Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ingersoll Rand Mega Impact Sockets - 3/8in. and 1/2in. Drives, 86-Pc. SAE and Metric Set, Model# SK34C86

Ingersoll Rand Mega Impact Sockets - 3/8in. and 1/2in. Drives, 86-Pc. SAE and Metric Set, Model# SK34C86

Item# 154500
The Ingersoll Rand 3/8-inch and 1/2-inch 86-piece combo standard- and deep-impact socket set is a large set that includes all the sockets you need. Ideal for automotive work to plumbing to construction. Features impact-grade toughness designed for high-torque applications. Forged chrome-molybdenum steel provides high-strength durability. Top quality means superior performance and durability. Laser-etched size labeling makes for easier identification. Heavy-duty plastic storage case for easy portability. Drive in. 3/8, 1/2, Point Size qty. 6, Storage Type Blow-molded case, SAE Deep Well Socket Size - 1/2in. Drive in. 7/16, 1/2 ,9/16, 5/8, 11/16, 3/4, 13/16, 7/8, 15/16, 1, 1 1/16, 1 1/8, 1 1/4, SAE Deep Well Socket Size - 3/8in. Drive in. 5/16, 3/8 ,7/16, 1/2, 9/16, 5/8, 11/16, 3/4, Pieces qty. 86, SAE Standard Socket Size - 1/2in. Drive in. 7/16, 1/2 ,9/16, 5/8, 11/16, 3/4, 13/16, 7/8, 15/16, 1, 1 1/16, 1 1/8, 1 1/4, SAE Standard Socket Size - 3/8in. Drive in. 5/16, 3/8 ,7/16, 1/2, 9/16, 5/8, 11/16, 3/4, Material Type Chrome molybdenum alloy steel, Metric Standard Socket Size - 3/8in. Drive mm 9, 10, 11, 13, 14, 15, 17, 19, Metric Deep Well Socket Size - 1/2in. Drive mm 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 ,21, 22, 26, 27, Metric Deep Well Socket Size - 3/8in. Drive mm 9, 10, 11, 13, 14, 15, 17, 19, Metric Standard Socket Size - 1/2in. Drive mm 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 ,21, 22, 26, 27. Chrome-molybdenum steel forged for high-strength durability Large laser-etched numbers for easy reading Electro-phosphate finish
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 of 10(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ingersoll Rand Mega Impact Sockets - 3/8in. and 1/2in. Drives, 86-Pc. SAE and Metric Set, Model# SK34C86
Review 1 for Ingersoll Rand Mega Impact Sockets - 3/8in. and 1/2in. Drives, 86-Pc. SAE and Metric Set, Model# SK34C86
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impact Socket Set

,
August 18, 2014
By Fieldservice
from Milwaukee, WI
"This is a great set to have. the convenience of 3/8 and 1/2 drive sockets, short and deep in one well built carrying case. The size range in the sockets is perfect for my needs."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ingersoll Rand Mega Impact Sockets - 3/8in. and 1/2in. Drives, 86-Pc. SAE and Metric Set, Model# SK34C86
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Have lasted the longest but pricey

,
February 5, 2014
By AustinB
from Palm coast, FL
"This is the best set of impact sockets I have bought in a long time, they are just really expensive for my small business"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ingersoll Rand Mega Impact Sockets - 3/8in. and 1/2in. Drives, 86-Pc. SAE and Metric Set, Model# SK34C86
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Much higher quality than expected.

,
February 5, 2014
By Kuttoff
from Nor Cal
"The fit and finish-quality is equal to or better than any existing brand. Yes, my comparison is to other brands of expensive “Professional” tools that you all know well. This IR set is proof that off-shore manufacturing can equal US quality if the US importer demands quality and is responsible with manufacturing oversight. For the home handy man this set is 5 stars. The only reason I gave it 4 stars was for professional use. The laser etching on the bright black oxide finish will wear away in professional use like a dealership or tire store where the sockets are in constant daily use. Normally, sockets have their size roll-marked i.e., engraved, or physically cut into the metal wall. So when the laser etching wears away the size can still be determined because the engraving can be seen. These have no engraving under the black oxide. Once the surface is worn away there will be no way to tell socket size. For home use, or even light industrial use that design compromise should be fine. A professional will simply throw it away. A bright black oxide finish is more expensive than the “industrial” dull finish you see on almost all impact sockets. Wall thickness is equal to other brands I have and fit is fine. I have weighed an other brand socket for comparison and the IR socket is a few grams less. But the difference is depth inside the socket and not the wall thickness. The IR socket has the convolutions further up the socket. Meaning it will fit a greater variance in protruding bolt length. Outside diameter and overall length is the same as other brands.If this set was engraved it would be professionally 5 stars and one of the finest sets in the US."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ingersoll Rand Mega Impact Sockets - 3/8in. and 1/2in. Drives, 86-Pc. SAE and Metric Set, Model# SK34C86
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Socket Set - minor issue with case

