Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Flux-Core/MIG Welder - 115V, 140 Amp, Model# 500559"

"FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Flux-Core/MIG Welder - 115V, 140 Amp, Model# 500559"

Item# 15165
"The Hobart Handler 140 Flux-Core/MIG Welder is a compact wire-feed MIG welder designed to run on 115V household power. The generous operating parameters allow you to weld thin gauge steel 24-ga. up to 1/4in. steel plate. The Handler 140 is easy to set up and runs flux core steel, solid and aluminum wire. Plus it is extremely versatile and perfect for the welder who wants to work on auto body, household repairs, or even heavier farm projects requiring extra power. This tapped voltage unit gives you the best possible power and arc available while welding. And with a powerful lineup of new and upgraded features, you can expect more performance than ever before Comes ready to weld with or without shielding gas no additional kits are required. Features Hobart 5/3/1 limited warranty. Weld Thickness in. 24-ga.-1/4 in. steel, Weldable Metals Steel, aluminum, stainless, Regulator and Gas Hose Included Yes, Welding Wire Diameter in. 0.023-0.035, Mig Ready Yes, Clamp Cable Length ft. 10, Cart Not included, Duty Cycle 20 at 90A, Dimensions L x W x H in. 12 x 18 x 24, Output Amps 25-140, Volts 115, Power Cord ft. 10, Wire Feed Speed Control Yes, Amps 140, Shielding Gas Required Optional. Amperage output 25-140 20 duty cycle @ 90 Amps, 19V All new industrial cast aluminum drive system replaces the old drive system to add exceptional strength and durability for even more dependability 5-position voltage control selector adds a smooth, stable arc at all welding thicknesses The new and improved heavy-duty ground clamp is made from thicker material, offering improved contact points and a wider jaw opening Built-in contactor and self-resetting thermal overload protection Patented, exclusive 3-groove drive roll makes switching from one groove to another extremely easy, eliminating the frustration for users running small diameter .023/.024./.025 carbon steel MIG wire for exhaust work and auto body applications 3 groove roll handles 0.024 V-Smooth,rn0.030/0.035 V-Smooth and 0.030/0.035 V-Knurled wire Convenient built-in storage area provides at-the-ready access to spare contact tips Includes gun, built-in MIG gas solenoid valve, dual-gauge regulator, gas hose, 10ft. work lead, 8in. wire spool adapter and more"
Average Customer Rating:
4.893 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(619 Reviews) 619
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (619 reviews)
5 stars
558
4 stars
57
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
616 of 619(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 45 Answers
Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Flux-Core/MIG Welder - 115V, 140 Amp, Model# 500559"
Review 1 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Flux-Core/MIG Welder - 115V, 140 Amp, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart 140 mig welder

,
May 13, 2016
By
from Greeley Hill,Calif
have not opened the box yet-but appears to be what I needed and MADE IN THE USA to boot. the only thing was the day it arrived I noticed that the cost was NOW $39 less than I paid for it
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Flux-Core/MIG Welder - 115V, 140 Amp, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart Handler 140

,
April 28, 2016
By
from WA
Welds like a dream, so much better than that borrowed HF MIG. It was worth the extra $, and good price and shipping from Northern Tool.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Flux-Core/MIG Welder - 115V, 140 Amp, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Beginner Welder

,
March 13, 2016
By
from New York
Great welder for beginners and welds great for a 110 machine. Would reccomend this Hobart handler 140 to anyone who needs a to do welding up to 1/4" steel. Great machine for the money and always read good reviews.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Flux-Core/MIG Welder - 115V, 140 Amp, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Night and day

,
March 10, 2016
By
from Chicago
Struggled with a cheap 115V Campbell Hausfeld MIG welder for years. I couldn't lay a clean bead no matter what I did. Setup the Hobart and within a half hour was welding just like the how-to videos in YouTube. Great product and well made.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Flux-Core/MIG Welder - 115V, 140 Amp, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Autobody

,
March 5, 2016
By
from jeannette pa
Excellent Welder I used it for bodywork .. Quick and easy setup also made in usa
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Flux-Core/MIG Welder - 115V, 140 Amp, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

hobart handler 140

,
February 23, 2016
By
from virginia
great welder for home shop personal use ,easy to use and set up
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Flux-Core/MIG Welder - 115V, 140 Amp, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Welder

,
February 15, 2016
By
from Da U.P., Michigan
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This is a great multi purpose welder. Just finishing up on the welding cart I made for it.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Flux-Core/MIG Welder - 115V, 140 Amp, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

U.S.A Hobart quality

,
February 11, 2016
By
from Colorado
U.S.A. made Hobart quality, not much more need be said.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Flux-Core/MIG Welder - 115V, 140 Amp, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great unit

