Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Ultra-Tow Trailer Winch - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400065with Cable

Ultra-Tow Trailer Winch - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400065with Cable

Item# 148817
Ultra-Tow hand trailer winch enables safer, easier loading and unloading of boats. Includes 33-ft. wire rope. Ratchet Type Reversible, Gear Ratio 4.11, Drum Capacity Wire Rope ft. 33 ft. of 11/64in., Load Capacity lbs. 1,000, Speeds 1. 11/64in. x 33-ft. wire rope
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
8 of 10(80%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ultra-Tow Trailer Winch - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400065with Cable
Review 1 for Ultra-Tow Trailer Winch - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400065with Cable
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Weekend warrior

,
August 15, 2012
By RB001
from Farminton,AR
"Used them to hang heavy items in our second garage. They are very well built and easy to use."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ultra-Tow Trailer Winch - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400065with Cable
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Winch

,
May 7, 2012
By RikT
from Mpls, Mn
"Well made. Fit my application well. Northern had best price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ultra-Tow Trailer Winch - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400065with Cable
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Boat winch for my rowboat

,
November 1, 2011
By CottageTrimmer
from Gun Lake, Michigan
"This review is really about the service you get from Northern . I purchased this winch a year and a half ago to haul my 14ft. rowboat w/15hp motor on my boat trailer. The first winch's rachet mechanism broke. When I contacted Northern about a replacement, they sent a new one to me. I really appreciate the attention Northern pays to their customers. I will install the new one next spring. Thank you Northern for standing behnind your products. I will definitely buy from Northern in the future!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
5out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ultra-Tow Trailer Winch - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400065with Cable
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Muscle Helper

,
October 10, 2011
By Daytondeer
from SW Michgan
"I have used a trailer winch for years to help lift and pull things around the farm when human muscle wasn't enough. I found the model 400065 for a lot less money than I had been paying and they are wonderful. Thank you for making such a great product at a great price."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ultra-Tow Trailer Winch - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400065with Cable
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Manuel Winch

,
October 10, 2011
By Hughster
from San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I received the winch in excellent packaging. I installed it on my devise I made to lift Nitrous Bottles. It has a smooth handle mechanism, the cable is plenty long enough and I am very happy with the purchase.
Thank's Northern!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ultra-Tow Trailer Winch - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400065with Cable
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

winch review

,
June 14, 2011
By JC08
from Vermont
"This winch is very easy to use. Just be careful not to let go of the handle when you release a load or the handle will spin out of control."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ultra-Tow Trailer Winch - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400065with Cable
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

1000lbs. Ultra tow trailer winch

,
March 15, 2011
By Sunn
from Phx.Az
"I have used this 1000lbs winch on by 8x 5foot trailer, attaching it to a 2x2" x 3' -channel and secured(2) bolts in the winch's plate holes thru the corresponding channel's holes. I can winch up many loads into the trailer. I only wish the handle was on the right-side or made available for reversing the handle. Otherwise it is a sturdy winch for the money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ultra-Tow Trailer Winch - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400065with Cable
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

just another winch ...

,
June 1, 2010
By olli
from Chicago
"The crimping to hold the hook on the cable seems to be a little thin-walled on one side. Hopefully we don't lose any load due to it breaking."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ultra-Tow Trailer Winch - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400065with Cable
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

winch

,
May 24, 2010
By RIchf
from Elmira, NY
"I have been using this winch quite a lot, and it is an excellent buy. I will order another one for my next project."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ultra-Tow Trailer Winch - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400065with Cable
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good job Northern tools

,
February 15, 2010
By guesswho
from South GA
"I have to say thanks to Northern tools for selling a great product at a great price. This is a great buy. I was a little skeptical because everywhere else wanted the same price for a compareable winch without a cable. It is a great winch, I've not had any issues with it yet. I actually bought another Ultra Tow (600 pound) at the same time. Both are good quality units."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.