Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools 16in. Poly Wheel and Tire

Northern Industrial Tools 16in. Poly Wheel and Tire

Item# 155123
Fits 16in. bikes with caliper or coaster brakes. 5 spokes and rim of rugged, impact-resistant gray polypropylene. Aluminum alloy hub has 1/2in. axle opening. Black, traction-tread pneumatic 16in. x 1.75in. tire is nylon-cord reinforced. 180-lb. capacity. Hub Width in. 2 3/16, Load Capacity lbs. 180, Outside Diameter in. 16, Bearings Included Yes, Tire Type Pneumatic, Tread Type Staggered knobby, Bore Diameter in. 1/2, Rim Type 5-spoke polyurethane, Tire Size in. 16 x 1 3/4.
Average Customer Rating:
4.762 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (21 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 of 21(95%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools 16in. Poly Wheel and Tire
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Tools 16in. Poly Wheel and Tire
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

16" wheels

,
October 12, 2014
By secondchildhood
from Sun Valley, CA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I built an adult tricycle and bought these wheels from northern Ind tools. The wheels are light and uses wheelbarrow type bearings. I found the wheels to be sturdy and low rolling friction. thank you."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Tools 16in. Poly Wheel and Tire
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great wheels

,
June 6, 2014
By EJM591
from massachusetts
"The wheels fit my lawn machine as described axle bore true to size.
The wheel height was just right for my mower and the light weight keeps the machine easy to push.
Great buy
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Tools 16in. Poly Wheel and Tire
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

A Bit Wobbly

,
April 24, 2014
By Mephistopheles
from upstate new york
"I used these for a garden cart. They are good looking and smooth riding and quiet and serve the purpose nicely. My only criticism is that they are a bit wobbly."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Tools 16in. Poly Wheel and Tire
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Child's Bike Trailer

,
April 1, 2013
By acme66
from Plains, MT
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I have pounded on these for 100's of miles now and they have held up fine. Before I started to use them I cleaned and repacked the bearings using heat and pressure. The grease inside is skimpy, more so for what I was doing with them on a child's off-road bike trailer. Search "Off-Road Bike Trailer for Children" on youtube for the suspension build.
I found the wheels to be sloppy on 1/2 threaded rod, not that that is a critique of the wheel, just fyi. I struggle to set the bearing pre-load using jam nuts. Once set however they seem to stay adjusted for many miles."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Tools 16in. Poly Wheel and Tire
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

used several times with complete satisfaction

,
February 21, 2013
By 2088bob
from ontario canada
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"i got into building bicycle trailers and have used these wheels on 3 trailers builds with excellents results"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Tools 16in. Poly Wheel and Tire
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Useable but not fantastic

,
April 3, 2011
By RichZ
from Tacoma, WA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"These seem to be holding up well so far but I was not impressed when one of the bearings fell out while unpacking. They are just a slip fit so they must be held in place firmly or they will fall out and the bearings are really cheap. also the 1/2" axle size is borderline for the weight rating. If you are going to do heavy loads regularly I would go for a heaver duty metal wheel."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Tools 16in. Poly Wheel and Tire
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The 16" Poly wheel/tire

,
March 16, 2011
By Shelties
from Southern California
"My custom dog cart business relies on this wheel. I use it more than the 12 1/2" wheel. The wheel is tough, reliable, and so evenly standardized that I know the axles I use will work without alteration. The price is right.
My biggest complaint: I wish the hub was available in BLACK, not the
grey. I've asked and asked for black. I understand these wheels/tires are
purchased in bulk but could you PLEASE get black?
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Tools 16in. Poly Wheel and Tire
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

16 Inch Wheels with Tires

,
November 16, 2010
By NYBill
from Buffalo, NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Using wheels on bicycle trailer I built to carry camping equipment while bicycle touring. Not quite finished but have taken the trailer out for several tests and hardly know it's behind the bike, even when loaded with equipment. The wheels run smoothly and quietly, couldn't ask for more. Cannot think of any cons."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Tools 16in. Poly Wheel and Tire
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Wheels

,
September 13, 2010
By chrisinnc
from Raleigh, NC
"I purchased a pair to use on a canoe cart I was building. They are very high quality, light and durable. The tires are also quite good and have a straight, unpronounced tread. My loaded solo canoe weighs in around 100lbs and is easily carried on these wheels. I am so happy with them that I purchased a second pair to use on a bicycle trailer for my wife."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Tools 16in. Poly Wheel and Tire
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great wheel

