Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9"

"FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9"

Item# 154220
"This Ingersoll Rand hand-carry air compressor provides the power, durability and portability you want on the jobsite. Built to last and designed for the toughest 100 continuous-duty applications. Includes two quick-connect couplers to run two tool simultaneously. Air Outlet Size in. 1/4, Amps 15, CFM at 40 PSI 5.3, HP 2, Air Tank Size gal. 4, Volts 120, CFM at 90 PSI 4.3, CFM at Max. PSI 3.2, Duty Cycle 100, Tank Type Twin stack, Weight lbs. 77, Max. PSI 135, Oil Required Yes, Noise Level dB 80-82, Dimensions L x W x H in. 19 x 19 x 19, Pump Material Cast iron. Ships with one bottle of Ingersoll Rand All-Season Select synthetic lubricant and one air filter"
Average Customer Rating:
4.357 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (28 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
25 of 28(89%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9"
Review 1 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a good compressor!

,
March 18, 2016
By
from Snellville, GA.
I bought this IR compressor recently after reviewing several different ones from different dealers. I chose this one because of the IR brand name, the oil-lubricated cast iron compressor, and the 100% duty cycle. I liked the fact that the fill line was flexible hose covered with braided stainless steel instead of a more rigid copper line. I was also impressed that the compressor came with synthetic oil.
After purchase, I found out that this compressor is actually made by Puma, which sells the identical item under that brand name, painted a different different color. That Puma compressor is also highly rated elsewhere, so I was satisfied with my choice.
I installed the air filter, filled the compressor with the synthetic oil supplied by the manufacturer, and plugged it in. I left the air release valve open and let it run to break in for 30 minutes. It ran fairly quietly.
I let the compressor cool overnight, and then ran a couple of tests. I started with no pressure in the tank, and the compressor filled the air tank to the maximum 135 pounds of pressure within 45 seconds. I bled off the air until the compressor cut back in at 100 pounds of pressure. It topped back up to 135 pounds of pressure within ten seconds. Then I let the compressor sit idle for a week and it still held more than 130 pounds of pressure.
I repeated these tests one more time, with the same results. This indicates to me that this compressor will do a very good job running my nail guns, and will easily handle inflation tasks as well.
So far so good. I believe this is the best small air compressor I have ever bought. It is heavy, at 77 pounds, but it is also very solid in construction. I believe it will serve me well for many years to come.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Compressor, over-rated quality

,
January 24, 2016
By
from New Ipswich, NH
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I bought this compressor to go with my plasma cutter. It is a good compressor and generated the claimed 135 PSI. It is well built, but has some issues that keep m e from calling it "High Quality". The plastic oil dip stick is dismal. And, a recurring problem seen in other reviews here and elsewhere shows that the pressure gauges are an issue, and are frequently damaged or inoperable on arrival. Mine was no exception, and both gauges were bent at the connector, and the faces behind the glass were bent at the top. As these aguges are protected behind the steel frame of the compressor, they had to have been damaged during installation or before. Northern Tool was very good and shipped me out a new pair quickly. To install them, you have to remove the 4 bolts holding the compressor motor to the frame and move it outr of the way to get the gauge manifold out. Doing this I found one of the bolts was cross-threaded from the factory. All in all, a good compressor, just not worthy of some of the high-quality prtaise I've seen.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

IR quality WOW!!! I mean just WOW!!!

,
December 14, 2015
By
from Greenville SC
I love this compressor. I do caution everyone that it is a little heavy. Maybe I'm getting old (or need to work out more). This thing is built like tools used to be built. Will last a life-time.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Meets the need

,
February 26, 2015
By
from Cary, NC
I had owned a IR 60 gallon stationary unit, when I had more space. I needed a smaller air compressor and didn't need the output of the larger units. I trusted Ingersoll Rand to have a nice compressor with good output specs for the size and HP. I researched just about everything that was anywhere near the size and price. Northern Tool had the best price and this was the best product. I have only used it a few times but it has functioned well and noise level is low for an air compressor.
BTW, the first one I received came with a couple of parts broken that made it non-functional. Northern quickly sent a second unit and had UPS pick up the first one. Great customer service!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Ingersoll-Rand Compressor

,
January 3, 2015
By
from Herminie, PA
Great little compressor but would be better if a set of wheels were included to make it easier to move. It is considerably heavy and would make the product more useable and easier to get into tight fitted area. Or an attachment that would allow the buyer to connected to a dolly so it could be moved.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ingersoll rand

,
August 22, 2014
By
from North Carolina
Just bought this compressor yesterday and was a little concerned that it wouldn't be able to power a impact wrench but once I tried it powered it no problem. Not as loud as my oil less compressor but is still loud because it is a compressor. Over all I would buy another one.
Video Review:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Ingersoll rand twin stack
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

quality product but oof!

,
September 17, 2013
By
from Madison, Wisconsin
This is a great compressor with lots of capability to keep up with a couple of devices going at the same time. I would have rated a five star but if your using this as a portable be prepared for some heft. This one will give your back a workout. I have used a lot of portables and this is by far the best.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

The little engine that............

