Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559"

"FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559"

Item# 15165
"The Hobart Handler 140 is a compact wire-feed MIG welder designed to run on 115V household power. The generous operating parameters allow you to weld thin gauge steel 24-ga. up to 1/4in. steel plate. The Handler 140 is easy to set up and runs flux core steel, solid and aluminum wire. Plus it is extremely versatile and perfect for the welder who wants to work on auto body, household repairs, or even heavier farm projects requiring extra power. This tapped voltage unit gives you the best possible power and arc available while welding. And with a powerful lineup of new and upgraded features, you can expect more performance than ever before Comes ready to weld with or without shielding gas no additional kits are required. Features Hobart 5/3/1 limited warranty. Weld Thickness in. 24-ga. up to 1/4 in. steel, Duty Cycle 20 @ 90A, Volts 115, Power Cord ft. 10, Welding Wire Diameter in. 0.023-0.035, Dimensions L x W x H in. 12 x 18 x 24, Clamp Cable Length ft. 10, Weldable Metals Steel, aluminum, stainless, Regulator and Gas Hose Included Yes, Cart Not included, Mig Ready Yes, Shielding Gas Required Optional, Amps 140, Wire Feed Speed Control Yes. Amperage output 25-140 20 duty cycle @ 90 Amps, 19V All new industrial cast aluminum drive system replaces the old drive system to add exceptional strength and durability for even more dependability 5-position voltage control selector adds a smooth, stable arc at all welding thicknesses The new and improved heavy-duty ground clamp is made from thicker material, offering improved contact points and a wider jaw opening Built-in contactor and self-resetting thermal overload protection Quick-release drive roll system for easy wire changes Convenient built-in storage area provides at-the-ready access to spare contact tips Includes gun, built-in MIG gas solenoid valve, dual-gauge regulator, gas hose, 10ft. work lead, 8in. wire spool adapter and more"
Average Customer Rating:
4.887 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(585 Reviews) 585
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (585 reviews)
5 stars
524
4 stars
57
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
582 of 585(99%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 35 Answers
Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559"
Review 1 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fine Welder

,
February 27, 2015
By Ozbow
from Santa Ana CA
" It was easy to use for a new to welding guy like me. I was able to weld very quickly. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart 140

,
February 22, 2015
By gilbertxyz
from Apple Valley, CA
" Great welder, top quality from the gun to the cord and a great value! This welder has got to be one of the best 115v welders you will ever use, the weld characteristics are superb at all settings. With over 40 years experience I've seen a few. I currently own a MM-211 also, and I use my buddies Lincoln all the time, while all are excellent, none are better than the HH-140, this Hobart will hold its own against any brand. Their customer service is excellent and fast. I needed a switch replaced recently (free) and they got it to me within a few days and of course the replacement part was tagged in a Miller Genuine Parts pack, it's almost like getting 2 companies behind you for the price on 1! You wont be disappointed, highly recommended. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart 140 wire feed

,
February 9, 2015
By Pede
from OR
" I recently purchased the Hobart 140. I own a small ranch. It is worth the money. I have fixed a lot of little projects with out costing a bunch of money. I have welding experience and think it performs very well. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very pleased

,
February 2, 2015
By PRS70
from Whitesboro, NY
" Very easy to use. Exactly what I was looking for. Will be able to complete jobs at home. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceptional Product

,
January 29, 2015
By TTownWCM
from Texarkana, AR
" I have been very pleased with the quality and ease of use of the Hobart 140. It arrived well packaged and I found everything in good order when unpacked.
Setup was easy and I was ready to start welding within 20 minutes. Had to give it 5 stars, no complaints at this time.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Makin' sparks.

,
January 16, 2015
By KenMez
from Long Island,NY
" Great product, great price, free shipping and a $50 gift card, what's not to love? Although I have had formal training as a welder, I haven't laid a bead in 25 years, and after 15 minutes of practice, it was like I had never stopped. The machine sets up easy and is a pleasure to use, the included chart is a great to get you in the ballpark. I couldn't be happier with my purchase. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great MIG Welder

,
January 13, 2015
By MGDSM
from Des Moines, IA
" The Hobart 140 is a great piece of equipment, right out of the box. Even better when you upgrade it to full MIG with gas. Welds are perfect, runs on a standard plug... who could ask for more! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

,
January 8, 2015
By MaJo
from Philadelphia, Pa.
" I purchased this welder for my son and he loves it. It was very easy to set up and works perfectly. He is basically a self taught welder who has a small nick knack business going. I would say his skill level is intermediate and he can't say enough positive things about this unit. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Package

