Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"

"FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"

Item# 1560930
"The Drill Doctor DD750X is a professional-level drill bit sharpener that is ideal for sharpening HSS, carbide, cobalt, titanium and masonry drill bits, including split points and the 135 bits used in drilling hardened metals. Sharpens split-point bits and creates split-points from standard bits. The included large chuck sharpens 3/4in. bits. U.S.A. Abrasive Type Diamond, Amps 1.75, Angle Sharpening deg. 115-140, Grit 180, Bit Sizes 3/32-3/4, Bit Type Split point, Volts 110, Storage Type Carrying case. Has the flexibility required to sharpen the largest range of dull or broken bits, including HSS, carbide, cobalt-coated, titanium-coated, split points and masonry bits Easy front-loading chuck Adjustable Material Take-Off MTO touches up dull bits or deep grinds damaged bits E-Z Align System assures correct sharpening alignment Variable Alignment lets you adjust chisel and relief angles Comes with heavy-duty blow-molded plastic carrying case"
Average Customer Rating:
4.727 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(121 Reviews) 121
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (121 reviews)
5 stars
96
4 stars
20
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
117 of 121(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 32 Answers
Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Review 1 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highly recommended

,
May 6, 2016
By
from Wood Dale, IL
This tool is excellent for any shop or home use. Very handy and very easy to sharpen a wide variety of bits and sizes, especially like the 3/4 inch sharpening and the masonry bit sharpening. Other then not having a bit angle guide to know which angle to set the guide at. This tool is a must for anyone who uses wood, metal, and masonry bits.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drill Dr is a good product

,
March 23, 2016
By
from LANSE, MI
I have had experience with this model of drill sharpener at my previous workplace. Now that I am retired, it was a no-brainer that one would adorn my workshop at home. Nothing better than knowing that the bit will do the job when in the middle of a project, and no more running to the hardware for new bits!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Upgrade

,
January 16, 2016
By
from Blue Grass Iowa
Bought a DD500X when they first came out. Have used it ever since. Only maintenance done was cleaning and replacing sharpening wheel when needed.
Upgraded to the DD750X to be able to sharpen larger than 1/2 inch drill bits.
The DD750X sharpens the larger bits just as easily and effectively as I have been accustomed to using my older DD500X.
The ability of the DD750X to sharpen small to large drill bits means one of my sons will inherit the DD500X .
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drill Doctor DD750X

,
January 14, 2016
By
from Devine TX
Great tool at a great price. I had 40-50 bits that had saved the last several years, now they're like new. Saved a lot of money by using the Drill Doctor.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

750 Drill Doctor

,
January 10, 2016
By
from Georgia
This tool is as described and easy to use. Paid for it self in first day of use on all my old dull drill bits.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Drill Doctor DD750X

,
December 14, 2015
By
from Pittsburgh,PA
Drill Doctor DD750X works great in restoring cutting edges to drill bits that were once destined to the trash. Takes a little practice to get desired results but reading all directions and watching training video was very helpful. Would recommend practicing on medium sized bits ,approx. 1/4", before attempting smaller or largest bits you have. Have now sharpened all my old drill bits and will never have to use dull bits again. Even took a broken bit , ground the damaged end even with a bench grinder , then with the Drill Doctor, ground a new cutting points to it. Should pay for itself in cost of not having to buy new drill bits all the time.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Deal

,
December 9, 2015
By
from Mount Olive, MS
Watch the online video for help understanding setup
Very nice machine for the money
Will save hundreds in drill bits!
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

make those old drill bits work again.

