Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for AirCat Super Duty Composite Impact Wrench - 3/4in. Drive, Model# 1600-TH

AirCat Super Duty Composite Impact Wrench - 3/4in. Drive, Model# 1600-TH

Item# 1541901
The superior mechanics and internal mechanisms of the AirCat super duty impact wrench includes high-quality bearing surfaces, air chambers and turbines. The patented exhaust muffler/filter technology reduces the level of noise while retaining more power and torque. A quiet, powerful tool ideal for shop or home applications. Min. Hose Size in. 1/2, Noise Level dB 85, Drive in. 3/4, Hammer Mechanism Twin, Speed - No Load RPM 4,500, Tool Length in. 9 1/4, Average Air Consumption CFM 8, Inlet Size in. 3/8, Max. Torque ft.-lbs. 1,400, Tool Weight lbs. 7.9, Variable Speed Yes, Operating PSI 90-120, Reversible Yes, Working Torque ft.-lb. 200-1200. 90-120 PSI air pressure Twin hammer 'Super Clutch' mechanism Lightweight composite body Ergonomic grip handle for comfort Easy thumb forward and reverse
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
7 of 8(88%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for AirCat Super Duty Composite Impact Wrench - 3/4in. Drive, Model# 1600-TH
Review 1 for AirCat Super Duty Composite Impact Wrench - 3/4in. Drive, Model# 1600-TH
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tool

,
June 23, 2014
By Buhlershop
from SD
"We use these to assemble ag equipment and you can't beat the vaule. Quiet tool, great power, and durable."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for AirCat Super Duty Composite Impact Wrench - 3/4in. Drive, Model# 1600-TH
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Plant Mantinance

,
August 13, 2012
By EASY2EZ
from point comfort texas
"i purchased this too for use in a chemical plant as part
of a maint crew's tools. The crew has been very happy
with the impact, it is light weight, well ballanced and has
very good power both forward and reverse. This is the third impact of this type i have purchased and all are still
on the job and preforming well
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for AirCat Super Duty Composite Impact Wrench - 3/4in. Drive, Model# 1600-TH
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

BIG, fairly powerful but wore out quickly.

,
June 21, 2011
By mnoe1
from Wyoming
"I bought one of these for heavy truck work because the price was fair and the alleged power was phenominal, it had mostly good reviews with a handfull of very bad ones. I have now owned and used this thing for about a year and a half and the hammer has been periodically sticking for more than half that time, sometimes so bad that I would nearly give up on it but gobs of oil would save the day, everytime except this last one. The power, while certainly impressive, was no better than any run of the mill 3/4 drive and it was a finicky tool demanding a lot of oil and better quality air than the shop where I work provides; I was always pampering it and used so much oil to keep it from sticking that it would leave oil all over truck wheels which I would try to remember to wipe off. I have replaced it w/ an IR 2141 and will rebuild it for a backup, the 2141 really isn't much more if you shop around and I've seen them in action they seem at least as powerful and require far less pampering; I am not really interrested in tools which need to be pampered."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for AirCat Super Duty Composite Impact Wrench - 3/4in. Drive, Model# 1600-TH
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great guns!!

,
March 14, 2011
By taz55
from Harrisonburg, VA
"This gun is great! I am the tool purchaser for a large heavy truck dealership. I've bought guns from all the big names, and have paid top dollar for them. But none of them compare to the power and quietness of the AirCat. We've only had it for a couple of months, but the guys love it. I will definitely be replacing our other worn out guns with the AirCat 1600-TH!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for AirCat Super Duty Composite Impact Wrench - 3/4in. Drive, Model# 1600-TH
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerful

,
January 29, 2010
By Mech1
from Fort Campbell, KY
"I have used this 3/4in Impact Wrench for a little more than 1 month. The Description and on the Max torque of 1400 ft ilbs, and the working Torque of 200 -800 ft lbs is right on the money. I work on 1 1/4 ton vehicles and Larger. The largest lug nut I have used it on so far has been 1 3/4 inch without a problem.
The other day a fellow Mechanic asked to borrow my impact because his (3/4 inch IR) would not break a lug loose. On the Drivers side the lug nuts are reverse thread and his impact would not break them loose. To top it off he only had a 3/8 inch airline, I was kinda worried because I always use a 1/2 inch airline when I use my 3/4 inch impact. To both of our surprise my AirCat came to the rescue, even with the 3/8 airline.
Powerful and Quiet!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for AirCat Super Duty Composite Impact Wrench - 3/4in. Drive, Model# 1600-TH
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good price , lot power

,
December 3, 2009
By leminh
from tracy ca
"i work at HONDA DEALER some time i can't remove crank pulley bolt with 1/2 gun, i bought this gun and test , first very quiet i thought no power , but when i remove crank pully bolt ,it come out very easy. i am happy with this gun."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for AirCat Super Duty Composite Impact Wrench - 3/4in. Drive, Model# 1600-TH
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good inpact

,
February 24, 2009
By 6sfb
from s.c.
"well i work on heavy equipment as in.. cat 623B's 633's D8K'sD8H's 245B 631B's 988A's D9H's most all BIG EQUIPMENT .and i need the best of the best to work with but the only thing i didt like about the inpact is ....5 min in to working with it the oring under the shaft broke and now the sockets fall off but ...it haz great power and thats what i look for in a inpact..... good inpact."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for AirCat Super Duty Composite Impact Wrench - 3/4in. Drive, Model# 1600-TH
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice gun

,
August 18, 2008
By rex237
from fremont,ca
"This impact 3/4 wrench is the best i ever tried,you feel safe when you use it and you have a lot of comfort when you owe on it,nice job who ever made it.keep doing good products to make our job easier."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.