Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "Northern Industrial Spark Plug Cleaner - 4.2 CFM, 90 PSI"

"Northern Industrial Spark Plug Cleaner - 4.2 CFM, 90 PSI"

Item# 155522
"Cleans any size spark plug like new Compressed air flows through special venturi and mixes with silica-free abrasive sold separately. Uses ordinary line pressure. Lever valve for blasting with abrasive/air mix or pure air only. Application Spark plug cleaner, Pressure PSI 90. Working PSI 90 Maximum PSI 120 CFM 4.2"
Average Customer Rating:
4.286 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (21 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
20 of 21(95%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for "Northern Industrial Spark Plug Cleaner - 4.2 CFM, 90 PSI"
Review 1 for "Northern Industrial Spark Plug Cleaner - 4.2 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value

,
October 22, 2013
By nvross
from Washoe Valley, NV.
"More than expected, well built, and easy to set up. Does a great job with out the mess."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Northern Industrial Spark Plug Cleaner - 4.2 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tool

,
January 16, 2012
By Sharpshooter
from Eastpointe, Michigan
"If you have a need to keep many spark plugs clean and sparkly, then this is the tool you need. Works fantastic and quickly in refurbishing spark plugs back to new condition. Caution: Always spray plug electrode area with air nozzle to make sure that all grit is removed before reinstalling spark plug. Well worth the money."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Northern Industrial Spark Plug Cleaner - 4.2 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Spark plug cleaner

,
March 14, 2011
By DaveM
from Wichita, Ks
"Great product for the home equipment maintenance shop. Great for mower, tiller, motorcycle, etc. spark plug cleaning. I am glad I bought it, and hope it will serve my needs well into the future."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Northern Industrial Spark Plug Cleaner - 4.2 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Spark plug Cleaner

,
November 17, 2010
By dak2
from Petttibone, ND
"This is an excellant product. I have an older IH tractor that fouls plugs in a short number of hours. I can clean a set of plugs several times to almost new condition. This product will pay for itself in a short period of time."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Northern Industrial Spark Plug Cleaner - 4.2 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Handy to have

,
November 17, 2010
By Bull49
from Conover, NC
"I purchased tis product because of an engine with a cylinder that repeatedly fouls out the plug (bad valve guide seal/oil ring). The reason for the 3 star rating is the fact it is extremely hard to get under the electrode curve because of the straight on blasting angle. Seems ti would do better if it was angled towards the side and rotate the plug to get it. All in all it is a handy and good product for the money. It has saved me the price of quite a few plugs. Better instructions would be nice, but it doesn't take a rocket scientist to figure out."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Northern Industrial Spark Plug Cleaner - 4.2 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good little plug cleaner

,
November 16, 2010
By lakecity
from CO
"This is a good little plug cleaner at a reasonable price. Simple and fairly easy to use. Could use some instructions, but not hard to figure out. Air valve leaks some, so can't leave hooked up constantly or you drain your compressor."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Northern Industrial Spark Plug Cleaner - 4.2 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A "must have" item

,
February 15, 2010
By 1953Roadmaster
"If you spend a lot of time working on old cars and motorcycles, this handy item is definately a "must have". Compact and well made, it mounts easily on the wall or bench. An excellent value, it compares with units offered by big name tool dealers at more than twice the price."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Northern Industrial Spark Plug Cleaner - 4.2 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not a bad spark plug cleaner

,
March 23, 2009
By midbass
from Northern Ohio
"The Norther Industrial Spark Plug Cleaner is not a bad little plug cleaner. I have used other spark plug cleaners that cost quite a bit more money and this performed just as well. The unit does not come with instructions but it is not hard to figure out how to use it, even with the coarse sand. I had a fouled plug on a tractor and used this unit to clean it and before long the tractor was hitting on all cylinders again."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Northern Industrial Spark Plug Cleaner - 4.2 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Something missing

,
March 20, 2009
By deshkaman
from Anchorage, Alaska
"The Northern Industrial Spark Plug Cleaner — 4.2 CFM, 90 PSI seemed to work as expected. I can't stress enough though that " THE TOOL NEEDS SOME BASIC INSTRUCTIONS". I am fairly handy with things and I did figure it out. I am cleaning plugs that go into sno machines "thats what we call them up here" and I have concerns about the different medians and their possible effects on my cylinder walls. The median seemed to pack in around the center area of plug and I had to pick, dig, scrape, etc it all out. No info provided with the median. Also your web site did not mention that the tool comes with median. I ended up purchasing some seperately from another on line service."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Northern Industrial Spark Plug Cleaner - 4.2 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Terrific Tool

