Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools (Step Shank) Drill Bit Set - 1/2in. Dia.

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Northern Industrial Tools (Step Shank) Drill Bit Set - 1/2in. Dia.

Item# 15133
S&D-type step shank drill bits are high speed steel. Bit Sizes 9/16, 5/8, 3/4, 7/8 and 1in. Includes qty. 5, Size 9/16, 5/8, 3/4, 7/8, 1, Diameter in. 1/2.
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (9 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
6 of 9(67%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools (Step Shank) Drill Bit Set - 1/2in. Dia.
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Tools (Step Shank) Drill Bit Set - 1/2in. Dia.
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth the money

,
May 30, 2013
By burt56
from NC
"would not drill through 1 piece of 1/4" steel, not worth buying for steel use at all.
maybe for wood only.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Tools (Step Shank) Drill Bit Set - 1/2in. Dia.
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

waste of money

,
April 21, 2013
By wls73703
from oklahoma
"These drill bits not what I excepted. Tried to drill holes in metal and they wouldn't drill it almost burnt up a drill. They might be alright for wood but not metal..The price should have told me that they wouldn't do the job."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Tools (Step Shank) Drill Bit Set - 1/2in. Dia.
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

drill bits

,
January 9, 2012
By jayme
from Avon,MN
"The drill bits held up very well, when used on steel, and wood, they seem to stay sharp for a long time and they are easy to sharpen."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Tools (Step Shank) Drill Bit Set - 1/2in. Dia.
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Soft metal

,
October 10, 2011
By Yogi925
from North Branch, MN
"The first time I used one of the bits it bent the shaft. I was using it in a hand drill, so that may have been the problem. They might work okay in a drill press where the angle and pressure can be controlled. Big bits with small shafts equal easy bend."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Tools (Step Shank) Drill Bit Set - 1/2in. Dia.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great drill bits

,
February 17, 2011
By WESTBOUND
from Colorado
"I bought this set of drill bits to drill a 1" hole in 1" steel bar for clevis mounts for my Jeep's pumpers. I Made 4 Clevis mounts without problem. They paid for them selves already with those four holes. One key to remember: set your drill press to the lowest speed it will go. Use lots of cutting oil (I used gear oil because I was out of cutting oil). Don't let the drill bit get hot and ruin the tempering. Watch the oil. If it starts to smoke it is getting to hot. lift the drill bit out of the hole and add oil. If you use these bits properly they will last along time. To drill a hole mentioned above took me approximately 20 minutes."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Tools (Step Shank) Drill Bit Set - 1/2in. Dia.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

drill set

,
November 17, 2008
By gcweisner
from northern ilinois
"drills came ready to use out of the box. drilled 1/4" plate steel with one and 3/8" channal iron with the 1 " drill with no problem and no wear on the drill cutting edge good value for a good price"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Tools (Step Shank) Drill Bit Set - 1/2in. Dia.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

a great deal

,
October 29, 2007
By jbolty
from San Diego, CA
"I got this set for less than one bit would have cost at the local home improvement store. Very impressed, so far. I have drilled a number of holes through some very thick metal and they are still going strong."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Tools (Step Shank) Drill Bit Set - 1/2in. Dia.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

High Quality large drill bits

,
July 17, 2007
By HaySeed
from central Minnesota
"I used the bits to re-manufacture a broken hitch plate on a silage wagon tongue. Needed a 5/8 and a 3/4 drill bits. Used both from this 5 bit set, excellent sharpness when I used them in my drill press. Great value when I compared the cost of a single 5/8 bit at local outlet center. Got all 5 high quality bits for 2/3 of what the one bit would have cost me.
Thanks
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Tools (Step Shank) Drill Bit Set - 1/2in. Dia.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

drill bits

,
March 9, 2007
By mood
from Ansley, Ne.
"I used this bit set when building an all metal picnic table. I drilled 3" and 2.5" double wall pipe 12 times using my drill press and wel-bit self-centering drill press jig. They both worked very well. I am happy with the sharpness and toughness of the bits and the centering jig worked as advertized. Thank you for being there."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.