Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Ultra-Tow Trailer Winch - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400065with Cable"

"Ultra-Tow Trailer Winch - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400065with Cable"

Item# 148817
"Ultra-Tow hand trailer winch enables safer, easier loading and unloading of boats. Includes 33-ft. wire rope. Ratchet Type Reversible, Gear Ratio 4.11, Speeds 1, Drum Capacity Wire Rope ft. 33 ft. of 11/64 in., Load Capacity lbs. 1,000. 11/64in. x 33-ft. wire rope Galvanized steel"
Average Customer Rating:
4.6 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (15 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
12 of 15(80%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Ultra-Tow Trailer Winch - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400065with Cable"
Review 1 for "Ultra-Tow Trailer Winch - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400065with Cable"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

trailer winch

,
January 13, 2016
By
from minneapolis
I use then for lifting heavy doodrs on the top of tanks and the work great fofr both opening them and closering the doors , the cable is plenty long and the winch doesn't bind up a lot loike the ones I use to use
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Ultra-Tow Trailer Winch - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400065with Cable"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ultra-Tow Trailer Winch

,
October 5, 2015
By
from Georgetown, Texas
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I build "game hoist" for hunters and others who need an extra hand loading stuff into a truck every so often. I have using this winch for several years now and my customers like it or I would not continue to use it. While my applications take it nowhere near it's 1000 pound limit, it has never failed. The handle gives a true grip which is good when puling or lifting.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Ultra-Tow Trailer Winch - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400065with Cable"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

never failed

,
March 1, 2015
By
from south texas
I have bought and used 13 of these winches and none have ever failed or given any trouble in the last 6 years.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Ultra-Tow Trailer Winch - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400065with Cable"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth Money

,
September 4, 2014
By
from Waynesboro, VA
This is a great product for the Money. There are a lot of different products on the market. This is a very good well made product.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Ultra-Tow Trailer Winch - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400065with Cable"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Platform lift

,
May 30, 2014
By
from Washington
The Ultra-Tow Trailer Winch works like it should with no problems. I use it as a crank to lift a loaded platform up to a deck.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Ultra-Tow Trailer Winch - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400065with Cable"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Weekend warrior

,
August 15, 2012
By
from Farminton,AR
Used them to hang heavy items in our second garage. They are very well built and easy to use.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Ultra-Tow Trailer Winch - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400065with Cable"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Winch

,
May 7, 2012
By
from Mpls, Mn
Well made. Fit my application well. Northern had best price.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Ultra-Tow Trailer Winch - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400065with Cable"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Boat winch for my rowboat

,
November 1, 2011
By
from Gun Lake, Michigan
This review is really about the service you get from Northern . I purchased this winch a year and a half ago to haul my 14ft. rowboat w/15hp motor on my boat trailer. The first winch's rachet mechanism broke. When I contacted Northern about a replacement, they sent a new one to me. I really appreciate the attention Northern pays to their customers. I will install the new one next spring. Thank you Northern for standing behnind your products. I will definitely buy from Northern in the future!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-4points
7out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Ultra-Tow Trailer Winch - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400065with Cable"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Muscle Helper

,
October 10, 2011
By
from SW Michgan
I have used a trailer winch for years to help lift and pull things around the farm when human muscle wasn't enough. I found the model 400065 for a lot less money than I had been paying and they are wonderful. Thank you for making such a great product at a great price.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Ultra-Tow Trailer Winch - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400065with Cable"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Manuel Winch

,
October 10, 2011
By
from San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I received the winch in excellent packaging. I installed it on my devise I made to lift Nitrous Bottles. It has a smooth handle mechanism, the cable is plenty long enough and I am very happy with the purchase.
Thank's Northern!
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Ultra-Tow Trailer Winch - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400065with Cable"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

winch review

,
June 14, 2011
By
from Vermont
This winch is very easy to use. Just be careful not to let go of the handle when you release a load or the handle will spin out of control.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Ultra-Tow Trailer Winch - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400065with Cable"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

1000lbs. Ultra tow trailer winch

,
March 15, 2011
By
from Phx.Az
I have used this 1000lbs winch on by 8x 5foot trailer, attaching it to a 2x2" x 3' -channel and secured(2) bolts in the winch's plate holes thru the corresponding channel's holes. I can winch up many loads into the trailer. I only wish the handle was on the right-side or made available for reversing the handle. Otherwise it is a sturdy winch for the money.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Ultra-Tow Trailer Winch - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400065with Cable"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

just another winch ...

,
June 1, 2010
By
from Chicago
The crimping to hold the hook on the cable seems to be a little thin-walled on one side. Hopefully we don't lose any load due to it breaking.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Ultra-Tow Trailer Winch - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400065with Cable"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

winch

,
May 24, 2010
By
from Elmira, NY
I have been using this winch quite a lot, and it is an excellent buy. I will order another one for my next project.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Ultra-Tow Trailer Winch - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400065with Cable"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good job Northern tools

,
February 15, 2010
By
from South GA
I have to say thanks to Northern tools for selling a great product at a great price. This is a great buy. I was a little skeptical because everywhere else wanted the same price for a compareable winch without a cable. It is a great winch, I've not had any issues with it yet. I actually bought another Ultra Tow (600 pound) at the same time. Both are good quality units.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.