Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Cast Iron Anvil - 15-Lb.

Northern Industrial Cast Iron Anvil - 15-Lb.

Item# 153110
Cast iron anvils have many uses. Ideal for metal-working, loosening fittings and more. Face Plate L x W in. 6 1/2 x 2 1/2, Weight lbs. 15.
Average Customer Rating:
3.875 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (8 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
6 of 8(75%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Cast Iron Anvil - 15-Lb.
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Cast Iron Anvil - 15-Lb.
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

In a pinch

,
February 5, 2014
By StruckThumb
from Alpharetta, GA
"This item is cast iron and just can't hold up to heavy hammer blows. It is good in a pinch to knock out a few pieces but would recommend welding a plate of tool steel to it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Cast Iron Anvil - 15-Lb.
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Total Junk

,
September 28, 2013
By rifleman77
from Texas
"This anvil was cast lop sided and the top is no where near level. I cannot use this for anything except a door stop."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Cast Iron Anvil - 15-Lb.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Small but handy

,
October 15, 2012
By Oldtinkerguy
from Denver, CO
"My son bought this for me as "gag" gift and it has turned out to be one of the go to tools on my garage workbench! Get one. You will not regret this purchase, or gift."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Cast Iron Anvil - 15-Lb.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

My wheelchair caster & rim bearings

,
February 19, 2010
By bootspur
from Fort Worth, Texas
"Greetings,
I have one of these Northern Tool & Equipment Cast Iron 15-Lb. Anvil's — its not very big but I have found that this little guy is great for packing, and snapping down bearings for these wheelchairs that I work on, originally I bought this 6 and one half inch long BY 2 and one half inch wide BY about 3 inch high ANVIL for my personal wheelchair use since I am forever needing a surface to pound out a push rim, hammer a bearing together etc... I have also begun clamping rims to the Anvil that are ready to be welded into a completed RIM or Loop, AND it works out great, no telling how many more applications I will come up with over time.
I also, selected this fifteen-pounder to use with my little brass hammer's to repair jewelry on, the leading edge of my Northern Tool & Equipment Anvil is just the right angle to "ROUND" metals like Gold and Silver (that are soft) back into shape. If, I had to guess right now I would say this little 15 LB. Norther Tool & Equipment Anvil has ALREADY (6 to 7 months) Repaid the investment Fifty-Sixty times!
The people with Northern Tool & Equipment have always been very Kind and helpful to me if I have needed them for anything, between this Anvil, AND Their service I will continue on as a loyal customer for them."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Cast Iron Anvil - 15-Lb.
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Northern Industrial Cast Iron Anvil

,
August 11, 2008
By Artist2
from Chicago area, IL
"This anvil as the top surface painted. It would be better is the top of anvil is polished to avoid mar the pieces to be worked on. But as general anvil, it does the work."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Cast Iron Anvil - 15-Lb.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Girlie Tools

,
April 21, 2008
By wildangel1403
from Clarksville, TN
"This anvil is the perfect size for women crafters, handy women, or just getting your frustrations out. It is lightweight enough to carry to events as well as putting it ontop of your work area. Putting a piece of heavy rubber under it or a if you can make a shot bag big enough, that will take the bounce out of it when using it on a work bench. Shot bag(2 pieces of leather big enough for length and width of anvil, sewn together and loaded with bird shot). The lead shot absorbs the hammering blows. I just love Northern Tools store. I had rather go there to look for neat stuff than a mall."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Cast Iron Anvil - 15-Lb.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

anvil

,
October 15, 2007
By joew
from Stephenson MI
"Very well cast. Worth its price"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Cast Iron Anvil - 15-Lb.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cast Iron Anvil — 15-Lb.

,
October 8, 2007
By Dork
from Campobello, SC
"Cool little work bench aid. Price was right and it has more uses than the anvil on the back of my bench vise because of its horn shaped end and I can put it where ever I need it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.