,
March 7, 2010
By PedalPower
"This is a great wheel, even though the price has jumped several dollars in the last year or two. I would give this product 5 stars, but the stock bearings are pretty junky."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Tools 16in. Poly Wheel and Tire
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good value for their intended purpose

,
February 15, 2010
By EcoCycle
from Toronto, Ontario, Canada
"I used these wheels on a prototype lean steering recumbent tricycle. I selected them based on cost and they were the correct size. I managed to destroy to wheels rather quickly. The hubs sheared completely from the spokes. Now please understand this should not prevent you from using them. The failures occured with a 300lb mass(driver and vehicle) doing a 180 degree turn within a 4 ft radius at speed. The cold whether helped the second wheel fail a little quicker. For a low speed cart or something more conventional, I am sure they will be just fine, and do have a quality kenda tire to boot. The bearings are a little sloppy though, even when torqued onto a shaft with a compression sleever between the bearings."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Tools 16in. Poly Wheel and Tire
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wheels

,
November 2, 2009
By fernancano
from Deltona,Florida
"execellent replacement wheels,reasonable price,quality,easy mounting"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Tools 16in. Poly Wheel and Tire
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

,
May 14, 2009
By Deadlegs
from San Diego, CA
"Using these wheels on a gun/ammo cart for Cowboy Action shooting. They roll freely and the pneumatic tires are much better on rough terrain, curbs, etc. than similar wheels with solid tires. Excellent product at a fair price, though I wish they came in white, brown or black.."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Tools 16in. Poly Wheel and Tire
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect wheel

,
March 16, 2009
By Bob1340
from Bakersfield CA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I recently rebuilt a 50 year old Art Linkletter Gym Dandy Surrey. I belonged to my wife back in the late 50's and was wrecked in about 1960. Of course the original wheels were no longer available. The originals were solid rubber anyway and the pneumatic tires are the way to go. This wheel was a perfect candidate to replace the oldies. I had to adapt a sprocket to the left rear wheel which was no big deal. The bearings were the perfect size."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Tools 16in. Poly Wheel and Tire
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tire and Wheel Combo

,
November 19, 2008
By Capthook
from Kansas City, MO
"Arrived on date promised and product is very good quality. Good price and I got what I paid for. I will use you again and recommend others to use you too."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Tools 16in. Poly Wheel and Tire
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a wheel!

,
November 17, 2008
By Redhead
from Janesville,CA
"This wheel and tire was just what I needed to replace the tire on my utility cart.The old tire was a solid tire and this one is a pneumatic tire which is superior in quality. I am very happy with this product.Outstanding quality and value. I have always been satisfied with the productsand service received from Northern."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Northern Industrial Tools 16in. Poly Wheel and Tire
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pneumatic Wheels

,
April 14, 2008
By DDEVOLL
from Riverside, CA
"Packaging was good and merchandise was well protected. It was received in excellent condition. The merchandise was shipped as stated and was received in time specified."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Northern Industrial Tools 16in. Poly Wheel and Tire
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

cart tires

,
October 8, 2007
By Davie1
from California
"These tires are well made and a DEAL for the price.I was able to repair a cart for my wife at a fraction of the cost of a new one."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Northern Industrial Tools 16in. Poly Wheel and Tire
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Bargin

,
July 9, 2007
By pistolshooter
from Dartmouth, Ma
"I purchased these wheels not knowing exactly what I was getting,(you know!!! No touchy, feelly before you buy) But they were just how they were discribed and a great bargin on sale too!! Very quick shipping also!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Northern Industrial Tools 16in. Poly Wheel and Tire
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

16in Poly wheels

,
July 9, 2007
By SBDPT01
from Michigan
"I have been build homemade soap box derby car's for my sons over the past 6 year for a local race in Michigan. We seen all types of wheels used for this event from 8" to 26" wheels. This year we'll be using the 16" poly tires for my son's car. The tires are very robust and can handle about 45PSI for any PSI adjustments in the race. Also we'll to modifing the bearing to improve the down hill speed of the Soap box derby car. This year car is a copy is the Durmax Bonniville raced that Hit 324 MPH, expect JR will only to doing about 30 - 35MPH down hill. Race date is 8/8/07 will final body/testing schedule this week. (Great wheel for the price) Hope for a trophy this year!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.