,
August 27, 2013
By ScratchAndDent
from NC
"Excellent socket set. Visible labels. Case holds them snug. In fact sometimes I have to pry them out with a screwdriver. I haven't dropped it on the floor, but I don't think the sockets would come out if dropped from 3 or 4 feet.
Only one problem I hope they correct - the bottom of the case is angled in a way to allow the case to stand up if you put it down. The hinges are recessed so that the outer edges function as feet. The downside of this is that if you lay the case open, the hinges bind and pop apart. In other words, you cannot open the case 180 degrees and lay it flat on a table or floor. It will only open to about 170 degrees and all the pressure is on the hinges which are a weak link. The hinges pop apart. Fortunately, this does not ruin them. You can pull the pin out, close the case, and replace the pin. I have had to do this a few times now because I always lay the case open when using it. And I often forget to put something under it to prevent it from opening all the way to 180 degrees.
I am planning to modify the case to resolve this problem. I may modify the bottom of the case and install hinges that are not recessed. Or I may take the easy way out and simply put bumpers on the upper sides of the case so that when layed open, the bumpers will stop it from opening all the way, and the weight will not pop the hinges apart. Fortunately, the case is high quality and after the mod, it will be perfect.
I love these tools and they are the envy of my friends. For what you get, the price is actually quite low."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ingersoll Rand Mega Impact Sockets - 3/8in. and 1/2in. Drives, 86-Pc. SAE and Metric Set, Model# SK34C86
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Every socket you could need

,
April 26, 2013
By zombieprepared
from Largo, Florida
"After mixing and matching socket sets over the years, I'm glad I took the leap to buy a full set (with case). This set from IR is fantastic. 80 pieces that range from the very small (who know they made 1/4" impacts?) to the very large (without getting into jumbo sizes). The layout of the case is intuitive and this is a very complete set."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ingersoll Rand Mega Impact Sockets - 3/8in. and 1/2in. Drives, 86-Pc. SAE and Metric Set, Model# SK34C86
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very high quality

,
May 7, 2012
By THFD335
from Coal Bluff, Indiana
"I love this set. It is very high quality. It has the sizes clearly maked in large print. The sockets snap in place and dont fall out. the case is very well constructed and stays closed. This is one of the best investments I have made. Highly recommed it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ingersoll Rand Mega Impact Sockets - 3/8in. and 1/2in. Drives, 86-Pc. SAE and Metric Set, Model# SK34C86
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impact Maximus

,
October 10, 2011
By AJHammer
from AnnArbor, Mi.
"In using this product, the fit is tight, the sizes are easy to read, and they are bullitproof ! If dependable high torque sockets are what you need these will fit the bill, I,m impressed with their craftmanship and would definitly recommend them to my coworkers."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ingersoll Rand Mega Impact Sockets - 3/8in. and 1/2in. Drives, 86-Pc. SAE and Metric Set, Model# SK34C86
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Starter Set

,
August 30, 2010
By kryten
"Set contains all but a couple metric sizes - otherwise a long set with both short and deep sockets in metric and SAE. You can use the supplied SAE if you remember the correlation. Great Price. Heavy as heck though. Would be nice if the blow-molded case had a few empty locations for additional stuff. As it is, you'll have to hand carry the extensions and swivels, as well as your impact guns. Too thick to fit in a 2" drawer. You'll need to lock it in a deep drawer or cabinet."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ingersoll Rand Mega Impact Sockets - 3/8in. and 1/2in. Drives, 86-Pc. SAE and Metric Set, Model# SK34C86
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Set!

,
July 13, 2009
By thadru2001
from Seward, PA
"I am a mechanical maintenance supervisor at a large coal-fired power plant. I bought several of these sets for my crews. The crews are extremely happy with the versatility and portability of the sockets.
Everything you need for common maintennace work (and millwright work) is in this set. IR should consider making a set with larger sizes in a 3/4" drive.
We have been using these daily in extreme environments and have yet to break one.... and my guys are HARD on tools! If you're sick of piecing together impact sets, save youself time and money by getting one of these."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ingersoll Rand Mega Impact Sockets - 3/8in. and 1/2in. Drives, 86-Pc. SAE and Metric Set, Model# SK34C86
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impact sockets

,
March 6, 2007
By pleasant
from McClellandtown,Pa
"Excellent impact sockets.Will handle the toughest jobs.Every mechanic should own this set."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.