Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD500X

FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD500X

Item# 1560920
The Drill Doctor DD500X is a professional-level drill bit sharpener that is ideal for sharpening a full range of bits, including split points and the 135 bits used in drilling hardened metals. Sharpens split-point bits and creates split-points from standard bits. U.S.A. Accepts Bits in. 3/32 to 1/2 in diameter, Amps 110, Case Included No, Dimensions L x W x H in. 9 1/2 x 5 x 4 1/2, Grit 180 diamond grit, HP 1/7, Machine Type Manual, Max. RPM 20,000, Product Type Bit sharpeners, Usage DIY to professional level, UL Listed Yes, Volts 1.75, Wheel Diameter in. 1, Angle Sharpening deg. 118, 135. Easy front-loading chuck Simplified alignment and sharpening procedures E-Z Align System assures correct sharpening alignment Variable Alignment lets you adjust chisel and relief angles
Average Customer Rating:
4.79 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (38 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
38 of 38(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD500X
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD500X
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

,
July 5, 2014
By Gruvdog
from Branson, MO
"The Drill Doctor is one of the best products to hit the market. It makes sharpening drill bits a breeze. The device pays for itself by sharpening worn bits"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD500X
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like others here, I waited too long to buy one

,
September 17, 2013
By Workworkwork
from Grand Blanc, MI
"The cost was off-putting for a long time, but I finally took the plunge and bought one of these. Few things are as aggravating (or ear-piercing) as trying to drill through steel with a dull bit and I got tired of scrounging around the farm for wayward sharp bits. The ground edge that you get with the Drill Doctor is pretty course compared to the factory sharpening, but it cuts like new. Being able to split the point is a huge plus for me. I've been splitting the points on all our standard bits and couldn't be happier. I'm still using the original grinding wheel and it's nice to know that replacements are readily available."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD500X
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drill Doctor

,
April 24, 2013
By Vetus
from Michigan
"I've just purchased the Drill Doctor for split points. It's amazing how simple it is, and how well it works. When I dull or break a drill bit, I don't have to go to the store to buy a new one, I just get out my Drill Doctor, and I'm up and running in no time. Great Product!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD500X
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A big money saver

,
April 23, 2013
By jwd54
from Gig Harbor, Wa
"No more throwing away bits when they get dull. A few seconds with this sharpener and they are as sharp as new. The only problem is now everyone wants me to sharpen their bits for them."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD500X
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
August 13, 2012
By Edrick
from Newcastle, CA
"I had an original model, but lost the chuck in a move. Since a replacement was somewhat pricey, I decided to start over with the new model. This a marvelous tool that lets you get a lifetime of use from a set of drills bits. Simple to use, and I love that it is made in the USA."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD500X
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like

,
May 14, 2012
By 49F1
from NC
"I use my drill bits for automotive and home projects and dull or break quite a few. It's great to be able to do a split point that I was not able to do before. This product is quick and easy to use and gets me back to my projects quicklly. The video is great to watch and clears up any questions you might have from the written instuctions. I like this so much that I bought one for my son also."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD500X
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drill Doc 500 review

,
January 23, 2012
By Sidecarnutz
from VA.
"I use a big Darex sharpener every day at work. To say it has spoiled me is putting it mildly. When I saw that Darex also built the Drill Doctor, I wanted to try one. Got it in today. Yeah, it is plastic and not a pro grade Darex. But it was very reasonably priced and is very functional and fit for home shop use! Just took a minute to sharpen a dull masonry carbide bit I set aside many years ago. Tried it on a few other old bits. It did a great job. I like that the timing of the chisel point is adjustable for drills with a tighter or shallower than normal twist. The point splitter works well too. All in all very easy to use. By the time I am done this weekend, it will have paid for itself after I clean up my collection of old bits! Excellent value for the money."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD500X
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drill Dr.

,
January 9, 2012
By RottenRalph
from Maupin Oregon
"As a ex machinest I have always considered myself as a good drill sharpener, especialy drill sizes of 1/4 and up. But I was amazed at the difference it made when I sharpened with the Drill Dr. I have recommended to all my friends to purchase one. You can't beat it. By following the easy instructions in the video, In just a short time I had sharpened enough drill to more than pay for the machine. Four days from the date of order I had it. Thanks Guys. RittenRalph"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD500X
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

