NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Some of the things I like most about this trailer over others is:
the price,
the running boards that make loading and unloading a breeze,
the weight is light enough that I can use my other motorcycle to tow it with (see photo),
the tire rail is wide enough to mount another wheel chock farther back which removes some weight off of the tongue,
the rail is very low which adds to the ease of loading and keeps the center of gravity low.
Con: The fenders are kind of flimsy though, and I'm concerned that the shaking will harm the lights.
I'm registering it in NY who requires an original Bill of Sale that normally does not come with it. I had no problem in getting it from Northern Tool. Great Customer Service/Support.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+41points
46out of 51found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ultra-Tow Single-Rail Folding Motorcycle Trailer, Model# 3806S084"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice Trailer

,
May 7, 2012
By
from Stephens City, VA
Overall, I'm really happy with this trailer. Only thing I don't like is the flimsy fenders. The mounting brackets for them could have been made out of heavier gauge metal. But the rest of the trailer is great. I love how it folds up, makes it nice to store in my garage.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+11points
34out of 57found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ultra-Tow Single-Rail Folding Motorcycle Trailer, Model# 3806S084"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Versatile

,
March 21, 2011
By
from Florida
It is easy to use has good balance and is easily adaptable to various sizes
would definitely recommend this to anyone. Checked pricing of many retailers and this one was by far the most economical.
Describe Yourself: Professional
-8points
89out of 186found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
jp2code
Longview, TX 
 
Please wait while more information about jp2code is loaded.
Additional information about jp2code could not be loaded.
Why Only 3 Stars?
April 28, 2011
" In your review, you did not mention anything negative about this trailer; however, you only gave it 3 out of 5 stars.
What didn't you like about this trailer? What prevented you from giving it the full 5 stars? "
0points
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)