Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "ALC Pressure Abrasive Blaster - 90-Lb. Capacity, Model# 40002"

"ALC Pressure Abrasive Blaster - 90-Lb. Capacity, Model# 40002"

Item# 15538
"This ALC Pressure Abrasive Blaster is great for working on jobs like cars, trucks, machinery, steel, brick, glass etching and much more From household to farm to commercial, this blaster can tackle it all. Durable wheels and built-in handle allows for easy maneuverability even when blaster is full. The long hose will allow you move freely without having the blaster right next to you. Blaster has pressure relief valve for safety. Includes soft hood. Blasting media sold separately. Add the ALC Soda Blast Retro Fit Kit Item# 5240416, sold separately to convert to a soda blaster. Dimensions L x W x H in. 10 x 10 x 34, Gun Included Yes, Air Consumption at Load CFM 7-80, Moisture Separator No, Nozzle Size in. 3/32, 1/8, Operating PSI 80-125, Body Material Steel, Deadman Safety Valve Yes, Recommended Media Black Beauty, steel grit, glass bead, Hose in. x ft. 1/2 x 8, Media Capacity cu. ft. 95, Tire Size in. 6, Body Finish Powder-coat. Durable 0.9 cu. ft. steel tank holds approx. 90lbs. of abrasives and works with a wide variety of abrasive types including Black Beauty, Steel Grit, Glass Bead, Aluminum Oxide, Plastic Grit and Walnut Shells Includes a steel deadman control handle, giving the operator complete control of the blasting media while instantly turning off the flow of media if the handle is released Includes 1/2in. x 8ft. heavy-duty blast hose allowing you to move freely without having to constantly move the unit Offers a blasting time of approx. 30-45 minutes Operates on standard shop air requires 80-125 operating PSI at 7-15 CFM Welded steel frame with powder-coat finish for durability Pullup closure for loading of abrasive and sealing for operation Built-in pull handle allows for easy transport, even when the blaster is full Rolls easily on two 6in. rubberized wheels Features a large footprint for stability Three replaceable sealing blocks are included for smooth operation Pressure relief valve and pressure relieving ball valve meet OSHA requirements"
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (14 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 of 14(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for "ALC Pressure Abrasive Blaster - 90-Lb. Capacity, Model# 40002"
Review 1 for "ALC Pressure Abrasive Blaster - 90-Lb. Capacity, Model# 40002"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Deadman valve does not function well

,
June 7, 2014
By WK001
from Roanoke, Virginia
" Overall this sandblaster is good quality so far as tank, valves, hoses. The one problem I did experience is the rubber block on the deadman would not contact the end of the nozzle to restrict air flow. Replacement nozzle is of same length so it's not the nozzle. I drilled out the frame of the deadman handle to relocate the 'hinge bolt' further back to allow the rubber block to contact the nozzle end. With contact the seal is still minimal, as if there is not enough spring pressure in the handle to effectively shut off air flow (without closing a block valve). I am disappointed with the poor design of the deadman valve. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "ALC Pressure Abrasive Blaster - 90-Lb. Capacity, Model# 40002"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gnarly little blaster

,
June 6, 2014
By ranbn8
from Missouri
" I've had siphon blasters in the past and they do not hold a candle to this pressure blaster. The blaster works as well as the one in the video and is well worth the price. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "ALC Pressure Abrasive Blaster - 90-Lb. Capacity, Model# 40002"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ALC 90 lb. abrasive blaster #40002

,
June 4, 2014
By whitetailmario
from Paso Robles, CA
" I bought this unit in order to prep several items for paint. Knowing better than to buy the cheapest unit I could find and after doing a lot of research I settled on this one. I feel that the price is good for the quality of product. The footprint is small so it stores easy and being on wheels moves to were you need it. Currently I am running it off a Northern Tool 30 gallon 24 cfm gasoline engine compressor and it works great. The only thing that I would like to see a little different is the blasting hose to be a couple feet longer but that is not a big deal as I will just get a longer one when it wares out. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "ALC Pressure Abrasive Blaster - 90-Lb. Capacity, Model# 40002"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great sand blaster

