Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559"

"FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559"

Item# 15165
"The Hobart Handler 140 is a compact wire-feed MIG welder designed to run on 115V household power. The generous operating parameters allow you to weld thin gauge steel 24-ga. up to 1/4in. steel plate. The Handler 140 is easy to set up and runs flux core steel, solid and aluminum wire. Plus it is extremely versatile and perfect for the welder who wants to work on auto body, household repairs, or even heavier farm projects requiring extra power. This tapped voltage unit gives you the best possible power and arc available while welding. And with a powerful lineup of new and upgraded features, you can expect more performance than ever before Comes ready to weld with or without shielding gas no additional kits are required. Features Hobart 5/3/1 limited warranty. Weld Thickness in. 24-ga. up to 1/4 in. steel, Duty Cycle 20 @ 90A, Dimensions L x W x H in. 12 x 18 x 24, Volts 115, Power Cord ft. 10, Welding Wire Diameter in. 0.023-0.035, Clamp Cable Length ft. 10, Weldable Metals Steel, aluminum, stainless, Cart Not included, Regulator and Gas Hose Included Yes, Shielding Gas Required Optional, Mig Ready Yes, Amps 140, Wire Feed Speed Control Yes. Amperage output 25-140 20 duty cycle @ 90 Amps, 19V All new industrial cast aluminum drive system replaces the old drive system to add exceptional strength and durability for even more dependability 5-position voltage control selector adds a smooth, stable arc at all welding thicknesses The new and improved heavy-duty ground clamp is made from thicker material, offering improved contact points and a wider jaw opening Built-in contactor and self-resetting thermal overload protection Quick-release drive roll system for easy wire changes Convenient built-in storage area provides at-the-ready access to spare contact tips Includes gun, built-in MIG gas solenoid valve, dual-gauge regulator, gas hose, 10ft. work lead, 8in. wire spool adapter and more"
Average Customer Rating:
4.888 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(590 Reviews) 590
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (590 reviews)
5 stars
529
4 stars
57
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
587 of 590(99%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 40 Answers
Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559"
Review 1 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic (but damaged as received). Happy ending!

,
April 20, 2015
By E789
from Calif
" A fantastic welder!
Unfortunately, though, there was a problem with the unit I received from NT. It came in with only minor damage to the box and looked just fine at first. Except that I could not open the access panel. Which was annoying. I thought it was just a defective lock but Hobart tech support (very nice and knowledgeable folks) suggested that I look at the bottom of the unit. It was indeed very noticeably bulging out with the unit even wobbling on a flat surface. Which prompted them to conclude that the box had been dropped from quite a height and the inertia of the heavy transformer had caved out the bottom of the welder upon impact. They said it was toast and I should return it. I was rather bummed as you can imagine since I was really looking forward to trying it out after all that research. So I called NT returns and to my pleasant surprise (given the times we live in), they volunteered with no reluctance whatsoever that a new unit would be shipped right away (as in before they got the first one back - very nice) and they also made arrangements with UPS to pick the first one at not cost to me even having UPS provide shipping labels. Which in fact they all did and I received the new unit only a few days after I reported the problem (and before they even got the first unit back I think). So kudos to NT for a prompt and effective response to a problem they may not even have been responsible for, as I can't say of course who dropped and damaged the welder, it could have been transport between Hobart and NT, NT itself, or UPS. Not much point in guessing, and errr... Life... happens. So, besides a few days of additional wait for my first weld, all was good. Can't complain in the grand scheme of things. And I certainly won't hesitate to order from NT again.
Not much I can add to the many positive reviews here already about the machine itself. I decided on the Hobart 140 after much research. It is in my opinion the best value / quality 110V-only welder out there among the reputable brands for the hobbyist / handy man level. From what I can tell it is fully Miller quality with fewer features, its most notable limitations (besides 110V) being the lowish duty rating (although not a big deal for a hobbyist IMO) and the tapped power control rather than infinite settings (also not a big limitation for most non-pros I think). It won't take a spool gun without at your own risk DIY modding though. I have spent a few hours welding with it already and it has lived up to all my expectations. Some very nice beads both with MIG and flux core, lots of power for a 110V unit, never hit the thermal protection, very stable arc, good wire feed, gorgeous metal feed mechanism, good gun, feels like quality throughout (with the possible exception of the regulator which seems a bit on the light duty side but still fine). A fantastic unit overall. Do be sure that you have a good 20A circuit if you will take it to maximum power, though, it will trip a 15A circuit. (Even though strangely the manual specifies a 15A plug and outlet, which seems rather inconsistent. But of course there are very few true 20A 110V outlets out there, even though 20A circuits are fairly common.) It would be nice to have truly constant and displayed voltage and feed rate as in costlier machines, but it is what it is given the price, and I'd rather take the reliability and quality with limited controls over fancy displays and low reliability. I think it will do 3/8" steel with flux core reliably in one pass with no problem. 1/4" you'll likely need multiple passes but that's easy enough. No regret whatsoever. A very nice unit for the non-pro who has only 110V or does not anticipate doing 1/4" steel frequently.
Again, a great welder! And also great customer support from NT!
Life is good! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for a beginner like me