,
November 17, 2008
By DeBord
from Los Angeles, CA
"Great tool. Also recommend the Northern Industrial abrasive media as a companion to the spark plug cleaner. No more fouled plugs!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Northern Industrial Spark Plug Cleaner - 4.2 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

wow

,
February 28, 2008
By nannu
from New York, NY
"hi
itz too good i will recomend this thing to my all friends
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Northern Industrial Spark Plug Cleaner - 4.2 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Spark Plug Cleaner

,
January 14, 2008
By jf10yd
from Sioux Falls, SD
"I have only used the cleaner once and it really works. I collect and restore pre war fords and they usually have dirlty plugs are a few trps so the cleaner is very helpful."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Northern Industrial Spark Plug Cleaner - 4.2 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

,
July 20, 2007
By mrchevy
"I purchased the spark plug cleaner and have used it several times to recondition spark plugs that are special order items. After seeing and using them, after cleaning, I mentioned it to a freind of mine, and now he uses my spark plug cleaner more than I do."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Northern Industrial Spark Plug Cleaner - 4.2 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Excellent cleaner for practically no money

,
July 20, 2007
By farmerwannabee
from Rural Pennsylvania
"My old 2 cylinder John Deere engines don't start very well if the plugs aren't in pretty good shape. Since this product was so cheap as to be practically free, I decided to give it a try. I even bought the extra bag of silica free "sand" though I haven't had to add any of it yet.
Most modern engines won't require plug cleaning, but if you, like me, restore or work on antique engines, this is definitely a worthy tool. It is certainly cheaply made, with very rough castings and light duty filter clamp band, but it works easily and performs flawlessly. There are no instructions provided, but the functions are pretty obvious.
I'd rather have a series of plug adaptors to fit various plug sizes instead of the "one size fits all" rubber washer but for this price, it's better than a free lunch and appreciated much more often."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Northern Industrial Spark Plug Cleaner - 4.2 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

,
July 9, 2007
By lray
"The sparkplug cleaner is great. Just one problem it doesn't come with any instructions or abrasive, good thing I ordered a spare lb."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Northern Industrial Spark Plug Cleaner - 4.2 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Spark Plug Cleaner

,
July 9, 2007
By oldriverking
from Gainesville, Florida
"I was surprised when I saw this on your web site. I had used one of these back in the 50's, and I had no idea they were still being made. This one is actually better than the one I used over 50 years ago. In the brief time I've had this, I've saved over twice the price of the plug cleaner."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Northern Industrial Spark Plug Cleaner - 4.2 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Eldeneda1

,
July 9, 2007
By Eldeneda1
from Alamogordo, New Mexico
"So far I am not happy with the machine. It came without instructions, and there seem to be no markings on the unit, so I don't know how much sand to put in it, or where. I called Northern Tool and they sent me instructions, but they were contradictory, one page saying to have the switch down to clean, the other page saying to have the switch up to clean, and as to the sand, saying only to put it in the front compartment but still not how much. Also, the button that controls the air sticks and doesn't shut off very well. Otherwise, when I've been able to get it to work, by luck, it does seem to clean my spark plug."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Northern Industrial Spark Plug Cleaner - 4.2 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loads of Spark Plugs

,
July 9, 2007
By ChampaignCounty
from Urbana, Oh
"I have about 25 different pieces of equipment on our farm and having this cleaner has already saved. In some cases, just buying 4 spark plugs pays for the cleaner. Hook it up to the air hose, put the plug in and a minute later, all carbon and build up has been removed. Check the gap and torque them back in. Couldn't be easier. And fits a wide variety of plugs from string trimmers (small) to tractor plugs (larger) And as always, easy to order and fast shipping from Northern T&E!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Northern Industrial Spark Plug Cleaner - 4.2 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A great money saver!

,
March 12, 2007
By Gary155
from Secaucus, NJ
"After many years of searching, I finally found a product that met my needs. I have many snowmobiles, ATV's, a boat, and garden equipment using spark plugs. As many are 2-cycle, the plugs require maintenance and cleaning. The product works extremely well and has saved me money.
Be sure to regap the plug after use!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Northern Industrial Spark Plug Cleaner - 4.2 CFM, 90 PSI"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Spark Plug Cleaner

,
March 8, 2007
By Offroader
from Las Vegas, NV
"I have a two stroke off-road motorcycle that uses a $16.00 spark plug. Using pre-mix gas tends to foul spark plugs and I sure didn't want to have to replace the plug evey 100 miles or so. I have used my spark plug cleaner four times now and have essentially saved $64.00. I have had no problems cleaning and regaping my fouled plugs and I would certainly recommend this tool for off road use."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.