Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Northern Industrial Horizontal/Vertical Metal Cutting Band Saw - 4 1/2in. x 6in., 3/4 HP, 120V Motor"

"Northern Industrial Horizontal/Vertical Metal Cutting Band Saw - 4 1/2in. x 6in., 3/4 HP, 120V Motor"

Item# 155790
"This Northern Industrial horizontal/vertical metal cutting band saw cuts everything from brass and aluminum to rugged alloy and steel tools. Two-position rocker switch with safety lock-off. Gravity feed cutting pressure adjustment in horizontal position. Vertical cutting plate for small pipes. Includes blade and heavy-duty stand. HP 3/4, Variable Speed Yes, Cordless No, Cutting Angles 0-55, Volts 120, Blade Included Yes, Blade Size L x W x Thickness in. 64 1/2 x 1/2, Dimensions L x W x H in. 36 x 14 x 38, Stand Included Yes. Capacity 4 1/2in. round stock, 4in.-6in. rectangular Cutting table 11 1/2in.L x 7 1/2in.W x 23 1/2in.H horizontal 9 5/8in.L x 9 1/2in.W x 33 1/2in.H vertical 36in.L x 14in.W x 38in.H overall Two-position rocker switch with safety lock-off Gravity feed cutting pressure adjustment in horizontal position"
Average Customer Rating:
3.972 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (36 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
4
30 of 36(83%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Northern Industrial Horizontal/Vertical Metal Cutting Band Saw - 4 1/2in. x 6in., 3/4 HP, 120V Motor"
Review 1 for "Northern Industrial Horizontal/Vertical Metal Cutting Band Saw - 4 1/2in. x 6in., 3/4 HP, 120V Motor"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Vertical & Horizontal Bandsaw

,
February 7, 2014
By superc94
from Berryville, VA
" This NorthernTool Bandsaw is substantially identical with those that used to be sold under the ShopForce and other names. Even the manual is almost word for word the same as the manual for the ShopForce #150-010 Band Saw. The few differences are cosmetic. They are decent saws. You should know that wood cutting blades are available that also fit these. I have two of them one set up for wood and one for metal. In metal configuration I have with little effort cut a 2 inch thick (solid) tractor PTO shaft, in wood configuration it happily cuts small branches and 4x4 boards. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Northern Industrial Horizontal/Vertical Metal Cutting Band Saw - 4 1/2in. x 6in., 3/4 HP, 120V Motor"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value

,
February 4, 2014
By MLBfabworx
from south oklahoma
" Was a little worried when ordering the product because of the low price. Once it arrived I noticed the heavy duty construction of the saw. Put the base together and started using it and have been very happy with how well it cuts. Great product! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Northern Industrial Horizontal/Vertical Metal Cutting Band Saw - 4 1/2in. x 6in., 3/4 HP, 120V Motor"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Actually cuts pretty well

,
September 17, 2013
By CKRSLC
from Salt Lake City
" Bought this to cut through 1/8x2x2 angle iron all day. It did take all day but its a pretty tough saw. The stand is ridiculous and it failed right away. Bolted it to the benchtop and it has cut angle, rebar, pipe, plate and lots of other stuff. Get a decent bi-metallic blade or it will take all day to cut your metal though. I cut a lot of 3/8x4 bar and was amazed at how fine the cut can be if you have patience. Heck of a saw for cheap relative to the alternatives. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Northern Industrial Horizontal/Vertical Metal Cutting Band Saw - 4 1/2in. x 6in., 3/4 HP, 120V Motor"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

