Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Ultra-Tow Trailer Winch - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400065with Strap

Ultra-Tow Trailer Winch - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400065with Strap

Item# 148818
Ultra-Tow hand trailer winch enables safer, easier loading and unloading of boats. Includes 23-ft. strap. Load Capacity lbs. 1,000, Drum Capacity Strap ft. 23 ft. of 2in., Ratchet Type Reversible, Speeds 1, Gear Ratio 4.11. 2in. x 23-ft. strap
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (12 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
10 of 12(83%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ultra-Tow Trailer Winch - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400065with Strap
Review 1 for Ultra-Tow Trailer Winch - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400065with Strap
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Boat Winch

,
June 11, 2014
By RSResourses
from Whitefish, Mt
"I build raft trailers and these winches are the best deal going. They are tough and simple. The 1000lb strap is tough. When people see me at the take out they ask where to get one."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ultra-Tow Trailer Winch - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400065with Strap
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product for the price

,
February 4, 2014
By fascms
from NY
"Easy to mount on existing hole pattern on trailer. Works much better than original cable winch."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ultra-Tow Trailer Winch - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400065with Strap
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worked well then failed

,
September 10, 2013
By bart98stang
from Southeast Virginia
"I bought this winch about 6 months ago and used it 5 times. It worked well until the teeth in the gear stripped."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ultra-Tow Trailer Winch - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400065with Strap
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Ok Product

,
April 23, 2013
By Dea1988
from Spartanburg SC
"Just make sure you dont side load, strap ripped the first time i used it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ultra-Tow Trailer Winch - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400065with Strap
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

TUFF

,
April 23, 2013
By frankieV
from Vidalia, LA
"This thing is great. I put it on a boat trailer and I use it to pull the boat onto the trailer by myself. the boat is 14 foot and is heavy, but this wench will pull it up onto the trailer from the ground using only one hand."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ultra-Tow Trailer Winch - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400065with Strap
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good bang for your buck!

,
August 13, 2012
By dakotajay7
from West Allis, WI
"This is a very nice and affordable winch. Well worth the asking price. Works great for boat trailer."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ultra-Tow Trailer Winch - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400065with Strap
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Winch but dont over load it

,
May 9, 2012
By Glenn10000
from Fort Myers
"got this for my boar trailer and after 5 uses it stripped the gears, my boat weighs about a ton but the winch was only pulling the boat on to the trailer not picking it up, i ended up replacing it with a 2 speed 1500 lb winch and it works great"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ultra-Tow Trailer Winch - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400065with Strap
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great winch

,
January 16, 2012
By oldpappy
from east Tn.
"Got two of these to use for raising and lowering barrels with 200 lbs. of corn in them on deer feeders. They worked great and have been in service for nearly two years with no problems."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ultra-Tow Trailer Winch - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400065with Strap
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ultra-Tow Trailer Winch

,
October 10, 2011
By BNTE
from Albuquerque NM
"This winch was well built and easy to use. I possibly wanted a heaver strap but I'm sure it meets its specs. My use was a little abnormal so I was able to fold the strap as I winched in off axis. I even frayed the strap with my application but it showed no signs of self-expansion of the damage area on the strap."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ultra-Tow Trailer Winch - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400065with Strap
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great small trailer winch

,
March 22, 2011
By TheRedneck
from Prior Lake, mn
"I purchased this winch to add to an old homemade boat trailer. The installation was very easy and required no modifications. this winch works very well for loading at the boat launch and even worked well for loading the boat from solid ground onto a tilt trailer. I plan to but another one to add to a utility trailer to more easily load lawn tractors and what not. It's a tough price to beat for a very usable winch. I've recommended this to many friends"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ultra-Tow Trailer Winch - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400065with Strap
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice winch

,
November 16, 2010
By apoapesh
from Ames, IA
"I bought this for a boat trailer that I am redoing. Winch mounts easily and operates easily. Good winch for the inexpensive price."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ultra-Tow Trailer Winch - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 400065with Strap
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hand winch does the job

,
August 31, 2010
By DB001
"Solid construction and smooth performance. Ratchet mechanism very predictable, especially when compared to the one I replaced with this winch. Not sure how it will will survive the N. Idaho winters, but we will see."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.