Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING Cobalt Drill Bits - 1/16in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia., 29-Pc. Set

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

FREE SHIPPING Cobalt Drill Bits - 1/16in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia., 29-Pc. Set

Item# 1502942
Even tougher than high speed steel bits - last 30 times longer than standard drill bits Bores stainless, silicon-chrome, chrome-nickel - even armor and plate. Includes metal case. Case Included Yes, Finish Type Cobalt, Includes qty. 29, Size 1/16in-1/2in by 64ths, Bores Stainless, silicon-chrome, chrome-nickel, armor, plate. Can be used on hard metal as well as wood M-42 grade cobalt 135 split point drill bits are jobber length
Average Customer Rating:
4.9 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (20 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 of 20(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING Cobalt Drill Bits - 1/16in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia., 29-Pc. Set
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING Cobalt Drill Bits - 1/16in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia., 29-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome drill bits!

,
September 17, 2013
By Dells
from Aberdeen, SD
"I can truly say these bits are well worth the price! High quality, ultra strong Cobalt, heavy duty quality case. I don't know any place outside Northern Tool that has this great of a deal....period! I've used Dewalt cobalt drill bits (costly and less bits) and they don't touch these babies! These bits are a high grade Cobalt which means longer life span and guaranteed drilling! Get yourself a set, I promise you won't be disappointed!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING Cobalt Drill Bits - 1/16in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia., 29-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Bits!

,
September 9, 2013
By samsonn
from PA
"Used in my construction field to drill out old door dead bolts, and also through commercial round discus padlocks like the Abus/Buffalo/Master 40. No problems at all! Superior cutting edge and hardness. Cobalt bits are much stronger then regular HSS."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING Cobalt Drill Bits - 1/16in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia., 29-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good so far

,
August 23, 2012
By WorksonRVs
from Green Bay
"I am happy with the bits. I use them occasionally for drilling hard steel and they have performed well."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING Cobalt Drill Bits - 1/16in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia., 29-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good quaity for a good price.

,
August 13, 2012
By QuattroWatson
from Avon, NY
"Bits seem to be very good, at a price you can't pass up. Recommended."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING Cobalt Drill Bits - 1/16in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia., 29-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow!

,
March 21, 2012
By 1badta
from Charlotte, NC
"As all the others have raved about these bits, so will I. The 5/16" bit went through 1/4" plate steel in less than 10 seconds...nuff said."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING Cobalt Drill Bits - 1/16in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia., 29-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome drills

,
January 18, 2012
By scpa
from hampton va
"I got these bits not knowing really what to expect. . this is a very great product. the only draw back is I wish they went to 3/4in size with half inch shank..."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
1badta
Charlotte, NC 
 
Please wait while more information about 1badta is loaded.
Additional information about 1badta could not be loaded.
3/4" bits
March 21, 2012
"They do go up to 3/4" with 1/2" shank. They're a little pricey, but NT has them."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING Cobalt Drill Bits - 1/16in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia., 29-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Value

,
January 9, 2012
By BassClef
from Union Mills, N.C.
"When you purchase a product that meets your expectations for less money than you expect to pay, that's my definition of value. Of course, if drilling a large diameter hole, start with a smaller hole; drill slowly; lubricate with oil and keep stepping up gradually until the hole size you want is reached. That way, these bits should last the average homeowner his/her lifetime. I wish a set of these bits sized from 9/16's - 1" was available. Ideal for drilling through steel."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING Cobalt Drill Bits - 1/16in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia., 29-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great bits

,
October 17, 2011
By brockj
from crescent city, IL
"these bits are well worth the money. i have used them many times and they still buzz right through whatever you put infront of them."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING Cobalt Drill Bits - 1/16in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia., 29-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Bits

,
June 10, 2011
By AgDude
from Wisconsin
"Been using these daily for about a month now for drilling steel. Very happy with them."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING Cobalt Drill Bits - 1/16in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia., 29-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

