Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Northern Industrial Metal Cutting Band Saw - 7in. x 12in., 1.5 HP, 115/230V Motor"

"Northern Industrial Metal Cutting Band Saw - 7in. x 12in., 1.5 HP, 115/230V Motor"

Item# 155793
"This dual voltage horizontal/vertical large capacity Northern Industrial Tools Bi-Metal Cutting Band Saw has all the features needed for professional results when it comes to metal cutting. Designed to cut 7in. round and 7in. x 12in. rectangular stock, this machine features safety hydraulic downfeed control. The built-in coolant system keeps the metal cool and also washes off the metal chips. Has a high-quality, durable bi-metal blade, a full complement of belt and blade guards for safety and a quick positioning vise. For safer cutting, this saw automatically shuts off when your cut is complete. Anti-corrosion coating for better protection from humid environment. Rolls on casters provided maneuverability and convenience of moving around. Stand Included Yes, Blade Size L x W x Thickness in. 93 x 3/4, Cutting Angles 45, 90, Case Included No, Volts 115/230, Dimensions L x W x H in. 48 x 16 x 37 5/8, Blade Type Bi-metal, HP 1 1/2, Cordless No, Cutting Depth at 90 in. Circular 7 Rectangular 7 x 12, Battery Included No, Cutting Depth at 45 in. Circular 5 Rectangular 4 3/4 x 4 7/8, Variable Speed 80/130/180/235 FPM, Cutting Capacity SFPM 7 in., Charger Included No, Cutting Capacity - Flat Stock in. x in. 7 x 12, Speed RPM 30, 45, 65, 86, Blade Included Yes, UL Listed No. Excellent saw for the industrial repair and fab center, electric shops and small welding shops Compact in size and rolls easily on hard rubber wheels for portability Variable blade speeds cater to different cutting requirements 80/130/180/235 FPM Dual-voltage motor allows unit to be installed in any shop Features safety hydraulic downfeed control for maximum control Features several belt and blade guards for safe operation Includes automatic shutoff when cut is complete for safer cutting and more efficient operation Built-in coolant system keeps the metal cool and also washes off the metal chips with integrated blade brush Steel construction with anti-corrosion coating for better protection, even in humid environments A quick-positioning vise holds work easily and securely Coolant pump ensures longer service life of saw blade Swivel saw frame caters to different cutting angle requirements 2mm thick heavy-duty base construction for stable support"
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (14 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 of 14(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Northern Industrial Metal Cutting Band Saw - 7in. x 12in., 1.5 HP, 115/230V Motor"
Review 1 for "Northern Industrial Metal Cutting Band Saw - 7in. x 12in., 1.5 HP, 115/230V Motor"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Metal Bandsaw 7 x 12

,
February 14, 2015
By LinomaSteelr
from Ashland,NE
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" Great bandsaw. Was disappointed that changing to 240 was a lot of work. Need to change both pump and motor and not easy access. Left on 120, and has worked very well. I move it around in shop and the 120 makes it easy to plug in anywhere and has plenty of power on 120.The wheels on it do not make it easy to move around shop, so I used the saw to cut some angle and made a new base/stand with swivel wheels on one end. Table height is low, my rollerstands wouldn't work, so when I built my new base, was able to raise height to a better height. Be careful when moving saw to vertical, weight can cause saw base to lift up. Material clamp works good and is easy to move for different size material. Rated a 4 due to useless table for vertical saw, low work height, and straight line wheels. Added a small chain between saw and base to keep saw from lifting up to far. Can see it under lift cylinder. Made base longer on saw head side to help from tipping when lifting saw to vertical. I would say if you want a horizontal saw, great saw, if you want a vertical, maybe not so good. For the price love my saw. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Northern Industrial Metal Cutting Band Saw - 7in. x 12in., 1.5 HP, 115/230V Motor"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Band saw

,
December 5, 2014
By ak56
from Plainview, NY
" Handy saw , right price, performance exceeded expectation "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Northern Industrial Metal Cutting Band Saw - 7in. x 12in., 1.5 HP, 115/230V Motor"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value saw

,
August 4, 2014
By Zang1972
from Fort Worth, Texas
" Yes the wheels are minimal and the vertical table is a flimsy piece of sheet metal. If your buying a saw like this your fabrication skills should be good enough to correct these minor shortfalls. This is a nice saw, plenty of power and it cuts nice and straight. Runs quietly and coolant system works very well.
One consideration when selecting a saw for my home shop was price range and performance. Looking at the shipping weight of this saw puts it the heaviest in it's price range. It also has the most rated power. The motor on this saw is huge and should perform at it's rated 1.5 hp all day long. Blade guides and rollers are solid, blade speed is easy to change. The vise on it is very solid and clamps work securely. Adjusting it for square is easy as it is to cut angles.
The first project I did on the saw was to make a rolling base for it from 3/16 x 1 1/2" x 1 1/2" angle iron. Used 5" swivel casters and fastened the front of saw stand to the base for stability. When the saw is tilted vertically it will go over backwards pretty easily so I also extended the length if the base an additional 6" past the back end of the stand.
Very pleased with this saw and will get plenty of use from it. On the new base it's very easy to move around. I'll fabricate a new table for it some time when I have a need to use it vertically.
Great saw! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Northern Industrial Metal Cutting Band Saw - 7in. x 12in., 1.5 HP, 115/230V Motor"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Perfect for home

