Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD350X"

"FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD350X"

Item# 1560960
"The Drill Doctor DD350X provides the homeowner, weekend craftsman or hobbyist with the sharpening power needed to restore dull bits and keep on working. The DD350X is an easy-to-use drill bit sharpener, ideal for the shop that uses the most common bit styles and works mainly in wood and light metals. This value-priced sharpener adds simplicity, stability and accuracy. U.S.A. Grit 180 diamond grit. On chuck alignment eliminates alignment port for simplified sharpening process V-block jaws eliminate jaw twisting on small bits Ergonomic low profile design for increased stability and less tool walking Permanent magnet motor produces consistent power regardless of speed or load Sharpens 3/32in. to 1/2in. drill bits Sharpens to a 118 point angle Sharpens high speed steel, carbide, TiN-coated and masonry bits Uses replaceable diamond sharpening wheel"
Average Customer Rating:
4.577 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (52 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
50 of 52(96%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD350X"
Review 1 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD350X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
January 12, 2016
By
from Dallas, Texas
Great for sharpening drill bits that are dull or worn out. Easy to use. Simple setup. Does what it promises.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD350X"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

works

,
January 11, 2016
By
from Lemmom S.D.
won't need to rebuy so many bits now that I have the drill doctor sharpner
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD350X"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Most useful tool

,
November 18, 2015
By
from New Mexico
The Drill Doctor is invaluable for those who care about saving money and yet always want to have the sharpest bits. I have a few problems lining up the bit properly in the drill holder but other than that it's a perfectly designed drill bit sharpener. Once you have sharpened all your bits and then get into the habit of sharpening them after using them you will never need to buy any new drill bits. Once I get the drill bit alignment issue resolved everything will be great.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD350X"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Drill doctor

,
October 22, 2015
By
from Grand Rapids MI
Watched the instruction video i know i'm doing this right wont sharpen enough to cut through 14 gauge steel. Not very happy with the purchase
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD350X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Old made new

,
October 21, 2015
By
from Sugar hill, ga
After purchasing this drill belt sharpener I was able to put back in service a ton of old bits that I was hanging on to and not able to use. Great addition to my tool chest.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD350X"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Drill Doctor

,
October 21, 2015
By
from Omaha, Ne
this sharpener is small and easy to transport. I use many different sizes of drill bits which will get dull quickly on certain types of materials. This machine allows me to resharpen them, saving a good deal of money, by not having to replace with new bits. Very easy to use and does a good job in a short period of time. I think it is great.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD350X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works

,
October 21, 2015
By
from Minneapolis
Works as advertised. Does sharpen without much effort and easy to use. Excellent price and will save dollars in bits. Wished I had purchased it earlier
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD350X"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Drill Doctor

,
April 3, 2015
By
from Tenn.
Great tool for the shop. Always wanted one, and this economy model made up my mind. I take care to not destroy my drill bits, but they eventually get dull. What really impressed me that was not mentioned in the description of the sharpener was the fact that the stone WILL SHARPEN COBALT bits.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD350X"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Drill Doctor DD350X

,
April 1, 2015
By
from Mass
The drill doctor was easy to set up and use. If you can not understand the written instructions they provide a DVD.
When you first use it it seems confusing but if you do what they say it all becomes obvious. When a drill is sharpened it is important that both sides are equal and this machine does a good job of that. I tried sizes from 1/8" to 3/8" with good result.
What I did not like was the finish of the grind, it appears too coarse in comparison to a new drill or even ones I have sharpened freehand on a grinder.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD350X"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

works well

,
March 26, 2015
By
from mo
Its made of plastic but seems durable. It takes a couple trys to figure it out, but works well A lot better than throwing dull bits away.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD350X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good drill bit sharpener.

,
March 26, 2015
By
from Kansas
I was looking at other sharpeners on other sites. I have had real good luck with what I have ordered from Northern Tool. Bought it, Used it, Very Happy with it.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD350X"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works on smaller bits

,
March 23, 2015
By
from San Carlos, Ca
The sharpener works for smaller drill bits, when I tried a
few bits larger than 7/16", it destroyed the taper on the tip.
The unit was supposed to work up to 1/2".
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD350X"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Drill Doctor

,
March 22, 2015
By
from Athens, GA
Simple to use. Great for every handyman's shop. After you read the instructions on proper alignment techniques, you're off to bringing your dull bits back to new condition. Saves money and saves frustration of trying to complete a task with a smoking, dull bit.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD350X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

WORKS GOOD

,
February 21, 2015
By
from WADSWORTH, IL
JUST FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS AND IT DOES THE JOB. ITS A LITTLE MORE TIME CONSUMING THAN I THOUGHT IT WOULD BE. BUT IT WILL PROBABLY GET EASIER WITH TIME AND USE. GOOD TOOL FOR THE PRICE. WILL SAVE ME LOTS OF MONEY ON LARGER DRILL BITS
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD350X"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good tool

,
January 6, 2015
By
from eastern shore va
not much on it being mostly plastic, but works good, takes a couple tries to get it when starting off.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD350X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good tool.

,
December 29, 2014
By
from Kansas
Bought this for my father in law for a Christmas gift. It's one of this items every shop should have if you do a lot of drilling.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD350X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

drill doctor

,
October 23, 2014
By
from wyoming
good equipment for small and medium bits. I would recommend for general shop use.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD350X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Money and time saver.

,
August 31, 2014
By
from Canon City CO
The Drill Doctor is super convenient because I can now resharpen dull bits in a flash. I am saving the cost,lost productivity and cash because runs to the store for bits are history.t
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD350X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

drill doctor 350

,
July 26, 2014
By
from virginia
Excellent product was shipped in a very good box. Easy instructions with dvd giving excellent instruction. Tested it on 3/32 dia drill to 1/2 inch drill -- got all my drills sharpened and back in shape which saved a lot of money. Easy to use and quick.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD350X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Surprised and Impressed

,
July 26, 2014
By
from Clayton, NC
I've seen these advertised for years and always wondered if they really work. This bottom of the model line tool was on sale with free shipping and I had a coupon for another $5 off, so I ordered one. When I first opened it up and saw that it looked like a cheap plastic imitation of a real tool, I thought I would probably try it out and then return it. Well, after watching the instruction video and figuring out the proper way to use it. It only takes a couple of tries before you get the feel of how to use it properly. I sharpened every old drill bit I owned. Within an hour, all the old dull bits that I couldn't use, but couldn't throw away either, were sharp and ready to use again. Why can't I throw that kinda stuff out? Anyway, with the minimal use I'll give it, this plastic encased diamond sharpening wheel should last me a lifetime. If you are a pro or heavy user of drill bits, I would spring for the higher priced and more durable models.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.