(Cobalt) Drill Bits - 1/16in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia.,

,
March 15, 2011
By amo7
from Northern Utah
"These bits are a great value. They have held up as well as other bits that were more expensive."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING Cobalt Drill Bits - 1/16in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia., 29-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

CobaltDrtill Set

,
March 14, 2011
By Sunsetrider
from Santa Fe, New Mexico
"A fine set of drills, hard enough to do the jobs I need to do and keep an edge, Splendid set, Nice box, too, with easy to read, clear markings for the sizes. Highly recommended"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING Cobalt Drill Bits - 1/16in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia., 29-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome drill bits

,
March 14, 2011
By cjones
from maurice la
"these bits don't compare to other drill bits i have used in the past. For auto repair drilling they have worked beyond what i could have imagined. we have had persistent use of same size bit and it keeps on cutting. bought another set for my father,he was also impressed."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for FREE SHIPPING Cobalt Drill Bits - 1/16in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia., 29-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cobalt Drill Bits

,
November 25, 2010
By galaxiemn19
"After buying and using these Cobalt Drill Bits, price is not an issue. I used cheaper bits and had touble drilling through the thinest metal. These Cobalt Drill Bits cut through sheet metal to thick plate steel with no effort. Even if the tip gets a little dull, a little touch up on the grinder and you're going again."
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for FREE SHIPPING Cobalt Drill Bits - 1/16in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia., 29-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

,
August 23, 2010
By jeffry1980
"These drill bits cut through metal like butter. I'm recomending them to everyone I know"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for FREE SHIPPING Cobalt Drill Bits - 1/16in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia., 29-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the extra expense

,
May 31, 2010
By SpudRacer
from Boston, MA
"These drill bits are worth the extra cost over Titanium Nitride coated drills. I had gone through many sets of Titanium Nitride coated drills but after spending the extra on getting this set, I have noticed that they last much longer and as an extra bonus, they're able to be resharpened and will still retain the longer lasting performance."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for FREE SHIPPING Cobalt Drill Bits - 1/16in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia., 29-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cobalt Drill Bits

,
July 14, 2009
By Plumber6350
from Indianapolis, IN
"I have these drills on my bench at all times. After using these types of drill bits at work I decided to have my own. For the money these are the best you can get, bar none."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for FREE SHIPPING Cobalt Drill Bits - 1/16in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia., 29-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

They are "tough"

,
August 11, 2008
By WFR101
from Grand Junction CO
"My neighbor had a pair of tree pruners and the handles kept coming off. He tried to drill a couple of small holes through the handle extensions and the titanium cutting handels to insert a small "keeper" bolt. His drill bits could not bore a hole, so he knew I had a set of these bits and he came over and said "lets see you drill a hole in these". I readily agreed to try, and these cobalt bits from Northern punched a hole through the material like it was a pine board. NEEDLESS TO SAY HE IS ORDERING A SET NOW."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for FREE SHIPPING Cobalt Drill Bits - 1/16in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia., 29-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cobalt Drill Bits

,
August 11, 2008
By jde1957
from Lubbock, Tx
"I retired in 1999 after 32 years as working as a machinest. This set of Cobalt Drill bits are the best drill bits I have ever used. I would highly recommend these drill bits for any type of work."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for FREE SHIPPING Cobalt Drill Bits - 1/16in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia., 29-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

29 piece Cobalt Drill Bit Set

,
April 21, 2008
By Landy
from Okla.
"Cobalt drill bits are the way to go. These bits are tough and last much longer than hps. Titanium bits wear off when sharpened but Cobalt is just as strong after they are sharpened as they were when new. I would highly reccommend these bits."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for FREE SHIPPING Cobalt Drill Bits - 1/16in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia., 29-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

cobalt drill bits are great

,
April 21, 2008
By saliquidator
from SA, TX
"This drill bit set is great. Really sharp. Cut right through the toughest steel. Haven't dulled , or broken one yet, after over a year of use."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.