Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"

"FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"

Item# 1560930
"The Drill Doctor DD750X is a professional-level drill bit sharpener that is ideal for sharpening HSS, carbide, cobalt, titanium and masonry drill bits, including split points and the 135 bits used in drilling hardened metals. Sharpens split-point bits and creates split-points from standard bits. The included large chuck sharpens 3/4in. bits. U.S.A. Angle Sharpening deg. 115 to 140, Usage Professional level, Case Included Yes, Dimensions L x W x H in. 9 1/2 x 5 x 4 1/2, Wheel Diameter in. 1, HP 1/7, Machine Type Manual, Product Type Bit sharpeners, Max. RPM 20,000, Amps 1.75, Accepts Bits in. 3/32-3/4 in. dia., UL Listed Yes, Volts 110, Grit 180 diamond grit. Has the flexibility required to sharpen the largest range of drill or broken bits, including HSS, carbide, cobalt-coated, titanium-coated, split points and masonry bits Easy front-loading chuck Adjustable Material Take-Off MTO touches up dull bits or deep grinds damaged bits E-Z Align System assures correct sharpening alignment Variable Alignment lets you adjust chisel and relief angles Cast metal sharpening port for precision and durability"
Average Customer Rating:
4.74 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(96 Reviews) 96
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (96 reviews)
5 stars
78
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
93 of 96(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Review 1 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does Exactly What It Says

,
February 20, 2015
By RWAA
from Florida
" This tool does exactly what the advertisement says. It quickly sharpens bits very precisely. They cut as good or better than when new. With a little practice setup is fast and easy. I also ordered the course diamond wheel for restoring broken bits. I needed a shorter than normal 27/64" bit for a setup in my cheap drill press. I cut about 1.5" off of the business end of a new bit with a cut-off wheel then resharpened it with the Drill Doctor in just a few minutes. The new point looked exactly like the original point. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drill Doctor MD#DD750X

,
January 17, 2015
By ranjo
from Santa Fe,NM
" I bought this Drill doctor because I have a lot of old
dull drill bits. I've only sharpened a few of them but
I now am convinced this is a great product , these bits
cut better than new bits.
I am sorry I didn't get It sooner.
.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handiest thing ever

,
January 9, 2015
By Martyy
from Houston, TX
" I've owned a Drill Doctor for many years. I never have a dull bit, now. Easy to use, works great. When I had a problem with my old unit I called the company and they told me how to fix the part in question. Even though I fixed the problem while on the phone with them, and even though my Drill Doctor was long out of warranty, they insisted on sending me a replacement part. That's customer service! My recent Drill Doctor purchase was a gift for a friend. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great investment and simple to master

,
January 1, 2015
By Tpflyer
from Southwick, Mass
" Like most people who like to work on stuff I too went through many drill bits over the years. I finally bought this tool and decided to sharpen all my old worn out drill bits. After the first two or three bits I had it figured out and zipped through sharpening around 50 drill bits ranging in sizes up to 5/8". This tool works like a charm and so simple to use. It takes less than a minute to sharpen a worn out drill bit including masonry drill bits. Who doesn't have a few worn out masonry bits? I sure did. Definitely worth the investment and with the replaceable diamond grinding wheels it is a no brainer in my opinion. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Should have bought one ages ago.

,
December 31, 2014
By Mainecoast
from Maine
" I wasn't certain how the tool would work as many of these types of accessories fall in the "too good to be true" category. After watching the video and reading the instructions we set about to test it out. Do not think that you can use this without following the directions closely or you will have negative results.
Overall, after a few times of getting used to the setup, the drill bits were sharp and vastly so compared to a quick hand sharpening. Understand this product is excellent for sharpening your bits for use in wood and soft metals. Quick, easy and accurate. If you are running a machine shop, this is probably not for you except for your every day, run of the mill bits to be used in hand drills or drill press.
The only con is that if you wish to just dress the bit it will take some finesse on locating the depth of the bit in the chuck. The one size fits all approach to depth adjustment isn't perfect but you'll get the hang of it pretty quickly. Start at the minimum setting possible and then slight adjust the cutting depth in until you hear contact with the grinding wheel. A couple of more turns on the depth gauge and you'll take off the minimum amount of material.
The only other minor criticism that I would have is that the angle adjustment would be better served by having detents to lock into. We had the angle walk on us once before we figured out what was going on. Because you turn the chuck on the adjustment bracket there is force applied and if the set knob is not very tight the bracket will eventually wander on you resulting in uneven material being taken off the bit.
If you are a professional who uses bits regularly and need a tool for accurate and quick sharpening, to include a broken bit, this unit will save you aggravation form a dull bit and money from broken or dull bits. A great tool for the shop. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drill Doctor

,
December 21, 2014
By tatie9870
from illinois
" This drill doctor fits well in my workshop because I can keep all my drill bits in tip top shape without purchasing new drill bits. I previously had a smaller drill doctor that I wore out. I will highly recommend it the tool. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Drill Dr

,
December 19, 2014
By mhopper924
from Farmerville, LA
" Good product just slow about sharpening. If you have a drawer full of bits, set aside several hours. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Saving a bit.

