Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"

"FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"

Item# 1560930
"The Drill Doctor DD750X is a professional-level drill bit sharpener that is ideal for sharpening HSS, carbide, cobalt, titanium and masonry drill bits, including split points and the 135 bits used in drilling hardened metals. Sharpens split-point bits and creates split-points from standard bits. The included large chuck sharpens 3/4in. bits. U.S.A. Grit 180, Amps 1.75, Angle Sharpening deg. 115-140, Bit Sizes 3/32-3/4, Bit Type Split point, Abrasive Type Diamond, Volts 110. Has the flexibility required to sharpen the largest range of drill or broken bits, including HSS, carbide, cobalt-coated, titanium-coated, split points and masonry bits Easy front-loading chuck Adjustable Material Take-Off MTO touches up dull bits or deep grinds damaged bits E-Z Align System assures correct sharpening alignment Variable Alignment lets you adjust chisel and relief angles Cast metal sharpening port for precision and durability"
Average Customer Rating:
4.723 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(112 Reviews) 112
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (112 reviews)
5 stars
89
4 stars
18
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
108 of 112(96%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Review 1 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A worthwhile shop investment

,
July 24, 2015
By
from Hernando County, FL
" The DDX750X was one of the best investments for my ranch shop I have made in some time. I had dozens of dull drill bits that have accumulated over the years. The main feature that made me decide on the 750 was the range of bit sizes it could sharpen. I wish there was a sharpener that could go even larger. The instructional video was extremely helpful in the learning curve. I especially like the 750's ability to make split cuts to all the bits. It is easy to change the grinding wheels (the video showed a different release screw than what came on my unit, but the action is the same). After sharpening 50+ bits of all sizes so far, the only thing that bothered me is that the depth adjustment screw loosens when in operation. There should be a better way to keep it tight. Maybe some blue thread lock will do the trick for me. Also the motor noise is quite loud. Ear covers are recommended. The old sharpened bits now cut into metal better than ever. Now all my neighbors are bring their bits over for sharpening. Great reason to get together! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Save the Drills

,
July 19, 2015
By
from Ventura County, Ca.
" This drill sharpener will save many drills over the years, I do my own auto work and gunsmithing along with general home maintenance and always using a drill for something. Easy to use, will re-condition a worn drill in minutes. Great addition to my small shop !!!!! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

LEARNING CURVE

,
May 30, 2015
By
from WARWICK, RI
" ONCE YOU GET THE HANG OF IT; THE TOOL IS VERY HANDY. NEED TO PIN IT DOWN TO DO THE 3/4" SIZE. SURELY OUT DOES HAND SHARPENING. WHICH I CAN DO VERY WELL. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Time & Money

,
May 23, 2015
By
from Morgan City, LA
" We repair tractor trailers, we go through a lot of drill bits. Hundreds in a week. It ain't cheep. We have cut down buying bits over half. We saved the price of the tool the first week. My word is take your time using this tool don't get in a hurry, good luck. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

flash

,
May 10, 2015
By
from Thomasville, NC
" This product rates a five stare for the price paid. It is not a professional product due to the use of plastic on some of its moving items. I worked at a manufacture in maintenance that had a drill it sharpener that cost over $2000.00 and gave about the same results as this Drill Doctor and would not even sharpen carbide without ordering a $400.00 wheel.
The Drill Doctor parts may wear out but as long as they offer replacement parts I will continue to keep it.
If you want a better drill bit sharpener pay $2000.00. The choice is yours.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drill Bit saver

,
May 3, 2015
By
from AZ
" This tool is perfect for getting the most from your drill bits as all you do is keep sharpening them and with the drill doctor it could not be easier. And the simple instructions are easy to follow and get the left hand bit adaptor it is well worth it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drill Doctor 750X

,
May 1, 2015
By
from St Petersburg, Florida
" As soon as I received my Drill Doctor, I read the manual and watched the video, then gathered up my bag of dull drill bits. The drill doctor sharpened every bit and I even split the bit with a few. The machine is very easy to use, precise, and should last a long time. Needless to say, I'm very very pleased and wish I had purchased one sooner. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Never sharpened drill bits before

,
April 30, 2015
By
from Jeddo, TX
" I've never sharpened drill bits before. I'm 65. The instructions were very simple and easy to follow. After I got started and saw how simple and easy it is, I was enjoying sharpening drill bits so much. I sharpened all I had stacked up and went to my storage shed and found some more to sharpen. The Drill Doctor 750X is a great tool. Every DIY needs one. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drill Bit Sharpenter

