Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Black Diamond Blasting Abrasive

Black Diamond Blasting Abrasive

Item# 155472
Works with all blasting equipment to remove paint and rust or to clean brick and stone. 30-60 fine grit. Safe and cleaner to use. Offers an 80 recoop of material that does not absorb water. U.S.A. Grade Fine, Weight lbs. 50, Grit 30-60, Material Type Black diamond.
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (11 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
10 of 11(91%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for Black Diamond Blasting Abrasive
Review 1 for Black Diamond Blasting Abrasive
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Blasting 55

,
February 4, 2014
By Bobbie55
from Wichita, Ks
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Used this to Blast my 55 Chevy 3100. Can be reused and takes off the rust and paint well. Put a tarp over the cab to blast it, worked pretty well. Better than paying some to do it for me."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Black Diamond Blasting Abrasive
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Safe Way to Blast

,
April 23, 2013
By chattguy
from Chattanooga, TN
"I use this in recycling blasting operations; a blasting cabinet plus a vacuum powered blaster. This media lasts for a long time. Black Diamond Media is low in free silicon, which is what can hurt you. Spend the little extra money for this media for your own safety. Beach and play sand are NOT safe alternatives."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Black Diamond Blasting Abrasive
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Abrasive clogs very easily

,
October 9, 2012
By basscat348
from sherman,texas
"The material seemed very nice , I still screened it just to make sure and nothing was found.I bought 6 bags and have 4 left laying there,I cannot seem to get it thru my 100lb blaster without clogging.I have used screened sand and it flows thru nicely."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Black Diamond Blasting Abrasive
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Black Diamond Abrasive

,
August 13, 2012
By Tin30350
from Texas
"Purchased 8 bags of 30/60 grit abrasive media and it works very good. Media was clean and dry."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Black Diamond Blasting Abrasive
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Inexpensive Blast Media

,
May 9, 2012
By Gimflag
from Flagstaff, AZ
"This is a good, inexpensive blast media. It does a good job of removing old paint and rust. It will pit softer metals, but I find that when I repaint, the pits do not show. Use a breathing mask."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Black Diamond Blasting Abrasive
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Media blasting

,
May 8, 2012
By bigbird56
from Minneapolis, MN
"I use this product in a cabinet with great results on cast iron. Paint, rust, gunk dissapear. Be certain you are using a vacuum to keep the cabinet clear so you can see what you are doing."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Black Diamond Blasting Abrasive
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sand blast media

,
November 23, 2010
By CaptainAJ
from MN
"I use it mainly for rust removal on equipment that needs to be repainted. It works fast, does a great job. The price for this media is the best around. I screen it to re-use in my sand blaster."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Black Diamond Blasting Abrasive
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gets the job done

,
November 16, 2010
By Warr
from Nashville, TN
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I am doing a complete off frame restore and used Black Diamond with a pressure blaster to blast my car. Worked great. Would not reuse more than twice, but is cheap enough not to reuse at all. Remember to use not only some type of eye protection, canvas hoods work great, but a breather too. This stuff is not good to inhale."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Black Diamond Blasting Abrasive
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

this is the stuff

,
October 8, 2010
By Michaeloflw
"I have a large project and little experience so I tried glass beads (far far far too expensive.) Beads worked well until it compacted in the bottom of my blaster. Amberblast plugged it up immediately because the particals are too big and inconsistent. Black Diamond worked as advertisted and it did it consistently. so this is the stuff."
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Black Diamond Blasting Abrasive
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Black Diamond blast media

,
October 10, 2007
By BigE
from Seattle
"Good clean blast media. Useful for really tough rust, paint, and surface removal."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Black Diamond Blasting Abrasive
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

abrasive material

,
December 7, 2006
By Preacherjohn
from Thomasville, NC
"Yes, I just finished using 5 bags of the material to blast (several parts of) my 1956 chevy body and IT DID GREAT. I would highly recommend this material for anyone who is doing a small or large job of blasting the paint and light rust off most any type material.
I am waiting for it to go on sale and will purchase several more bags to help finish the body.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.