Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9"

"FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9"

Item# 154220
"This Ingersoll Rand hand-carry air compressor provides the power, durability and portability you want on the jobsite. Built to last and designed for the toughest 100 continuous-duty applications. Includes two quick-connect couplers to run two tool simultaneously. CFM at 90 PSI 4.3, Volts 120, Tank Type Twin stack, Max. PSI 135, HP 2, Duty Cycle 100, Dimensions L x W x H in. 19 x 19 x 19, Amps 15, Air Tank Size gal. 4, Air Outlet Size in. 1/4, CFM at Max. PSI 3.2, CFM at 40 PSI 5.3, Noise Level dB 80-82, Oil Required Yes, Pump Material Cast iron, Weight lbs. 77. Ships with one bottle of Ingersoll Rand All-Season Select synthetic lubricant and one air filter"
Average Customer Rating:
4.367 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (30 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
27 of 30(90%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9"
Review 21 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for a do-it-yourself kind of person.

,
August 23, 2010
By
from Denver, CO
Runs fairly quiet and gets up to pressure quickly. I would recommend this product for the average do-it-yourself person who will use it primarily for building projects. Automotive people may find that it is a little under powered for the high CFM tools like air drills. Perfect for nail guns, filling tires, cleaning out dust and debris, light automotive use, etc.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice little compressor

,
August 23, 2010
By
from Maine
Item came quickly and as advertised. Unit is pretty quiet and quick at recharge. Does not overdraw circuits. Light enough to carry around!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

nightmare

,
June 18, 2010
By
from glenside,pa
so after i read all the good review, i decided to buy this compressor but when i use it, the pressure gauge does not read psi or kpa, why? it is the backing plate is crooked and this stop the needle from moving nowhere, this happen to the tank pressure reading and discharge pressure reading, no quality check just like GM, i called them for warranty replacement and they said you have to bring them in to see what going on, and it is 2 hours driving one way
Describe Yourself: Professional
-8points
9out of 26found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well built! Quiet! Continuous Duty Cycle!

,
June 2, 2010
By
from Columbus, OH
I had decided for my usage I wanted a small portable uint that would still run automotive air tools. That lead me to the double stack tank type. Then I spoted this IR. WOW! First I like the basic design with the proective cage protecting the gauges and regulator. Next I LOVED the fact that it runs at 100% duty cycle!
When I unpacked it and ran it thru the startup processes, I couldn't believe how quiet it was... Perhaps as loud as a vacuum cleaner. Nice if you intend to use it in an enclosed garage. I also love how solid it feels...not a bit of play in any of the parts. Speaking of parts...it appears to use standard parts so replacing damaged or warn out pieces will be cheap, quick, and easy. The time to full pressure from startup is less than two minutes Recovery from discarge is about 20 seconds with no tool usage.
Also, most experanced buyers will know this already but this compressor should be run on 20A outlet. Most new builds are including 20A circuits in high demand parts of the house. If you lack one installing one isn't difficult at all. And as always, if you don't feel save working with electricity or don't have any experience with it, hire a licenced electrician. After all 20A tools are becoming more commonplace and having a dedicated outlet for them is always a plus.
Two recommendations for IR. A more comprehensive manual with start up proceedure would've been nice. I just inserted the air filter, filled the oil, opened the drain valve and ran the compressor for about 30 minutes to break in the motor and pump. Also, and this one's just me being spoiled...use the milton type couplers. They are strong and durable. They also make hose swaps a one handed job, nice when you have 100' of rubber hose in the other arm.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

terry

,
June 2, 2010
By
from beaumont,tx
very satisfied with this product, it is all that you have said about it and more, very fine piece of equip.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
etechrestorations
Orange City, FL 
 
Please wait while more information about etechrestorations is loaded.
Additional information about etechrestorations could not be loaded.
BEST BANG FOR THE BUCK
June 12, 2012
" I have purchased tw of these in a period of 2 years and I have to give very high praise for these units. First of all, it is best if you purchase a oil lubricated air compressor, they will last longer and will be problem free. Maintenance and changing the oil is easy...and if you want it to last longer, use any synthetic oil and I mean any. I use 10w40 full synthetic and not a problem. I purchased a 2nd one because I love the reliability and how fast it recharges the air. I was also impressed how during use the compressor kicks on and it seems it almost keep up with a load I am using. The unit is heavy but placing it on a 4 wheel flat furniture dolly makes easier use in a warehouse or on-site. But remember to strap it down. I highly recommend it "
0points
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 26 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Compressor

,
June 1, 2010
By
from Columbia, SC
Wanted a compressor that had great recovery time and this one was it. It has no wait time in recovery. Worked it all day long with no problems. I would recommend this compressor to anyone who needed a great machine to do framing and finish nailing work.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
May 24, 2010
By
from Las Vegas, NV
Have owned a few smaller, less powerful air compressors in the past. But nothing like this one! This is awesome, in all ways! Has the HP and PSI that I need/want...with no problem. Great for "around the house" projects, which is my primary use. Would, and will, recommend both Northern Tool, and this Ingersoll-Rand product. Am very pleased with the experience I've had with Northern Tools.
Thanks NT,
KC
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great

,
May 24, 2010
By
from Azle, Texas
added oil and fired her up and was up to pressure in minutes. Quality is excellant and noise is not that bad in a confined areas
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great compressor

,
February 17, 2010
By
probably without a doubt the best small air compressor i've used. a very beefy unit. its between 65 & 70 pounds. so you no its very durable. puts out the right cfm of air @ 90psi to run my 3/8" impact gun. i do alot of work on small equipment (lawn mowers, snowblowers etc...) its nice to pick up your tools and your air source and bring them to the job site and not worry about being let down. its also a very quiet running machine. i also like the fact that its a continuous duty unit. i'm using synthetic oil so i no there is no problem of starting this compressor in the cold weather and also has great wear characteristics.. plus ingersoll-rand is a great name. very happy with purchase!
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
Ozzi
MA 
 
Please wait while more information about Ozzi is loaded.
Additional information about Ozzi could not be loaded.
I am a handy man Great Compressor
February 19, 2011
" I like the price and its not a cheep frame.Runs Great ,I only had one complant.the Gages were bent so they didn't work ,took off carefully bent back so the gages needls moves and its all set .UPS shipping .I don't know box came no marks or dents,good deal over all yes "
+1point
1out of 1found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 30 for "FREE SHIPPING - Ingersoll Rand Twin-Stack Air Compressor - 2 HP, 4-Gallon Capacity, Model# P1IU-A9"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ingersoll Rand Twin Stack Compressor

,
February 15, 2010
By
from Kansas
I wanted to upgrade from my old PC pancake, oilless compressor. Based upon my previous experience with IR compressors of a much larger, commercial nature, I knew their products to be of unparalleled quality. In browsing through the various websites and upon the recommendation of a coworker, I purchased my P1IU-A9 twin stack compressor and it has lived up to every expectation I had of it. Price, quality, shipping cost, company, operation-all rated 5 stars.
Thank you Northern Tool and Ingersoll Rand.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Reviews 21-30 of 30