,
January 18, 2016
By
from Michigan
Great price, made in America, metal wire drive, easy set up These are just a few of the good things with this welder. Very easy to use even for a beginner. There should be a notice to switch the polarity if using flex core wire in place of solid wire
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Flux-Core/MIG Welder - 115V, 140 Amp, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent welder

,
January 17, 2016
By
from Reading, pa.
Very good and easy to use welder...welds everything I need to perfectly....good value. .a must for any one looking to weld ...highly recommend
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Flux-Core/MIG Welder - 115V, 140 Amp, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart Welder 140 500559

,
January 15, 2016
By
from Trenton, Mich
I sold my 220volt welder and went to the 120volt Hobart welder 140.Shipped fast with no damage. Have only used this on .125 Mild steel so far. Works great. Smaller by far than my old welder. Wish i would have bought this welder originally.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Flux-Core/MIG Welder - 115V, 140 Amp, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart Handler 140 - Quality Machine

,
January 12, 2016
By
from Connecticut
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Purchased the Hobart 140 Handler for a Christmas gift for my son. He is a HS welding student and wanted something to practice with at home. Won't be running a 220 line to the garage until summer so a 110 machine was key. Will be getting him a bigger machine later this year. At school he has access to high end Millers and has said nothing but great things about his new Hobart. Looked fairly extensively at similar 140's and the Hobart was hands down the best built machine and had very favorable reviews. Was very unimpressed with the Lincoln with its plastic wire feed. The Hobart is the perfect machine for the general handyman and should provide us years of service. Looking forward to tackling many home projects. Highly recommend this machine and Northern Tool shipped it promptly with no issues. Even got a $100 gift card for a promotion they were having.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Flux-Core/MIG Welder - 115V, 140 Amp, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Starter Welding Machine

,
January 5, 2016
By
from New Orleans
Just like I expected after researching for a well priced reliable welding machine made in America. Instructions were easy to understand. Free shipping was a welcomed addition.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Flux-Core/MIG Welder - 115V, 140 Amp, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice

,
January 5, 2016
By
from Keene,NH
Just an all around nice Mig Welder for anyone who needs to weld. Best price I found, and with the holiday bonus of cash back on gift card, made it even more attractive. Best you can buy for the money on 115v!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Flux-Core/MIG Welder - 115V, 140 Amp, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great welder

,
January 3, 2016
By
from Idaho
The Hobart 140 is a great mig welder. Very well built with quality components. lays out a beautiful bead and is super easy to use. If you compare the Hobart to the Lincoln, Hobart wins hands down for quality and price. Free shipping from Northern is a great plus. Great tool for the farm. Thanks
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Flux-Core/MIG Welder - 115V, 140 Amp, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect home shop welder

,
December 31, 2015
By
from Washington State
Like a lot of people I bought this welder for garage projects, it was the most amperage I could get to run off a 110 outlet. I had stick welded at a shop in high school but had never used a mig before.
Got the setup as well as the small Northern Tool cart and one of their basic auto darkening helmets. I have used this thing a lot in the last month, made a jack carrier hitch, a gun rack, did some welding on my truck, and even installed some roll bars in my buggy.
I also have done a lot of playing with different metal thicknesses up to 1/4", with gas and flux core. Everything has worked perfectly.
My father in law came over, he is a fabricator by trade, and was giving me some lessons. He was pretty impressed with the big-little unit as well.
I wouldn't go smaller, and you can't go bigger for the money or without 220, so I think this is the perfect home shop welder.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Flux-Core/MIG Welder - 115V, 140 Amp, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handy MIG Welder

,
December 28, 2015
By
from Merrifield, MN
The Hobart 140 Handler is a easy to use welder for small projects around the home shop. Currently under going a restoration on a 1961 Nash Metropolitan Convertible and have plenty of applications for fabricating brackets for mounting this car on a auto rotisserie to replacing and repairing floor panels.
This unit's capability matches the gauge metal I will have to work with from 18 gauge to 1/4 inch material. Around my shop I do not need speed but quality, and this unit delivers this.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Flux-Core/MIG Welder - 115V, 140 Amp, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Car Project

,
December 19, 2015
By
from Fresno,CA.
Bought the welder for a car I am rebuilding , It works perfect for what I need. At 110 volts it is easy to move around. Other than the fan making a little noise it is a great little machine.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Flux-Core/MIG Welder - 115V, 140 Amp, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great welder and a great deal

,
December 8, 2015
By
from Graham County, AZ, United States
First welder I have purchased. Used it right out of the box like they said I could. I was surprised at how proficient I became within a short time. Pretty straight forward nice machine.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Flux-Core/MIG Welder - 115V, 140 Amp, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little welder

,
December 5, 2015
By
from New York
Wonderful handy welder. Easy to use. Good quality build
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.