Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559

FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559

Item# 15165
The Hobart Handler 140 is a compact wire-feed MIG welder designed to run on 115V household power. The generous operating parameters allow you to weld thin gauge steel 24-ga. up to 1/4in. steel plate. The Handler 140 is easy to set up and runs flux core steel, solid and aluminum wire. Plus it is extremely versatile and perfect for the welder who wants to work on auto body, household repairs, or even heavier farm projects requiring extra power. This tapped voltage unit gives you the best possible power and arc available while welding. And with a powerful lineup of new and upgraded features, you can expect more performance than ever before Comes ready to weld with or without shielding gas no additional kits are required. Hobart 5/3/1 limited warranty. Regulator and Gas Hose Included Yes, Weldable Metals Steel, aluminum, stainless, Cart Not included, Mig Ready Yes, Duty Cycle 20 @ 90A, Weld Thickness in. 24-ga. up to 1/4 in. steel, Wire Feed Speed Control Yes, Volts 115, Dimensions L x W x H in. 12 x 18 x 24, Power Cord ft. 10, Welding Wire Diameter in. 0.023 - 0.035, Amps 140, Shielding Gas Required Optional, Clamp Cable Length ft. 10. Amperage output 25-140 20 duty cycle @ 90 Amps, 19V All new industrial cast aluminum drive system replaces the old drive system to add exceptional strength and durability for even more dependability 5-position voltage control selector adds a smooth, stable arc at all welding thicknesses The new and improved heavy-duty ground clamp is made from thicker material, offering improved contact points and a wider jaw opening Built-in contactor and self-resetting thermal overload protection Quick-release drive roll system for easy wire changes Convenient built-in storage area provides at-the-ready access to spare contact tips Includes gun, built-in MIG gas solenoid valve, dual-gauge regulator, gas hose, 10ft. work lead, 8in. wire spool adapter and more
Average Customer Rating:
4.869 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(625 Reviews) 625
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (625 reviews)
5 stars
554
4 stars
63
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
0
619 of 625(99%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

All reviews are 100% reliable

,
March 18, 2014
By pmgunner
from Central Pa.
"Usually don't take the time to write reviews, but needed to take a moment to say that the reviews on this welder are very helpful. Rarely do you find a product that has 560+, 5 star reviews and believe them. With that said and now being an actual owner of this welder, I can attest to the accuracy of others testimonies. It is a fantastic welder, and with the right flux core welding wire, there, in my opinion is really no need for gas. With it however, I'm certain the results would be even better. Hope this helps others make a decision as it impressed me and the reviews helped this skeptic. One thing though, spend the extra $5 to purchase the flux core only tip as it helps get in to tight spots."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent value for the money!

,
February 27, 2014
By condershire
from Albuquerque, NM
"Did quite a bit of research before biting off on this, I've owned a 90 amp wire feed flux welder in the past, given the fact that it runs off household current, I was a little nervous regarding it's capabilities...
My misgivings were misplaced, this think works EXTREMELY well! I was able to lay some beautiful beads with flux core, having the settings right really minimizes spatter. I decided to give gas a try and straight CO2 works beautiful, excellent penetration and relatively spatter free welds at 15 - 20 cfh.
I have not tried C25 yet but that is in the works. The build quality is top notch, cast aluminum drive, solid throughout, basically a Miller in disguise...
If you are an auto hobbyist, work on a motorcycle, etc. and are not building a bridge this is all the welder you will likely need. The warranty and customer support is unparalleled and even better, the unit is made in the USA...
I HIGHLY recommend this welder!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great welder

,
February 14, 2014
By motorscot
from Birmingham, AL
"Used this welder for 1.5 years, works great! Welds up to 1/4" steel with ease and is super easy to use and operate. Welded the aluminum deck of my mower after switching to 100% argon and aluminum wire, no spoolgun needed. My "go to" welder in my home shop..."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
6out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
February 8, 2014
By james4312
from newport news, va
"I have used the product for 3 years and worked great every time. I have worked on toys and made plenty on money with the welder. Im very happy with welder and would buy again."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

hobart 140 handler

,
February 6, 2014
By mainjet
from montrose,co
"with some limited welding experience behind me. high school shop. i knew i wanted a welder. after talking with a friend who is a professional welder by trade. he recommended me to the hobart 140. i built a welding cart to refamiliarize myself. then i built a 7 x 14 flatbed trailer. went up to 1/4" thickness. put a pickup camper trailer on it along with a couple dirtbikes. have had it 3 years now dragging it down some bumpy roads. all the welds have held together. a great welder for the home handyman. would recommend highly for this application."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

,
February 6, 2014
By Barrold
from Colorado
"This welder is great for a home handyman/. Welds with flux core very easily. Seems to work best with 1/8 inch mild steel. But it will do up to 1/4" with 2 pass."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mig welder

,
February 5, 2014
By Timmy87
from Dewitt,ar
"I have one of these in my shop and it works excellent. Welds good and doesn't overheat like a lot of welders iv used. I would recommend it to anyone."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder

,
February 5, 2014
By mudracer12
from chamberlain SD
"great all around weilder for smaller jobs and some bigger jobs. works good lays nice beeds with no problems."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great welder for the handyman!