,
April 6, 2015
By Bullittman
from Florida
" I have never welded anything in my life. I did a lot of research and the Hobart Handler 140 kept popping up everywhere with good reviews. The set up was easy to do and understand, including hooking up the shielding gas. I was welding within 30min of the shipment with the flux core wire that come with the welder. My first project came out great (I did have to grind the welds to make them look a little better), but remember I have NEVER welded anything before. I think with a little practice I will be OK. I just followed the directions and set up the welder according to the chart on the lid and I was set. The only draw back I have found so far is only one .030 tip came with the welder, and I destroyed mine pretty quick by not paying attention. No big deal trip to the hardware store and I was good to go again. It took me longer to find a place to get shielding gas than it did to set up and weld. I am no expert but this machine seems to have done a very good job of allowing a complete novice to obtain acceptable welds, I have even welded some 22 gage sheet metal with it.I would buy it again in a heartbeat. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value

,
March 21, 2015
By kajun
from Louisiana
" I am a retired Welder from a piastics plant nearby, I bought this welder to teach my son the basics of welding J think that the Hobart brand is a excellent choice since it is made by Miller this machine welds sm ooth and with no surprises and will weld up to a quarter inch I am verry pieased with my purchace "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart Handler 140

,
March 6, 2015
By MRUT
from Utah
" This welder is hands down is one of the best welders in the 115 volt category. I am running gas with this welder, haven't tried flux core and will most likely never will. I upgraded to the Hobart from a Chicago 90 amp flux and can't believe how much nicer and cleaner my welds are, not even comparable. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart 140. Great Little Welder!

,
February 27, 2015
By mpbclutch33
from Maryland
" Have been looking for a mig welder for a while and thought about going the cheap route and the more research I did, the more I got pointed to the Hobart 140. If you are just a hobbyist and don't plan on welding anything over about 3/16", this is a great little welder. I was able to find a coupon code online for an extra $50 off anything over $200 or something like that. And Free Shipping. Gotta love that. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fine Welder

,
February 27, 2015
By Ozbow
from Santa Ana CA
" It was easy to use for a new to welding guy like me. I was able to weld very quickly. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart 140

,
February 22, 2015
By gilbertxyz
from Apple Valley, CA
" Great welder, top quality from the gun to the cord and a great value! This welder has got to be one of the best 115v welders you will ever use, the weld characteristics are superb at all settings. With over 40 years experience I've seen a few. I currently own a MM-211 also, and I use my buddies Lincoln all the time, while all are excellent, none are better than the HH-140, this Hobart will hold its own against any brand. Their customer service is excellent and fast. I needed a switch replaced recently (free) and they got it to me within a few days and of course the replacement part was tagged in a Miller Genuine Parts pack, it's almost like getting 2 companies behind you for the price on 1! You wont be disappointed, highly recommended. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart 140 wire feed

