Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS

FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS

Item# 156115
The Work Sharp Knife & Tool Sharpener is an innovative abrasive belt sharpening system that combines flexible premium abrasive belts and precision sharpening guides to give you the sharpest blades with professional results. Two guides are included a 50 guide for hunting and outdoor knives 25 per bevel and a 40 guide for thinner blades and kitchen knives 20 per bevel. Professional knife makers use flexible belts to put a razor sharp edge on their blades, and now you can have the same technology at home to use anytime your knives get dull. Never before has a knife sharpener been able to quickly and easily sharpen this broad range of knives to such extremely sharp results. The Work Sharp Knife & Tool Sharpener is also able to sharpen other common tools including scissors, axes and hatchets, mower blades, garden shears, shovels, and most any tool with a blade. The versatility of the knife & tool sharpener makes it an invaluable tool for keeping all your blades in razor sharp condition and ready whenever you need them. U.S.A. Amps 0.7, Belt Size in. x in. 1/2 x 12, Grit 80, 220, 6000, On/Off Switch Yes, Product Type Sharpener, Volts 120, Speed RPM 3,600-4,000, Angle Sharpening deg. 40, 50. Patented belt technology conforms to the shape of any blade Sharpens not just straight bladed knives, but also curved knives, tanto blades, fillet knives, serrated knives, gut hooks and virtually any other shape of knife blade Sharpens other common tools including scissors, axes and hatchets, mower blades, garden shears, shovels, and most any tool with a blade Can be used to debur cut metal Uses precision angle sharpening guides to ensure that you get the proper angle every time Includes two guides a 50 guide for hunting and outdoor knives 25 per bevel and 40 guide for thinner blades and kitchen knives 20 per bevel
Average Customer Rating:
4.829 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(205 Reviews) 205
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (205 reviews)
5 stars
180
4 stars
18
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
1
199 of 205(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 106 Answers
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

be care full work great

,
October 25, 2014
By master44
from HOLLYWOOD FL
"work great pull knife slow it does all the work like razon watch your hand"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sharpening for Dummies!

,
October 24, 2014
By Theo98
from La, USA
"Simple, quick and with great results! The Work Sharp system got my used kitchen knife set (21pc.-20 deg.) and various "well used" pocket and hunting knives (14 total-25deg.) all easily cutting newspaper in under 2 hours. Now to me, they are not razor sharp (able to safely cut facial hair), but plenty sharp enough to shave arm hair! I've used stones, sharpening steels, diamond plates and ceramics in the past, but none gave me the consistent and fast edge results as the WS! Then I tried out the 65 degree scissor sharpening feature. Have 10 cheap well used sets hanging around the shop and house for the past 25 years, 6 very nice and expensive sewing\quilting\fabric sets that my spouse uses daily and 4 kitchen heavy duty bone crunching tools. Some had gotten to the point of not even being usable. Using just the medium 220 belt (same belt I used on the above 30+ knives), I made just 3 light passes on each edge and...WOW, what a remarkable improvement in effortless cutting and trimming. The edge on the cheaper scissors are better than when new and the quality material and kitchen sets are returned to their new factory cutting abilities...Thanks WS!
Overall, the design is very easy to get use to and I can see the sharpening process going even faster for future touch-ups. I can't comment on the long term durability of the sharpener (just got it ), but it runs smooth and quiet and appears to be well made. After 35 Knife, 40 Scissor edges and over 2 hrs. of sharpening, I wore out just one each of the 220 medium grit and 6000 fine grit belts (not bad for total reshaping all of those cutting tools).
My main issues in trying to achieve sharp edges in the past 40 years were "extreme time spent" and "keeping consistent angles". The WS cures both and currently, receives high recommendations from me!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener

,
October 23, 2014
By Wayne5
from SC
"Product works great. Sharpened my kitchen knives and pocket knives...Fast and Easy. They're all now razor sharp and will stay that way! I love this tool!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work Sharp Kinfe Sharpener

,
October 19, 2014
By stricklr
from Aberdeen, Ms.
"Great buy and product.Very easy to use;It sharpens every thing that I use from knifes,tools,blades,bush-hog blades,axes, and anything that needs an edge on it. The instructions are easy to understand and the DVD helps to understand how it works also. It is the best sharpener I've ever owned. I would recommend it to anyone."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

A lot of hype, but not much force

,
October 15, 2014
By hnoj64
from Mayfield, KY
"I read a lot of hype about this product, prior to buying it. However, I have gotten much sharper results from an oiled wetstone. I should have saved the money. I can only hope that with a lot of trial and error it can at least make a start to sharpening my knives."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good product