,
February 4, 2014
By 1949deere
from Boone, NC
" I got this sand blaster from Northern about 20 years ago. The model has not changed at all. I use 500-1000 lbs of sand per year in it and have never had a problem with it. You need a 5 to 7.5 hp 2 stage compresor to run it, and clean dry sand. If it broke today I would buy another one just like it. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "ALC Pressure Abrasive Blaster - 90-Lb. Capacity, Model# 40002"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

you get what you pay for

,
August 21, 2013
By Iamtheforkliftguy
from Hayden, Al
" originally I bought a cheaper media blaster even though I knew better. The price was so cheap that I could not talk myself out of buying it. If you've watched the video, it works just as well for me. Sift your media and use a dryer. I have a sharpe dryer on my compressor, but that wasn't enough. I connected another dryer inline that I use as a safety dryer when I am painting and that corrected the problem. Don't make the same mistake I did. Spend a little more money and get a blaster that is made in the USA and works like it is supposed to. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "ALC Pressure Abrasive Blaster - 90-Lb. Capacity, Model# 40002"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

sandblaster works well

,
June 13, 2011
By Skyview
from Richland County WI
" I am very happy with the power of this unit when connected to a large enough air supply. I hooked up two small compressors to get enough CFM. A large one is on my wish list. You need to adjust the flow of material to not overwhelm the air supply, but then it really blasts. My set up requires letting the air catch up but that's not a bad thing anyway. I bought the water separator and am glad I did. Humid air makes wet, clogging sand. I use silica sand that costs $4 per hundred lb bag at local lumber yards. Other abrasives are available, but then recycling them becomes important. Sand is great for outdoors work where recycling would be difficult.
The hood works but will need a regular replacement of the plexiglass window. A dust mask , leather gloves, and long sleeves are required! The material hose is fairly short, but a longer one is expensive, so moving the pot close to the work is required. I am glad I didn't buy a smaller rig.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
8out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "ALC Pressure Abrasive Blaster - 90-Lb. Capacity, Model# 40002"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a champ!

,
March 12, 2011
By E200
from Dallas, TX
" This is my first sandblaster, and I did TONS of research. This is the cheapest blaster that comes with the large nozzle tip. A MUST if your going to even blast 4 rims for a vehicle. I have done 10hrs of blasting and have yet to wear out the tip. Also I can not see an signs of the hose wearing out. Remember to use Teflon tape on EVERYTHING! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "ALC Pressure Abrasive Blaster - 90-Lb. Capacity, Model# 40002"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Serves Its Purpose Well

,
August 30, 2010
By Puregore
from Williston, VT
" This thing has mostly good capacity for small jobs. Its smaller size means the pressure builds up quick. My 80 gallon/5hp (running hp, not peak) compressor has no trouble keeping up with it for extended periods of time. I've owned it for 3 years now, and it hasn't started rusting anywhere. All the fittings are still solid and nothing has ever needed maintenance.
If you get it pre-assembled, make sure and tighten the fittings everywhere before first use. If you have to assemble it yourself, don't forget to use Teflon tape everywhere. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "ALC Pressure Abrasive Blaster - 90-Lb. Capacity, Model# 40002"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT LITTLE BLASTER

,
May 31, 2010
By outbackwoodsman
from John Day, Oregon
" This blaster for it's size works great on small and large jobs. It is easy to move around and very easy to use. The tips last longer than my old blaster tips by more than 10 to 15 hours. I use garnet, which is hard to get in the small town near home so I recycle as much as possible and the blaster handles it with no problem. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "ALC Pressure Abrasive Blaster - 90-Lb. Capacity, Model# 40002"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

No Problems

,
November 2, 2009
By Pecosbill7
from San Antonio, Texas
" I bought this blaster for use in my car restoration hobby. I had taken a 1964 Pontiac down to the bare frame and wanted to media blast the frame and other parts. I have used nothing but glass bead in the blaster and it has performed flawlessly. I did take the advice of others and added an air/moisture separator. It has never clogged and makes the restoration cleaning of parts a snap. I would not hesitate to recommend this unit for glass bead blasting. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "ALC Pressure Abrasive Blaster - 90-Lb. Capacity, Model# 40002"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Blaster

,
October 19, 2009
By bigguns66
from Idaho
" I have used this blaster for 6 years. It has finally started to show some wear. The sand actually wore though the blast hose in one spot. It has been an excellent investment and saved me considerable time cleaning old parts up. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "ALC Pressure Abrasive Blaster - 90-Lb. Capacity, Model# 40002"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Sand Blaster

,
November 18, 2008
By Wojo
from Rices Landing,Pa
" This sand blaster worked fine after I unclogged it 4 times, When working it operated ok, I finished blasting my snow plow. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "ALC Pressure Abrasive Blaster - 90-Lb. Capacity, Model# 40002"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

blaster

,
October 30, 2007
By iron
from Lanett, Al.
" Looks like one I've used before. Heavy duty but easily mobile and sturdy. Assuming it will remove paint from carport.
Rating-4 stars
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-6points
0out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "ALC Pressure Abrasive Blaster - 90-Lb. Capacity, Model# 40002"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ALC Blaster...

,
March 9, 2007
By Derm
from Pagosa Springs, CO
" Excellent bang for the buck. Quick and efficient blaster. Definately requires 1) water / air separator (even if you have one at the wall), 2) filtered media. Works best using surprisingly little media; ie: lever on bottom barely cracked open. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.