C Foster

,
August 25, 2013
By CFoster
from Columbia,SC
" This product has the worst owners / set up manual I have ever used. You have to totally figure out the set up on your own as the manual is silent as to setting up the stand and gives at best, vague suggestions for how to set up the rest of the saw. Same issue with the operating instructions. Like a prior reviewer, I found a pool of lubricant underneath the saw after it was assembled. I have no idea if this is a problem or not but overall I am not happy with the product. There is a metal rod with a handle that goes with the saw but I have absolutely no idea what its purpose is. Of course, the manual does not say. This saw will take up too much room to just be light duty on a flimsy stand. I'm taking it back. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Northern Industrial Horizontal/Vertical Metal Cutting Band Saw - 4 1/2in. x 6in., 3/4 HP, 120V Motor"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

reliability/ owners manual

,
August 10, 2013
By Scourge
from Texas
" I am now on my second unit , the first having been returned because I discovered it standing in a big puddle of lubricant. I didn't even bother to determine the source as I had the unit less than 30 days with very little use. That being said when I did use the unit its performance was satisfactory. The owners manual-on the other hand- is a complete nightmare. However there are other bandsaws that are similar to this model that have very nice downloadable manuals one can substitute. Now that I have a decent manual I am very satisfied with the saw. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Northern Industrial Horizontal/Vertical Metal Cutting Band Saw - 4 1/2in. x 6in., 3/4 HP, 120V Motor"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great affordable saw

,
April 23, 2013
By RRR75
from Hubbard, IA
" This saw works great. The wheel bracket for moving saw around is too light and bends. Also the cover for the saw guide rollers is in the way when you cut a 45 degree angle. A couple of slight modifations fixed this. The rest of the saw is great. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Northern Industrial Horizontal/Vertical Metal Cutting Band Saw - 4 1/2in. x 6in., 3/4 HP, 120V Motor"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Handy Tool

,
August 13, 2012
By TG22
from Bulverde, Texas
" I'm new to welding and metal work, but have been a DIY'er for years. I bought this band saw to cut small metal pieces for fabrication, etc. and it really does the job. You can adjust the stops so that when the cutting job is finished, it lowers to cut the power off. In fact, you set it up, put the material in the vice, turn it on, and you can go about your other business while it quietly cuts; and then auto-turns off. The only thing I found 'wrong' with it was the overall height (because I'm 6'5"). So I fixed that by welding on some 1" square tubing to a metal base, and added wheels. Then the welder, plasma cutter, and tool tray were put in under it. NOW it is the perfect cutting height. One more thing, the saw frame is cast iron and looks like it will last YEARS. Great little workshop saw! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Northern Industrial Horizontal/Vertical Metal Cutting Band Saw - 4 1/2in. x 6in., 3/4 HP, 120V Motor"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great saw

,
May 14, 2012
By bigdog49
from atlanta ga
" This is a great saw for its size does really good job
we are thinking about the next size up since we have grown and got bigger we are sawing alot more now but this saw works great have sawed up to 3 inch steel rods in it
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
8out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Northern Industrial Horizontal/Vertical Metal Cutting Band Saw - 4 1/2in. x 6in., 3/4 HP, 120V Motor"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Vertical Band saw

,
May 8, 2012
By skrouse
from Austin, Mn
" I use this saw instead of a cut off saw. It works just fine for my home shop. Easy to set up and align. Doesn't take up much space. I can wheel it out in the middle of my garage and wheel it back when done. Its a handy tool to have. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Northern Industrial Horizontal/Vertical Metal Cutting Band Saw - 4 1/2in. x 6in., 3/4 HP, 120V Motor"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well for the money

,
October 17, 2011
By Stkupco
from Oxford Junction, Iowa
" I have had this saw now for about a year and it works well for the price. Do yourself a favor and buy the expensive blades as they will last much longer the cheap blades break within a few cuts. It does a pretty decent cut for it's size and the only issue I've had with it is I tried to use it one day in the winter without turning the heat on in the area it was being stored and it didn't have enough power to turn the blade when the whole thing was cold. (It was below freezing) I turned the heat on and let it warm up and it worked without issue. It works well as a horizontal unit. I've tried to use it vertically a couple times without much luck. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Northern Industrial Horizontal/Vertical Metal Cutting Band Saw - 4 1/2in. x 6in., 3/4 HP, 120V Motor"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great "LIGHT DUTY" saw

