Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"

"FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"

Item# 156115
"The Work Sharp Knife & Tool Sharpener is an innovative abrasive belt sharpening system that combines flexible premium abrasive belts and precision sharpening guides to give you the sharpest blades with professional results. Two guides are included a 50 guide for hunting and outdoor knives 25 per bevel and a 40 guide for thinner blades and kitchen knives 20 per bevel. Professional knife makers use flexible belts to put a razor sharp edge on their blades, and now you can have the same technology at home to use anytime your knives get dull. Never before has a knife sharpener been able to quickly and easily sharpen this broad range of knives to such extremely sharp results. The Work Sharp Knife & Tool Sharpener is also able to sharpen other common tools including scissors, axes and hatchets, mower blades, garden shears, shovels, and most any tool with a blade. The versatility of the knife & tool sharpener makes it an invaluable tool for keeping all your blades in razor sharp condition and ready whenever you need them. U.S.A. Amps 0.7, Belt Size in. x in. 1/2 x 12, Grit 80, 220, 6000, On/Off Switch Yes, Product Type Sharpener, Volts 120, Speed RPM 3,600-4,000, Angle Sharpening deg. 40, 50. Patented belt technology conforms to the shape of any blade Sharpens not just straight bladed knives, but also curved knives, tanto blades, fillet knives, serrated knives, gut hooks and virtually any other shape of knife blade Sharpens other common tools including scissors, axes and hatchets, mower blades, garden shears, shovels, and most any tool with a blade Can be used to debur cut metal Uses precision angle sharpening guides to ensure that you get the proper angle every time Includes two guides a 50 guide for hunting and outdoor knives 25 per bevel and 40 guide for thinner blades and kitchen knives 20 per bevel"
Average Customer Rating:
4.799 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(214 Reviews) 214
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (214 reviews)
5 stars
184
4 stars
22
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
2
207 of 214(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 107 Answers
Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Review 1 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS

,
November 12, 2014
By Welder76
from Houston, Texas
"I bought this about 6 mo. ago, I have to said it will hold up too a lot of use. I sharpener even thing with it in my shop. The only thing i would suggest is you should buy extra belts if you are using in a shop. I sharper my home knife, leatherman as well ."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tool

,
November 12, 2014
By Gary3547
from Duluth, mn
"Ill admit it took a little practice to get the hang of it but now i use it to sharpen everything - including my wife's kitchen gear. I've yet to find a job this couldn't handle. Quick and easy to use. Great value. Great buy."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

work sharp

,
November 9, 2014
By blackj2021
from North Carolina
"Easiest sharpener I have ever used. Fast shipping."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
5out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Knife sharpener

,
November 8, 2014
By nascarfan13
from New Hartford, Ct
"I sharpened all of my wife's kitchen knives in less than 15 minutes then I sharpened all of my hunting knives.
I have since used the kitchen knives and they were very sharp. Easy to cut tomatoes and trim meat. This will be a tool that I will be using many times in the future.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS

,
November 7, 2014
By RZRboy
from California
"The Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS is fantastic. I too have tried many knife sharpeners. This is the one to purchase. Watch the DVD and practice and you will be amazed at how sharp your knife will be, It will do serrated too."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

mediocre at best

,
November 3, 2014
By jj123abc
from Montana
"Does not create a shave sharp edge in any type of blade... a little better than a standard pull through diamond sharpener but for the price difference not a good buy."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bought as a gift

,
October 31, 2014
By bdc1234
from Arkansas
"Purchased as a gift for a friend. He went through all the belts in less than a week. He literally sharpened everything he could get his hands on, even a couple of my hatchets. He loves it. New belts are pretty inexpensive and easily found nearby. I think I will get one next."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Work Sharp

,
October 27, 2014
By Jeffko
from Ketchikan, AK
"This tool works great. I use it to sharpen my skinning and fillet knives and it does the job fast quick and easy."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Sharp enough for me!

,
October 27, 2014
By NENCWizard
from Tarboro, NC
"I have never been able to sharpen anything with a stone or file to my liking. With this machine, I looked over the instructions, plugged it in, and in 5 minutes or less, I had a kitchen knife sharp enough to cut vegetables. In less than 30 minutes, I sharpened all of f my wife's kitchen knives. If you have ever used a belt sander, it is similar in function and easy to use. Changing belts is a snap and with a little experience, I think I can get the knives as sharp as anyone would want."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

be care full work great

,
October 25, 2014
By master44
from HOLLYWOOD FL
"work great pull knife slow it does all the work like razon watch your hand"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sharpening for Dummies!

