Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD500X"

"FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD500X"

Item# 1560920
"The Drill Doctor DD500X is a professional-level drill bit sharpener that is ideal for sharpening a full range of bits, including split points and the 135 bits used in drilling hardened metals. Sharpens split-point bits and creates split-points from standard bits. U.S.A. Max. RPM 20,000, Wheel Diameter in. 1, Amps 110, Machine Type Manual, Grit 180 diamond grit, Product Type Bit sharpeners, UL Listed Yes, Accepts Bits in. 3/32-1/2 in. dia., Volts 1.75, Case Included No, Dimensions L x W x H in. 9 1/2 x 5 x 4 1/2, Usage DIY to professional level, HP 1/7, Angle Sharpening deg. 118, 135. Easy front-loading chuck Simplified alignment and sharpening procedures E-Z Align System assures correct sharpening alignment Variable Alignment lets you adjust chisel and relief angles"
Average Customer Rating:
4.812 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (48 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
48 of 48(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD500X"
Review 1 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD500X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

As advertised

,
May 14, 2015
By dre2015
from NW, AL
" This product works exactly as advertised. We took it out of the box and started sharpening our own bits as we followed the "how to" video.
It paid for itself in the first week.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD500X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drill Doctor

,
May 13, 2015
By Zenmar
from Cockeysville,MD
" Fast and easy to use It saves us money in drill bits. the sharpen bits works like they were new. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD500X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sharp Bits

,
March 30, 2015
By GreggH
from SIoux Falls,SD
" I had a drawer of old dull bits, no longer, now I have a drawer of old sharp bits! Easy to use as well. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD500X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

must have

,
March 16, 2015
By T325
from Jacksonville, fl.
" I am an automotive technician, dull bits cost you time and money. buying new bits all the time gets expensive, This tool is a must have "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD500X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

very good

,
March 2, 2015
By m1968
from or
" After sharpening a few bits, I think a man could do it blind folded! That's how easy it is. Sharpens bits very fast "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD500X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drill Doctor

,
February 24, 2015
By handymansam222
from Yountville, Ca
" This is a very useful tool. Instructions were straight forward and easy to follow. I was quickly able to understand how to use it and then start sharpening my drill bits. Within an hour I had all of my dull drill bits sharpened. It great addition for any handyman to have. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD500X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

wow

,
January 22, 2015
By carguy437
from Mpls,Mn
" I've thought about buying a Drill Dr for years. I can't imagine how many hours I've struggled with dull drills or the money I've spent replacing drills. I wish I hadn't waited so long. The drill Dr. is fast, easy to use, and paid for itself the first day. I love this machine. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD500X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drill Dr.

,
January 1, 2015
By pbr593
from Mint Hill
" Easy to use and produces good results and looks to be well made. Have re-sharpened all my drill bits with good results. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD500X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Health care for drill bits

,
November 12, 2014
By handymancan
from PA
" works great shavings come off in long spirals, bits don't wander when I start to drill even on a slightly curved surface. Even does masonary bits. I really like it "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD500X"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice tool

,
October 14, 2014
By Nick77Name
from New Mexico
" It works great. I've reclaimed several drill bits. It puts a decent edge on them, I did mess one up...my fault, not the machines, so don't get too comfortable and not read the instructions. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD500X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

,
July 5, 2014
By Gruvdog
from Branson, MO
" The Drill Doctor is one of the best products to hit the market. It makes sharpening drill bits a breeze. The device pays for itself by sharpening worn bits "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD500X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like others here, I waited too long to buy one

,
September 17, 2013
By Workworkwork
from Grand Blanc, MI
" The cost was off-putting for a long time, but I finally took the plunge and bought one of these. Few things are as aggravating (or ear-piercing) as trying to drill through steel with a dull bit and I got tired of scrounging around the farm for wayward sharp bits. The ground edge that you get with the Drill Doctor is pretty course compared to the factory sharpening, but it cuts like new. Being able to split the point is a huge plus for me. I've been splitting the points on all our standard bits and couldn't be happier. I'm still using the original grinding wheel and it's nice to know that replacements are readily available. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD500X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drill Doctor

,
April 24, 2013
By Vetus
from Michigan
" I've just purchased the Drill Doctor for split points. It's amazing how simple it is, and how well it works. When I dull or break a drill bit, I don't have to go to the store to buy a new one, I just get out my Drill Doctor, and I'm up and running in no time. Great Product! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD500X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A big money saver

,
April 23, 2013
By jwd54
from Gig Harbor, Wa
" No more throwing away bits when they get dull. A few seconds with this sharpener and they are as sharp as new. The only problem is now everyone wants me to sharpen their bits for them. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD500X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
August 13, 2012
By Edrick
from Newcastle, CA
" I had an original model, but lost the chuck in a move. Since a replacement was somewhat pricey, I decided to start over with the new model. This a marvelous tool that lets you get a lifetime of use from a set of drills bits. Simple to use, and I love that it is made in the USA. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD500X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like

,
May 14, 2012
By 49F1
from NC
" I use my drill bits for automotive and home projects and dull or break quite a few. It's great to be able to do a split point that I was not able to do before. This product is quick and easy to use and gets me back to my projects quicklly. The video is great to watch and clears up any questions you might have from the written instuctions. I like this so much that I bought one for my son also. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD500X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drill Doc 500 review

,
January 23, 2012
By Sidecarnutz
from VA.
" I use a big Darex sharpener every day at work. To say it has spoiled me is putting it mildly. When I saw that Darex also built the Drill Doctor, I wanted to try one. Got it in today. Yeah, it is plastic and not a pro grade Darex. But it was very reasonably priced and is very functional and fit for home shop use! Just took a minute to sharpen a dull masonry carbide bit I set aside many years ago. Tried it on a few other old bits. It did a great job. I like that the timing of the chisel point is adjustable for drills with a tighter or shallower than normal twist. The point splitter works well too. All in all very easy to use. By the time I am done this weekend, it will have paid for itself after I clean up my collection of old bits! Excellent value for the money. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD500X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drill Dr.

,
January 9, 2012
By RottenRalph
from Maupin Oregon
" As a ex machinest I have always considered myself as a good drill sharpener, especialy drill sizes of 1/4 and up. But I was amazed at the difference it made when I sharpened with the Drill Dr. I have recommended to all my friends to purchase one. You can't beat it. By following the easy instructions in the video, In just a short time I had sharpened enough drill to more than pay for the machine. Four days from the date of order I had it. Thanks Guys. RittenRalph "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD500X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

,
January 9, 2012
By jwd111
from Tacoma, Wa.
" After years of frustration dealing with dull bits, I decided I would try a Drill Doctor. I read all the reviews (including the negatives ones), read the online instructions and watched the video before buying one. I was convinced to try one and I'm glad I did. I now have a drawer full of very sharp bits. Read the instructions and you'll have no problem mastering this baby and it will take only a few seconds to sharpen any dull bit. I've since used my "new" bits in wood and 1/2" thick mild steel and they work great and stay sharp. I highly recommend this sharpener. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD500X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drill Doctor DD500X

,
January 9, 2012
By mikefred2000
from McCurtain, OK
" No household should be without this item. I sharpened over 200 drill bits, some bits were new, in less than 2 hours. This is a simple tool to use. It allows you to sharpen your bits to be used on wood or metal. I drilled through 3/8" steel with a cordless drill and a newly sharpened bit with ease. When using a power drill and a new bit; I had to apply a lot of pressure to drill through the same material. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.