Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt 500-Lb. Tubular Steel Cargo Carrier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Wel-Bilt 500-Lb. Tubular Steel Cargo Carrier

Item# 148835
Rugged Wel-Bilt carrier is designed for hauling up to 500 lbs. of cargo. Fits in a 2in. receiver. Made of heavy-duty tubular steel with 6in. high sides to keep cargo secure and in place. Perfect for transporting lawn equipment, camping gear, generators and much more. Receiver Size in. 2, Platform Size L x W in. 45 1/2 x 18 1/2, Mount Type Hitch, Application Cargo carrier, Assembly Required Yes, Material Type Steel, Capacity lbs. 500. Heavy 500-lb. cargo capacity platform measures 45 1/2in.L x 18 1/2in.W overall dimensions are 45 1/2in. x 21 1/2in.W Perfect for transporting lawn equipment, camping gear, generators and much more 6in. high sides keep cargo secure and in place Assembly required Not related to WELBILT products of Enodis companies
Average Customer Rating:
4.033 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (30 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
1
28 of 30(93%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt 500-Lb. Tubular Steel Cargo Carrier
Review 1 for Wel-Bilt 500-Lb. Tubular Steel Cargo Carrier
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for the price.

,
June 18, 2014
By MacAttack2
from Rosemount, MN
"I mounted this seat on a Toro Timecutter Z5020 model zero turn mower. The seat fits and performs fine, however the arm rests are placed too far back to have any real value, plus one arm rest broke right away. I would exchange the seat because of the broken arm rest if it weren't for the difficulty of un-bolting it, and if the arm rests were more useful."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wel-Bilt 500-Lb. Tubular Steel Cargo Carrier
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good inexpensive carrier

,
June 13, 2014
By tdeje
from long island, ny
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I bought mine on sale. It took about 15 minutes to assemble. I put ten bags of top soil on it with no problem { 400 lbs }. I cut a rubber mat to fit into the bottom of mine.The only negative thing I have to say about it is that it came with a couple of small rust spots on it that I had to touch up"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wel-Bilt 500-Lb. Tubular Steel Cargo Carrier
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great carrier, well built for the price.

,
May 26, 2014
By JChaves
from Colorado Springs, Co
"This carrier is well built for the price. It is very sturdy, and the sides are just the right height.
It does take a little time to assemble, but is very rigid once done. I would definitely recommend this."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wel-Bilt 500-Lb. Tubular Steel Cargo Carrier
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

inexpensive

,
May 6, 2014
By casshoot
from pell city, al
"Least expensive carrier of it's type, but serviceable and handy. Light enough that it can be left on the vehicle without notice. Easy and quick to assemble which is a plus."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wel-Bilt 500-Lb. Tubular Steel Cargo Carrier
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Goes together quickly

,
April 16, 2014
By vwist83
from TX
"My husband and I put the cargo carrier together yesterday. It was pretty easy, as long as you follow the directions. There was one direction missing, but it was easy to figure out on my own. After assembly we placed it on the back of the Highlander and my husband stood in it and bounced up and down on it to see how sturdy it was. It passed the test (although he doesn't weight 500 lbs, thank goodness, which is what it is supposed to carry). We haven't driven with it, but it will probably rattle some...no big deal. I would recommend it. The price was great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wel-Bilt 500-Lb. Tubular Steel Cargo Carrier
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

OK for the price

,
February 5, 2014
By leo30000
from Pageland, SC
"I purchased this on sale. It will come in handy toting light loads to hunting camp. I don't recommend loading it to the specified limit, but should work OK up to 250 or 300lbs."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wel-Bilt 500-Lb. Tubular Steel Cargo Carrier
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect

,
February 4, 2014
By Mayers
from Catawba, sc
"I got this on sale. My girlfriend put it together for me she had no issues, simple and sturdy!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wel-Bilt 500-Lb. Tubular Steel Cargo Carrier
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to Assemble, Works fine

,
February 4, 2014
By JimBx555
from Raleigh NC
"I bought this cargo rack to add some space to haul a small generator and other yard tools that I didn't want in my car. It works well for this and for taking the family for weekend trips. I works as billed and is very easy to assemble."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wel-Bilt 500-Lb. Tubular Steel Cargo Carrier
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Light and easy to handle

,
February 4, 2014
By BWL811961
from TN
"Purchased this item to use for gasoline cans to keep out of suv when transporting. Smaller and lighter than some others so it is much easier to handle."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wel-Bilt 500-Lb. Tubular Steel Cargo Carrier
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Firewood

