Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt Heat Gun - 1600 Watt

Wel-Bilt Heat Gun - 1600 Watt

Item# 151606
Wel-Bilt heat gun features 2 heat settings, ceramic element and removable collar. Hanging ring for convenient storage. Heat Settings 2, Watts 1,600. 1600 Watt Temperature settings 572 and 932F Not related to WELBILT products of Enodis companies
Average Customer Rating:
4.55 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (20 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
20 of 20(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt Heat Gun - 1600 Watt
Review 1 for Wel-Bilt Heat Gun - 1600 Watt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

No Attachments

,
May 17, 2013
By bkane
from Fort Worth, TX
"Bought this heat gun for shrink tubes. It works fine if your careful. It is hard to use in small places. The manual recommends using certain attachments for different jobs. I agree, that would be nice. Except it comes with no attachments. Funny the manual would say to use them, but there aren't any. Tried to find some on the web, but again they do not exists. I guess for the money it is a good heat gun. Would like to have attachments though!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Wel-Bilt Heat Gun - 1600 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT VALUE HEAT GUN

,
October 8, 2012
By CCMAN62
from RICHMOND,VA
"I PURCHASED THIS HEAT GUN TO REPLACE A COMPETITORS BRAND THAT LASTED ONLY A FEW MONTHS. SO FAR IT HAS OUT LASTED THE REPLACEMENT AND STILL WORKS LIKE IT NEW. GREAT HEAT GUN FOR THE PRICE."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Wel-Bilt Heat Gun - 1600 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good inexpensive heat gun

,
August 15, 2012
By FatAndyCustoms
from Chanhassen, Mn
"I originally bought a more expensive heat gun. I realized I didn't need what ever features that caused the higher price. I bought this gun and couldn't be happier, it does exactly what it is supposed to. Very happy with it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Wel-Bilt Heat Gun - 1600 Watt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mr

,
August 13, 2012
By MHSVA
from Norfolk, VA
"This is a good heat gun for small jobs. Very light weight and works great but if you're doing a big job where you need the gun on for several hours at a time you will probably want to get a more heavy duty heat gun.
Over all it works great. No complaints.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Wel-Bilt Heat Gun - 1600 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great heat gun - low price

,
January 17, 2012
By JoyWare
from Jersey
"I'm a ceramic artist and use this to dry clay, so I can I can proceed to the next step in completing the piece.
I then bought one as a gift for my potter buddy."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Wel-Bilt Heat Gun - 1600 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

welbilt heat gun

,
January 16, 2012
By kcesr
from mpls. mn. usa
"a very versitile product, paint removal, heating for expansion-separating parts and sealing and/or bonding materials and easily melts ice."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Wel-Bilt Heat Gun - 1600 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best We Have Found

,
October 10, 2011
By 270Chrome
from High Point, NC
"We use these heat guns in a commercial setting for everything from upholstering, shrinking wire insullation, and quick drying paint. We usually go through 2-3 heat guns every couple of months. Got tired of buying the same guns only to have them fail. Tried this gun on a whim--and they have turned out to be fantastic. Very light weight and durable! Heats up extremely fast! We have been using the original 2 guns for about six months and they are still going strong! Great product at a great price!!!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Wel-Bilt Heat Gun - 1600 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heat Gun

,
March 14, 2011
By ratt1970
from Eureka, IL
"I don't use this tool everyday, but the few times I have used it, the gun has performed great. I use it mainly to shrink wire tubes or covers, placed over wiring connections on my old and everyday cars. When the trigger is pulled, heat is there almost immediately, and it does a good job of shrinking the wire covers. This is an excellent tool for the DIY."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Wel-Bilt Heat Gun - 1600 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good product

,
November 28, 2010
By jhvac
from rock hill sc
"bought this about 2 months ago, works perfect, well worth the price"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Wel-Bilt Heat Gun - 1600 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wel-Bilt Heat Gun - 1600 Watt

,
November 16, 2010
By GrandTbird
from Philadelphia, PA
"The Wel-Bilt Heat Gun - 1600 Watt arrived promptly and had no damage. The heat gun worked as it should out of the box. It is easy to handle; and heats instantly. I use it to remove paint, as well as, to "load" my portable generator when I run it ( the generator) between power outages. I can not say anything bad about this heat gun."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Wel-Bilt Heat Gun - 1600 Watt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Well built indeed!

