Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9

FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9

Item# 154220
This Ingersoll Rand hand-carry air compressor provides the power, durability and portability you want on the jobsite. Built to last and designed for the toughest 100 continuous-duty applications. Includes two quick-connect couplers to run two tool simultaneously. CFM at 90 PSI 4.3, Air Outlet Size in. 1/4, Max. PSI 135, Motor Phases Single, Portable or Stationary Portable, Dimensions L x W x H in. 19 x 19 x 19, HP 2, Air Tank Size gal. 4, Amps 15, CFM at 135 PSI 3.2, Duty Cycle 100, Tank Type Twin stack, Volts 120, Stage Single, Pump Cast iron, oil-lubricated. Ships with one bottle of Ingersoll Rand All-Season Select synthetic lubricant and one air filter
Average Customer Rating:
4.273 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (22 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
19 of 22(86%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

quality product but oof!

,
September 17, 2013
By Patches79
from Madison, Wisconsin
"This is a great compressor with lots of capability to keep up with a couple of devices going at the same time. I would have rated a five star but if your using this as a portable be prepared for some heft. This one will give your back a workout. I have used a lot of portables and this is by far the best."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

The little engine that............

,
September 17, 2013
By btpoy
from Atlanta, GA
"Stepping down from a 20 gallon oil-less compressor to this 4 gallon oiled one took a little adjustment. This compressor has to cycle a little more often than I was used to with the larger capacity unit. I also have to keep a schedule on when to change out the oil. The features I like are the quick on/off twin connections, the compact footprint, and the air output for such a small unit. It has handles on it to allow you to move it easily (if you have te muscle power.) I modified an old push mower deck and secured the compressor to it. This allows me to roll the unit around the property yet I can detach it and throw it in the back of the truck if needed. The gauges I received with the unit were defective out of the box but Ingersoll-Rand Customer Support remedied that problem quickly by sending me out new gauges free of charge."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great compressor!

,
April 26, 2013
By Tony321
from DFW
"I have used my share of portable compressors and this one is by far the best one that I have. The only real down side is that it is an oiled unit meaning that it needs to stay upright at all times or the oil will leak out, which can sometimes be an issue when transporting it… that’s it, that is the only con. On the flip side of that, it is oiled, so it will last a lot longer when you do hit it hard and have it cranking up all the time than a comparable oil-free unit. It puts out a lot of CFM’s for its size and had no trouble keeping up with the two Senco SKS staplers I was running on it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

A TOTAL WASTE OF GOOD MONEY

,
April 23, 2013
By homecanner
from montmorenci, SC
"I PURCHASED THIS COMPRESSOR THINKING IT WOULD BE ABOVE AVERAGE QUALITY FOR THE HIGHER THAN AVERAGE PRICE FOR A 2 HP COMPRESSOR. HOWEVER THE TANK DEVELOPED AIR LEAKS WHERE THE HANDLE WAS WELDED AND IS NOT ABLE TO BE RE WELDED. A TOTAL WASTE OF GOOD MONEY"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice compressor to take on the road

,
October 20, 2012
By Jim61571
from Washington, Ill
"I just received this compressor yesterday Oct. 19, 2012 and have been very pleased so far. I was a little concerned after reading the reviewes from people that received theirs damaged, but mine was in good condition as I would expect. There have been times that I have needed a small jobsite compressor. I looked at all of the small compressors and chose this one because it does contain oil which should improve it's operating life. The extra weight is of little concern as I am in the process of making a small cart to help improve it's mobility. Another fine product from Northern Tool and Ingersoll Rand."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Need Air?

,
August 20, 2012
By dk312
from Chicago, IL
"This compressor has been a work horse. Provides plenty of air to power a air gun, needle scaler, ratchet, grinder and to fill up auto tires. 100% duty cycle it great to."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

compressor

,
August 13, 2012
By Norse
from Livermore,CA
"Very good compressor. Great value Used it on the job and everyone agrees with my comments."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Farm Use

,
January 16, 2012
By Stoneridge
from Upstate SC
"I own a farm and use this air compressor for all type of uses. It is great for tools (impact wrench, grinders, nail gun) but i've found it to be slow when inflating large truck / tractor tires."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ingersoll Rand

,
January 9, 2012
By Andre1
from Fullerton, CA
"I got this as a business purchase for my company, can't go wrong with Ingersoll Rand products. Awesome quality, great price and fast shipping."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not buy this compressor!!!!!

,
December 3, 2011
By aldocella
from dudley, MA
"I had to return 3 of these IR units before I found one that had gauges that were functioning..After 1.5 years of very limited use it died completely...It looks brand new and won't run at all. No manual was provided so I am up the creek now without a paddle. I suggest for home use to buy an inexpensive pancake compressor for 1/2 the cash.."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

PERFECT !