,
December 5, 2015
By
from new richmond wi
had many drill bits in drawer, many dull. After getting this drill doctor made them like new again and organized.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works

,
October 3, 2015
By
from Florida
Reasonably priced and simple enough even my employees can use it. The CD makes it a cake walk and if followed properly you can't miss.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A worthwhile shop investment

,
July 24, 2015
By
from Hernando County, FL
The DDX750X was one of the best investments for my ranch shop I have made in some time. I had dozens of dull drill bits that have accumulated over the years. The main feature that made me decide on the 750 was the range of bit sizes it could sharpen. I wish there was a sharpener that could go even larger. The instructional video was extremely helpful in the learning curve. I especially like the 750's ability to make split cuts to all the bits. It is easy to change the grinding wheels (the video showed a different release screw than what came on my unit, but the action is the same). After sharpening 50+ bits of all sizes so far, the only thing that bothered me is that the depth adjustment screw loosens when in operation. There should be a better way to keep it tight. Maybe some blue thread lock will do the trick for me. Also the motor noise is quite loud. Ear covers are recommended. The old sharpened bits now cut into metal better than ever. Now all my neighbors are bring their bits over for sharpening. Great reason to get together!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Save the Drills

,
July 19, 2015
By
from Ventura County, Ca.
This drill sharpener will save many drills over the years, I do my own auto work and gunsmithing along with general home maintenance and always using a drill for something. Easy to use, will re-condition a worn drill in minutes. Great addition to my small shop !!!!!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

LEARNING CURVE

,
May 30, 2015
By
from WARWICK, RI
ONCE YOU GET THE HANG OF IT; THE TOOL IS VERY HANDY. NEED TO PIN IT DOWN TO DO THE 3/4" SIZE. SURELY OUT DOES HAND SHARPENING. WHICH I CAN DO VERY WELL.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Time & Money

,
May 23, 2015
By
from Morgan City, LA
We repair tractor trailers, we go through a lot of drill bits. Hundreds in a week. It ain't cheep. We have cut down buying bits over half. We saved the price of the tool the first week. My word is take your time using this tool don't get in a hurry, good luck.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

flash

,
May 10, 2015
By
from Thomasville, NC
This product rates a five stare for the price paid. It is not a professional product due to the use of plastic on some of its moving items. I worked at a manufacture in maintenance that had a drill it sharpener that cost over $2000.00 and gave about the same results as this Drill Doctor and would not even sharpen carbide without ordering a $400.00 wheel.
The Drill Doctor parts may wear out but as long as they offer replacement parts I will continue to keep it.
If you want a better drill bit sharpener pay $2000.00. The choice is yours.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drill Bit saver

,
May 3, 2015
By
from AZ
This tool is perfect for getting the most from your drill bits as all you do is keep sharpening them and with the drill doctor it could not be easier. And the simple instructions are easy to follow and get the left hand bit adaptor it is well worth it.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drill Doctor 750X

,
May 1, 2015
By
from St Petersburg, Florida
As soon as I received my Drill Doctor, I read the manual and watched the video, then gathered up my bag of dull drill bits. The drill doctor sharpened every bit and I even split the bit with a few. The machine is very easy to use, precise, and should last a long time. Needless to say, I'm very very pleased and wish I had purchased one sooner.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Never sharpened drill bits before

,
April 30, 2015
By
from Jeddo, TX
I've never sharpened drill bits before. I'm 65. The instructions were very simple and easy to follow. After I got started and saw how simple and easy it is, I was enjoying sharpening drill bits so much. I sharpened all I had stacked up and went to my storage shed and found some more to sharpen. The Drill Doctor 750X is a great tool. Every DIY needs one.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drill Bit Sharpenter

,
April 27, 2015
By
from Stanford, MT
Great product and am glad I decided to purchase it as I have LOTS of bits that are in need of sharpening. This product will save me a lot of money in not having to purchase new bits because I can sharpen the ones I still have.,
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

How to Start

,
April 14, 2015
By
from Perth, Western Australia
This is the Drill Bit Sharpener that I wanted, but I got another one instead but the one that I did receive I decided to keep and not make a issue about it, It does not do any bits as large as 3/4 inch, in fact the largest it does is 1/2 inch, anyway, what's done is done and that's OK.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Drill Doctor does its thing

,
April 10, 2015
By
from Jefferson City, MO
I never give excellent ratings; there is always room for improvement. The counting of half-rotations might be made easier with addition of a colored marking on the collar. In any case, the device is easy to use, with very good outcome. The final surfaces do not have a polished look as in a new bit.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.