Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Tuf-Tug Dual-Capacity Cable Hoist/Puller - 2500-Lb./5000-Lb.

Tuf-Tug Dual-Capacity Cable Hoist/Puller - 2500-Lb./5000-Lb.

Item# 152911
The Tuf-Tug TT20/50-20CDC cable hoist/puller was developed for extra heavy-duty rigging applications with dual load capacity capability to convert from a 2500-lb. lift capacity with a 20-ft. reach single line to a 5000-lb. pull capacity with a 10-ft. reach double line. Dual ratchet design. Solid steel construction. Cable Length ft. 20, Cable Diameter in. 9/32, Single Line Load Capacity tons 1 1/4, Double Line Lift Height ft. 10, Double Line Load Capacity tons. 2 1/2, Double Line Min. Hook to Hook Distance in. 30, Load Capacity tons 2 1/2, Single Line Lift Height ft. 20, Single Line Min. Hook to Hook Distance in. 24. 2500 lb. capacity / 20ft. reach - single line 5000 lb. capacity / 10ft. reach - double line Dual ratchet drive design Solid steel construction
Average Customer Rating:
4.875 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (8 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 of 8(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Tuf-Tug Dual-Capacity Cable Hoist/Puller - 2500-Lb./5000-Lb.
Review 1 for Tuf-Tug Dual-Capacity Cable Hoist/Puller - 2500-Lb./5000-Lb.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Performance Cable Puller

,
June 3, 2013
By HeavyBigJ
from Toronto Canada
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I have used this product on 2 different types of jobs, both of them were a challenge, and TUF-TUG got the job done, and done well. See attached pictures.
#1 - Removing large tree stumps for installing a hot-tub.
#2 - Extracting massive boulders from the ground, and placing them into wave-breaking barriers.
* It is very important to make sure the cable winding is tight and organized, otherwise the cable will bunch up and get caught in the leaf-spring.
* The cable has a tendency to start twisting when under load, so it needs to be removed and corrected to avoid damage.
In conclusion, it is a great product, especially for a long haul, because of the 20/10 foot cable length, but you MUST pay close attention to the cable winding while using it, or it will fail.
For vertical hoisting, I have reservations, so I will be buying a 6-Ton Levered Chain Hoist to use on the hoisting transit crane I am designing and building."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Tuf-Tug Dual-Capacity Cable Hoist/Puller - 2500-Lb./5000-Lb.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can lift anything

,
April 24, 2013
By CatHerder
from Northern New Mexico
"For most jobs it is a bit of an overkill but I certainly never have to worry that it couldn't do the job. Just buy it, you will not regret it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Tuf-Tug Dual-Capacity Cable Hoist/Puller - 2500-Lb./5000-Lb.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

tuf tug works great

,
October 16, 2012
By lookingman
from sterling,co
"I was very pleased with the tuf tug. High quality, well made, quite durable, will last a long time. Far, far better than any "low cost chinese options", the price is high, but, as they say, you get what you pay for."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Tuf-Tug Dual-Capacity Cable Hoist/Puller - 2500-Lb./5000-Lb.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Tuf-Tug Indeed!

,
March 14, 2011
By Ravenswood
from Eddyville, WA
"This hoist/puller worked like a charm when needed for pulling a van out of a snowdrift mess! (It didn't help the driver had spun the wheels to sink even deeper into the mud underneath.) Everyone was impressed by the quality and strength of the unit. We just wrapped the cable around a few conveniently located trees and with a few pulls the van was out! I think I might be buying another one for stereo when I have a problem with my tractor..."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tuf-Tug Dual-Capacity Cable Hoist/Puller - 2500-Lb./5000-Lb.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a "Super" Cable Hoist/Puller

,
November 17, 2008
By NorthStar4Me
from Morton, MS
"If your serious about safety, you need this product. It's by far the best Cable Hoist/Puller I've ever used. I had a cheap one and it broke on me, luckily I wasn't hurt. But it taught me a lesson that I will never forget. You can't beat the quality and stability of this Cable/Hoist!! It works great, and is very safe!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Tuf-Tug Dual-Capacity Cable Hoist/Puller - 2500-Lb./5000-Lb.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Confidence

,
January 14, 2008
By sstay
from Rome, GA.
"If you want to feel confident when you hook up something to be pulled or dragged then this is the tool. This is not a lightweight tool you can throw in your toolbox but is a professional (USA built) tool you can use with confidence. It's a bit heavy but built solid. Oh yea, did I mention USA built? I try to buy quality tools when I can and this one certainly is that."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tuf-Tug Dual-Capacity Cable Hoist/Puller - 2500-Lb./5000-Lb.
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Rough and tuff cable puller

,
March 9, 2007
By Captdean
from Maine
"For doing the tough job in the woods for pulling over them great big Oak trees that don't seem to fall over after being cut off with the chain saw or hang up in other trees, the Tuf_Tug 2500 pound cable puller does a super job of moveing the trees to get them on the ground."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tuf-Tug Dual-Capacity Cable Hoist/Puller - 2500-Lb./5000-Lb.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tuf-Tug Cable Hoist

,
November 17, 2006
By ScottW
from Georgia
"Boy, this product does everything! I use it to wench anything from my ATV, cars onto trailers, hunting and big repairs jobs. The best part is the dual capaciaty of the wench from 2500lbs to 5000lbs just by doubling the cable."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.