Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING — Ingersoll Rand 5.3 CFM @ 40 PSI, 2 HP Air Compressor, Model# P1IU

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

FREE SHIPPING — Ingersoll Rand 5.3 CFM @ 40 PSI, 2 HP Air Compressor, Model# P1IU

Item# 154157
This hand-carry air compressor is designed to provide power, durability and portability on the job site. Built to last, this oil-lube compressor with durable cast-iron cylinders is designed for the toughest 100% continuous duty applications. Conveniently mounted regulator and pressure gauge, All Season Select lubricant and a power cord. Also has 100% continuous duty rating and warranty is extended to 2 years with use of T30 select oil (see below). U.S.A. Max. PSI: 125, Volts: 120, HP: 2, Air Tank Size (gal.): 4.5, Tank Description: Twin-Stack, Pump: Direct drive, Air Outlet Size (in.): 3/8, Portable or Stationary: Portable, Dimensions L x W x H (in.): 21 x 15 x 17 Motor: 2 HP - single phase motor PSI: 5.3 CFM @ 40 PSI Drain System: Manual Drain 100% continuous duty Extend warranty with use of T30 select oil, Item# 1592005
Average Customer Rating:
4.708 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (24 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
23 of 24(96%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING — Ingersoll Rand 5.3 CFM @ 40 PSI, 2 HP Air Compressor, Model# P1IU
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING — Ingersoll Rand 5.3 CFM @ 40 PSI, 2 HP Air Compressor, Model# P1IU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great all-around, compact compressor

,
July 20, 2009
By Huffer
from Tucson, AZ
" This compressor is ideal for my medium duty garage needs. I don't power an air tool very often, but I'm constantly airing tires, blowing leaves out of the garage, blowing dust off my mountain bike after rides, etc. It has a very good throughput, and I never have to wait for the tanks to refill before the pressure is high enough to be useful. Highly recommended. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING — Ingersoll Rand 5.3 CFM @ 40 PSI, 2 HP Air Compressor, Model# P1IU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Framing Nailer Compressor Ingersoll Rand DD2T2

,
July 20, 2009
By dennisgw
from St. Paul, MN
" I had begun a major decking project and was not looking forward to all the nailing that was going to be required. To save my shoulders I elected to get a framing nailer and then required a compressor to drive it. I had a small cobbled together a small compressor with a surge tank and pressure switch which was awkward but worked with the finish nailers that I had acquired. After scouring the web for reviews, looking at the big box stores and what they sold I was very impressed with the IR DD2T2 compressor. Not too heavy, quieter than oil-less compressor, fast pump up time, looked a little more solid than some of the other brands, two pressure outlets............what could there be not to like. People that have used it have liked the durability and power that this IR unit supplies. I was pleasantly surprised to find it at Northern Tool at a reasonable price and only a little bit more than some of the box stores. I used it this morning with my 2 1/2" finish nailer...........what a difference. Should have got it years ago. You will will like it. I certainly did. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING — Ingersoll Rand 5.3 CFM @ 40 PSI, 2 HP Air Compressor, Model# P1IU
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Rugged

,
July 20, 2009
By Smokeydog
from East Tennessee
" Have a couple of years use on this one with no problems so far. Quiter than most. With some roll cage protection i would give it a five star. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING — Ingersoll Rand 5.3 CFM @ 40 PSI, 2 HP Air Compressor, Model# P1IU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Air Compressor

,
July 20, 2009
By Windsong
from Adair, OK
" Very pleased with this air compressor! We are building a house and it has been able to keep up with two nail guns. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING — Ingersoll Rand 5.3 CFM @ 40 PSI, 2 HP Air Compressor, Model# P1IU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Air Compressor

,
July 20, 2009
By TwinOakFarm
from Chesterfield, SC
" No problems at all with this product. Works as specified "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING — Ingersoll Rand 5.3 CFM @ 40 PSI, 2 HP Air Compressor, Model# P1IU
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Air compressor

,
July 13, 2009
By dan4323
from Commercial Green house
" The ingersoll Rand model DD2T2 was purchased to run a waste oil boiler in one of oure Green houses . The weld on the tank and handel failed after 14 days causeing the air tanks to leak and then the unit needed welding . So far this is the only problem we had with the unit "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING — Ingersoll Rand 5.3 CFM @ 40 PSI, 2 HP Air Compressor, Model# P1IU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Portable Compressor.

,
November 23, 2008
By Toadboy
from Evergreen, CO
" I'm very impressed with this compressor. The overall quality is first rate, and it is easy to operate. The gauges make it easy to set the desired pressure. The handle makes it reasonably easy to move, but it does take some strength. It is a bit louder than I expected, but it is tolerable.
I've been using it mainly with a brad nailer and lube gun. For these applications it has worked flawlessly. I would buy definitely buy this compressor again. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING — Ingersoll Rand 5.3 CFM @ 40 PSI, 2 HP Air Compressor, Model# P1IU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Inersoll Rand air compressor, Model # DD2T2

,
November 19, 2008
By Rocken
from New Braunfels, TX
" A great air compressor. Small over all size but good power and run all day long. I use it for all kinds of jobs around the house. So far have not had any problems. Look like a well made and last for a long time. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING — Ingersoll Rand 5.3 CFM @ 40 PSI, 2 HP Air Compressor, Model# P1IU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Compressor

,
November 18, 2008
By Nemoshark
from Los Angeles, CA
" Quiet, lightweight and reliable. This is one small 5 star package that keeps up. From a roofing nailer to filling tires, this is one tool that is so multi purposed I can't believe I didn't buy one sooner. This is one time I feel I got more than what I paid for, a real value plus item. Yes, I am a weekend warrior so I have purchased "cost effective" tools before and wished I had bought the real thing. I treated myself this time and got the real deal. What a difference. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING — Ingersoll Rand 5.3 CFM @ 40 PSI, 2 HP Air Compressor, Model# P1IU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Midsize Compressor