,
September 17, 2013
By
from Atlanta, GA
Stepping down from a 20 gallon oil-less compressor to this 4 gallon oiled one took a little adjustment. This compressor has to cycle a little more often than I was used to with the larger capacity unit. I also have to keep a schedule on when to change out the oil. The features I like are the quick on/off twin connections, the compact footprint, and the air output for such a small unit. It has handles on it to allow you to move it easily (if you have te muscle power.) I modified an old push mower deck and secured the compressor to it. This allows me to roll the unit around the property yet I can detach it and throw it in the back of the truck if needed. The gauges I received with the unit were defective out of the box but Ingersoll-Rand Customer Support remedied that problem quickly by sending me out new gauges free of charge.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great compressor!

,
April 26, 2013
By
from DFW
I have used my share of portable compressors and this one is by far the best one that I have. The only real down side is that it is an oiled unit meaning that it needs to stay upright at all times or the oil will leak out, which can sometimes be an issue when transporting it… that’s it, that is the only con. On the flip side of that, it is oiled, so it will last a lot longer when you do hit it hard and have it cranking up all the time than a comparable oil-free unit. It puts out a lot of CFM’s for its size and had no trouble keeping up with the two Senco SKS staplers I was running on it.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

A TOTAL WASTE OF GOOD MONEY

,
April 23, 2013
By
from montmorenci, SC
I PURCHASED THIS COMPRESSOR THINKING IT WOULD BE ABOVE AVERAGE QUALITY FOR THE HIGHER THAN AVERAGE PRICE FOR A 2 HP COMPRESSOR. HOWEVER THE TANK DEVELOPED AIR LEAKS WHERE THE HANDLE WAS WELDED AND IS NOT ABLE TO BE RE WELDED. A TOTAL WASTE OF GOOD MONEY
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-4points
3out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice compressor to take on the road

,
October 20, 2012
By
from Washington, Ill
I just received this compressor yesterday Oct. 19, 2012 and have been very pleased so far. I was a little concerned after reading the reviewes from people that received theirs damaged, but mine was in good condition as I would expect. There have been times that I have needed a small jobsite compressor. I looked at all of the small compressors and chose this one because it does contain oil which should improve it's operating life. The extra weight is of little concern as I am in the process of making a small cart to help improve it's mobility. Another fine product from Northern Tool and Ingersoll Rand.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Need Air?

,
August 20, 2012
By
from Chicago, IL
This compressor has been a work horse. Provides plenty of air to power a air gun, needle scaler, ratchet, grinder and to fill up auto tires. 100% duty cycle it great to.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

compressor

,
August 13, 2012
By
from Livermore,CA
Very good compressor. Great value Used it on the job and everyone agrees with my comments.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Farm Use

,
January 16, 2012
By
from Upstate SC
I own a farm and use this air compressor for all type of uses. It is great for tools (impact wrench, grinders, nail gun) but i've found it to be slow when inflating large truck / tractor tires.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ingersoll Rand

,
January 9, 2012
By
from Fullerton, CA
I got this as a business purchase for my company, can't go wrong with Ingersoll Rand products. Awesome quality, great price and fast shipping.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do not buy this compressor!!!!!

,
December 3, 2011
By
from dudley, MA
I had to return 3 of these IR units before I found one that had gauges that were functioning..After 1.5 years of very limited use it died completely...It looks brand new and won't run at all. No manual was provided so I am up the creek now without a paddle. I suggest for home use to buy an inexpensive pancake compressor for 1/2 the cash..
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

PERFECT !

,
June 13, 2011
By
I was looking for a small compressor to run brad nail and staple guns to do hobby work and this little twin stack has fit the bill. It has functioned perfectly and has multiple uses with added accessories. So far , no cons to write about. Not being familiar with air compressors , Northern tool personnel were very helpful showing me the pros & cons on compressors and gave me expert advice on how to use it. The instruction manual was missing and their parts supervisor downloaded one from the internet and even printed it out for me. I walked away satisfied with the compressor and the service I received. I HIGHLY recommend Ingersoll Rand & Northern Tool !
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ingersol Rand Compressor

,
November 23, 2010
By
from Akron,Ohio
I bought this compressor a few months ago and just love it! It has all the power I will ever need and probably will last a long,long time. I don't see this compressor needing anything for a while. Solid! I will take care of it!!!
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for a do-it-yourself kind of person.

,
August 23, 2010
By
from Denver, CO
Runs fairly quiet and gets up to pressure quickly. I would recommend this product for the average do-it-yourself person who will use it primarily for building projects. Automotive people may find that it is a little under powered for the high CFM tools like air drills. Perfect for nail guns, filling tires, cleaning out dust and debris, light automotive use, etc.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice little compressor

,
August 23, 2010
By
from Maine
Item came quickly and as advertised. Unit is pretty quiet and quick at recharge. Does not overdraw circuits. Light enough to carry around!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.