Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for General Pump High-Pressure Hose Reel, 5000 PSI, 100Ft., Model# DHR40100D

General Pump High-Pressure Hose Reel, 5000 PSI, 100Ft., Model# DHR40100D

Item# 153001
The General Pump high-pressure 5000 PSI hose reel features a 5-ft. high-pressure hose pigtail and a swivel arm for ease in connection. 3/8in. NPT-female swivel outlet for easy connection to your high pressure hose. Hose not included. Color Black, Inlet Hose ft. 3, Max. PSI 5,000, Stores/Maintains Hose ft.in. 100, Temperature Range F 225, Hose Diameter in. 3/8, Hose Included No. Swivel arm Mounting bracket and drum pin lock Hose not included
Average Customer Rating:
3.875 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (16 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
13 of 16(81%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for General Pump High-Pressure Hose Reel, 5000 PSI, 100Ft., Model# DHR40100D
Review 1 for General Pump High-Pressure Hose Reel, 5000 PSI, 100Ft., Model# DHR40100D
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Fair

,
August 11, 2014
By Ruck
from Fresno, CA
"Lower end quality. We use this on a regular basis and it has lasted about a year and a half. We have replaced seals multiple times and the handle hasn't held up well. We are currently replacing it with a different reel."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for General Pump High-Pressure Hose Reel, 5000 PSI, 100Ft., Model# DHR40100D
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Slight leak at the swivel seal but.....

,
June 19, 2014
By JesseVT
from Vermont
".....just dripping, and has not got any worse in several years, plus being on a pressure washer I'm only using it outdoors and getting lots of water everywhere anyway, so I don't mind it in the least. Pressure washer hose tends to be so uncooperative and this reel make it SO much easier to put away my 50 ft of it. Reel turns very smoothly."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for General Pump High-Pressure Hose Reel, 5000 PSI, 100Ft., Model# DHR40100D
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice

,
June 9, 2014
By Tackley
from Marysville ohio
"Nice hose reel works well would recommend to others!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for General Pump High-Pressure Hose Reel, 5000 PSI, 100Ft., Model# DHR40100D
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

hose reel

,
June 4, 2014
By Tawbrew
from kentucky
"I REALY LIKE THIS HOSE REEL, STURDY MADE,I MOUNTED THIS TO A BRACKET I MADE THAT SETS IT AT HANDLE BAR HEIGHT, USING IT WITH 100 FT HOSE AND IT HAS A LITTLE ROOM FOR MORE HOSE. THE LOCK FEATURE IS NICE WHEN TRANSPORTING WARSHER. NO LEAKS SO FAR AND ROLLING UP HOSE IS A BREEZE"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for General Pump High-Pressure Hose Reel, 5000 PSI, 100Ft., Model# DHR40100D
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

pressure washer reel

,
February 4, 2014
By petertb
from seminole texas
"great pressure hose reel for the price. have used for
almost a year and no issues at all. would definatley
buy again.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for General Pump High-Pressure Hose Reel, 5000 PSI, 100Ft., Model# DHR40100D
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

,
August 13, 2012
By Cb16
from Illinois
"The hose reel works great on my pressure washer. 3000 psi hot and cold.
I mounted it on the handle bar for easy access.
Couldn't ask for a better setup. No leaks.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for General Pump High-Pressure Hose Reel, 5000 PSI, 100Ft., Model# DHR40100D
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Dreama

,
May 7, 2012
By Dreama
from Maryland
"Purchased product to install on Dewalt pressure washer, 3750 psi, 13 HP. Unit was very easy to mount on top panel of pressure washer where spare nozzles are kept. It was lightweight enough to not affect balance of pressure washer.Connection was easy, I purchased one female quick disconnect to make unit easier to drain for winter. Makes rolling hose alot easier then doing it by hand. Also like locking feature so you can dispense only the amount of hose you need. Saves valuable time when putting pressure washer away."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for General Pump High-Pressure Hose Reel, 5000 PSI, 100Ft., Model# DHR40100D
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Hose Reel !!!

