Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools 16in. Poly Wheel and Tire

Northern Industrial Tools 16in. Poly Wheel and Tire

Item# 155123
"Fits 16in. bikes with caliper or coaster brakes. 5 spokes and rim of rugged, impact-resistant gray polypropylene. Aluminum alloy hub has 1/2in. axle opening. Black, traction-tread pneumatic 16in. x 1.75in. tire is nylon-cord reinforced. 180-lb. capacity. Load Capacity lbs. 180, Outside Diameter in. 16, Tire Type Pneumatic, Bore Diameter in. 1/2, Bearings Included Yes, Tread Type Staggered knobby, Hub Width in. 2 3/16, Tire Size in. 16 x 1.75, Rim Type 5-spoke polyurethane."
Average Customer Rating:
4.812 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (32 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
31 of 32(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools 16in. Poly Wheel and Tire
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Tools 16in. Poly Wheel and Tire
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Replacement wheel

,
March 23, 2016
By
from Broken Arrow, OK
I got this to replace the wheels for my children's bike trailer. Works exactly like we needed!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Tools 16in. Poly Wheel and Tire
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality item!

,
March 14, 2016
By
from Michigan
These wheels are well made with bearings for a 1/2 inch shaft. Quality and fast shipping!
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Tools 16in. Poly Wheel and Tire
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Wheel

,
November 23, 2015
By
from Los Angeles
I use these wheels on equipment carts I custom build for our customers. These wheels are very light weight and very strong. Just make sure to keep your axle slop to a minimum as the bearing can pop out if there is too much play in the axels.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Tools 16in. Poly Wheel and Tire
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

16" Ploy Wheel and Tire

,
October 5, 2015
By
from Locust, NC
I purchased two of these wheels after searching high and low for replacement wheels for the back of my push mower. These were easy to replace. They work great and I was back mowing in about 30 mins. Yeah me!
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Tools 16in. Poly Wheel and Tire
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fast delivery - good product - easy transaction

,
July 9, 2015
By
from Central OH
Have not used it much yet, but looks like it will really do the trick for the cart that was jus built. Hard to find reasonably priced pneumatic tires this size a lot of places.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Tools 16in. Poly Wheel and Tire
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Yard Truck

,
June 11, 2015
By
from Frankfort, IN
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I built a yard truck for my grand children to play with. Instead of using the wood wheels, I purchased 20 inch hard rubber wheels which work perfect. Now I can move the truck so I can mow around it.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Tools 16in. Poly Wheel and Tire
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great wheel and tire!

,
June 3, 2015
By
from NW Montana
This wheel and tire was perfect for what I needed it for. It is very strong and is holding up well. I put them on my 4'x6' chick coop to be able to move it around. The coop weighs over 300lbs and these wheels work great to give me the clearance to move it around our field and garden.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Tools 16in. Poly Wheel and Tire
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect bike trailer replacement

,
June 1, 2015
By
from Marion, IA
I blew out the inner tub and it broke the rim of my existing tire on my bike trailer. The replacement from the manufacturer was 3x the price. This was a great replacement.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Tools 16in. Poly Wheel and Tire
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cart wheels

,
May 29, 2015
By
from Phoenix
Used these wheels on a cart built from a patio pillow storage bin and added a hitch. It's got giddyup now.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Tools 16in. Poly Wheel and Tire
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

bike trailer

,
April 15, 2015
By
from CNY
used this to replace a broken wheel on a kid bike trailer. Works great.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Tools 16in. Poly Wheel and Tire
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I did NOT know it would be pnuematic, but am glad

,
November 8, 2014
By
from New Freeedom, PA
I was not aware that the tires were going to be pnuematic. Thought they would be hard rubber like my old ones. But I am very pleased that the air pressure can be regulated. The hand cart that I installed these on is so much easier to ride across the bumps, etc. on our farm. Very good product.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Tools 16in. Poly Wheel and Tire
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

16" wheels

,
October 12, 2014
By
from Sun Valley, CA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I built an adult tricycle and bought these wheels from northern Ind tools. The wheels are light and uses wheelbarrow type bearings. I found the wheels to be sturdy and low rolling friction. thank you.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Tools 16in. Poly Wheel and Tire
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great wheels

,
June 6, 2014
By
from massachusetts
The wheels fit my lawn machine as described axle bore true to size.
The wheel height was just right for my mower and the light weight keeps the machine easy to push.
Great buy
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Tools 16in. Poly Wheel and Tire
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

A Bit Wobbly

,
April 24, 2014
By
from upstate new york
I used these for a garden cart. They are good looking and smooth riding and quiet and serve the purpose nicely. My only criticism is that they are a bit wobbly.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Tools 16in. Poly Wheel and Tire
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Child's Bike Trailer

,
April 1, 2013
By
from Plains, MT
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I have pounded on these for 100's of miles now and they have held up fine. Before I started to use them I cleaned and repacked the bearings using heat and pressure. The grease inside is skimpy, more so for what I was doing with them on a child's off-road bike trailer. Search "Off-Road Bike Trailer for Children" on youtube for the suspension build.
I found the wheels to be sloppy on 1/2 threaded rod, not that that is a critique of the wheel, just fyi. I struggle to set the bearing pre-load using jam nuts. Once set however they seem to stay adjusted for many miles.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Tools 16in. Poly Wheel and Tire
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

used several times with complete satisfaction

,
February 21, 2013
By
from ontario canada
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
i got into building bicycle trailers and have used these wheels on 3 trailers builds with excellents results
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Northern Industrial Tools 16in. Poly Wheel and Tire
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Useable but not fantastic

,
April 3, 2011
By
from Tacoma, WA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
These seem to be holding up well so far but I was not impressed when one of the bearings fell out while unpacking. They are just a slip fit so they must be held in place firmly or they will fall out and the bearings are really cheap. also the 1/2" axle size is borderline for the weight rating. If you are going to do heavy loads regularly I would go for a heaver duty metal wheel.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Northern Industrial Tools 16in. Poly Wheel and Tire
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The 16" Poly wheel/tire

,
March 16, 2011
By
from Southern California
My custom dog cart business relies on this wheel. I use it more than the 12 1/2" wheel. The wheel is tough, reliable, and so evenly standardized that I know the axles I use will work without alteration. The price is right.
My biggest complaint: I wish the hub was available in BLACK, not the
grey. I've asked and asked for black. I understand these wheels/tires are
purchased in bulk but could you PLEASE get black?
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Northern Industrial Tools 16in. Poly Wheel and Tire
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

16 Inch Wheels with Tires

,
November 16, 2010
By
from Buffalo, NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Using wheels on bicycle trailer I built to carry camping equipment while bicycle touring. Not quite finished but have taken the trailer out for several tests and hardly know it's behind the bike, even when loaded with equipment. The wheels run smoothly and quietly, couldn't ask for more. Cannot think of any cons.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Northern Industrial Tools 16in. Poly Wheel and Tire
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Wheels

,
September 13, 2010
By
from Raleigh, NC
I purchased a pair to use on a canoe cart I was building. They are very high quality, light and durable. The tires are also quite good and have a straight, unpronounced tread. My loaded solo canoe weighs in around 100lbs and is easily carried on these wheels. I am so happy with them that I purchased a second pair to use on a bicycle trailer for my wife.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.