Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "ALC Top-Open Benchtop Abrasive Blaster - 30in., Model# 41390"

"ALC Top-Open Benchtop Abrasive Blaster - 30in., Model# 41390"

Item# 155630
"The ALC Top-Open Benchtop Abrasive Blaster boasts durable, thick-walled LDPE plastic construction. Works with glass bead, plastic bead or aluminum oxide blast media. Features a large top door with window. U.S.A. Nozzle Size in. 1/4, Operating PSI 80-110, Recommended Media Glass bead, plastic bead, aluminum oxide, Gun Included Yes, Main Door Dimensions in. 30 x 17, Window Dimensions in. 27 x 20, Gloves Included Yes, Body Material LDPE, Dimensions W x D x H in. 30 x 20 x 20, Foot Control Included No, Air Consumption CFM 7-15, Media Capacity cu. ft. 5.8. Some assembly required"
Average Customer Rating:
4.091 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (11 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 of 11(91%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for "ALC Top-Open Benchtop Abrasive Blaster - 30in., Model# 41390"
Review 1 for "ALC Top-Open Benchtop Abrasive Blaster - 30in., Model# 41390"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

ALC Benchtop Blast Cabinet

,
June 11, 2014
By Burban
from Texas
"I'm using this cabinet with glass bead to clean small sensors for my business. Works great! My (2) complaints would be the pre-drilled holes, I wish they were smaller or even not there. I don't seem to get any bead through the door seal, but it does come out around the air hose and dust collection port. The other complaint is the Plexiglass door/seal/hinge/lock assembly. It works but it could be better and I will upgrade it when the factory option fails... no big deal. For the cost I'm very happy with it and would recommend it to anybody with similar needs."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "ALC Top-Open Benchtop Abrasive Blaster - 30in., Model# 41390"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great cabinet for the price-

,
January 16, 2012
By Frankslab
from New England
"This cabinet is good because it's plastic so it will not chip or rust like a metal one. The grate is pretty sturdy and is much better than the H Freight unit. Cabinet is light and can be moved easily. I recommend the cabinet light but-the template provided is designed for a metal cabinet and is not correct for this one. I needed to measure out the holes myself. The legs are hollow so I had to close them off to prevent media from going in there. If you can deal with these issues, its a really nice item. I do mostly small parts and hobby stuff so the size is perfect."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "ALC Top-Open Benchtop Abrasive Blaster - 30in., Model# 41390"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Incompleat

,
August 2, 2011
By Capronie
from South Florida
"I was impressed with the cabinet but my joy went away when I realised a blast gun was supplied without a nozzle (more money) OR an air supply hose (more money) OR the hardware to transition the cabinet with the hose. The grill is flimsy and won't hold 15 Lbs. without sagging in to the medium. Good cabinet but not enough info as to what is not supplied."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "ALC Top-Open Benchtop Abrasive Blaster - 30in., Model# 41390"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Cabinet but better with Mods

,
June 12, 2011
By JHinATL
from Atlanta
"As others have said, this is a good, compact cabinet. I have had it more than a year and still like it. I would still like a large standing cabinet but cannot justify the price or floorspace
It has been even better with several simple mods
1. As mentioned, get the light kit and use a shop vac
2. Fill the leg voids
3. Attach the suction hose to the cabinet going to the low point
4. I put a quick connect on the outside of the cabinet for my shop air hose
5. I may cut the inside screen in half to aid removal for bigger pieces
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "ALC Top-Open Benchtop Abrasive Blaster - 30in., Model# 41390"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good bench-top cabinet

,
June 1, 2011
By Hannadog
from Jacksonville, FL
"Very good for the small parts I'm blasting with aluminum oxide. Made some minor modifications to improve function. Recommend the light kit and fill the hollow legs to prevent the loss of blasting media. I attached the syphon hose to the bottom of the cabinet which improved the pick up of media. Easy to drain the media for storage. It's very good for my home garage use."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "ALC Top-Open Benchtop Abrasive Blaster - 30in., Model# 41390"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Little Bead Blaster

,
September 13, 2010
By Footless
from Dallas, TX
"I use this bead blaster at least an hour a week and it has given me terrific results. I have saved a couple thousand dollars over the two months I have owned it by doing my own blasting."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "ALC Top-Open Benchtop Abrasive Blaster - 30in., Model# 41390"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good

,
May 24, 2010
By DsignbyTW
from Kansas City, MO
"This is a good product for the money. It would be excellent if the tube that sucks up the abrasive medium was clamped to the bottom inside of the blaster. A clamp that could easily be opened and closed by the operator would be too perfect. However, this ALC Top-Open Benchtop Abrasive Blaster is well worth what we paid for it. It does a good job."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "ALC Top-Open Benchtop Abrasive Blaster - 30in., Model# 41390"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cheap and Cheerful

,
April 22, 2010
By max711
from Rochester, NY
"For the price it's a great little cabinet. I bought it for cleaning up some rusty car parts on a full restoration I'm doing. 95% of all the parts I need to clean fit inside just fine.
The lighting kit is a must and also use it with a shop vac, it will make blasting a lot easier and safer.
The cabinet is molded plastic and is fairly rigid and nice and light and of course won't rust. The upper lip of the opening was a little distorted as I'm sure they all are. I just used a length of 1" angle iron behind the hinge and that straightened things out nicely. If you're prepared to tweak it a bit and have realistic expectations then, for the price, it won't disappoint. I run it off a 60 Gal 11 CFM @ 80psi compressor and it's adequate.
One other tip, fill the hollow legs with Great Stuff expanding foam to stop blasting media from getting stuck down there."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "ALC Top-Open Benchtop Abrasive Blaster - 30in., Model# 41390"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice and compact

,
November 17, 2008
By Tprobe
from Charlotte, NC
"This is a very nice small parts blaster cabinet. Works well and easy to change the media. Recommend the light system for the inside and covering the inside leg openings as the media falls into the legs and is difficult to get out when changing the media. Other than that it works great with all the different medias I have used."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "ALC Top-Open Benchtop Abrasive Blaster - 30in., Model# 41390"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bench-Top Abrasive Blaster

,
April 14, 2008
By Carolinacop
from Western NC
"More than I expected for the price I paid. Plenty of room inside, works great, and is "quality" made. Somewhere in the shipping/handling process, a packet that was inside that contained nozzle, tips, and gloves were lost. An e-mail to Northern as to what I needed to do was all it took to get a replacement package on the way. Really satisfied with product and customer service at Northern Tool was a big help."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "ALC Top-Open Benchtop Abrasive Blaster - 30in., Model# 41390"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good light duty blaster

,
April 7, 2007
By CMD1
from Georgia
"Worked great for a complete chassis rebuild, lens and nozzle had to replaced about every 30 minutes of blasting, so buy enough so you have them. I used it with 80 grit aluminum oxide, and have run it about 12 hours total so far. Great tool for the money. A 5hp or larger compressor is needed to be effective.
You will definatley need the optional light kit, too.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.