Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Cross Slide Drill Press Vise - 6in. Jaw Length

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Northern Industrial Tools Cross Slide Drill Press Vise - 6in. Jaw Length

Item# 153814
"Heavy-duty cast iron cross slide vise has replaceable serrated 4in. jaws that open to 3in. Two swivel crank handles adjust both forward and sideways for versatile clamping and precise drilling capabilities. Set screws hold positioning tightly for drilling. Longitudinal movement of 7 1/2in. with cross travel of 6in. 3 slots on 2 sides and 1 slot on one end secure vise to drill press. Jaw Length in. 6, Handles qty. 2, Mount Type 3 Slots on 2 sides, 1 Slot on one end, Longitudinal Travel in. 7 1/2, Material Heavy duty cast iron, Jaw Capacity in. 3."
Average Customer Rating:
2.636 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (11 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
5
5 of 11(45%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Cross Slide Drill Press Vise - 6in. Jaw Length
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Tools Cross Slide Drill Press Vise - 6in. Jaw Length
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Junk - a waste of money

,
January 5, 2016
By
from Orange County CA
I would never expect to get a quality item at this low price, but even so, got a feeling this was just a complete waste of my money it is so bad. It's very poorly made, binds in various places, and looks like it was put together by someone scouring a junkyard for cast off parts. My advice - you would be far better off saving the money and putting it towards something of better quality. I will probably end up just junking this.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Tools Cross Slide Drill Press Vise - 6in. Jaw Length
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

cross vice

,
November 8, 2015
By
from Monroe, Ga.
I bought one of these 6" cross vices more than 10 years ago. I keep it on my drill press almost all of the time and use it almost every day. My vice is all steel! NO plastic!! The jaws on my vice appear to be a little better made too.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Tools Cross Slide Drill Press Vise - 6in. Jaw Length
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent value , good quality

,
September 22, 2015
By
from Lafayette, LA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Yes, the handles are plastic but that has no bearing on its function. Once properly mounted and adjusted it is smooth in operation and holds the work securely. It is not the quality that you would find a professional machinist using but it is excellent for using in a home shop setting and it doesn't break the bank! The tool fits the job requirements and I expect it will give me many years of problem free use.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Tools Cross Slide Drill Press Vise - 6in. Jaw Length
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drill Press Vise - 6"

,
March 26, 2015
By
from Memphis, TN
This vise works smoothly and the fit and finish is excellent. I have only used it a couple of times so far, but I am well pleased with the results.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Tools Cross Slide Drill Press Vise - 6in. Jaw Length
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not as advertised

,
January 21, 2015
By
from New Richmond WI
This product is advertised as a metal handle and sturdy product. The vise doesn't even look like the ones in the pictures. The handles are plastic, and you will need to build a jig to get this to bolt onto your drill table.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Tools Cross Slide Drill Press Vise - 6in. Jaw Length
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

MAKE YOUR DRILL PRESS INTO A MILLING MACHINE

,
January 16, 2015
By
from WADSWORTH, IL
THIS VICE IS AWESOME, FAIR PRICING. ALLOWS YOUR DRILL PRESS TO WORK LIKE A MANUAL MILLING MACHINE!!! GREAT ADDITION TO ANY DRILL PRESS
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Tools Cross Slide Drill Press Vise - 6in. Jaw Length
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Big, Heavy, but not what I thought

,
October 31, 2013
By
from kentucky
First of all, if you look at the photo shown on the website, it shows bright, clean, stainless steel handles. You get ugly, gray, soft metal ones with loose plastic free spinning knobs, and to secure the handles to the vice, you use nuts. Just looking at this thing out of the box I had questions, then I read the reviews and they confirmed my fears, always read the reviews first. There is no way to mount this thing that the handles will turn without slamming into the deck of the drill press table. There was absolutely no owners manual even suggesting how to use this thing, mount it, or what any of the inner working parts do. Finally, it has no jaw design for laying flat metal into the jaws for drilling holes, which is 100% of a drill press' job. If you look at other vices, the jaws have a shelf design for you to lay the metal on, then squeeze it in secure. I'm returning this thing site unused.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+31points
32out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Tools Cross Slide Drill Press Vise - 6in. Jaw Length
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

cross slide drill press vise

,
August 18, 2012
By
from Roseburg, Oregon
This vise is a very poorly made item. Opening and closing the jaws of the vise became very hard upon first use. Then became impossible. Had to remove set screw from rear jaw where the threaded rod goes in and now have to use a pry bar to get jaws open. Threads are messed up where the handle is supposed to go on the other two places where the handles are supposed to go. Will gladly return it for a refund if possible.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+35points
36out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Tools Cross Slide Drill Press Vise - 6in. Jaw Length
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cross Slide Vise

,
November 15, 2008
By
from Staunton,Va
The reason people would buy this vise is to use it for light milling on the drill press.Other then that any small drill press vise would be more practical. This vise does not have dovetail ways so its next to impossible to remove slack from the slide action resulting in all but a straight cut. Also the jaws lift when tightened causing work to lay at an angle to the spindle.In general strongly built but poorly designed.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+30points
36out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Tools Cross Slide Drill Press Vise - 6in. Jaw Length
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Decent vise

,
April 14, 2008
By
from Arkansas
Decent vise, but I've seen better quality from northern's products. Overall a good value for light duty jobs.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Tools Cross Slide Drill Press Vise - 6in. Jaw Length
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Drill Press Vise

,
January 22, 2008
By
from Boerne, TX
This is a very poorly constructed product. It should NOT be used if any kind of precision is necessary. When you square up the vise you cannot drill thru the center as there is a guide bar in the way preventing the drill but from passing thru the drill piece. Also when you mount the vise on the base of the drill press table you cannot rotate the bottom adjustment screw. The handle hits the drill press table. i was probably asking 'too much" of this tool for the price but it is pretty much useless to me. Not usually typical of Northern Tool Merchandise.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.