Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Flux-Core/MIG Welder - 115V, 140 Amp, Model# 500559"

"FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Flux-Core/MIG Welder - 115V, 140 Amp, Model# 500559"

Item# 15165
"The Hobart Handler 140 Flux-Core/MIG Welder is a compact wire-feed MIG welder designed to run on 115V household power. The generous operating parameters allow you to weld thin gauge steel 24-ga. up to 1/4in. steel plate. The Handler 140 is easy to set up and runs flux core steel, solid and aluminum wire. Plus it is extremely versatile and perfect for the welder who wants to work on auto body, household repairs, or even heavier farm projects requiring extra power. This tapped voltage unit gives you the best possible power and arc available while welding. And with a powerful lineup of new and upgraded features, you can expect more performance than ever before Comes ready to weld with or without shielding gas no additional kits are required. Features Hobart 5/3/1 limited warranty. Weld Thickness in. 24-ga. up to 1/4 in. steel, Duty Cycle 20 @ 90A, Dimensions L x W x H in. 12 x 18 x 24, Mig Ready Yes, Shielding Gas Required Optional, Cart Not included, Regulator and Gas Hose Included Yes, Weldable Metals Steel, aluminum, stainless, Amps 140, Power Cord ft. 10, Wire Feed Speed Control Yes, Clamp Cable Length ft. 10, Volts 115, Welding Wire Diameter in. 0.023-0.035. Amperage output 25-140 20 duty cycle @ 90 Amps, 19V All new industrial cast aluminum drive system replaces the old drive system to add exceptional strength and durability for even more dependability 5-position voltage control selector adds a smooth, stable arc at all welding thicknesses The new and improved heavy-duty ground clamp is made from thicker material, offering improved contact points and a wider jaw opening Built-in contactor and self-resetting thermal overload protection Now includes a patented 3-groove drive roll to handle all MIG and flux core wire applications Convenient built-in storage area provides at-the-ready access to spare contact tips Includes gun, built-in MIG gas solenoid valve, dual-gauge regulator, gas hose, 10ft. work lead, 8in. wire spool adapter and more"
Average Customer Rating:
4.892 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(611 Reviews) 611
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (611 reviews)
5 stars
550
4 stars
57
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
608 of 611(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 44 Answers
Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Flux-Core/MIG Welder - 115V, 140 Amp, Model# 500559"
Review 1 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Flux-Core/MIG Welder - 115V, 140 Amp, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great unit

,
January 18, 2016
By
from Michigan
Great price, made in America, metal wire drive, easy set up These are just a few of the good things with this welder. Very easy to use even for a beginner. There should be a notice to switch the polarity if using flex core wire in place of solid wire
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Flux-Core/MIG Welder - 115V, 140 Amp, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent welder

,
January 17, 2016
By
from Reading, pa.
Very good and easy to use welder...welds everything I need to perfectly....good value. .a must for any one looking to weld ...highly recommend
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Flux-Core/MIG Welder - 115V, 140 Amp, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart Welder 140 500559

,
January 15, 2016
By
from Trenton, Mich
I sold my 220volt welder and went to the 120volt Hobart welder 140.Shipped fast with no damage. Have only used this on .125 Mild steel so far. Works great. Smaller by far than my old welder. Wish i would have bought this welder originally.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Flux-Core/MIG Welder - 115V, 140 Amp, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart Handler 140 - Quality Machine

,
January 12, 2016
By
from Connecticut
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Purchased the Hobart 140 Handler for a Christmas gift for my son. He is a HS welding student and wanted something to practice with at home. Won't be running a 220 line to the garage until summer so a 110 machine was key. Will be getting him a bigger machine later this year. At school he has access to high end Millers and has said nothing but great things about his new Hobart. Looked fairly extensively at similar 140's and the Hobart was hands down the best built machine and had very favorable reviews. Was very unimpressed with the Lincoln with its plastic wire feed. The Hobart is the perfect machine for the general handyman and should provide us years of service. Looking forward to tackling many home projects. Highly recommend this machine and Northern Tool shipped it promptly with no issues. Even got a $100 gift card for a promotion they were having.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Flux-Core/MIG Welder - 115V, 140 Amp, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Starter Welding Machine

,
January 5, 2016
By
from New Orleans
Just like I expected after researching for a well priced reliable welding machine made in America. Instructions were easy to understand. Free shipping was a welcomed addition.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Flux-Core/MIG Welder - 115V, 140 Amp, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice

,
January 5, 2016
By
from Keene,NH
Just an all around nice Mig Welder for anyone who needs to weld. Best price I found, and with the holiday bonus of cash back on gift card, made it even more attractive. Best you can buy for the money on 115v!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Flux-Core/MIG Welder - 115V, 140 Amp, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great welder

,
January 3, 2016
By
from Idaho
The Hobart 140 is a great mig welder. Very well built with quality components. lays out a beautiful bead and is super easy to use. If you compare the Hobart to the Lincoln, Hobart wins hands down for quality and price. Free shipping from Northern is a great plus. Great tool for the farm. Thanks
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Flux-Core/MIG Welder - 115V, 140 Amp, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect home shop welder

