Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt Engine Cradle - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 012001-B

Wel-Bilt Engine Cradle - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 012001-B

Item# 148850
This engine cradle offers rock-solid strength and easy-roll mobility that are essential for storing, transporting and servicing engines. Heavy-duty steel construction and low design provide maximum stability. Rolls on four heavy-duty casters. For most car/light truck engines. Powder-coated finish for durability. Capacity lbs. 1,000, Foldable No, Wheels qty. 4, Dimensions L x W x H in. 24 1/4 x 18 1/2 x 18 1/2. Essential for storing, transporting and servicing engines Heavy-duty steel construction Low design for maximum stability Rolls on four heavy-duty casters For most car/light truck engines Powder-coated finish for durability Not related to WELBILT products of Enodis companies
Average Customer Rating:
2.546 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (11 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
4
5 of 11(45%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt Engine Cradle - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 012001-B
Review 1 for Wel-Bilt Engine Cradle - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 012001-B
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product for the price

,
February 5, 2014
By Airports
from NC
"Easy to put together and use. Can't beat the price. Even better I'd you have a coupon on top of the reduced price. We bought two and both work great."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Wel-Bilt Engine Cradle - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 012001-B
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

did not fit

,
February 4, 2014
By thePumpkin
from york pa
"Did not fit my chevy 350 without extensive drilling and grinding. Had to drill and grind out the holes for the dowel pins and rear bolts. Also had to elongate the bolts of the motor mounts. The provided bolts were also the wrong size. Once modifided it worked well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Wel-Bilt Engine Cradle - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 012001-B
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not ready to use

,
October 21, 2013
By Beech200
from Atlanta
"I purchased two of these these to store customers Mercruiser boat engines which are big and small block Chevy's. The units are rough drilled and required my guys to drill, cut and bend into shape and now not able to return so I am stuck with them. Not bolt on and priced way to high. The supplied cradle to engine bolts are metric and the box said small and big block Chevy. To my knowledge there has never been an SBC or LBC drilled and tapped for metric. Don't recommend."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Wel-Bilt Engine Cradle - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 012001-B
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Does not fit MOPAR

,
September 29, 2013
By JCMopar
from Mpls, MN
"How disappointing! Says it fist most engines but you can see from the other reviews that it does not. I can assure you it will not work with a big block Mopar. No possible way. Unfortunately I bought this a while back and too late to return."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Wel-Bilt Engine Cradle - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 012001-B
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not Smile

,
July 8, 2013
By 1BeMe
from Connecticut
"When taking a picture what's the one word everyone is asked to say? That says it best. Wouldn't trust an expensive motor to 8mm bolts. It will do the job but it can be stronger."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Wel-Bilt Engine Cradle - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 012001-B
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

not most engines

,
November 27, 2012
By Mattthehammer
from bloomington mn
"this engine stand will not work on most engines as stated in description,, works perfect on GM V8s,,, but will not work what so ever at all on any Dodge Chrylser Plymouth Jeep AMC V-8,, and others say it wont work on fords,,, so that is a higher percentage of what it wont work on than what it will work on,,,"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Wel-Bilt Engine Cradle - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 012001-B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wel-Bilt Engine Cradle

,
July 7, 2012
By MathewsB
from Durham, NC
"Excellent product. Fit perfectly on my 350 Chevy block.Excellent customer service, shipping, product installation, value and quality."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Wel-Bilt Engine Cradle - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 012001-B
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

This is NOT a UNIVERSAL (one-size-fits-all) Stand

,
January 11, 2012
By Anonymous
from Fort Worth, Texas
"I purchased one of these stands for a Ford small-block Windsor series V8. It absolutely will NOT fit any small-block Ford. I did a bit of research and learned that this stand is specifically designed for certain Chevrolet and some Mopar V8s. I'm not sure exactly which ones but, most probably, small-block Chevy V8s. Forget using it for any Ford pushrod V8s.
Because the rating and recommendation fields are required, I had to enter something, and I rated it poor, not because I know it to be bad, but because I know that it will NOT fit most engine types, other than the small-block Chevy V8 and probably small-block Mopars.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Wel-Bilt Engine Cradle - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 012001-B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

engine stand

,
January 10, 2012
By go4getr
from Montana
"I have used this item with great success on a Small Block Chevy engine and it has proven better made and of better quality than others that I have used and still use. It fit the engine perfectly and was easy to mount and use. I would definitely recommend this stand to anyone to use on a Chevy engine."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Wel-Bilt Engine Cradle - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 012001-B
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well for the price

,
January 9, 2012
By curtinkc
from Kansas City, MO
"Used the engine stand on a big block chevy. We had to take the exhaust manifolds off and enlarge one hole on the stand where the dowel pin fits. We then bolted the two halves to the engine and then to each other. It felt a little flimsy when we first assembled it, but once it was bolted to the motor it felt much more solid."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Wel-Bilt Engine Cradle - 1000-Lb. Capacity, Model# 012001-B
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do Not Buy

,
January 4, 2012
By MrSnicks
from Fayetteville, NC
"I'm not sure what they built this to fit, but I can tell you from experience it WILL NOT fit a ford 351w or a dodge 318 engine. The problem isn't the front slanted pads, it's the rear bolt holes. On the dodge 318 you cannot get any of the bolt holes to line up when you put the dowel in any of the 3 holes. On the 351w it will not mount to the rear holes because the engine hole are not vertical, they are slanted.
Maybe this will fit a Chevy engine, I don't have any of those."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.