Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Ingersoll Rand Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive Thunder Gun, 5.4 CFM, 10,000 RPM, 625ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# 232TGSL

Ingersoll Rand Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive Thunder Gun, 5.4 CFM, 10,000 RPM, 625ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# 232TGSL

Item# 154156
The Ingersoll Rand Thunder Gun puts pit-crew speed and power in the palm of your hand. Looks and sounds just like the original tool used by most NASCAR pit crews It's the fastest 1/2in. Impactool available, delivering 10,000 RPMs. Hear and feel the power Features a black powder-coated handle and housing. Put this tool to work at the track or in your garage, and at a much more affordable cost than the original. Drive in. 1/2, Hammer Mechanism Twin, Reversible Yes, Average Air Consumption CFM 5.4, Variable Speed Yes, CFM at Load 23, Tool Length in. 7 5/16, Min. Hose Size in. 3/8, Speed - No Load RPM 10,000, Impacts Per Minute IPM 1,200, Forward Torque ft.-lbs. 500, Standard Bolt Capacity in. 5/8, Inlet Size in. 1/4, Max. Reverse Torque ft.-lbs. 625, Working Torque ft.-lb. 40-400, Tool Weight lbs. 6, Noise Level dB 105. Puts pit-crew speed and power in your hand - 10,000 RPM - for lightning-fast removal Race-inspired yellow and black design for same look as IR impact wrench used by NASCAR pit crews Powerful 625 ft.-lbs of max. reverse torque and 500 ft.-lbs. of forward torque to handle heavy-duty jobs Adjustable regulator gives you optimum control Comfortable and built to last Shock-absorbing comfort grip Dependable wrench for shop, garage or jobsite use
Average Customer Rating:
4.848 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(66 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (66 reviews)
5 stars
58
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
64 of 66(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ingersoll Rand Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive Thunder Gun, 5.4 CFM, 10,000 RPM, 625ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# 232TGSL
Review 1 for Ingersoll Rand Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive Thunder Gun, 5.4 CFM, 10,000 RPM, 625ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# 232TGSL
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loud as thunder, quick as lightning

,
February 6, 2014
By 1Sarge
from OR
"I purchased my IR Thunder gun from Northern T&E a few years ago and it has performed flawlessly. I've owned every major brand air impact over the years and this one has been my favorite and most dependable,"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ingersoll Rand Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive Thunder Gun, 5.4 CFM, 10,000 RPM, 625ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# 232TGSL
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best

,
February 5, 2014
By Polaris2006
from stafford, ct
"I had one of these a few years ago but I had to sell a bunch of my tools after I lost my job to pay the rent and that included my thunder gun. that was the best impact I ever owned. the other day my grandfather sent me a gift in the mail. I opened the box and it was the Ingersoll Rand Air Impact Wrench — 1/2in. Drive, Model# 231HA...wish it was another thunder gun but this is the next best thing."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ingersoll Rand Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive Thunder Gun, 5.4 CFM, 10,000 RPM, 625ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# 232TGSL
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

bring the thunder

,
February 4, 2014
By dangerranger1985
from columbia ky
"I bought one of these air guns and loved it. The torque that it had was more than enough to break loose any bolt that I needed to turn. As with any high end gun with a lot of torque it is a little heavy but its worth it to know that no bolt can stop it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ingersoll Rand Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive Thunder Gun, 5.4 CFM, 10,000 RPM, 625ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# 232TGSL
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Heavy equiptment

,
August 5, 2013
By bdavidsonk22
from ohio
"Working for a heavy equiptment dealer, Caterpillar, I use a 1/2 gun to run in big bolts before torquing them down to spec. I could not beleive how little i had to ratchet a big 3/4 torque wrench to hit up to 600 ft lbs with only a 1/2 gun. It's heavier than most little guns and louder but its worth every dollar"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ingersoll Rand Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive Thunder Gun, 5.4 CFM, 10,000 RPM, 625ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# 232TGSL
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gun has great power

,
April 27, 2013
By StanP
from Williamstown, NJ
"I have had this gun for three months now and it really has impressed me with it's performance. It is a lot louder than the IR that I owned previously but that is the only negative!! Rusted bolts and high torqued bolts spin off in no time. Keep it lubed and the power stays consistent like any gun! Lug nuts on industrial equipment come off easy except when they are put on before with a 1" two handed impact gun. Then a breaker bar to get them started and away they go. I do abuse this gun and it has not let me down yet."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ingersoll Rand Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive Thunder Gun, 5.4 CFM, 10,000 RPM, 625ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# 232TGSL
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best 1/2" impact available

,
October 8, 2012
By AKRob
from Kodiak AK
"I have been an auto tech for 30 years,and this is the most powerful 1/2" impact you can buy.I have owned 2 of these,and they last me about 10 years of extreme abuse."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ingersoll Rand Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive Thunder Gun, 5.4 CFM, 10,000 RPM, 625ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# 232TGSL
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

ford tech

,
May 14, 2012
By servicetech
from Great Bend, KS
"This gun is loud but strong. I have had it over a year and still works great for daily use. This gun is a little heavy and needs to be oiled daily. Overall good purchase."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ingersoll Rand Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive Thunder Gun, 5.4 CFM, 10,000 RPM, 625ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# 232TGSL
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Lots 'o power, Lots 'o noise

