Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Husqvarna 223L Straight Shaft Trimmer - 25cc, 17in. Cutting Width"

"Husqvarna 223L Straight Shaft Trimmer - 25cc, 17in. Cutting Width"

Item# 15471
"This lightweight trimmer is perfect for landowner and semi-professional users that want a Husqvarna E-Tech Engine and the ergonomic features unique to straight shaft trimmers. The 25cc engine gets easy starts, thanks to Smart Start recoil assist and an air purge system. U.S.A. Shaft Length in. 59, Fuel Tank Capacity qt. 0.52, Shaft Type Straight, Application Trimmer, Cutting Width in. 17, Engine E-Tech, Line Diameter in. 0.095, Displacement cc 25. Three-piece forged crankshaft for durability under the toughest applications Easy-loading T35 bump trimmer head No exposed cables for tangle-free transportation Air purge removes air from the carburetor and fuel system for easy starting Smart Start engine and starter for quick, effortless starts Auto return stop switch automatically returns the stop switch to the start position when the machine is turned off Three-piece crankshaft is forged for maximum durability in the toughest applications"
Average Customer Rating:
4.286 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (7 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
6 of 7(86%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Husqvarna 223L Straight Shaft Trimmer - 25cc, 17in. Cutting Width"
Review 1 for "Husqvarna 223L Straight Shaft Trimmer - 25cc, 17in. Cutting Width"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Nylon starter pulley failed within a dozen uses

,
August 8, 2015
By
from Loveland, CO
" Shortly after the 2-year warranty expired on my 223L, after using it for no more than a dozen times, the starter rope wouldn't pull back in. I took it apart and discovered that the starter pulley (p.n. 544038601) is made of NYLON, and the spring (p.n. 544038801) had dug a channel through it. Trimmers in this price range ought to last more than a dozen uses! Calling Husqvarna customer support was useless; it's outsourced to "Dixie Sales". They would only sell me a replacement pulley for $14, "plus $23.95 shipping". I could not find any way to get to talk to a real Husqvarna employee. Surely this is not how they would want their customers to be treated, but this is my experience. Equivalent Echo trimmers have a 5 YEAR warranty. Just sayin'. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Husqvarna 223L Straight Shaft Trimmer - 25cc, 17in. Cutting Width"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quite, light, well balanced, and starts easily

,
July 27, 2015
By
from Pasadena, mD
" Researched a lot of trimmer and the 223L seemed to be the most popular. So far, I am very happy with the purchase. Trimmer starts very easily and is much quieter than the home improvement store-brand trimmer it is replacing.
Overall, I am completely happy with this purchase and Northern Tool's shipping. I would highly recommend the 223L and Northern Tool. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Husqvarna 223L Straight Shaft Trimmer - 25cc, 17in. Cutting Width"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

only one minor flaw

,
May 11, 2015
By
from Austin, TX
" The greatest advantage of this trimmer is the power. Nothing has been able to stop it. It blasts through tall thick grass like butter.
However, the second time I tried to start it it wouldn't start, and I eventually figured out that the fuel line to the primer had come off. Not a big deal, I plugged it back in and it hasn't been a problem since. I was just disappointed that a higher end product like this would have such a simple design flaw. Considering the intended use, for these trimmers, they should be super rugged.
That said, I'll give it the benefit of the doubt and assume that some how the line had become loose during shipping/handling. If it comes off again during normal use I'll revise this review down to 3 stars. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Husqvarna 223L Straight Shaft Trimmer - 25cc, 17in. Cutting Width"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Husqvarna trimmer

,
May 25, 2014
By
from Goochland, VA
" The power and straight shaft design make this trimmer far better for maintaining my heavily wooded couple of acres than the lightweight curved shaft trimmers I had been using. I will say that because of the extra power, it is taking a little bit of practice, but I'm quickly adjusting. It's great for chewing up thorns and vines. I'd definitely recommend it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-5points
4out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Husqvarna 223L Straight Shaft Trimmer - 25cc, 17in. Cutting Width"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Husqvarna 223L

,
May 15, 2012
By
from Pocahontas Co. West Virginia
" A friend bought this trimmer 2 years ago, it has been used in a semi-commercial setting since new. I runs good, has excellent power, is very balanced and easy to use. The only problem ever encountered on this unit was a cut coil wire due to case flexing, a peice of shrink tube fixed it right up. An excellent trimmer over all, would recommend. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Husqvarna 223L Straight Shaft Trimmer - 25cc, 17in. Cutting Width"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Husqvarna 223L Straight Shaft Trimmer

,
January 16, 2012
By
from Kingsport ,Tn.
" I have had this trimmer for three years and kept three lawns trimmed. It has not given any problem at all. I am going to get another one to use at my mom's home. Good product. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Husqvarna 223L Straight Shaft Trimmer - 25cc, 17in. Cutting Width"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the price

,
September 30, 2011
By
from Smyrna, Tennessee
" My previous trimmer (another brand) died after about 5 years. I purchased the Husqvarna because of the weight, length and brand name. I am extremely pleased with the product. I have had it for one season now. Granted it is still relatively new, but it starts very easily every time. The light weight and long reach is much easier on this old man's back. Power is excellent. Cuts through heavy grass with ease using the baranded line. Bump feed works very well. I have yet to find a downside to this product. I would recommend this trimmer to anyone. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.