,
November 13, 2014
By Needabit
from Richmond Va.
" This product was purchased for the sole purpose of saving me for buying another set. Used it on a couple and seemed to do a good job. So far I am happy with it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

cool

,
October 8, 2014
By 1happyuser
from loving nm
" this thing is great! makes excellent split points easy to use and very proffessional results. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great tool

,
September 9, 2014
By windtech
from pa
" for what it is, it works and works well. it is better than the old one i had that got stolen. they have gotten some what better "smaller" than the older ones. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drill Doctor Model# DD750X

,
August 10, 2014
By Brisco
from Pennsylvania
" Sharpening bits with this tool is easy and bits work like brand new. Instruction on how to use the tool ( written and the videos ) are easy to understand. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great

,
April 25, 2014
By solutions69
from Quincy , IL
" there is noting to say the price and every think was great "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best bit sharpener made, fast too!

,
April 23, 2013
By zombieprepared
from Largo, Florida
" After trying a few of the low end versions from other manufacturers that used low end flap disks, this is a much better model. Lots of power. Lots of size options(so you can do past 1/2" bits). Lots of versatility for sharpening bits of most every size. Even use it to sharpen titanium and cobalt bits which are notoriously difficult to keep sharp. I only wish I had bought this sharpener sooner as I've been throwing away bits for years without trying to sharpen them. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
12out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great tool

,
February 15, 2013
By bd4422
from Adamsville, Alabama
" I have look at this tool for some time, but I thought how good can it be, well I'll tell you it's best tool I've used, all of my drills are sharp now, I should have bought this along time ago. Hat off to drill doctor "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best tool for the money in my shop

,
October 20, 2012
By dbosley1
from Bonneau, SC.
" I have been watching this product for some time now.
I just wouldn't spend the money for it, but my wife did. For my birthday this year. I am so glad she did. I now wish I had bought years ago. This work as good if not better than any tool I have in my shop. So far I have lost count on the number of bits it has sharpened. The last total I had was about 125 dill bits from 1/8" to 3/4", and it can really sharpen a drill bit. By the way I use my bits on steel. Some wood, and other products, but mostly steel.
If you have been waiting just like I was. Just stop and buy one. It's worth every cent.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
16out of 31found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drill doctor

,
October 8, 2012
By DAPM37
from Waxhaw, NC
" Wow this machine is great! It will save me lots of time and money as I sharpen drill bits and reuse them. It took about 3 tries to get the hang of doing the sharpening correctly but it is really easy and basic. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drill DOC 750x

,
August 13, 2012
By Snydee97
from Glenmont, OH
" I like this product. easy to use. Follow instructions & it does a good job sharpening. I really like to split point option & Material removal adjustment. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
May 14, 2012
By Deuceowner
from Idaho
" Bought one of these for work and it is such a great product that I had to purchase one for myself. Easy to use and takes very little effort to bring those worn out bits back to cutting condition. Simple operation takes the guess work out of applying the correct angle. Would recommend this product to anyone needing to bring those old bits back to life. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
9out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Drill Doctor

,
May 7, 2012
By MrUhwah
from Southern Illinois
" This was a Great investment I have saved Hundreds of dollars resharpening bits that I would have thrown away in the past..Great Product Great Price. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener for Split-Point Bits - 3/32in. Dia. to 3/4in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD750X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

dd750x drill doctor

,
January 16, 2012
By lancer48
from Kansas City, Mo.
" I originally purchased the dd500 unit from a local retailer. When I realized that the chuck would only go to 1/2", and it would cost a good chunk of change to get the larger chuck, I just applied the difference toward the 750. This unit also has an adjustable depth cut. and adjustable angle. It has metal parts instead of plastic where it counts. Worth the difference if you have larger bits. The first day I probably sharpened 40 bits and it looked like a factory job. I have been sharpening bits by hand for years, and unless you do it every day, it is hard to get consistant results. no longer a problem. The video included made the process easy to understand. If I could change one thing, the 500 which is a very good unit should be offered with the 3/4" chuck. In fact, I am not quite sure why all the units would not come with the 3/4" chuck.I see no purpose for the 1/2" chuck except as a gimmick to get you to spend more money for a redundent accessory. I would also like to see a kit available with the left hand chuck, so I could purchase everything with a little savings. All in all a great tool. I have been skeptical for years about the drill doctor, but no more. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.