,
March 14, 2011
By VMSCO
from Branson West, MO
" I emphasize "LIGHT DUTY"... This is a great little saw at a great price. Don't expect this unit to do the work of an industrial band saw.
Be very thorough in your set up and do not put a strain on the holding mechanisms. In other words dont try to cut a 4" steel bar that is 8' long. This saw is designed for light duty cutting. Perfect for the hobbyist or home shop environment. I use the saw in my business and it is used at least once a week. But keep in mind it is for light duty work.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Northern Industrial Horizontal/Vertical Metal Cutting Band Saw - 4 1/2in. x 6in., 3/4 HP, 120V Motor"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

One GREAT metal cutting saw

,
March 14, 2011
By nitrodragon
from Mabank, Texas
" After years of banging my fingers using a hacksaw I decided to purchase the metal cutting band saw from Northern Tool. It has performed above my expectations. It is easy to use and safe. I've cut iron, aluminum, wood, plastic, and stainless. I wished I had purchased this saw years ago. For the price it can't be beat. To switch from vertical to horizontal is so easy and switching back is effortless. I would recommend this saw to anyone needing a small easy to use metal cutting bandsaw. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Northern Industrial Horizontal/Vertical Metal Cutting Band Saw - 4 1/2in. x 6in., 3/4 HP, 120V Motor"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good - beats Sawzall or abrasive saw for HSM use

,
March 14, 2011
By Andy625
from Pennsylvania
" Home shop machinist (HSM). I keep trying the least expensive metal-sawing options for a home machine shop. (1) First was a Milwaukee Sawzall with Milwaukee blades called "Torch" (10 TPI, IIRC). I used the name brand to try to maximize my chances. It's a great solution for a project here or there, but not for long-term, frequent use. Blades burn up too fast, simply because the same 10 or 20 teeth are doing all the work all the time, and they suffer feed pressure on the return stroke. The Sawzall is also loud (matters in a basement shop because your home is right above). (2) Next solution was an abrasive cutoff saw. Benchtop 14" DIA blade by 1/8 wide. Again, a perfectly nice product for what it is. But the heat builds quickly in thick stock (as opposed to pipe, tubing, angle, etc). Loud. And worst, it smells asphalt-ish after a cut, and the smell can permeate the house for a little while. Very unpopular with the spouse. (3) Finally I caved and bought a saw just like this from another import tool dealer. In fact it's clearly from the same builder. Only difference is mine came with a different model motor, 1hp. I must say this is a great step up from Sawzall or abrasive saw for home machine shop use (cutting bar stock). Just cuts so wonderfully compared to the alternatives. Clean, quiet, cool, decently quick (want faster, pay 4 times as much). The piece is so cool you wouldn't know it was just cut. BIG difference there. I've been using WD-40 as a cutting lubricant so far (hot-roll carbon steel bar, 303 SS bar). I don't know if it's scientifically recommended, but I know it seems to work great for me. I don't bathe the thing, I just spray a bit intermittently as the cut progresses. Here's the thing about the quality of this saw: It's enough quality for the low-low price. Resign yourself to a couple hours of TLC when you do the setup and manual-reading. Do it patiently and as nicely as you can. I found that if you do that, you're fine. You'll need to use a few of your own existing metric wrenches and hex keys before you're done. If you don't have 'em, get 'em anyway to have around. In my opinion, anyone who has any business buying this type of saw is probably handy enough to assemble it well. Complete novices may find it hard, but if so, it's simply one's own learning curve. You can work it out with patience. This saw is great because it puts the basic configuration of a horizontal metal-cutting bandsaw, which normally is found only in commercial/industrial contexts, and allows it to be affordable enough for a home machine shop. To tell you the truth, I figure that if it needs any minor repairs or improvements, I'll fix it myself. As a home machinist, you just need the tool mfr "to get you in the door" with the basic parts nicely made. You can go from there if you have to, and upgrade the minor parts yourself. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Northern Industrial Horizontal/Vertical Metal Cutting Band Saw - 4 1/2in. x 6in., 3/4 HP, 120V Motor"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

wont cut straight and motor is underpowered!

