Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD350X"

"FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD350X"

Item# 1560960
"The Drill Doctor DD350X provides the homeowner, weekend craftsman or hobbyist with the sharpening power needed to restore dull bits and keep on working. The DD350X is an easy-to-use drill bit sharpener, ideal for the shop that uses the most common bit styles and works mainly in wood and light metals. This value-priced sharpener adds simplicity, stability and accuracy. U.S.A. Grit 180 diamond grit. On chuck alignment eliminates alignment port for simplified sharpening process V-block jaws eliminate jaw twisting on small bits Ergonomic low profile design for increased stability and less tool walking Permanent magnet motor produces consistent power regardless of speed or load Sharpens 3/32in. to 1/2in. drill bits Sharpens to a 118 point angle Sharpens high speed steel, carbide, TiN-coated and masonry bits Uses replaceable diamond sharpening wheel"
Average Customer Rating:
4.689 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (45 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
44 of 45(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD350X"
Review 1 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD350X"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Drill Doctor

,
April 3, 2015
By
from Tenn.
" Great tool for the shop. Always wanted one, and this economy model made up my mind. I take care to not destroy my drill bits, but they eventually get dull. What really impressed me that was not mentioned in the description of the sharpener was the fact that the stone WILL SHARPEN COBALT bits. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD350X"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Drill Doctor DD350X

,
April 1, 2015
By
from Mass
" The drill doctor was easy to set up and use. If you can not understand the written instructions they provide a DVD.
When you first use it it seems confusing but if you do what they say it all becomes obvious. When a drill is sharpened it is important that both sides are equal and this machine does a good job of that. I tried sizes from 1/8" to 3/8" with good result.
What I did not like was the finish of the grind, it appears too coarse in comparison to a new drill or even ones I have sharpened freehand on a grinder.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD350X"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

works well

,
March 26, 2015
By
from mo
" Its made of plastic but seems durable. It takes a couple trys to figure it out, but works well A lot better than throwing dull bits away. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD350X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good drill bit sharpener.

,
March 26, 2015
By
from Kansas
" I was looking at other sharpeners on other sites. I have had real good luck with what I have ordered from Northern Tool. Bought it, Used it, Very Happy with it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD350X"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works on smaller bits

,
March 23, 2015
By
from San Carlos, Ca
" The sharpener works for smaller drill bits, when I tried a
few bits larger than 7/16", it destroyed the taper on the tip.
The unit was supposed to work up to 1/2".
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD350X"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Drill Doctor

,
March 22, 2015
By
from Athens, GA
" Simple to use. Great for every handyman's shop. After you read the instructions on proper alignment techniques, you're off to bringing your dull bits back to new condition. Saves money and saves frustration of trying to complete a task with a smoking, dull bit. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD350X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

WORKS GOOD

,
February 21, 2015
By
from WADSWORTH, IL
" JUST FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS AND IT DOES THE JOB. ITS A LITTLE MORE TIME CONSUMING THAN I THOUGHT IT WOULD BE. BUT IT WILL PROBABLY GET EASIER WITH TIME AND USE. GOOD TOOL FOR THE PRICE. WILL SAVE ME LOTS OF MONEY ON LARGER DRILL BITS "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD350X"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good tool

,
January 6, 2015
By
from eastern shore va
" not much on it being mostly plastic, but works good, takes a couple tries to get it when starting off. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD350X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good tool.

,
December 29, 2014
By
from Kansas
" Bought this for my father in law for a Christmas gift. It's one of this items every shop should have if you do a lot of drilling. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD350X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

drill doctor

,
October 23, 2014
By
from wyoming
" good equipment for small and medium bits. I would recommend for general shop use. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD350X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Money and time saver.

,
August 31, 2014
By
from Canon City CO
" The Drill Doctor is super convenient because I can now resharpen dull bits in a flash. I am saving the cost,lost productivity and cash because runs to the store for bits are history.t "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD350X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

drill doctor 350

,
July 26, 2014
By
from virginia
" Excellent product was shipped in a very good box. Easy instructions with dvd giving excellent instruction. Tested it on 3/32 dia drill to 1/2 inch drill -- got all my drills sharpened and back in shape which saved a lot of money. Easy to use and quick. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD350X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Surprised and Impressed

,
July 26, 2014
By
from Clayton, NC
" I've seen these advertised for years and always wondered if they really work. This bottom of the model line tool was on sale with free shipping and I had a coupon for another $5 off, so I ordered one. When I first opened it up and saw that it looked like a cheap plastic imitation of a real tool, I thought I would probably try it out and then return it. Well, after watching the instruction video and figuring out the proper way to use it. It only takes a couple of tries before you get the feel of how to use it properly. I sharpened every old drill bit I owned. Within an hour, all the old dull bits that I couldn't use, but couldn't throw away either, were sharp and ready to use again. Why can't I throw that kinda stuff out? Anyway, with the minimal use I'll give it, this plastic encased diamond sharpening wheel should last me a lifetime. If you are a pro or heavy user of drill bits, I would spring for the higher priced and more durable models. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD350X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

drill doctor-mod# dd350x

,
July 18, 2014
By
from detroit
" I wish i would have found this tool years ago, i had 3 coffee cans full of drills that were dull and useless now i have 3 cans of sharp drills that i can use. I dont think i will ever have to buy another drill agin, great product "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD350X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Retired Chemist

,
July 9, 2014
By
from Utah
" Yes I like it. Finely I have a possibility to work with sharp bites. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD350X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Little Machine

,
June 6, 2014
By
from SoCal
" After reading the instructions, I found this Drill sharpener easy to use with very consistent results. I had a few bits that needed sharpening and rather than buying new bits, I bought this sharpener instead, and for about the same price.
After sharpening, I actually found that my bits performed better than when they were new. After comparing the sharpened bits to some brand new ones that were never used, I could see why... All of the sharpened bits now have a superior tip on them. Needless to say, I am very happy indeed. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD350X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth it!

,
February 5, 2014
By
from Arlington, VA
" Wow, watched the video and one weekend later I've recouped the cost of this device in resharpened bits. I had gotten bits from several different people and kept meaning to get around to sharpening them, but never did. Bought this cheaper of the WorkSharp devices and knocked them all out in a weekend. If I had to do it again, and I realized how many bits I owned, I would have gotten the more expensive model that also does split bits; didn't realize I had that many. This will also handle masonry bits. I'm not sure I would have figured out how to use it without watching the video. WorkSharp has a great line of products. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD350X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great drill sharpener

,
February 5, 2014
By
from Towanda, PA
" I've tried several different drill sharpeners on the market but have never been happy with any of them until I got the drill doctor. It's easy to use and works great. I've had it for several years now and it's still working great.. I highly recommend this product. Great value. Lots of bang for the buck. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD350X"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

works

,
April 23, 2013
By
from newport news, va
" bought this product and was a little scepticle as i have always sharpened my drill bits by hand on a bench grinder, but after sharpening my first bit with it, I am now a believer, where were these 20 years ago "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "FREE SHIPPING - Drill Doctor Drill Bit Sharpener - 3/32in. Dia. to 1/2in. Dia. Bits, Model# DD350X"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Dril Doctor

,
October 8, 2012
By
from Palo Alto, CA
" Good product. Works as advertised. Sharpens all sorts of drill bits. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-8points
4out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.