,
January 7, 2015
By mnnels
from Grand Rapids, MN
" Great all around welder. Size and accessories make this a great buy!! Have been using the same model at an auto shop for many years, needed to get one for home and it's just what I needed and I highly recommend this for home/shop/work. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Welder

,
January 6, 2015
By R622
from Rockwall, TX
" This is my first MIG welder and it was super easy to setup and get running. The instructions are very easy to follow and the guidance and online tutorial are fantastic. There seems to be a lot of power to take on any project that I will face at home, auto or deer lease. Can't wait to do some projects with this baby. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hobart 140

,
December 30, 2014
By How57
from PA
" Excellent machine for its size. Great for all my welding needs around the house. Definately recommend this machine. Don't forget to get extra consumables like tips and nozzles and a spool of wire. the gas less flux cored wire runs much better than I expected. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GOOD WELDER

,
December 21, 2014
By bonezy427
from Ft.Worth, TEXAS
" I like the welder, works good on small products. Like the removable lead and different wire size drive roller. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible deal on a good welder

,
December 4, 2014
By skyracerx5150
from Manassas Va
" I purchased this for working on a sandrail, my trailer, and other odds and ends around the garage. This will do everything I need and more. Perfect size for the home owner or garage. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome and easy

,
September 19, 2014
By msnewbee
from SLC
" I'm a furniture maker not a welder. Some of the stuff I am making now is mixed mediums and I have had to pay fab guys to make legs, stands, etc. To much money. Before I purchased this, I read and talked with anyone I could. There were several brands that kept coming up. Having read more about the Hobart and using one at a fab shop, it was an easy option for the price and ease of use. I have been working and learning how to use this for about 3 weeks and have been super surprised at how easy it is to use. I have made everything I have needed to make. There is a metal size chat on the inside panel that makes switching between sizes a no brainer. The welder came with the flux wire but I have switched to gas. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great intermediate welder

,
September 2, 2014
By Ed1953
from Seattle
" I am somewhere between a hobbyist and professional and I find this welder to work great. I weld up to 3/16" plate metal and stitch light gauge sheet metal as well. It does a good job at both. It looks nice, feels high quality, is easy to set up, and works really well. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart Handler 140

,
August 24, 2014
By Jk55
from Trumbull, CT
" I hadn't welded since I took a class for one of my trade licenses 8 years ago. I have a list of things to be repaired, from a small crack in my steel wood stove, to broken pipe racks at work, to broken patio furniture. I'm very happy with the performance and capabilities of this small machine. I haven't attached the welding gas, and just use the flux cored wire, because I do all my welding outside. Finding a 10ga, 100ft extension chord was a bit tricky. My only 20amp circuits are in my work shop off my garage, and I needed one to reach my stove and my driveway. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great buy

,
August 9, 2014
By 23Tbucket
from Sequim Wa.
" I had purchased the 125 amp wire feed from you a couple of years ago. It worked great except for the splatter.I had to do to much grinding all the time. This Hobart 140 115 volt with the bottle once you get everything set right works wonderfull i am doing a frame off restoration on a 56 ford pickup and welding (from 16 ga to 1/4 in. steel) up all the excess holes in the frame and the body. Would recommend to everyone. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for work up to 1/4"

,
June 29, 2014
By WyckMcTryckle
from San Antonio, TX
" I have yet to have a single problem wyith the 140 and I'm into my third spool of wire. I've only used it as a MIG with 100% argon and I don't yet have the spool gun, but the machine is a dream after the Chicago Electric f/c machine I was using before. Zero splatter and zero problems with the wire feeding through the machine. Awesome. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Welder

,
May 21, 2014
By wvlawnman
from weston, wv
" The first thing is the price, could not get a better deal and have the unit shipped directly to my house. Open the box and began welding within 1 hr. Simple to use, plenty of power (amps). The best part is that it plugs right into a 20 amp regular wall outlet. I researched this for a month, could not find a better welder for the money. I built a utility trailer with it the first week I had it. Great purchase. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really smooth machine!!!

,
April 28, 2014
By Mechweldor
from Needles, Ca
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I had a Lincoln Weld 100 it didn't do what I wanted it to do so I sold it and bought a Hobart Handler140 Wire feed-Mig machine. I have been a welder for almost 30 years and this machine is one of the smoothest and nicest wire feeds I have ever used for home use. Very easy to set up and weld with. I personally am using it with .035 flux core wireand its awesome. I would highly recommend this machine to anyone gladly!!! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.