,
February 4, 2014
By 1234B
from Knoxville tn
"I bought the rack to use on our camper to haul firewood on works great . Keeps the wood away from all the other camping gear . I would recommend this rack to all who has a camper"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wel-Bilt 500-Lb. Tubular Steel Cargo Carrier
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for the Money

,
February 4, 2014
By AikenSc
from South Carolina
"Great product for extra room and to keep unwanted items out of your vehicle. I have used it for coolers, firewood, gas cans, lawn mowers, power washers, bikes, etc. I might not put 500 pounds on it but it has performed great for the items listed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wel-Bilt 500-Lb. Tubular Steel Cargo Carrier
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Easy to use

,
February 4, 2014
By Caver2000
from Overland Park, KS
"Unit was very easy to put together and use. We use it for additional camping gear if the car is full and it is light enough that it can be easily removed even with the tub full of gear attached. I did have one screw that holds one of the cross members strip out during assembly, but no other problems."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wel-Bilt 500-Lb. Tubular Steel Cargo Carrier
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Inexpensive rack

,
September 17, 2013
By darble
from Leander Texas
"This rack was well built for the money and allows us to carry the extra things we want to on vacation easily. I built a box that is secureable that I installed on it and with it behind our RV we don't worry about things disappearing."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wel-Bilt 500-Lb. Tubular Steel Cargo Carrier
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

cargo rack

,
September 17, 2013
By nocode3738
from Houston, Tx
"4 stars. Product went together with all holes lining up correctly, sturdy construction except for notes below. I would never put it's max capacity in it (500lbs) due to the very thin metal strips that hold the cargo. Several bolts stripped during carefully putting it together. I had pre-warning about stripping bolts, so i made sure to go slow and not over tighten. Several still stripped. So far they are holding and haven't had time to replace them. I put it together and haven't used it yet."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wel-Bilt 500-Lb. Tubular Steel Cargo Carrier
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

You get what you pay for

,
December 19, 2012
By Rjbouge
from Nashville, TN
"As is the common thread between all the reviews for this product, the price matches the quality, and it's a good thing I got it on sale. The sheet metal screws stripped out. some of the holes didn't line up, and parts were already showing rust. And the company sticker looks like it was put on by Stevie Wonder."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+22points
23out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wel-Bilt 500-Lb. Tubular Steel Cargo Carrier
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Gets the job done

,
August 13, 2012
By Howan
from Atlanta, GA
"I wouldn't consider this a top quality product, but it is sufficient for the occasional use it gets. If it were something I needed to use frequently I would probably opt for a bit better unit, but for the price it isn't bad."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
11out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wel-Bilt 500-Lb. Tubular Steel Cargo Carrier
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Steel Cargo Carrier

,
May 14, 2012
By LicensedElectrician
from Cocoa Beach, Florida
"Easy to build,the screws that came with it makes it not as rigid as you would want.Replace them later with nut & bolts if needed.I use this carrier for a large wagon that carries my tools to the job site. Work well for the price.If I like this carrier,I will sell it to a friend and upgrade,so far I think it takes the hassle of on loading and off loading 5 days a week."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wel-Bilt 500-Lb. Tubular Steel Cargo Carrier
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not to bad.

,
May 14, 2012
By JDMRacing
from MEMPHIS
"Simple. Not to heavy duty. Could use stronger slats."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wel-Bilt 500-Lb. Tubular Steel Cargo Carrier
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

steel cargo carrier

,
May 9, 2012
By bjford
from Alamogordo, NM
"Easy to assemble, works for what I needed it for (generator carrier), easy to install in receiver hitch. However, I wasn't thrilled with the small sheetmetal screws that held the cross member in place. They are small screws that strip out easily. There is warning in the instructions about that problem. So I removed them and drilled all way through tubing and placed 1/4 inch bolts with nuts and washers in place of the sheetmetal screws. Now "works good, last long time""
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wel-Bilt 500-Lb. Tubular Steel Cargo Carrier
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Cargo Carrier

,
April 13, 2012
By aachristmas
from Sparta, Tn
"Received this carrier, very light weight bottom support brace crossmembers. Would hate to test 500 pounds of cargo down the road with this unit. I would suggest if you want to haul anything over a couple hundred pounds pass on this one and upgrade to a real "Well Built" one. I am adding some expanded metal and welding this one together to make it work/safe. Not everyone has material and equipment around to fix something to make it work for them. You truely get what you are paying for with this unit, something real cheap."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.