,
February 5, 2014
By Sahelg
from St. Paul, mn
"I recently purchased this welder to build some custom bow hunting stands. Let me tell you - it's fantastic! I've welded some in the past, but this welder makes it very easy to get professional looking results. I prefer to use the shielding gas option with solid core wire. Highly recommend this!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little welder

,
February 5, 2014
By Gearhead454
from Pierce County, WI
"I've used this welder on several projects, including sheet metal and angle iron bracing. It worked perfectly. I haven't used it with gas, but I haven't had any issues. If I was doing auto body panels, I would probably use gas. This unit works wonderfully as long as you don't try to weld steel that is thicker than the manufacturer recommends. It did everything they said it would, and did it very well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Farm Repair

,
February 4, 2014
By farm102
from Jennings,LA
"I'm no welder by any means,I purchased this welder one year ago to build a front end loader attachment for my tractor out of 3"X3"X1/4" steel tubing. This welder made me look like a professional welder. I welded for the better part of two day with no problems from over heating or any other issues. I have used this attatchment to move large tree trunks and large round hay bails with no issues from the welds. I have also used it for several small jobs welding conduit with no problems. Planning on using it for my next aluminum project. This is a must have for all do it your selfers. You can use this anywhere you have a 110 outlet compared to 220 units which need 220 outlet. I wouild recomend this to everyone looking for a welder."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Home Welder

,
February 4, 2014
By TDCKennesaw
from Kennesaw, GA
"I am new to welding but this welder is pretty easy to operate and with a little practice I was able to do some simple welding jobs on several projects. It was easy to set up and with the stand that was included it's easy to move around."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything I need

,
February 4, 2014
By JWTX
from Houston, TX
"The welder does everything I need from basic around the garage tinkering to building blinds and feeders for the deer lease. I borrowed one to build a smoker then Promptly bought my own."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart 140 Handler

,
February 4, 2014
By Packman10
from Texas
"I bought this welder a couple of years ago and it has worked great for restoring my old cars. For light sheet metal welding it works just great. I would highly say this is a great welder and anyone needing one this size, it would work great for you."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Welder

,
February 4, 2014
By Dirtydawg1
from East Bethel, MN
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Just learning to weld, I took a class at the local high school and the instructor recommended this product to me. I bought one, got everything hooked up and have used it a few times. Used it to weld up a welding cart. Runs nice, welds good and seems to be well made. So far very happy."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for Jeep enthusiasts

,
February 4, 2014
By joshEyeti
from CA
"I learned of this welder from a forum I'm on. I love it. Does everything I need it to and then some. Perfect for beginners and best value for the buck."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent welder

,
February 4, 2014
By Earljr
from Lewiston< ID
"I bought this for light home use. I've welded autobody panels, galvanized pipe, sheet steel and flat iron. This welder has handled everything I've asked it to. Even better, I didn't have to upgrade my garage to 220. I love this welder."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Welder

,
February 4, 2014
By 2500HDKX450
from Mt Pleasant, SC
"I have had this welder for over 5 years with zero problems. I use it to fix farm equipment, gates, auto fabrication. The beads look great when using shielding gas. Zero complaints!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple to use.

,
February 4, 2014
By Greenbean4
from Virginia Beach, VA
"Let me start by saying, I have never welded. I read the instructions, installed a spool of non flux wire and gave it a try. I did a few tacks then practiced on a piece of steel. I did pretty good for a newbie! My friend owns a welding business and has many welders, large and small. He recommended the Handler 140 to me. He has one and loves it. I was asking what type of shielding gas to use. He uses co2 for the majority of what he welds and said he has never had a problem. Need a great welder? Get the Handler 140!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 140 Wire-Feed MIG Welder - 115 Volt, Model# 500559
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Welding

,
February 4, 2014
By beasbr3
from Ca.
"I purchased this as my first welder. A friend of mine who is a profisnal welder helped me set it up. I and he was surprise how well it weld's even with an extinson cord. I think for home use this is a top notch machine"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.