,
March 4, 2011
By buckperf
from nc.
" i could never get the saw to cut straight due to rough casting and poor machining of the roller guides, finally the motor went out after less than a month. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Northern Industrial Horizontal/Vertical Metal Cutting Band Saw - 4 1/2in. x 6in., 3/4 HP, 120V Motor"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Limited Use

,
December 24, 2010
By Brambo
from Florida
" Bought this machine because it looked similar to the Jet and they had this one in stock. Cutting 1" x 2" rectangular thin wall steel tubing, after about 20 cuts the blade that came with the saw started loosing teeth then broke. Bought a new blade. The belt that came with the saw was also wearing badly, after 90 cuts over a 5 day period (about 12 per day spread out over a days work) the saw stopped, the motor was warm but did not smell burned. I think this machine would work okay for someone who only made a few cuts during a project but its not up to larger work. I exchanged this one for the Jet. The saw head and base are very similar but the motor is much larger physically even though it is rated at 1/2 HP and can run off 120v or can be rewired for 230 volts. The original blade has been working fine and the belt shows no wear. If your hobby projects require multiple cuts I would spend extra and get the Jet otherwise the NT saw will work but buy a spare blade and let the motor rest if you are doing multiple cuts "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Northern Industrial Horizontal/Vertical Metal Cutting Band Saw - 4 1/2in. x 6in., 3/4 HP, 120V Motor"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

awsome product

,
November 23, 2010
By snicker24
from massachuttes
" Once i set up the band saw it was verry easy to use.I used to always have to use a sawsall but ended up with verry uneven cuts.Now nice straight cuts have made my job ten times easier.I use this saw all the time and would recomend anyone who is working on projects to buy it. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Northern Industrial Horizontal/Vertical Metal Cutting Band Saw - 4 1/2in. x 6in., 3/4 HP, 120V Motor"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor quality electrical motor

,
October 4, 2010
By Whix
" I liked the unit, but it cannot even cut 1" aluminum bar stock without the motor overheating and eventually has failed. The unit is 9 months old and I am just a hobbyist who has never used this unit much at all.
I was shocked to see the motor burn up. Upon disassembly to check the motor's function, the On/Off switch simply fell apart.
This unit replaced one I purchased locally that ran for about 10 years in my garage shop. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Northern Industrial Horizontal/Vertical Metal Cutting Band Saw - 4 1/2in. x 6in., 3/4 HP, 120V Motor"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Band Saw

,
August 30, 2010
By Magicmartz
from Buford, GA
" This band saw really cuts like a far more expensive model. Spend a few minutes setting it up and it will cut accurately for months or even years. Great buy at an unheard-of price. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Northern Industrial Horizontal/Vertical Metal Cutting Band Saw - 4 1/2in. x 6in., 3/4 HP, 120V Motor"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Band Saw

,
June 4, 2010
By ttissot
from San Bernardino, California
" I have used this band saw numerous times and it performs without problem. I have used it on plastic and metal. From cutting PVC to wrought iron. You set it in the vise and turn it on and lower the arm and walk away. It cuts the object cleanly and quickly and shuts off when finished. For small jobs it is the best I have had. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Northern Industrial Horizontal/Vertical Metal Cutting Band Saw - 4 1/2in. x 6in., 3/4 HP, 120V Motor"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great hobby saw

,
June 3, 2010
By steelbit
from Pendergrass, GA
" I bought this saw a few years ago and it still works like a champ! For the low price, this is a great saw for occasional/hobby use. Good cutting techniques will allow you to use this saw effectively for many years. For more frequent use, spend about $300 more and get a saw with a coolant system. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.