Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Mortising Attachment - For Wood Use Only

Northern Industrial Mortising Attachment - For Wood Use Only

Item# 155702
Converts a drill press into an accurate mortising machine for woodworking applications. Lets you chisel accurate, professional-looking square holes easily. Mounting Type Attachment for drill press, Includes Installation hardware, instructions, carrying case. Attachment fits over drill presses with diameters of spindle sliding bush ranges of 52.5mm, 55mm,58mm and 60mm Comes with 4 chisels shank sizes of 1/4in., 3/8in., 1/2in. and 5/8in. Replacement chisels sold separately
Average Customer Rating:
4.071 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (14 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 of 14(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Mortising Attachment - For Wood Use Only
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Mortising Attachment - For Wood Use Only
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mortising chisel set

,
October 31, 2013
By lincar123
from California
"I just received this tool and for the price I feel it was a good investment. But I found that the fit and finish of some parts was lacking I had to tap out all of the set screw holes as they were full of gunk and other debris to the point that the set screws would not work, the chisel holder needed the bore cleaned and deburred ,the chisels need sharpening before they will function properly. So though this tool is worth the price it is not a ready to use as it comes out of the box."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Mortising Attachment - For Wood Use Only
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mortising Attachment Ease

,
April 23, 2013
By Goldwinger
from Katy, Texas
"This is a very sturdy attachment to my drill press. Very easy to make mortise joints with. I can't see drilling all the holes and chiseling them out any longer. I had perfect mortises right from the start. For the price this was a great addition to my work shop."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Mortising Attachment - For Wood Use Only
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

hollow mortise chisel

,
April 24, 2010
By treehugger
from Woodstock, GA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Good price and shipped quick. I did have a problem fitting the plastic spacer on the drill press as described in a previous review even though my drill press fit the specific measurements noted by the manufacturer. This problem was solved by runner 4 layers of duct tape along the inside of the spacer. With the first use, I noticed that the chisel made an ease cut through maple with a 1/4" bit as well as 3/8" but the edges where not entirely squared. Part of the circular drill bit shows up in the profile of the square chisel bit. Knowing this, I still consider this set a good value and great time saver for stop mortise joint but would consider a different machine for through mortise joints. I also constructed a new fence to ensure an accurate cutting line as the plastic fence in the set was not entirely straight."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
15out of 26found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Mortising Attachment - For Wood Use Only
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

mortis attachment

,
November 4, 2009
By oakman
from Gardner, Il.
"The overall experience is very favorable. After lowering the speed on the drill press, I cut some holes on soft pine. The results were favorable. I used the same cutter on my oak project and was delighted withe the results. The cuts were cleaner on the hard wood than on the soft pine! The installation of the attachment took abou 1/2 hr.
And I can say that the overall results were excellent.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Mortising Attachment - For Wood Use Only
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Mortising Attachment

,
November 3, 2009
By WoodworkerJon
from Amarillo, TX
"I bought this Mortising Attachment to build a baby bed for my daughter. It worked great and is a good value. There are a total of 128 mortise and tenon joints in the bed and I found this Mortising Attachment to be very durable. It fit my drill press well and made accurate cuts. I recommend clamping the pieces down well because the wood will pull up when removing the chisel because of the tight fit. Overall this is an excellent tool."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Mortising Attachment - For Wood Use Only
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Northern Industrial Mortising Attachment

,
November 2, 2009
By Woodyman
from new Berlin, WI.
"While it took a bit of fussing to fit the attachment to the arbor on my drill press, I finally got it to work. It takes a good amount of pressure to get the chisel to cut into the work piece, I figured out that placing the drill bit at just the right depth in the chisel is is the key to getting this tool to work right. The price of this attachment is unbelievable compared with the cost of buying an expensive mortising machine from a national woodworking chain. I am now making professional looking projects with the best joinery possible."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Mortising Attachment - For Wood Use Only
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mortise Attachment

,
October 19, 2009
By flenbob
from Michigan
"System will not fit larger chuck drill presses, so be careful your drill press will fit unit. I had to return unit. Quality of components was however very good."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Mortising Attachment - For Wood Use Only
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Solid looking build, collar too large

,
August 18, 2008
By Anonymous
from Frisco, TX
"This mortising kit didn't fit my Shopsmith Mark V. The collar is too large for the Mark V spindle and none of the inserts that shipped with it were the right size to adapt to it. I bought this mortising attachment before I bought the Shopsmith, so I wasn't able to check for size before hand. I dug around and found the Shopsmith mortising attachment and it obviously did work.
The build quality seems very good. Double check your spindle size before ordering.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Mortising Attachment - For Wood Use Only
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mortising Attachment

,
August 13, 2008
By Edster1
from Indianapolis, IN
"A Great strong product. Found it's parts sharp, well oiled and Durable. Only, when I tried to install it on to my new 79.00dollar drill press off brand. I found the various collars supplied to adapt to the size of the diameter of the chuck mount, to be too small. I'm in a 'pickle'-but found a way to use strips off an old shirt cut to length, to be a good way to safely make up for the space discrepancy. It's been working fine since."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Mortising Attachment - For Wood Use Only
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

mortising attachment

,
April 14, 2008
By 002short
from westville new york
"this attachment was so easy,it only took a few minutes to assemble!
the joints are crisp and true.
I am not a pro but with the mortise attachment wood working is starting to be fun.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Mortising Attachment - For Wood Use Only
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mortising Attachment

,
April 14, 2008
By TexasJimbo
from Dallas, TX
"Used the mortising attachment for 1/4" and 1/2" mortises in an oak bed. Worked very well. Important with larger dia. mortise size to support the drill press table as the force required to drive the chisel into the wood causes the table to deflect, resulting in a mortise that is not perpendicular to the face."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Mortising Attachment - For Wood Use Only
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Product

,
January 21, 2008
By Crides
from Mansfield, OH
"Compared to what I found on other sites this is a very cost effective tool. Being that I did not want to spend money on the whole dedicated machine this was a great pick. Set up was a snap and I was using it in under 20 minutes. I do woodworking for a hobby and love the fact I can now do some more complicated projects with this simple addition to my drill press."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Mortising Attachment - For Wood Use Only
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mortise attachment

,
October 15, 2007
By TC12016
from Goshen, KY
"The tool performed better then expected, but I had to make a new shim as my drill press arbor diameter was inbetween the sizes included in the kit. It's an old drill press, so I'm sure the problem is there and not with the tool."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Mortising Attachment - For Wood Use Only
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good Price, does what it says.

,
July 9, 2007
By laveryt
from Owosso, MI
"Being inexperienced, I had a little trouble setting this up at first. After about 20 minutes of setting the tool up, I was making Mortice cuts in scrap lumber. The directions are fairly clear to understand and setup just takes some time. The one trouble I did have is with the 1/4" bit. The shank was extremely long, and I had to cut off 1" to get it to fit into my chuck while maintaining the bit in the chisel. Without cutting it down, the bit wasn't close to being flush with the bottom of the chisel. The price was excellent compared to what other site are charging for a similar setup."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.