,
October 24, 2014
By Theo98
from La, USA
"Simple, quick and with great results! The Work Sharp system got my used kitchen knife set (21pc.-20 deg.) and various "well used" pocket and hunting knives (14 total-25deg.) all easily cutting newspaper in under 2 hours. Now to me, they are not razor sharp (able to safely cut facial hair), but plenty sharp enough to shave arm hair! I've used stones, sharpening steels, diamond plates and ceramics in the past, but none gave me the consistent and fast edge results as the WS! Then I tried out the 65 degree scissor sharpening feature. Have 10 cheap well used sets hanging around the shop and house for the past 25 years, 6 very nice and expensive sewing\quilting\fabric sets that my spouse uses daily and 4 kitchen heavy duty bone crunching tools. Some had gotten to the point of not even being usable. Using just the medium 220 belt (same belt I used on the above 30+ knives), I made just 3 light passes on each edge and...WOW, what a remarkable improvement in effortless cutting and trimming. The edge on the cheaper scissors are better than when new and the quality material and kitchen sets are returned to their new factory cutting abilities...Thanks WS!
Overall, the design is very easy to get use to and I can see the sharpening process going even faster for future touch-ups. I can't comment on the long term durability of the sharpener (just got it ), but it runs smooth and quiet and appears to be well made. After 35 Knife, 40 Scissor edges and over 2 hrs. of sharpening, I wore out just one each of the 220 medium grit and 6000 fine grit belts (not bad for total reshaping all of those cutting tools).
My main issues in trying to achieve sharp edges in the past 40 years were "extreme time spent" and "keeping consistent angles". The WS cures both and currently, receives high recommendations from me!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener

,
October 23, 2014
By Wayne5
from SC
"Product works great. Sharpened my kitchen knives and pocket knives...Fast and Easy. They're all now razor sharp and will stay that way! I love this tool!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work Sharp Kinfe Sharpener

,
October 19, 2014
By stricklr
from Aberdeen, Ms.
"Great buy and product.Very easy to use;It sharpens every thing that I use from knifes,tools,blades,bush-hog blades,axes, and anything that needs an edge on it. The instructions are easy to understand and the DVD helps to understand how it works also. It is the best sharpener I've ever owned. I would recommend it to anyone."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

A lot of hype, but not much force

,
October 15, 2014
By hnoj64
from Mayfield, KY
"I read a lot of hype about this product, prior to buying it. However, I have gotten much sharper results from an oiled wetstone. I should have saved the money. I can only hope that with a lot of trial and error it can at least make a start to sharpening my knives."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good product

,
October 11, 2014
By britt1953
from NY
"good product but with a slight learning curve imo buy a cheap set of knives from dollar store to practice on before sharpening your pro set of knives"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed

,
October 10, 2014
By CHBjr
from Poconos
"When I first tried to use this I did 3 kitchen knives and was very pleased with it. The next time the spring loaded wheel would move slightly to the right and would rip the belts. Also, the little wheel for adjusting the belts is very hard, if not impossible to move. I toyed with it for a while and every time I thought it was ok it would revert back to being off. So I am very disappointed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I like it

,
October 6, 2014
By Rusty1227
from Wi.
"Could never get a good edge on my knives. This works really great. I now have sharp knives."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Almost a Must Buy

,
October 2, 2014
By razookelly
from tennessee
"I had wanted one of these since my brother sharpened my knife with his, several years ago. It always seemed like whenever I thought about it, I just didn't have the extra money. When Northern put it on sale and I had a $10 discount, it was finally time to get it. I carry a knife every single day and have been for the last 30 years or so. One thing I never got very good at was keeping my knives sharp. I found it tedious and not always rewarding. I've recently forced myself to learn proper sharpening and care techniques because I was tired of not always having a sharp knife on me. A knife is like any other tool - take care of it and it will take care of you. The Work Sharp Knife system is a great starting point. Like every other method of sharpening, it takes a little time and practice to get the most out of it. So, if you think you can buy this product and be a sharpening wiz right away, forget it. It is, however, worth the time to get it right. Working with curved blades can be tricky until you learn how to use this thing properly. The guide falls short of allowing you to finish a curved blade, so you have to finish drawing the blade through on your own. It doesn't take long to learn how to do it and is worth the effort. I strop my blades after using the Work Sharp and between uses to really get a fine edge. The Fine Grit Honing Belt doesn't really do the job. It's amazing what a piece of leather can do for you. Other than these things, I'm very happy with the Work Sharp system."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tool

,
October 2, 2014
By ChasD
from Garland Tx
"My wife loves this tool...she likes for me to keep her kitchen knives sharp....also her scissors. This sharpener is easy to use...just follow the directions and it does a great job."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Sharpener

,
September 22, 2014
By TheDudeist
from Leesville, LA
"I've used other sharpeners and this is by far the BEST. It's easy to use and effective. I've been able to put and keep a sharp edge on all my knives. I love this and recommend it to all my friends. But, not my enemies. I need their blades dull."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.