Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Benchtop Mini Drill Press - 5-Speed, 1/3 HP

Northern Industrial Tools Benchtop Mini Drill Press - 5-Speed, 1/3 HP

Item# 155300
Mini drill press lets you drill with accuracy. Chuck Size in. 1/2, Dimensions L x W x H in. 7 x 16 15/16 x 22 1/2, Drilling Capacity in. 1/2, Speeds qty. 5, Volts 120, HP 1/3, Speed RPM 620-3100, Worktable L x W in. 6 5/8 x 6 9/16, Vertical Stroke 2 in., Swing 8 in. Threaded depth lock Screwdriver handle 11 5/8in. x 7 1/3in. base
Average Customer Rating:
4.412 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (34 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
32 of 34(94%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Benchtop Mini Drill Press - 5-Speed, 1/3 HP
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Tools Benchtop Mini Drill Press - 5-Speed, 1/3 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding

,
June 19, 2014
By dwbait
from Ft. Myers, Fl.
"When I saw this drill press on sale I couldn't believe it. It was exactly what I have been looking for and the price was great. It does everything I ask of it on wood and metal."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Tools Benchtop Mini Drill Press - 5-Speed, 1/3 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product for the price

,
June 18, 2014
By samtheman1
from augres, MI
"The drill press received as expected, assembled easily per the directions, and operates as expected. A very good value."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Tools Benchtop Mini Drill Press - 5-Speed, 1/3 HP
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Benchtop Mini Drill Press

,
February 4, 2014
By RDco
from Denver, Co
"Product works well for the price. If you are expecting this to do heavy metal work this is not for you. The motor is to small and bearings to small to keep the bit from binding. For wood or light metal work it works great."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Tools Benchtop Mini Drill Press - 5-Speed, 1/3 HP
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great little drill press

,
February 4, 2014
By KeithStone
from Hillsdale, KS
"For the money, you can't go wrong. I've drilled through some thick steel with this unit and never had a problem. I use quality drill bits and keep them sharp, makes a big difference. Easy to assemble, takes up very little room on the workbence."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Tools Benchtop Mini Drill Press - 5-Speed, 1/3 HP
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Versatile & Economical Shop Drill

,
February 4, 2014
By BentMtnPathfinder
from Bent Mountain, VA
"The Northern Industrial Tools Benchtop Mini Drill Press was purchased out of necessity to perform some hobby applications. However, its ease of adjustment has led to new uses. I found it perfect for use with Forstner bits on wood projects and for accurate drill holes in home maintenance and improvement projects. I wish the instructions were more explicit, such as how to set the proper belt tension. Otherwise, I can't wait to start a new project with my drill press which has given me more options on how to do them with greater style and accuracy. The photo shows a birdhouse with holes cut out with Forstner bits used in the drill press."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Tools Benchtop Mini Drill Press - 5-Speed, 1/3 HP
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Better than expected

,
February 4, 2014
By rembetis
from Richmond,VA
"As a hobbyist woodworker, I had been coveting a drill press for years, but never bought one due to lack of sufficient justification for spending the money. After a year of use, I couldn't be happier. Sure, it's a little rough around the edges, doesn't have the most powerful motor known to man, and has a bit of slop, but for your average hobbyist, this thing is more than sufficient and is made like a tank."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Tools Benchtop Mini Drill Press - 5-Speed, 1/3 HP
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great drill press!

,
October 25, 2013
By Daddypop
from N Las Vegas, NV.
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I use the drill press for drilling knife steel. It works great. I had one small issue with a crack in a plastic housing on the back of the motor but NT customer service quickly resolved the issue. Buy this drill press, compact but well worth the money. Excellent customer service to back it up. I will be buying more from NT."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Tools Benchtop Mini Drill Press - 5-Speed, 1/3 HP
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

easy to use

,
April 23, 2013
By skeeter1tobe
from Madill. Ok
"I used this drill press to ensure straight holes for dowels on my fireplace mantle to attach to the wall. It was easy and accurate for this job. (Of course this product would not work on the wall). I anticipate using it in my shop on other projects around the house. It is small but powerful enough for handyman use and doesn't take up much space counter space."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Tools Benchtop Mini Drill Press - 5-Speed, 1/3 HP
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Well made drill Press for medium/ light duty work