,
January 9, 2012
By jwd111
from Tacoma, Wa.
"After years of frustration dealing with dull bits, I decided I would try a Drill Doctor. I read all the reviews (including the negatives ones), read the online instructions and watched the video before buying one. I was convinced to try one and I'm glad I did. I now have a drawer full of very sharp bits. Read the instructions and you'll have no problem mastering this baby and it will take only a few seconds to sharpen any dull bit. I've since used my "new" bits in wood and 1/2" thick mild steel and they work great and stay sharp. I highly recommend this sharpener."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD500X
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drill Doctor DD500X

,
January 9, 2012
By mikefred2000
from McCurtain, OK
"No household should be without this item. I sharpened over 200 drill bits, some bits were new, in less than 2 hours. This is a simple tool to use. It allows you to sharpen your bits to be used on wood or metal. I drilled through 3/8" steel with a cordless drill and a newly sharpened bit with ease. When using a power drill and a new bit; I had to apply a lot of pressure to drill through the same material."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD500X
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice product

,
April 17, 2011
By aDave
from Tennessee
"I have used the commercial / industrial version of this drill sharpener for years and it is very nice. I purchased this drill sharpener for home use because as i get older it becomes harder to hand sharpen drills consistently. It very easy to use with good instructions on cd. It does a fantastic job with all drills within its size range. I Liked it so well I took it to work and everyone there likes it. I have ordered another one to give to my son."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD500X
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drill Doctor

,
March 26, 2011
By cares
from Brookfield Ill.
"I have used a couple of different sharpeners before and one was a professional model this one has out done all of them its very easy to use and does a great job. when you need to drill a hole and the bit is dull made it rough to get the job done but with the drill doctor 500 it makes the drilling jobs a breeze one of my best investments. Cars Brookfield"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD500X
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drill Doctor

,
March 21, 2011
By Mick51
"This is the best investment anyone could make. The cost of good drill bits is not coming down anytime soon. The Drill Doctor is the best way to extend the life of the drill bits you have, and a sharp bit is safer and easier to use than a dull bit. The Doctor is very easy to use, just a few minutes with each drill bit and your back on the job at hand."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD500X
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

drill doctor

,
March 21, 2011
By joshers21
"very good product. love being able to immediately resharpen my bits after dulling on steel. worth the money"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD500X
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Satisfied

,
March 3, 2011
By Lowcashranch
from Lomita, Ca
"I was sceptical before buying it. I watched the video and figured I would give it a try. I was so impressed. It sharpened every bit I have. I was so used to dull bits, that I had forgotten how a bit was supposed to work. Now I can cut through 1/4 plate steel with ease. Don't spend your money on the larger 3/4 chuck. There is a lip inside the tip of the standard one which limits its capacity to 1/2. I disassembled the chuck, used a 3/4 bit, and reemed out the lip. Now it has a 3/32 to 3/4 capacity. What a great little tool."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
hydro
PA 
 
Please wait while more information about hydro is loaded.
Additional information about hydro could not be loaded.
Thanks...
November 18, 2011
"for the tip to increase capacity from 1/2" to 3/4""
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD500X
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works average

,
November 25, 2010
By onebadta
from Charlotte, NC
"Just to have a product like this in my shop is a cool thing. This product works pretty well on lower grade bits, however I've noticed on my high grade high speed steel bits, it will make them better after really using them a lot, or if you hit something and dull the bit. It WILL NOT sharpen the high grade bits to "like new" condition. All in all, it will save money on drill bits that used to get thrown out when dull and now can be reused."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD500X
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drill doctor dd500x

,
September 2, 2010
By toolrat
from NJ
"Love this tool. Wasn't sure about it when I first bought it but has saved me the price it cost at least twice over. Best thing about it is I n e v e r use a dull bit anymore. Too easy to go in my garage and spin the bit in this a few times. Doesn't do the smaller bits (under 3/16') very well despite thier claims but is still well worth the money."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD500X
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener

,
August 30, 2010
By Sludgemaster
from CARTHAGE NY
"Drill Doctor Bit Sharpener is a very easy tool to operate. The instructions are easy to follow and the video is an excellent visual aide.I sharpened my drill bits in short order and drilling is never been so easy. Thanks to Drill doctor."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD500X
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

drill doctor

,
June 1, 2010
By narleydp
from Coon Rapids, MN
"Have sharpend many of my drill bitts this produck works great ."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD500X
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Best for the Money!

,
June 1, 2010
By jake57
from Central Michigan
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I have worked with Big-Expensive Industrial drill sharpeners for years.
I always hoped somebody would come up with one that worked that the guy in the home workshop could afford.
Well, here it is.
This Drill Dr. compares real well with machines costing hundreds more. To be able to not only sharpen drills but to split the point is truly a big time and effort saver.
This machine deserves the highest recommendation I know how to give.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.