,
April 27, 2015
By
from Stanford, MT
" Great product and am glad I decided to purchase it as I have LOTS of bits that are in need of sharpening. This product will save me a lot of money in not having to purchase new bits because I can sharpen the ones I still have., "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

How to Start

,
April 14, 2015
By
from Perth, Western Australia
" This is the Drill Bit Sharpener that I wanted, but I got another one instead but the one that I did receive I decided to keep and not make a issue about it, It does not do any bits as large as 3/4 inch, in fact the largest it does is 1/2 inch, anyway, what's done is done and that's OK. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Drill Doctor does its thing

,
April 10, 2015
By
from Jefferson City, MO
" I never give excellent ratings; there is always room for improvement. The counting of half-rotations might be made easier with addition of a colored marking on the collar. In any case, the device is easy to use, with very good outcome. The final surfaces do not have a polished look as in a new bit. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drill Doctor

,
April 9, 2015
By
from Menominee, MI
" Helps me accurately sharpen bits that once took me more time than I liked. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Title is appropriate for this application.

,
April 1, 2015
By
from SOUTHEAST MISSOURI
" This product requires careful attention to setup bits for sharpening. The correct position for sharpening is critical and become more tedious as bit get smaller. Knowing how to categorize which type of bit you have either a 118 deg or 135 deg. I would like if instructions gave more examples of types of bits "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hot knife through butter

,
March 28, 2015
By
from Lakeport,CA
" After years of throwing dull drill bits into a box and saying some day I'll sharpen those bits some day finally came. I purchased a Drill Doctor watched the DVD that came with it and started sharping. After about an hour a had sharpened several bits and tried them out on several types of materials. Everything that I tried the freshly sharped bits on from, soft pine boards, to mild steel, cut cleanly and without effort . "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Job each time.

,
March 19, 2015
By
from Glenwood MN
" Great sharpener, very precised each time. down side motor is not to big, lugs down quickly. also i think for the quality of sharpening it does they should make the case out of something other then plastic. case seams flimsy but has not broken yet.. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Drill Doctor

,
March 5, 2015
By
from Greensboro, NC
" Initial use was not successful, in that, it did not sharpen the bits sufficiently. We are metal shop and have about 30 bits that I was hoping to get back to (close to) original sharpness and this product does sharpen but not enough to generate the shavings you normally see with a new bit. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does Exactly What It Says

,
February 20, 2015
By
from Florida
" This tool does exactly what the advertisement says. It quickly sharpens bits very precisely. They cut as good or better than when new. With a little practice setup is fast and easy. I also ordered the course diamond wheel for restoring broken bits. I needed a shorter than normal 27/64" bit for a setup in my cheap drill press. I cut about 1.5" off of the business end of a new bit with a cut-off wheel then resharpened it with the Drill Doctor in just a few minutes. The new point looked exactly like the original point. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drill Doctor MD#DD750X

,
January 17, 2015
By
from Santa Fe,NM
" I bought this Drill doctor because I have a lot of old
dull drill bits. I've only sharpened a few of them but
I now am convinced this is a great product , these bits
cut better than new bits.
I am sorry I didn't get It sooner.
.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handiest thing ever

,
January 9, 2015
By
from Houston, TX
" I've owned a Drill Doctor for many years. I never have a dull bit, now. Easy to use, works great. When I had a problem with my old unit I called the company and they told me how to fix the part in question. Even though I fixed the problem while on the phone with them, and even though my Drill Doctor was long out of warranty, they insisted on sending me a replacement part. That's customer service! My recent Drill Doctor purchase was a gift for a friend. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great investment and simple to master

,
January 1, 2015
By
from Southwick, Mass
" Like most people who like to work on stuff I too went through many drill bits over the years. I finally bought this tool and decided to sharpen all my old worn out drill bits. After the first two or three bits I had it figured out and zipped through sharpening around 50 drill bits ranging in sizes up to 5/8". This tool works like a charm and so simple to use. It takes less than a minute to sharpen a worn out drill bit including masonry drill bits. Who doesn't have a few worn out masonry bits? I sure did. Definitely worth the investment and with the replaceable diamond grinding wheels it is a no brainer in my opinion. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.