,
October 8, 2012
By inSound
from Washington DC
"We were impressed by the quality of this drill press for its price class. The chuck accommodates fine bits (e.g., #61) and makes precision holes with no wobble. It lacks a lock for controlling depth otherwise it would have rated 5 stars."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+13points
17out of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Tools Benchtop Mini Drill Press - 5-Speed, 1/3 HP
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Save your money

,
August 28, 2012
By woodorker
from Bassett, VA
"I bought this yesterday after driving over an hour to get it. Today tried it th first time: won't even drill 1/2" poplar without stalling. I could turn it backwards with my hand while it tried to drill. Handicapped on tight income, so had to get a cheaper one....my cordless drill is stronger."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
11out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Tools Benchtop Mini Drill Press - 5-Speed, 1/3 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Mini Drill Press

,
March 1, 2012
By Willie22
from New Jersey
"Just received my mini-drill press this week and am very satisfied with the construction and quality for the price. It took me all of 20 minutes to assemble it and works great for small projects. I have a full size 2HP Drill press which works great but not for small projects. I would recommend this drill press for light and easy drilling projects. No negative problems as of this writing."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Tools Benchtop Mini Drill Press - 5-Speed, 1/3 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great addition to my workbench

,
January 16, 2012
By DarrelC
from Moses Lake, WA
"This is a great drill press for light jobs and it fits very well on the corner of my work bench. The only thing I don't like is that you have put it on sale since I bought it a few months ago."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
6out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Tools Benchtop Mini Drill Press - 5-Speed, 1/3 HP
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Very Good

,
January 16, 2012
By rodger10000
from West Palm Beach Florida
"It does an excellent job. Only issue is sometimes belt slips when bit binds a bit. Wish it had a reverse but all in all great!!! Have used unit for many variable taslks and has performed well in all. table allows movement and clamping of objects for drilling very usefull."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Tools Benchtop Mini Drill Press - 5-Speed, 1/3 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drill press

,
October 17, 2011
By GSCGTO
from Atlanta, GA.
"I have one of these small drill presses mounted on my workbench.
I use it more than any of my hand held drills, very handy to have.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Tools Benchtop Mini Drill Press - 5-Speed, 1/3 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mini drill press

,
June 13, 2011
By DennisS
"The press exceeded all my expectations for the price point. It was very easy to assemble and use. It was just the right size for my hobby work."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Tools Benchtop Mini Drill Press - 5-Speed, 1/3 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A good tool for the small shop

,
March 14, 2011
By DreamMender
"Just the right size for my small to medium projects. Easily portable so I can store it out of the way when I dont need it."
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Northern Industrial Tools Benchtop Mini Drill Press - 5-Speed, 1/3 HP
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Cheap

,
March 14, 2011
By RWCinNM
from Albq NM
"Guess you get what you pay for. I wanted to drill some steal pipe but its not up to the task. On wood I guess it did a good job. Only has a 2in stroke so if you are going to drill a 4x4 you'll have to turn it over.
Fits on the bench easily and is a lot lighter than I thought. That can also be a bad thing.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
16out of 27found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Northern Industrial Tools Benchtop Mini Drill Press - 5-Speed, 1/3 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent

,
March 14, 2011
By Forgeblast
"Set up is very easy. Love the size too, I got it to mount on a work bench but i can turn the drill and hang it over the side to drill larger pieces. I was very impressed with its power."
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Northern Industrial Tools Benchtop Mini Drill Press - 5-Speed, 1/3 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Home Workshop Delight

,
March 13, 2011
By ShawkNe
from Tucson, AZ
"Recieved this little gem a couple of days ago _ set up was simple and quick,, a couple of quick adjustments and it was ready to go.. Had a couple of simple drilling tasks that needed to be done,, one involing small fostner bits_ which presented a slight problem _ the tightning screw (bolt) for the table is a little hard to tighten and the downward pressure on the fostner bits was pushing down the table _ NO problem _ had a 1/2 x 6 inch pipe to use as a handle _ problem solved... I also added a small 83/4 x 11 table to clamp a fence and stops...
This is a no frills drill press,, which i call my Fred Flintstone Drill Press _ minus the Hampster running on the wheel _ all kidding aside _ this is a great little Drill Press _ perfect for a small shop..
Order yours soon _ you won't be dissapointed......
"
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Northern Industrial Tools Benchtop Mini Drill Press - 5-Speed, 1/3 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Why did I wait so long?????????

,
January 16, 2011
By Stlshrk
from VA
"Why in the world did I wait this long to buy this unit? Mark it, clamp it down, drill it and you're done. More than happy!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.