Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt Bench Vise - 4in.

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Wel-Bilt Bench Vise - 4in.

Item# 15301
Swivel base bench 4in. vise with replaceable jaws, large anvil area and pipe jaws. Jaw Width in. 4, 360 Swivel Base Yes, Jaw Capacity in. 4, Pipe Jaw Yes. Dimensions 14in.L x 6in.W x 7 1/2in.H Opening 5 1/2in. Mounting holes are 6 7/8in. apart if adjacent and 9 7/8in. apart if opposite Not related to WELBILT products of Enodis companies
Average Customer Rating:
4.091 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (11 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
9 of 11(82%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt Bench Vise - 4in.
Review 1 for Wel-Bilt Bench Vise - 4in.
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Vise

,
October 15, 2012
By ratman57427
from Ivanhoe, VA
"Works well with projects around the home/garage that are not heavy duty. A larger vise would be needed if handling heavy equipment."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wel-Bilt Bench Vise - 4in.
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor workmanship

,
January 19, 2012
By HeRoze
from WR, GA
"Well, I got stuck. The vice was on sale, and with a coupon I got it cheap. I tried to return it, but none are in stock...30 days out. I wanted a vice, didn't want to spend more money, and so I made do.
The castings were short-shot and bearing surfaces were not filled and there were visible voids in the cast. The holes that mount the vice to the swivel base didn't line up so the vice rocked back and forth when the base was 'locked'. About an hour of drilling, sanding, and grinding with a dremel it now seems useful. At least I got rid of the tippy-canou effect.
I'm not sure how long it will last with the voids in the cast. I would never rely on this vice for a living... As a home user with a 2-stroke engine hobby, it will probably be okay now that I fixed it.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wel-Bilt Bench Vise - 4in.
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Junk

,
January 18, 2012
By jerTigger
from Florida
"First time I tightened down on the vice heard a snap inside, didnt live up to the reviews I read. Bold inside pulled the threads out of the cast iron body."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wel-Bilt Bench Vise - 4in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Vise for the Price

,
June 13, 2011
By FloridaMan
from Florida
"I purchased this second vise for a new workbench that I built. It is like having a third hand. The 360 deg rotation is very usefull. It's compact and perfect to small and medium jobs that I do. Very statisfied with this purchase."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wel-Bilt Bench Vise - 4in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Low-profile setting

,
March 14, 2011
By BuckeyeCanoe
from Lancaster, OH
"This 4in. vise is installed in a low-profile work setting
used primarily for a fishing/other hobby work site. Bolted it down with flat-head carriage bolts, the flat locking heads between underlying particle board and the plywood mount. As the "Northern Industrial" name states, it would certainly work well for many (smaller?) tasks in a machine shop setting.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wel-Bilt Bench Vise - 4in.
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solid Tool

,
November 23, 2010
By cody357
from Royse CIty, TX
"I bought this vise for my garage work bench about a year ago. It works as it is intended to do. It is solid. I have used the anvil without fear of damage. The jaws open and close smoothly. If you need a 4" bench vise and you don't want to spend $100, this is the vise for you!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wel-Bilt Bench Vise - 4in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

bench vise

,
November 16, 2010
By timn
from unadilla ny
"it goes on to want you what to no big job and hold what you want nice and holds it real good"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-6points
0out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wel-Bilt Bench Vise - 4in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good for the money

,
February 23, 2010
By gerr
from Silver City, NM
"Really wanted to buy a us made product but could not justify for the money. I am using this vice in a barn workshop that is away from my house so it does not get a lot of use. So far, this seems to be a well built product for the money. I would buy it again."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wel-Bilt Bench Vise - 4in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great little bench vise

,
March 23, 2009
By CTay
from Jacksonville, FL
"I got this bench vise for Christmas and have used it 3 or 4 times a week since. I love this thing! The price was great, it was easy to install, and it works perfectly. I would absolutely recommend this to someone who needed a small, strong vise for their garage or home work-shop."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wel-Bilt Bench Vise - 4in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Little Vise

,
January 21, 2008
By Oldmastersarge
from Bay City Texas
"Good buy for the money. Verstatile and easy to use. Highly recommend"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wel-Bilt Bench Vise - 4in.
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

CLAMPING GEEK

,
May 19, 2007
By DRSX
from ROSEVILLE, CA
"THE BENCH VISE IS A STANDARD TOOL FOR ANY DO-IT YOURSELFER...AND THIS ONE IS GREAT, CAN HANDLE ALL THE STANDARD PROJECTS, AND THE PRICE IS RIGHT...HAPPY DAYS WITH THIS BENCH VISE."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.