Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Northern Industrial Tools Horizontal/Vertical Metal Cutting Band Saw - 4 1/2in. x 6in., 3/4 HP, 120V Motor"

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

"Northern Industrial Tools Horizontal/Vertical Metal Cutting Band Saw - 4 1/2in. x 6in., 3/4 HP, 120V Motor"

Item# 155790
"This Northern Industrial Tools horizontal/vertical metal cutting band saw cuts everything from brass and aluminum to rugged alloy and steel tools. Two-position rocker switch with safety lock-off. Gravity feed cutting pressure adjustment in horizontal position. Vertical cutting plate for small pipes. Includes blade and heavy-duty stand. Stand Included Yes, HP 3/4, Variable Speed Yes, Dimensions L x W x H in. 36 x 14 x 38, Blade Included Yes, Volts 120, Cordless No, Cutting Angles 0-55, Blade Size L x W x Thickness in. 64 1/2 x 1/2. Capacity 4 1/2in. round stock, 4in.-6in. rectangular Cutting table 11 1/2in.L x 7 1/2in.W x 23 1/2in.H horizontal 9 5/8in.L x 9 1/2in.W x 33 1/2in.H vertical 36in.L x 14in.W x 38in.H overall Two-position rocker switch with safety lock-off Gravity feed cutting pressure adjustment in horizontal position"
Average Customer Rating:
2.583 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (12 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
2
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
4
6 of 12(50%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for "Northern Industrial Tools Horizontal/Vertical Metal Cutting Band Saw - 4 1/2in. x 6in., 3/4 HP, 120V Motor"
Review 1 for "Northern Industrial Tools Horizontal/Vertical Metal Cutting Band Saw - 4 1/2in. x 6in., 3/4 HP, 120V Motor"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

•Things that aren't so great about it

,
January 26, 2016
By
from ilay city mi
the motor does freeze up , and is not a good motor
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Review 2 for "Northern Industrial Tools Horizontal/Vertical Metal Cutting Band Saw - 4 1/2in. x 6in., 3/4 HP, 120V Motor"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

this saw is ok

,
March 30, 2015
By
from Gould City, MI
The saw is good for light to medium cutting, the price is good. The legs are short and not very steady, suggest taking the legs off and mounting to a sturdy table.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for "Northern Industrial Tools Horizontal/Vertical Metal Cutting Band Saw - 4 1/2in. x 6in., 3/4 HP, 120V Motor"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Actually cuts pretty well

,
September 17, 2013
By
from Salt Lake City
Bought this to cut through 1/8x2x2 angle iron all day. It did take all day but its a pretty tough saw. The stand is ridiculous and it failed right away. Bolted it to the benchtop and it has cut angle, rebar, pipe, plate and lots of other stuff. Get a decent bi-metallic blade or it will take all day to cut your metal though. I cut a lot of 3/8x4 bar and was amazed at how fine the cut can be if you have patience. Heck of a saw for cheap relative to the alternatives.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for "Northern Industrial Tools Horizontal/Vertical Metal Cutting Band Saw - 4 1/2in. x 6in., 3/4 HP, 120V Motor"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

C Foster

,
August 25, 2013
By
from Columbia,SC
This product has the worst owners / set up manual I have ever used. You have to totally figure out the set up on your own as the manual is silent as to setting up the stand and gives at best, vague suggestions for how to set up the rest of the saw. Same issue with the operating instructions. Like a prior reviewer, I found a pool of lubricant underneath the saw after it was assembled. I have no idea if this is a problem or not but overall I am not happy with the product. There is a metal rod with a handle that goes with the saw but I have absolutely no idea what its purpose is. Of course, the manual does not say. This saw will take up too much room to just be light duty on a flimsy stand. I'm taking it back.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
9out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 5 for "Northern Industrial Tools Horizontal/Vertical Metal Cutting Band Saw - 4 1/2in. x 6in., 3/4 HP, 120V Motor"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

reliability/ owners manual

,
August 10, 2013
By
from Texas
I am now on my second unit , the first having been returned because I discovered it standing in a big puddle of lubricant. I didn't even bother to determine the source as I had the unit less than 30 days with very little use. That being said when I did use the unit its performance was satisfactory. The owners manual-on the other hand- is a complete nightmare. However there are other bandsaws that are similar to this model that have very nice downloadable manuals one can substitute. Now that I have a decent manual I am very satisfied with the saw.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
11out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 6 for "Northern Industrial Tools Horizontal/Vertical Metal Cutting Band Saw - 4 1/2in. x 6in., 3/4 HP, 120V Motor"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

wont cut straight and motor is underpowered!

