Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for AMK Manufacturing Pipe Locator

AMK Manufacturing Pipe Locator

Item# 15554
"Locates PVC plastic pipe, iron or steel pipe, electrical cable, ceramic pipe, telephone cables, asbestos cement pipe, conduits, concrete pipe, fiber optics to 10ft. deep. Detects magnetic fields, and aligns itself with pipes, etc., when found. No batteries. U.S.A. Locates PVC plastic, iron or steel pipe, cables, conduits, Battery Included No, Depth ft. 8-10. Detection Depth 8ft. Fiber Optics 10ft."
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (8 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
6 of 8(75%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for AMK Manufacturing Pipe Locator
Review 1 for AMK Manufacturing Pipe Locator
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

locator

,
October 10, 2014
By jesseinpeoria
from il.
"Was easy to use. After using coat hangers for years, this was a pleasant surpise"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for AMK Manufacturing Pipe Locator
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pipe Locator

,
September 12, 2014
By bebe1952
from Texas
"Many years ago I purchased a pipe locator and it has served me very very well...A friend of mine needed to locate a water trough pipe, but could not find it...I loan him mine and he was very impressed...I looked for one and I found it at Northern Tools...the exact one...so I purchased it for a friend...he was delighted. Excellent product...price...and service."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for AMK Manufacturing Pipe Locator
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not for everyone, but for most

,
January 9, 2013
By Johnhump
from Canton, GA
"I have used this piper finder for over 30 years. I have let some friends use it over the years and for some reason approx 20% of them had no luck. I can only think that it must be their Karma. lol I have found everything, even PVC at every attempt and at depths of well over 5 feet. I highly recommend this pipe finder."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for AMK Manufacturing Pipe Locator
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pipe locater, using for years

,
February 19, 2011
By Guywithskills
from Mesa, AZ
"I have been in Construction since the late 70's. I was first introduced to this 30 yrs ago when I watched the city sewer guy come out and use it to locate the city sewer in a small town. He showed me, been using ever since. It will locate PVC- takes a little practice, you start by laying a pipe on top of the ground, I started with PVC. I keep it level and tilt it back to me just a hair. The rod strikes parallel to the pipe, cable etc like there were strings snapping them wire to parallel. It does take practice. I actually have been using coat hangers, any piece of steel, the wire from flag markers, whatever was handy. Doesnt have to be fancy, but I am looking forward to having these. I have always wanted a pair of the handle grip, but never ran across them. I keep a pair of wires on each tractor I have, they dont get stolen :) The trick is to walk over the pipe one way, strike a mark on the ground. Then walk over the other way and strike a mark on the ground, they will literally be a few inches apart. The times I have had trouble was due to so much stuff being in the ground. You can walk forward over the pipe and when a tee comes, one wire will make a 90 degree. No tracer signal tone required, if it hasnt been used in a year, no dead batteries, keeps working if wet, no shorting, no calibrating, little operator error, not likely to be stolen, there is no upgrading, no software, training is simple."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for AMK Manufacturing Pipe Locator
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not for PVC

,
June 1, 2010
By deuce77
from Jennings, LA
"The description says will locate PVC and the directions says it wont locate PVC, the directions were right. So not good for PVC, but it did locate my underground electric line."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for AMK Manufacturing Pipe Locator
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good tool

,
August 31, 2008
By bestlandscaper
from mass
"this pipefinder works good it tells you where the pipe is if you are standing above the pipe it will tell you the way the pipe is going if you bye one read the paper in the box when you get it"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for AMK Manufacturing Pipe Locator
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

locator

,
August 11, 2008
By lsldives
from Florida
"This Locator Works Well Use it to Locate Irrigation Pipes"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for AMK Manufacturing Pipe Locator
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Pipe locator flop

,
March 20, 2007
By Cubone
from Shreveport, LA
"Would not pick up anything for me. I tried countless numbers of times to no avail. Two welding rods with the flux knocked off works great but this item is a flop."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.