Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Variable-Speed Floor Mount Drill Press with Digital Display - 1 1/2 HP

Northern Industrial Tools Variable-Speed Floor Mount Drill Press with Digital Display - 1 1/2 HP

Item# 155306
Variable speed puts you in control. Wide base gives you the stability you need. HP 1 1/2, Volts 120, Worktable L x W in. 18 11/16 x 16 3/4, Dimensions L x W x H in. 19 11/16 x 32 x 67 1/2, Speeds qty. Variable, Swing 20in., Vertical Stroke 4 3/4in., Drilling Capacity in. 1 1/4, Chuck Size in. 3/4, Speed RPM 280-2,100. Rack and Pinion table height adjust Digital display Spindle taper MT-3 Screwdriver handle 23 5/8in. x 15 3/4in. base
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (8 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 of 8(88%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Variable-Speed Floor Mount Drill Press with Digital Display - 1 1/2 HP
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Tools Variable-Speed Floor Mount Drill Press with Digital Display - 1 1/2 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

perfect production product

,
May 14, 2012
By buckie0123
from Anaheim, CA
"I bought this drill press for our production dept. and is used more than higher end name brands in the shop. Employees love the large table and ergo handles...product is easy to set up and a great value for the $$$$"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-9points
6out of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Tools Variable-Speed Floor Mount Drill Press with Digital Display - 1 1/2 HP
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

I like it

,
January 18, 2012
By Dave1949
from Wendell, NC
"I got mine in 2011. I like it and I am happy with it. Works good. Its heavy and powerful. I am glad I got it. It's not a high precision tool, but I don't need that. Spindle runout is about .002", chuck run out is about about .010" and drill bit run out can be greater than .010"- conclusion its not a great chuck or I assembled it wrong. Regarding the speed, mine originally would not go slower than 340 rpm. I told the man at the store and he happily got me a new head (I still look funny though!). Wow what a difference, runs at 280 rpm now and it is much quieter. I surmise that the center pulley spindle is defective on some of these and it results in increased speed and noise and it chewed up the belt to just as someone else noted. If yours runs too fast ask for a new head under warranty."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Tools Variable-Speed Floor Mount Drill Press with Digital Display - 1 1/2 HP
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Home Shop Drill

,
January 16, 2012
By OLY223
from Hortonville, WI
"My and I have worked the unit hard making projects for the Holidays and we both liked it. I did have to get another arbor and chuck as the one supplied was too large for some work, but with a MT 3 it is very easy to do. I have plans for projects this summer and I am happy I have the press."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Tools Variable-Speed Floor Mount Drill Press with Digital Display - 1 1/2 HP
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great drill press, high belt wear

,
June 25, 2011
By pgaert
from Elgin, TX
"I've owned this drill press for about 3 months, and use it daily in a small production shop. Functionally, it's quite excellent. I wish it would adjust to a lower speed (mine bottoms at 380 RPM), and have a more prominent on/off switch. It's loud, but so is every other tool in the shop. Otherwise, a great drill press for three months.
I started noting slippage during more stressful drilling, and shortly thereafter the initial drive belt failed. It's still intact, but has worn enough to fray out the reinforcing cords and experiences extensive slipping and does pop off. I've just completed an order for replacements. There are none in stock. The next shipment, arriving in the coming week, was already sold out. The next available set will be sometime in August, 2 months away. That is completely unacceptable, and reveals a serious issue with this drill press. I'll have to look for alternate belts, or buy another drill press.
I could not in good conscious recommend this press to anyone for more than light and optional drilling. If you will experience pain when you press is down, buy something without the fancy variable speed pulleys that wear belts like crazy."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Tools Variable-Speed Floor Mount Drill Press with Digital Display - 1 1/2 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Deal

,
June 15, 2011
By sharkarion
from Saint Louis
"This drill press is a powerhouse and has a great deal of features for a small price tag,it has a large chuck,worklight and easy speed changes."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Tools Variable-Speed Floor Mount Drill Press with Digital Display - 1 1/2 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the money

,
March 15, 2011
By Purplehorse5
from Iowa
"Great product! I would highly recommend this product for any home or construction shop Made of heavy, good quality parts. Universal and easy to use. Exactly as presented. Well worth the money."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Tools Variable-Speed Floor Mount Drill Press with Digital Display - 1 1/2 HP
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Drill Press for the money!!

,
February 16, 2010
By CaseIH
"You won't find a better drill press for the money, 20" 1 1/2 hp.
Great digital readout.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Tools Variable-Speed Floor Mount Drill Press with Digital Display - 1 1/2 HP
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Solid drill press

,
July 20, 2009
By TheBob
from Missouri
"I purchased this drill press for my small business use. It has been everything that I expected. Solidly built. Minimal play in the moving parts. Easier to adjust speed than my old Delta."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.