,
November 18, 2008
By Royalrl
from Fayetteville, NC
" I am extremely impressed with this system. Its size is very workable for both indoor and outdoor work. Exceptional for indoor nail gun work in small areas. Also as a portable compressor or contract work on small equipment. The noise level is very low and the sytem is very easy to work with. Would recommend to any one as an excellent portable compressor. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING — Ingersoll Rand 5.3 CFM @ 40 PSI, 2 HP Air Compressor, Model# P1IU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great compressor

,
November 18, 2008
By FFJohn
from San Antonio, TX
" I got this compressor about 8 months ago for mixed use. I run wrenches for automotive nail and brad guns for furniture and trim repair, caulk guns and air hammers too and this compressor runs them all like a Champ. I bit noisy but not unbearably so. Great recycle time, never have to stop and wait for it to refill since the compressor output it high enough to work from directly and you can run it all day. uses next to no oil. Will definitely make next compressor another IR when I upgrade to a bigger one for the shop. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING — Ingersoll Rand 5.3 CFM @ 40 PSI, 2 HP Air Compressor, Model# P1IU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ingersol Rand - 2 Hp Compressor

,
August 12, 2008
By HomeCompressor
from LI, New York
" Very solid little unit. Output is very good and recharge is fast for air tools. High max pressure is also very nice (125 psi). I ordered 2 other compressors (which failed and I returned) prior to ordering this unit. I should have saved my time and shipping money and ordered this one first.
If the unit is not going to be a short term throw away, I would purchase this unit. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for FREE SHIPPING — Ingersoll Rand 5.3 CFM @ 40 PSI, 2 HP Air Compressor, Model# P1IU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Compressor

,
August 11, 2008
By Conrad
from Idaho
" Great little portable compressor. Worked excellent with a nail gun and for using with a blow nozel. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for FREE SHIPPING — Ingersoll Rand 5.3 CFM @ 40 PSI, 2 HP Air Compressor, Model# P1IU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

general contractor

,
April 24, 2008
By novasal
from long island new york
" i have purhased this product and other products from ingersol rand , and the way i use my tools they have to hold up. i use this compressor with two nail guns and it never quits. it is one of the best tools i have owend "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for FREE SHIPPING — Ingersoll Rand 5.3 CFM @ 40 PSI, 2 HP Air Compressor, Model# P1IU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ingersoll Rand Portable Air Compressor #DD2T2

,
January 21, 2008
By firewalker
from Sugar Land, Texas
" This is one powerful compressor in a compact and portable size. It can easily run 2 nail guns with power to spare and reasonable re-cycle time. A bit noisy, but tollerable (should use hearing protection anyway). The only issue that I found challenging is on a cold start when the ambient air temperature is below 50 degrees with high humidity...compressor trips out, but once warmed up it runs like a champ. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for FREE SHIPPING — Ingersoll Rand 5.3 CFM @ 40 PSI, 2 HP Air Compressor, Model# P1IU
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product

,
January 21, 2008
By madmcvay
from Ruston, LA
" This compressor provided excellent portability, especially for the do-it-yourselfer. It is light and provides just enough support for small jobs around the home. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for FREE SHIPPING — Ingersoll Rand 5.3 CFM @ 40 PSI, 2 HP Air Compressor, Model# P1IU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big punch in a small package

,
January 16, 2008
By CarBuilder
from SFV, CA
" Bought one of those a year ago.
Worked with in jobsites of construction on daily basis, banging in tens of thousands of nails, the thing never missed a beat.
Not too quiet but you can't really expect it to be as it is a direct drive compressor (belt driven is far quieter).
I had it stolen from a jobsite one day and bought another one right away without thinking twice.
Definitely two thumbs up for a well made product. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for FREE SHIPPING — Ingersoll Rand 5.3 CFM @ 40 PSI, 2 HP Air Compressor, Model# P1IU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Home workshop

,
January 14, 2008
By Starbuck
from Pampa, Texas
" This is an excellent compressor, which was purchased as a replacement for a larger IR that burned up in my garage fire. It's portability plus cast iron cylinder provides the continuous operation on a daily basis without any problems. Other small compressors(oil less type) were reviewed but long term daily operation was not recommended for them. It's recovery capability is excellent and it's noise level bearable in a small shop. It handles nail guns, impact wrench and numerous air tools with ease.
I would recommend it's use for any driven equipment within it's flow and pressure range.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for FREE SHIPPING — Ingersoll Rand 5.3 CFM @ 40 PSI, 2 HP Air Compressor, Model# P1IU
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

DD2T2

,
January 14, 2008
By woodworker2
from Maine
" I purchased the DD2T2 to replace a "dry" compressor. This pumps more air than the old one did when it was new, even though the old one was rated higher!! Noise level is fair. I appreciated the 2 outlet manifold and the compactness right from the start. Recycle time is very rapid. I had an issue with the pressure guage-the two little screws came undone. I called customer service and received excellent service. They guided me through the process very well. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for FREE SHIPPING — Ingersoll Rand 5.3 CFM @ 40 PSI, 2 HP Air Compressor, Model# P1IU
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

IR DD2T2

,
October 30, 2007
By Steve7
from Tennessee
" I purchased this for my small shop based on experience with large IR compressors. So far, I'm happy with the performance. The machine appears to be well built and comes up to pressure quicker than most of the small compressors I've used. The only drawback is that the compressor is pretty loud. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.