,
April 11, 2014
By Busaboy
from Tampa, FL
" Lots of convenient extras, base cabinet way too small and low, I know it is top heavy but my back don't help me so I made a 14 inch extension to the cabinet to raise it and put two turning casters to ease maneuver. Also made the bed extension 5 inches longer to help with the instability when working vertical. (Now it is perfect). "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Northern Industrial Metal Cutting Band Saw - 7in. x 12in., 1.5 HP, 115/230V Motor"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product, great price

,
April 23, 2013
By joey1973
from Chapel Hill, TN
" I bought this bandsaw for my shop and it has been a great addition. It is well built and has plenty of power to cut what I need it to. The only complaint I have with it is the work platform could be bigger for better material control. This is a good product and I would recommend it. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Northern Industrial Metal Cutting Band Saw - 7in. x 12in., 1.5 HP, 115/230V Motor"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for small shop

,
December 27, 2012
By psd96
from Missaukee County, MI
" Weve used this on our farm, mostly for building gates and springs arms. its your average generac brand bandsaw, its no rockwell but it works great for small use. cant beat the price for what your getting, there is quite a bit of plastic used in it for pretty important parts (approach vice grips, switches, etc.). The lube system works great and is on a seperate switch for when your cutting vertical. Some of the writing is poorly translated to english, so it is probably made in china. The base plate for cutting vertical is very flimsy, had to make a new one because its almost paper thin steel. The handle on the approach vice broke, but with it broke its easier to get a better grip on it so i guess that would be a bonus. The vice has angle measurements on the back of it and are surprisingly accurate and go from -5 to 45 degrees in 5 degree increments. weve ran over 6,000 feet of thick steel through it and cant complain one bit. best bang for your buck. The straining system for lube works very well for how simple it is, but you do have to clean the small debris trap often (but i guess that just means its catching most of the filings). absolutely recommend it for small shops & farms. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
14out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Northern Industrial Metal Cutting Band Saw - 7in. x 12in., 1.5 HP, 115/230V Motor"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

two problems

,
October 8, 2012
By Rich767
from Philadelphia, PA
" Very nice machine for the money. The only problems I encountered were:
The short wheelbase. When lifting the blade for using as a vertical band saw if you lift with too much force the saw will fall over since the weight is balanced very close to the back wheels. I had to build a longer stand to keep that from happening.
Second problem: The detachable base plate for use as a vertical saw is very flimsy and usless for holding the material being sawed steady.
Other than tose two things it is a very nice saw and we are happy with it.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Northern Industrial Metal Cutting Band Saw - 7in. x 12in., 1.5 HP, 115/230V Motor"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little saw

,
August 20, 2012
By GRB55
from Bartow, Florida
" Purchased this saw a couple months ago.
We use it in an industrial repair & fab center.
It has more that proven it is a great saw.
I was going to say best bang for the buck, but it is a quality saw without taking price into concideration.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Northern Industrial Metal Cutting Band Saw - 7in. x 12in., 1.5 HP, 115/230V Motor"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

saw cut

,
October 10, 2011
By Bandsaw
from Dayton,Ohio
" Saw cuts great, cutting square and with good speed,good coolant pump.nice that it's hortizal or vertical. Only problem was handle broke I used it to cut up about 6000 lbs steel and did a great job, still using same blade. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
11out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Northern Industrial Metal Cutting Band Saw - 7in. x 12in., 1.5 HP, 115/230V Motor"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Northern Industrial Metal Cutting Band Saw 7 X 12

,
June 16, 2011
By BLONDI
from Minnesota
" It's a very good machine for the money. The table for vertical sawing is weak but I new that before buying and have fabbed a heavier one for it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Northern Industrial Metal Cutting Band Saw - 7in. x 12in., 1.5 HP, 115/230V Motor"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Saw

,
June 13, 2011
By lsmith995
from Fort worth, Texas
" I bought this saw to use in an electrical shop. The saw was easy to set up and operate. This is a good saw for the price, would recommend it. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Northern Industrial Metal Cutting Band Saw - 7in. x 12in., 1.5 HP, 115/230V Motor"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

metal cutting bandsaw

,
June 13, 2011
By Grnhornet
from NC
" After comparing many metal cutting saws, found this one to be the best for the money. Wanted saw to be heavy and make clean accurate cuts. This saw met all expectations and then some. Motor having 1.5 HP was also more to offer than the competition. Will gladly recommend this saw for home or small shop use with full confidence that you will not be disappointed. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Northern Industrial Metal Cutting Band Saw - 7in. x 12in., 1.5 HP, 115/230V Motor"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Bandsaw

,
March 14, 2011
By trailman12
" This is a very good bandsaw, I use it to cut alot of 1'' and 3'' soild steel and alumium bars, cuts straight everytime. I brought it for home shop uses, but I would recommend it to any comerical shop. all cuts are very accurate. Now that i think about it, i really should have rated it EXCELLENT. I DO A LOT OF WELDING AND A LOT OF METAL CUTTING. You want be sorry, if you purchase this unit, TRAILMAN IN TEXAS. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+12points
17out of 22found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Northern Industrial Metal Cutting Band Saw - 7in. x 12in., 1.5 HP, 115/230V Motor"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

cutting metal the easy way

,
February 24, 2010
By magnatrac
from foothills of western North Carolina
" Excellent saw for the small welding shop. Saw cuts straight and clean. Very safe. Easy to move. Coolant keeps the metal cool and also washes off the metal chips.Excellent saw . Worth the price. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.