,
May 24, 2010
By bigdan44
from Lakewood, NJ
"I purchased this hose reel last year to store and use my pressure hose without coiling it up all the time and to keep it off the ground while I'm working.
This reel is the greatest!! I also bought the adjustable mount to put it on my cart, as I have and older cart. My Northstar pressure washer is now 13 years old with the original Honda engine. I replaced the pump last year with a newer Cat pump and I am so pleased with it's performance. I guess I'm reviewing a few things here, but I couldn't resist telling you how great your products are. The hose reel performs extremely well and I get so many compliments on the ingenuity of it,(compliment to you). I can reel off just enough hose to reach the work area and it keeps the hose neat and off the ground and prevents tangling and abrasion of the hose. When I'm done, I just roll it back up and wheel the cart back to my truck. I have never bought a bad product from you and will continue to purchase your fine products. Thanks again !!!!!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for General Pump High-Pressure Hose Reel, 5000 PSI, 100Ft., Model# DHR40100D
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hose Reel Review

,
May 24, 2010
By 392hemi
from Dallas, TX
"I liked the hose reel. It is universal in that you can make your own attach point or buy a kit. It also will attach to the wall. You will need additional hardware for attaching. I suggest you look at your unit before you purchase the reel to avoid numerous trips to the store. It is a good unit and I am pleased with it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for General Pump High-Pressure Hose Reel, 5000 PSI, 100Ft., Model# DHR40100D
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

product leaks severely near the arm

,
May 24, 2010
By NEW13
from Tremont, IL
"I removed the arm and discovered the nylon washer near the o-ring was broke and partially overlapped the o-ring. i contacted the company and am still waiting for a reply."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for General Pump High-Pressure Hose Reel, 5000 PSI, 100Ft., Model# DHR40100D
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceeded my Expectations

,
February 15, 2010
By NorthernToolRocks
from Des Moines, IA
"I thought I would need to rig up something to attach this to my power washer but it bolted right up with the bracket supplied and it doesn't leak a drop. This makes winding and unwinding my power washer hose MUCH easier. If you've tried winding one of those stiff power washer hoses then you know how difficult it can be to twist and turn it into something you can hang up. I will be using the power washer much more now because it's convenient enough to get out even for a small job."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for General Pump High-Pressure Hose Reel, 5000 PSI, 100Ft., Model# DHR40100D
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

High Pressure Hose Reel

,
February 15, 2010
By KSCrustbuster
from Douglass, KS
"I am using the hose reel for a 1/2" air hose reel. It is working very satisfactorily for this purpose (180 p.s.i. operating pressure). I did have to replace the "O" ring seal on one side of the swivel. It was rolled out of place during assembly. But that was no fault of Northern Hydraulic. You can't be expected to open every item and test it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for General Pump High-Pressure Hose Reel, 5000 PSI, 100Ft., Model# DHR40100D
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

it's OK

,
October 23, 2009
By 7Tguns
from northern Iowa
"This is a fair deal for the money. Plenty of room for hose. Easy to roll up. I use it on the washer around the farm. However, it started leaking at the pivot seal after just a few weeks. Leaks under low pressure, quits as psi builds, but makes a mess and gets you wet once in a while. Not sure this would hold up under daily use."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for General Pump High-Pressure Hose Reel, 5000 PSI, 100Ft., Model# DHR40100D
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

General Pump High-Pressure Hose Reel

,
November 17, 2008
By Anonymous
from SD
"A good product, the lead hose should be about 2" longer when mounting on the frame."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for General Pump High-Pressure Hose Reel, 5000 PSI, 100Ft., Model# DHR40100D
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

hose reel no good

,
August 11, 2008
By plumbingcontractor
from CA
"Hose reel seemed nice at first until we tried to use it.. Axle was very sticky and had no grease points.. As hose would unwind, the center axle was so sticky that it will not keep up and would bind our hose.. Needless o say it has already been rep[laced with a name brand
I guess you et what you pay for.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for General Pump High-Pressure Hose Reel, 5000 PSI, 100Ft., Model# DHR40100D
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Nice Hose Reel

,
May 5, 2008
By handymanamj
from Miami, FL
"I bought one and it handle my 100 foot 3/8" pressure washer hose with out any problems, I like that you can lock the drum when your done. Also for the pressure washing people out there this reel can also hold 75 feet 3/4" Water hose, just don't hooking it up permanent use it as a storage reel. I'm going to buy another one so i can carry my water hose too. I also like that it comes with the bracket so you could mount it on your pressure cleaner. Overall I like this product and would recommend it to anyone."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.