,
May 7, 2012
By FarmWrench
from Western NY
"This loud little tool lives up to its name but delivers big results. Here in the land of snow and salt, bolts and lug nuts fall to rusts nasty tricks and reveil sub-par impacts. The thunder gun delivers the torque to deal with the rustiest yet is adjustable to keep from getting it too tight on the way back together. Smooth operation will keep your fingers from going numb even if your ears will. Oh and the efficent design means that you don't need to break the bank for the baddest aircompressor on the block."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ingersoll Rand Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive Thunder Gun, 5.4 CFM, 10,000 RPM, 625ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# 232TGSL
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Impact

,
January 22, 2012
By DrkMtnDew
from Pocatello, ID
"My favorite aspect of this gun is the yellow boot, it's hard to lose. Least favorite aspect is the noise, it's very loud. has decent torque and can get most jobs done in a hurry."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ingersoll Rand Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive Thunder Gun, 5.4 CFM, 10,000 RPM, 625ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# 232TGSL
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

thunder gun

,
January 16, 2012
By kingoftheroad
from morgantown wv
"works great all the torque you need to take of the toughest nuts and bolts, make sure compresser is large enough (cfm) gun consumes alot of air."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ingersoll Rand Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive Thunder Gun, 5.4 CFM, 10,000 RPM, 625ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# 232TGSL
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simply Fantactic Impact Wrench

,
October 17, 2011
By Anonymous
from Boston, MA
"This impact wrench is simply fantastic! I live in the Northeast and rust is a major problem when removing anything, this impact wrench just "laughs"at the fastener and it's out."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ingersoll Rand Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive Thunder Gun, 5.4 CFM, 10,000 RPM, 625ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# 232TGSL
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good gun

,
September 22, 2011
By genarr3
from New York
"I've owned one of these thunder guns for over 5 years and use it professionally. Plenty of power and not too much noise. Just be sure to oil it regularly."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ingersoll Rand Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive Thunder Gun, 5.4 CFM, 10,000 RPM, 625ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# 232TGSL
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great impact

,
September 5, 2011
By hhowell1990
from Austin, tx
"I bought this gun as a replacement for a blue-point that i've had for about 5 years now that i picked up used, this gun went far beyond my expectations, have only had it about a week, but its gotten quite a bit of use, 5 tire rotations and 3 brake jobs, and after reading all the reviews i have to agree and disagree with some of the points, yes this thing is loud, but its certainly not deafening, and ive hear people complain about the weight, i just see that extra weight as extra ability to handle getting thrown around on the ground, i do like the griptape on the front of the gun and the texture on the rubber boot makes you feel like the guns not going anywhere while you're holding it. however, i don't like the handle being contoured for right handed use as i am a leftie"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ingersoll Rand Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive Thunder Gun, 5.4 CFM, 10,000 RPM, 625ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# 232TGSL
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great deal

,
March 21, 2011
By LittleStevie
from Rudy, AR
"I was gonna buy this at another store, but thought I would check out Northern Tools. Glad I did because it was almost half the price. Only thing is I had to pay for it right away instead of putting it on my other store card. It has done everything I have ask of it. Seems to be well built and I hope it lasts a long time. It does seem to be a bit heavy though."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ingersoll Rand Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive Thunder Gun, 5.4 CFM, 10,000 RPM, 625ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# 232TGSL
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thunder Gun Mania

,
December 25, 2010
By Anonymous
"Do you want absolute brute force on tough jobs? Thunder Gun will do the job. I use this impact wrench around the farm and it handles the toughest of jobs with ease. Great tool."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ingersoll Rand Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive Thunder Gun, 5.4 CFM, 10,000 RPM, 625ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# 232TGSL
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

1/2 thunder gun

,
November 23, 2010
By thundergun
"i'm really glad i took the time to look in northern tool catalog. it saved me a lot of money from bying at the store. i got my impact in a good amount of time, and i will tell family and friends to use northern tool. the service was great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ingersoll Rand Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive Thunder Gun, 5.4 CFM, 10,000 RPM, 625ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# 232TGSL
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

thunder gun

,
November 18, 2010
By mosh
from aberdeen idaho
"this gun has the power to get it done we use this gun more often than we do our 3/4 drive because it has as much power and is lighter we use it everyday and haven't had on instance of not enough power....even was able to break off a couple1/2 and 5/8 rusted bolts."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ingersoll Rand Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive Thunder Gun, 5.4 CFM, 10,000 RPM, 625ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# 232TGSL
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thunder Gun Indeed!

,
August 23, 2010
By TheToolJunkie
from NorthWest, NJ
"Power to Spare!!! If this doesn't remove it, get out the torch and cut it away! As a young man, I worked in a tire shop for some 6 years. NASCAR crews had nothing on us. This tool brings me back to those heady days!
It is LOUD, but, to me, that just indicates the level of power! Northern has the best price anywhere as well!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ingersoll Rand Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive Thunder Gun, 5.4 CFM, 10,000 RPM, 625ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# 232TGSL
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great gun!!

,
August 1, 2010
By Turbo10
from Snyder county PA
"Very torquey and powerful, work in a truckshop and its a great gun, it always dose stuff i ask it to."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ingersoll Rand Air Impact Wrench - 1/2in. Drive Thunder Gun, 5.4 CFM, 10,000 RPM, 625ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# 232TGSL
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grunt-worthy exhaust

,
May 31, 2010
By Langtry2
"Tim "the tool man" Taylor would arhh arhh arhh for this impact. Sounds and performs like nascar pit lane.can't beat the performance for at least twice the price."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.