Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Left-Hand Drill Bits - 29-Pc. Set, 1/16in. Dia."

"FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Left-Hand Drill Bits - 29-Pc. Set, 1/16in. Dia."

Item# 150273
"Ironton left-hand bits are useful for extracting broken screws and studs in a single operation. Pieces qty. 29, Bit Material High speed steel, Size 1/16-1/2, Storage Type Metal case. High speed steel Rugged metal case Sizes 1/16in.-1/2in. by 64ths"
Average Customer Rating:
4.214 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (14 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
13 of 14(93%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Left-Hand Drill Bits - 29-Pc. Set, 1/16in. Dia."
Review 1 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Left-Hand Drill Bits - 29-Pc. Set, 1/16in. Dia."
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waste your money

,
July 8, 2015
By
from Maryland
" I bought these to keep on hand for broken bolts and studs but after looking at them most of the points are sharpened off center and a lot of them even have the relief higher than the cutting edge. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Left-Hand Drill Bits - 29-Pc. Set, 1/16in. Dia."
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good bang for the buck

,
May 19, 2015
By
from VA
" Pretty decent set for the price. This isn't a tool you need every day. But when you need them,you need them. They were used on hardened steel and stayed cutting all the way through. Definately got the job done. Just don't use them on high speed and keep them cool using a cutting fluid. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Left-Hand Drill Bits - 29-Pc. Set, 1/16in. Dia."
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good fortune

,
May 15, 2015
By
from dallas,texas
" i use these to extract broken bolts and luckily haven't had to use them yet.seems like a nice quality set. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Left-Hand Drill Bits - 29-Pc. Set, 1/16in. Dia."
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Oops fixer

,
March 23, 2015
By
from Western Kansas
" This is a tool that is used only once in a blue moon, but when it is needed, it is worth double it's weight in gold. Could hold an edge a little better, but easily resharpened. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Left-Hand Drill Bits - 29-Pc. Set, 1/16in. Dia."
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Southpaw Bits

,
March 22, 2015
By
from Northern Iowa
" These Bits arrived timely. They are in a protective case.
I can now drill out broken screws and bolts without tightening them. Most of the time they back themselves out with the counterclockwise drill.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Left-Hand Drill Bits - 29-Pc. Set, 1/16in. Dia."
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ironton Left-Hand Drill Bits

,
March 22, 2015
By
from Lansing, MI
" I gave these drills a five star rating based on quality and price. This is a specialty drill set intended to aid in the removal of broken screws and bolts. The drills are of average quality which for my occasional use is good enough. My only concerns, the first if you break a drill where do you buy just one? and second most drill press don't run in reverse limiting drilling operation to hand drilling.
The drills work best on bolts that were broken off due to over tightening this condition leaves the bolt with no head but loose in the hole. The traditional method of removal is to drill with a regular drill which can move the screw or bolt deeper in the threads creating a more difficult removal. The left hand drills can catch the bolt and move the bolt outward so at best you can grab the bolt with pliers at worst use a extractor from the point the bolt broke off not lower in the hole.
Also the drills can be used for regular drilling you just run them in reverse. These drills offer another option to remove broken screws and bolts one that I like having.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Left-Hand Drill Bits - 29-Pc. Set, 1/16in. Dia."
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellient

,
March 12, 2015
By
from Gouldsboro PA
" This 29-pc set of left hand drills is excellent for most jobs that you run into. When you need to drill out a broken bolt or stud you have the size you need in this set for most common mechanical jobs. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Left-Hand Drill Bits - 29-Pc. Set, 1/16in. Dia."
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked great!

,
September 15, 2014
By
from Northern California
" I used this set to drill out (remove) a frozen screw in one of my reclinng chairs and they worked just fine. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Left-Hand Drill Bits - 29-Pc. Set, 1/16in. Dia."
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

wel-bilt drill bits

,
February 4, 2014
By
from mass.
" These bits work well with a drill press. I have purchased other more expensive bits that weren't as good, "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Left-Hand Drill Bits - 29-Pc. Set, 1/16in. Dia."
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

To the rescue!

,
January 16, 2012
By
from Hackettstown, NJ
" I had some very small srews whos head had broken off. My extractor set was not small enough to removed the broken screws. I ordered this drill bit set and it worked so well that I hardley ever use my extractor set!! Well worth the money! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Left-Hand Drill Bits - 29-Pc. Set, 1/16in. Dia."
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Broke bolts

,
March 14, 2011
By
" If you have broke off bolts you can get them out 8 out of 10 times with the bits only instead of an easeout.... Good buy!!!!! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Left-Hand Drill Bits - 29-Pc. Set, 1/16in. Dia."
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drill Bit Set

,
January 14, 2008
By
" High quality effecient drill bits that enabled me to more easily remove broken screws. Excellent choice for my job!! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Left-Hand Drill Bits - 29-Pc. Set, 1/16in. Dia."
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

bits

,
July 11, 2007
By
from North Texas
" I purchased the left handed drill bits to make it easier to remove broken bolts. They work great! I have used regular bits and they work, but these won't move a bolt further into an open ended hole like a gear case. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ironton Left-Hand Drill Bits - 29-Pc. Set, 1/16in. Dia."
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great value

,
March 14, 2007
By
from Utah
" This is a comprehesive bit set in a steel index box. Very handy and stays sharp. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.