Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Cobalt Drill Bits Set - 1/16in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia., 21-Pc. Set

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

FREE SHIPPING - Cobalt Drill Bits Set - 1/16in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia., 21-Pc. Set

Item# 1502943
Even tougher than high speed steel bits - last 30 times longer than standard drill bits Bores stainless, silicon-chrome, chrome-nickel - even armor and plate. Includes metal case. Case Included Yes, Finish Type Cobalt, Includes qty. 21, Size 1/16in.-1/2 in. by 64ths, Bores Stainless, silicon-chrome, chrome-nickel, armor, plate.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (12 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
11 of 12(92%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Cobalt Drill Bits Set - 1/16in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia., 21-Pc. Set
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - Cobalt Drill Bits Set - 1/16in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia., 21-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Useless

,
September 25, 2013
By Supersparks1213
from Clarksburg, WV
"I work in a factory where we use high speed drill bits EVERY day. i purchased these due to the fact they were cobalt, not because they were on sale. the price was right, but the product was wrong. i have broken almost ever bit ive tried thus far, so much so i just closed the case and put them on the back shelf. i will be complaining to Northern about this product since i did buy 2 sets. Thought maybe was just a bad set but both sets are junk."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - Cobalt Drill Bits Set - 1/16in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia., 21-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best drill bits I've ever used

,
April 24, 2013
By zombieprepared
from Largo, Florida
"I do a lot of work with mild steel, sometimes very thick mild steel. While I used to use a torch to cut holes and then a step down bit to round them out, I don't need to go through all of that with these bits around. Doing a base hole with an 1/8" bit and then following up with a larger bit is short work with these. Hold their edge a while. Easy to re-sharpen using a Drill Doctor. They are more expensive than titanium bits but well worth it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - Cobalt Drill Bits Set - 1/16in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia., 21-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just Drilling Away

,
October 15, 2012
By fishhog45
from Buchanan, Mi
"I recently purchased a set of (Cobalt) Drill Bits 1/16in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia., 21-Pc. Set, I have been using them and they are by far the best set of drills I have owned. They handle the tough jobs as well as the finesse jobs, I sometimes abuse drills and these Drill Bits seem to handle whatever I need them to do and the best thing is they stay sharper longer. I have already recommended these Drill Bits to my friends and family.
HAVE A GREAT DAY AND DREAM ABOUT DRILLING,
FISHHOG,"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - Cobalt Drill Bits Set - 1/16in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia., 21-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

top of the line

,
May 14, 2012
By 1badta
from Charlotte, NC
"These bits cut through mild steel, stainless, and breezes through aluminum like a hot knife through butter. I've paid twice as much for bits this high in quality. Highly recommended!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - Cobalt Drill Bits Set - 1/16in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia., 21-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cobalt Bits- Metal Case

,
November 17, 2010
By Chief6421
from Portland, Oregon
"I've been using these Bits in the Metal Cases for a long time now in a Shop Situation. I love the Bits. I especially love the cases. Good, Sharp, dependable bits are a must. Anyone who is always reaching for a bit knows what I mean. Having these substantial metal cases with this great assortment make my life easier and my job more enjoyable. Anyone that uses those bits in plastic boxes should try spending a little more and see how great it is to have this heavy solid case always ready to go when needed. The bits themselves are dependable and very rarely do I break a bit. This is an awesome Choice for those serious about having a good case of bits. Seriously, Get some."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - Cobalt Drill Bits Set - 1/16in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia., 21-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

colbalt drill bits

,
November 17, 2010
By trailerjohn
from elko nevada
"these are are the best drill bits i have ever used. the first set i had lasted lasted me about 2yrs ,i used them for iron fabacation they stayed good and sharp, loaned them out came missing a few, so i bought another set, not for loan. the only bits i will buy now are these."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - Cobalt Drill Bits Set - 1/16in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia., 21-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drill Bits

,
October 19, 2009
By fourstar127
from Eastern Utah
"Great drill bits but pricey. I use them only for tough jobs."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - Cobalt Drill Bits Set - 1/16in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia., 21-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cobalt bits are worth the money

,
November 18, 2008
By TooTall
from North Dakota
"I've used high speed bits for years. They are good for drilling in light metal. They won't stand up under heavy usage. These cobalt bits are for heavier usage. They have stood the test of time on my farm."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - Cobalt Drill Bits Set - 1/16in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia., 21-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best metal bits I've ever used

,
May 14, 2008
By Sarg
from SF Bay area, California
"I was drilling into 1/4 steel plate.I tried several other brand name bits with no success. I was skeptical of the listed excellent reviews. These are great drill bits ! please add my name to the list of very satisfied customers. I'm buying another set for a friend."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - Cobalt Drill Bits Set - 1/16in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia., 21-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good value

,
April 15, 2008
By connejames
from Southern California
"I have been purchasing colbalt bits one at a time for use on hardened and stainless steel. When comparing this set to individutal purchases this is a very good buy."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING - Cobalt Drill Bits Set - 1/16in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia., 21-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

cobalt drill bit 21 piece set

,
January 22, 2008
By ninnyopapa
from Chico, Texas76431
"I ordered this for my husband, the service was great, he has used these time and time again, and he has really enjoyed them not breaking, he always into them, these are well worth the money . Being the cobalt makes them much better than the plain ones that twist off, he is very glad to have gotton them as a gift and would recommend to anyone who wants to invest in a good set. They are very sturdy and efficient, and hey there are 21 in the set making the whole set on teriffic buy,I recieve Northern tool on my computer and the catalog also, I usually pick up a gift or two, 3 or 4 times a year, great place to find one worth the money, we like it very well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING - Cobalt Drill Bits Set - 1/16in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia., 21-Pc. Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

colbalt drill bits

,
October 17, 2007
By inclvge
from Incline Village, nv
"The Northern Colbalt bits performance is excellent, I am a facilities maintenance man and have to drill many types of materials including stainless steel. These bits are accurate and stay sharp, certainly worth the price
inclvge"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.