,
February 9, 2015
By Pede
from OR
" I recently purchased the Hobart 140. I own a small ranch. It is worth the money. I have fixed a lot of little projects with out costing a bunch of money. I have welding experience and think it performs very well. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very pleased

,
February 2, 2015
By PRS70
from Whitesboro, NY
" Very easy to use. Exactly what I was looking for. Will be able to complete jobs at home. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceptional Product

,
January 29, 2015
By TTownWCM
from Texarkana, AR
" I have been very pleased with the quality and ease of use of the Hobart 140. It arrived well packaged and I found everything in good order when unpacked.
Setup was easy and I was ready to start welding within 20 minutes. Had to give it 5 stars, no complaints at this time.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Makin' sparks.

,
January 16, 2015
By KenMez
from Long Island,NY
" Great product, great price, free shipping and a $50 gift card, what's not to love? Although I have had formal training as a welder, I haven't laid a bead in 25 years, and after 15 minutes of practice, it was like I had never stopped. The machine sets up easy and is a pleasure to use, the included chart is a great to get you in the ballpark. I couldn't be happier with my purchase. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great MIG Welder

,
January 13, 2015
By MGDSM
from Des Moines, IA
" The Hobart 140 is a great piece of equipment, right out of the box. Even better when you upgrade it to full MIG with gas. Welds are perfect, runs on a standard plug... who could ask for more! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

,
January 8, 2015
By MaJo
from Philadelphia, Pa.
" I purchased this welder for my son and he loves it. It was very easy to set up and works perfectly. He is basically a self taught welder who has a small nick knack business going. I would say his skill level is intermediate and he can't say enough positive things about this unit. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Package

,
January 7, 2015
By mnnels
from Grand Rapids, MN
" Great all around welder. Size and accessories make this a great buy!! Have been using the same model at an auto shop for many years, needed to get one for home and it's just what I needed and I highly recommend this for home/shop/work. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Welder

,
January 6, 2015
By R622
from Rockwall, TX
" This is my first MIG welder and it was super easy to setup and get running. The instructions are very easy to follow and the guidance and online tutorial are fantastic. There seems to be a lot of power to take on any project that I will face at home, auto or deer lease. Can't wait to do some projects with this baby. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hobart 140

,
December 30, 2014
By How57
from PA
" Excellent machine for its size. Great for all my welding needs around the house. Definately recommend this machine. Don't forget to get extra consumables like tips and nozzles and a spool of wire. the gas less flux cored wire runs much better than I expected. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GOOD WELDER

,
December 21, 2014
By bonezy427
from Ft.Worth, TEXAS
" I like the welder, works good on small products. Like the removable lead and different wire size drive roller. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Incredible deal on a good welder

,
December 4, 2014
By skyracerx5150
from Manassas Va
" I purchased this for working on a sandrail, my trailer, and other odds and ends around the garage. This will do everything I need and more. Perfect size for the home owner or garage. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome and easy

,
September 19, 2014
By msnewbee
from SLC
" I'm a furniture maker not a welder. Some of the stuff I am making now is mixed mediums and I have had to pay fab guys to make legs, stands, etc. To much money. Before I purchased this, I read and talked with anyone I could. There were several brands that kept coming up. Having read more about the Hobart and using one at a fab shop, it was an easy option for the price and ease of use. I have been working and learning how to use this for about 3 weeks and have been super surprised at how easy it is to use. I have made everything I have needed to make. There is a metal size chat on the inside panel that makes switching between sizes a no brainer. The welder came with the flux wire but I have switched to gas. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great intermediate welder

,
September 2, 2014
By Ed1953
from Seattle
" I am somewhere between a hobbyist and professional and I find this welder to work great. I weld up to 3/16" plate metal and stitch light gauge sheet metal as well. It does a good job at both. It looks nice, feels high quality, is easy to set up, and works really well. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.