,
March 4, 2011
By
from nc.
i could never get the saw to cut straight due to rough casting and poor machining of the roller guides, finally the motor went out after less than a month.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for "Northern Industrial Tools Horizontal/Vertical Metal Cutting Band Saw - 4 1/2in. x 6in., 3/4 HP, 120V Motor"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Limited Use

,
December 24, 2010
By
from Florida
Bought this machine because it looked similar to the Jet and they had this one in stock. Cutting 1" x 2" rectangular thin wall steel tubing, after about 20 cuts the blade that came with the saw started loosing teeth then broke. Bought a new blade. The belt that came with the saw was also wearing badly, after 90 cuts over a 5 day period (about 12 per day spread out over a days work) the saw stopped, the motor was warm but did not smell burned. I think this machine would work okay for someone who only made a few cuts during a project but its not up to larger work. I exchanged this one for the Jet. The saw head and base are very similar but the motor is much larger physically even though it is rated at 1/2 HP and can run off 120v or can be rewired for 230 volts. The original blade has been working fine and the belt shows no wear. If your hobby projects require multiple cuts I would spend extra and get the Jet otherwise the NT saw will work but buy a spare blade and let the motor rest if you are doing multiple cuts
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for "Northern Industrial Tools Horizontal/Vertical Metal Cutting Band Saw - 4 1/2in. x 6in., 3/4 HP, 120V Motor"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor quality electrical motor

,
October 4, 2010
By
I liked the unit, but it cannot even cut 1" aluminum bar stock without the motor overheating and eventually has failed. The unit is 9 months old and I am just a hobbyist who has never used this unit much at all.
I was shocked to see the motor burn up. Upon disassembly to check the motor's function, the On/Off switch simply fell apart.
This unit replaced one I purchased locally that ran for about 10 years in my garage shop.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for "Northern Industrial Tools Horizontal/Vertical Metal Cutting Band Saw - 4 1/2in. x 6in., 3/4 HP, 120V Motor"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not worth the money!

,
February 16, 2010
By
from CT.
I know I shouldn’t expect much from a saw of this price range however even with that in mind it still isn’t worth it!
Describe Yourself: Professional
-8points
1out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for "Northern Industrial Tools Horizontal/Vertical Metal Cutting Band Saw - 4 1/2in. x 6in., 3/4 HP, 120V Motor"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Handy Saw

,
October 21, 2009
By
from Montague, MI
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I had been looking for a band saw for metal cutting and am happy with this one from Northern Tool.
Not hard to setup but having a helper to hold things would make it a breeze.
It comes in real handy for fix-it jobs and other projects.
For example: I have this old gas powered log splitter, the splitting wedge is too narrow so it kind of slices through the logs. I decided to add 'wings' on it's wedge to help it split the wood apart faster.
I used the band saw to cut the pieces of the wings out of some rusty 3/8" thick, 4-1/2" wide steel. It was a little slow going but the cuts were nice and straight with a good finish. In the picture it is cutting the 'wings' in the horizontal mode. I also used it to cut the gussets, in the vertical mode. Then I welded it all onto the splitter wedge with my previously purchased Northern Tool Mig Welder (Model #135). Now the splitter works much better!
I would recommend it to others looking for a handy band saw to have around the home shop.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for "Northern Industrial Tools Horizontal/Vertical Metal Cutting Band Saw - 4 1/2in. x 6in., 3/4 HP, 120V Motor"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

bandsaw

,
May 30, 2009
By
no instruction book. it sure would help but i did get set up and it cuts straight.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for "Northern Industrial Tools Horizontal/Vertical Metal Cutting Band Saw - 4 1/2in. x 6in., 3/4 HP, 120V Motor"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Metal Cutting Band Saw

,
February 21, 2009
By
from Gig Harbor, WA
Very slow, weak motor. Will not pull saw blade in high speed pulley. Must use low speed to cut anything. Saw band keeps running off of pulleys. Not satisfied at all....
Describe Yourself: Professional
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.