,
December 31, 2015
By
from Washington State
Like a lot of people I bought this welder for garage projects, it was the most amperage I could get to run off a 110 outlet. I had stick welded at a shop in high school but had never used a mig before.
Got the setup as well as the small Northern Tool cart and one of their basic auto darkening helmets. I have used this thing a lot in the last month, made a jack carrier hitch, a gun rack, did some welding on my truck, and even installed some roll bars in my buggy.
I also have done a lot of playing with different metal thicknesses up to 1/4", with gas and flux core. Everything has worked perfectly.
My father in law came over, he is a fabricator by trade, and was giving me some lessons. He was pretty impressed with the big-little unit as well.
I wouldn't go smaller, and you can't go bigger for the money or without 220, so I think this is the perfect home shop welder.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Flux-Core/MIG Welder - 115V, 140 Amp, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handy MIG Welder

,
December 28, 2015
By
from Merrifield, MN
The Hobart 140 Handler is a easy to use welder for small projects around the home shop. Currently under going a restoration on a 1961 Nash Metropolitan Convertible and have plenty of applications for fabricating brackets for mounting this car on a auto rotisserie to replacing and repairing floor panels.
This unit's capability matches the gauge metal I will have to work with from 18 gauge to 1/4 inch material. Around my shop I do not need speed but quality, and this unit delivers this.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Flux-Core/MIG Welder - 115V, 140 Amp, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Car Project

,
December 19, 2015
By
from Fresno,CA.
Bought the welder for a car I am rebuilding , It works perfect for what I need. At 110 volts it is easy to move around. Other than the fan making a little noise it is a great little machine.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Flux-Core/MIG Welder - 115V, 140 Amp, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great welder and a great deal

,
December 8, 2015
By
from Graham County, AZ, United States
First welder I have purchased. Used it right out of the box like they said I could. I was surprised at how proficient I became within a short time. Pretty straight forward nice machine.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Flux-Core/MIG Welder - 115V, 140 Amp, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little welder

,
December 5, 2015
By
from New York
Wonderful handy welder. Easy to use. Good quality build
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Flux-Core/MIG Welder - 115V, 140 Amp, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great 115v Welder

,
November 9, 2015
By
from Georgia
Pleasantly surprised. I wasn't expecting the performance of this 115 volt welder to be what it is. I have two stick welders, a Lincoln Toombstone 230v and a small 115 inverter. After the very easy set up, I jumped right on a project that I started with my 230v Lincoln. All I can say is WOW. It is so easy to use versus stick welding. I was working on 1/8" and 3/16" steel and it worked flawlessly. I have now finished that project quicker than I could have with a stick. Next project involves modifications on my tractor involving 1/4" & 5/16" plate. I feel very comfortable that I won't be touching my 230v Lincoln for this. VERY PLEASED!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Flux-Core/MIG Welder - 115V, 140 Amp, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Price, Performance and Delivery All Good

,
October 9, 2015
By
from Piqua Ohio
I have stick welded extensively, this is my first venture with Mig. Went to the scrap dealer bought 6-8 different sizes and types of metal and started practicing. I had a learning curve of about 3 hrs. and I was doing a satisfactory weld by my standards! Long way from a pro but good enough to reweld a broken dirtbike frame and
have it in a race ( pedals not motors), heck that saved me close to $100 right off the bat! Delivered as described but the polarity was backwards to match the sample spool of wire that was included, but I actually read the instructions and caught that right off the bat. Take a few and read the book! it worked for me.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Flux-Core/MIG Welder - 115V, 140 Amp, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product

,
September 8, 2015
By
from Central, VA
Got a good product for a good price, with free shipping. Very pleased. Just starting to learn MIG welding, and this is definitely the way to go. Easy set up - simple controls. Most important for me, was a metal wire feed drive system. Some of the cheaper versions have plastic.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Flux-Core/MIG Welder - 115V, 140 Amp, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

,
July 29, 2015
By
from ILL
First job was welding my sons race car doors closed and it worked great. Set it to the settings on the side door and started welding. Never used a wire welder but this one was very easy to use.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Flux-Core/MIG Welder - 115V, 140 Amp, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally

,
July 24, 2015
By
from Phoenix AZ
Years ago did some stick welding and then nothing til now... I only have access now to 20amp 110volt. When i tried it with With15 amp circuit it dies out at 1/2 power but will run at lower powers.... I 've only needed #4 power at most and can run and run all i want on 20 amp circuit and I am Happy Plus :) (didn't try #5 power)..... I really need to work on my flux core.... gas , is really nice looking...... welding under 1/4" steel, it will do a great job
Although the Longevity 140 is a very strong contender...... Really glad i got this, probably the brand name sold me
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Flux-Core/MIG Welder - 115V, 140 Amp, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Welder

,
July 12, 2015
By
from Holden, UT
Works great right out of the box. Just set it according to the guide inside the door.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Flux-Core/MIG Welder - 115V, 140 Amp, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Buy

,
July 12, 2015
By
from TN
This is a great little welder for the money. I especially liked not having to add a special electrical outlet in the garage .I replaced my cheap welder with this one and I am glad that I did.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Flux-Core/MIG Welder - 115V, 140 Amp, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Welder!

,
June 8, 2015
By
from WI
I have not welded since HS and after watching a friend weld a couple broken parts from my tractor with a mig, I got the itch to pick one up. Having learned on a stick welder, I was pleasantly surprise how easy this one is to use. Within a couple minutes I was laying down fairly consistent welds, but still working through the right settings for optimal penetration. And based on advice from several others, I also invested in a tank, which also helps get a cleaner weld. Overall, I am very satisfied with this set-up along with the great NT pricing that included free shipping along with a $50 off coupon.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.