,
June 13, 2011
By Jaybo
"I was looking for a small compressor to run brad nail and staple guns to do hobby work and this little twin stack has fit the bill. It has functioned perfectly and has multiple uses with added accessories. So far , no cons to write about. Not being familiar with air compressors , Northern tool personnel were very helpful showing me the pros & cons on compressors and gave me expert advice on how to use it. The instruction manual was missing and their parts supervisor downloaded one from the internet and even printed it out for me. I walked away satisfied with the compressor and the service I received. I HIGHLY recommend Ingersoll Rand & Northern Tool !"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ingersol Rand Compressor

,
November 23, 2010
By Captainjj
from Akron,Ohio
"I bought this compressor a few months ago and just love it! It has all the power I will ever need and probably will last a long,long time. I don't see this compressor needing anything for a while. Solid! I will take care of it!!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for a do-it-yourself kind of person.

,
August 23, 2010
By jammer321
from Denver, CO
"Runs fairly quiet and gets up to pressure quickly. I would recommend this product for the average do-it-yourself person who will use it primarily for building projects. Automotive people may find that it is a little under powered for the high CFM tools like air drills. Perfect for nail guns, filling tires, cleaning out dust and debris, light automotive use, etc."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice little compressor

,
August 23, 2010
By Rick280zx
from Maine
"Item came quickly and as advertised. Unit is pretty quiet and quick at recharge. Does not overdraw circuits. Light enough to carry around!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

nightmare

,
June 18, 2010
By aye87
from glenside,pa
"so after i read all the good review, i decided to buy this compressor but when i use it, the pressure gauge does not read psi or kpa, why? it is the backing plate is crooked and this stop the needle from moving nowhere, this happen to the tank pressure reading and discharge pressure reading, no quality check just like GM, i called them for warranty replacement and they said you have to bring them in to see what going on, and it is 2 hours driving one way"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-11points
5out of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well built! Quiet! Continuous Duty Cycle!

,
June 2, 2010
By DeusEx
from Columbus, OH
"I had decided for my usage I wanted a small portable uint that would still run automotive air tools. That lead me to the double stack tank type. Then I spoted this IR. WOW! First I like the basic design with the proective cage protecting the gauges and regulator. Next I LOVED the fact that it runs at 100% duty cycle!
When I unpacked it and ran it thru the startup processes, I couldn't believe how quiet it was... Perhaps as loud as a vacuum cleaner. Nice if you intend to use it in an enclosed garage. I also love how solid it feels...not a bit of play in any of the parts. Speaking of parts...it appears to use standard parts so replacing damaged or warn out pieces will be cheap, quick, and easy. The time to full pressure from startup is less than two minutes Recovery from discarge is about 20 seconds with no tool usage.
Also, most experanced buyers will know this already but this compressor should be run on 20A outlet. Most new builds are including 20A circuits in high demand parts of the house. If you lack one installing one isn't difficult at all. And as always, if you don't feel save working with electricity or don't have any experience with it, hire a licenced electrician. After all 20A tools are becoming more commonplace and having a dedicated outlet for them is always a plus.
Two recommendations for IR. A more comprehensive manual with start up proceedure would've been nice. I just inserted the air filter, filled the oil, opened the drain valve and ran the compressor for about 30 minutes to break in the motor and pump. Also, and this one's just me being spoiled...use the milton type couplers. They are strong and durable. They also make hose swaps a one handed job, nice when you have 100' of rubber hose in the other arm."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

terry

,
June 2, 2010
By allen47
from beaumont,tx
"very satisfied with this product, it is all that you have said about it and more, very fine piece of equip."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
etechrestorations
Orange City, FL 
 
Please wait while more information about etechrestorations is loaded.
Additional information about etechrestorations could not be loaded.
BEST BANG FOR THE BUCK
June 12, 2012
"I have purchased tw of these in a period of 2 years and I have to give very high praise for these units. First of all, it is best if you purchase a oil lubricated air compressor, they will last longer and will be problem free. Maintenance and changing the oil is easy...and if you want it to last longer, use any synthetic oil and I mean any. I use 10w40 full synthetic and not a problem. I purchased a 2nd one because I love the reliability and how fast it recharges the air. I was also impressed how during use the compressor kicks on and it seems it almost keep up with a load I am using. The unit is heavy but placing it on a 4 wheel flat furniture dolly makes easier use in a warehouse or on-site. But remember to strap it down. I highly recommend it"
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Compressor

,
June 1, 2010
By WilliamP
from Columbia, SC
"Wanted a compressor that had great recovery time and this one was it. It has no wait time in recovery. Worked it all day long with no problems. I would recommend this compressor to anyone who needed a great machine to do framing and finish nailing work."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
May 24, 2010
By KC628
from Las Vegas, NV
"Have owned a few smaller, less powerful air compressors in the past. But nothing like this one! This is awesome, in all ways! Has the HP and PSI that I need/want...with no problem. Great for "around the house" projects, which is my primary use. Would, and will, recommend both Northern Tool, and this Ingersoll-Rand product. Am very pleased with the experience I've had with Northern Tools.
Thanks NT,
KC
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

,
May 24, 2010
By JaayJ
from Azle, Texas
"added oil and fired her up and was up to pressure in minutes. Quality is excellant and noise is not that bad in a confined areas"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.