,
June 4, 2010
By FrootLoops
from Nampa, Idaho
"This is a great heat gun for well under $20! I've used this for curing paint (high temp paint to be exact), heat shrink fit tubing for electrical connectors, carefully heat up a piece of Lucite to bend it. I've even used it to warm up an engine on a cold day.
The only issue I've had is the black piece of plastic around the barrel of the gun has melted a bit. It doesn't really effect anything, just looks unsightly.
Love the gun, love the price!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Wel-Bilt Heat Gun - 1600 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best BUy under $15.00

,
May 31, 2010
By Anonymous
from Florida
"I never thought I needed a heat gun, until I had to remove some old stick on tiles... Well, as a last resort I relented and actually went to buy a higher priced unit from another manufacturer. This was the only unit in store and I needed it that day... Well, it worked fabulously!
I find uses from removing the boring factory emblems on my Harley, those dull dealer emblems on my truck, working with glue, and removing stickers...
Kids have used it for arts and crafts projects... It even helped with trying to straighten a stave for a indian style bow project with my son. Helped as a heat source to dry the stave in a hot box...
Wife has used it to shrink wrap a few items for shipping....
This is one of the tools you never thought you needed until you had one. I would have never bought this CHEAP TOOL, unless it was necessity... But it's as handy as vice grips, strap wrenched, and ez-out tools.... How did I ever not NEED one of these before....
Don't let the price fool you...."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Wel-Bilt Heat Gun - 1600 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great gun

,
May 24, 2010
By Mnkelvr
from WV
"The gun works great for use around the garage, best deal for the money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Wel-Bilt Heat Gun - 1600 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shrink seals my products every time!!!

,
February 19, 2010
By FortBlenheim
from Blenheim Virginia
"I use this to seal candles in shrink wrap and it has been fabulous for my work. It has done the job even after repeated long hours of use and many drops. I highly recommend this product to anyone needing a 2 level heat gun."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Wel-Bilt Heat Gun - 1600 Watt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Welbilt Heat Gun

,
September 3, 2009
By Anonymous
from Jonesboro, GA
"Used to remove vinyl letters from a sign.
Worked great. I hope to find other projects to use this gun on.
Well worth the money.
This gun has 2 settings which makes it more versatile.
The price is right."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Wel-Bilt Heat Gun - 1600 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hot Gun

,
July 13, 2009
By mdlbldrnt
from Sioux Falls, South Dakota
"I used this heat gun to peel up some old flooring. It worked very well and for extended periods of time. I started the project with a putty knife and a hammer. What a mess. Decided to invest in a heat gun and wanted something with high output. When I found this gun I figured it had to do the trick. It was easy to use, produced great heat and did the job perfectly.Without this gun and it's high heat output this job would have been a nightmare."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Wel-Bilt Heat Gun - 1600 Watt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great heat gun for the price

,
November 18, 2008
By cbhole7
from Minneapolis, MN
"I have used this gun a few times and has worked great, and you can't beat the price. I would buy this for just about any project that it is needed, execpt using everyday."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Wel-Bilt Heat Gun - 1600 Watt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value

,
January 21, 2008
By sxipro
from Groton, MA
"Works great. Have given it a lot of use, and it still provides tons of controlable heat.
Nice price as well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
Bduckie
Santa Cruz, California 
 
Please wait while more information about Bduckie is loaded.
Additional information about Bduckie could not be loaded.
Well-Bilt Heat Gun
January 3, 2011
"I bought this heat gun to replace the broken hair dryer my threw out and which I was using in my shop. This gun is a real improvement. I did not have many expectations given the price, and I really only bought it to remove some pin striping from a car I was restoring, but since then I have found numerous uses for this gun. It is a great value and has performed beyond my expectations."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Wel-Bilt Heat Gun - 1600 Watt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

WELBUILT HEAT GUN

,
July 9, 2007
By BILLK
from CA.
"HOT LITTLE HEAT GUN.
TWO SPEEDS FOR DIFFERENT TASKS.
LONG ENOUGH CORD.
WISH IT CAME WITH A CASE TO PROTECT IT THOUGH!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Wel-Bilt Heat Gun - 1600 Watt
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

50%...

,
March 6, 2007
By rjganoe
from Melbourne, FL
"Well,
I bought 2... I have a lot of shrink tube to do. Within the first week,
the #1 gun went up in smoke. Bearings out of the motor. Now the fourth
week, the #2 gun is still going strong. I just need to get down to the
local store and trade the broken one in before it goes south. (
hopefully not for some time)
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.