,
October 11, 2014
By britt1953
from NY
"good product but with a slight learning curve imo buy a cheap set of knives from dollar store to practice on before sharpening your pro set of knives"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointed

,
October 10, 2014
By CHBjr
from Poconos
"When I first tried to use this I did 3 kitchen knives and was very pleased with it. The next time the spring loaded wheel would move slightly to the right and would rip the belts. Also, the little wheel for adjusting the belts is very hard, if not impossible to move. I toyed with it for a while and every time I thought it was ok it would revert back to being off. So I am very disappointed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I like it

,
October 6, 2014
By Rusty1227
from Wi.
"Could never get a good edge on my knives. This works really great. I now have sharp knives."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Almost a Must Buy

,
October 2, 2014
By razookelly
from tennessee
"I had wanted one of these since my brother sharpened my knife with his, several years ago. It always seemed like whenever I thought about it, I just didn't have the extra money. When Northern put it on sale and I had a $10 discount, it was finally time to get it. I carry a knife every single day and have been for the last 30 years or so. One thing I never got very good at was keeping my knives sharp. I found it tedious and not always rewarding. I've recently forced myself to learn proper sharpening and care techniques because I was tired of not always having a sharp knife on me. A knife is like any other tool - take care of it and it will take care of you. The Work Sharp Knife system is a great starting point. Like every other method of sharpening, it takes a little time and practice to get the most out of it. So, if you think you can buy this product and be a sharpening wiz right away, forget it. It is, however, worth the time to get it right. Working with curved blades can be tricky until you learn how to use this thing properly. The guide falls short of allowing you to finish a curved blade, so you have to finish drawing the blade through on your own. It doesn't take long to learn how to do it and is worth the effort. I strop my blades after using the Work Sharp and between uses to really get a fine edge. The Fine Grit Honing Belt doesn't really do the job. It's amazing what a piece of leather can do for you. Other than these things, I'm very happy with the Work Sharp system."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tool

,
October 2, 2014
By ChasD
from Garland Tx
"My wife loves this tool...she likes for me to keep her kitchen knives sharp....also her scissors. This sharpener is easy to use...just follow the directions and it does a great job."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Sharpener

,
September 22, 2014
By TheDudeist
from Leesville, LA
"I've used other sharpeners and this is by far the BEST. It's easy to use and effective. I've been able to put and keep a sharp edge on all my knives. I love this and recommend it to all my friends. But, not my enemies. I need their blades dull."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener

,
September 4, 2014
By 2006JP
from East Texas
"Tool was easy to setup and use. Getting a good edge does take some practice but after picking the angle to use within minutes dull knifes had a good edge. Sharpened every knife in the house."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product

,
August 13, 2014
By Unit70
from Ky
"Super fast sharpening with excellent edge. Takes a bit of practice to become proficient.
Belts do seem to wear fairly quickly but easily replaced and not overly expensive.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product !!!!

,
August 13, 2014
By melflood
from Benton, KY
"I bought this for my husband after he had seen it on an infomercial. He LOVES it. The price was better at Northern and I also ordered some replacement belts for future use. He has sharpened everything in sight. He says you can't make a mistake. His knives have never been sharper and I can say the same about my scissors. He said that to accomplish the same sharp edge on his knives used to take forever using a stone--now he can sharpen practically anything in just minutes. Thanks for a great product and I have already told a co-worker about this product and he bought one too."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product

,
August 7, 2014
By 67Larry
from Brewton, Al
"Used on the kitchen knives - put a really sharp edge on all 30 of them.
Out to the shed - sharpened clippers, saws, shovels and hoe. Excellent edge and much faster than my grinder.
Out to the barn - put a true sharp edge on mowers
Would recommed this product. Easy to change belts and use this product."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS

,
August 7, 2014
By ArchersFriend
from Texas
"Read the instructions and watch the video maybe twice. Then start sharpening. Fast and easy and safe."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quick Sharpener

,
August 3, 2014
By Quickdraw
from New Jersey
"The amount of time it took to sharpen my knives was impressive. I enjoyed using this hassle free tool. I’m now thinking of upgrading to it’s brother sharpener, WSKTS-KO."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Product

,
July 26, 2014
By JDM63
from Springfield, Ohio
"I have never been able to effectively sharpen a knife. Despite years of practice and numerous honing stones, I could just never get the angles and rhythm right. So, out of frustration I bought this product and can say with great confidence that it is one of the best tools that I have ever purchased. I read through the manual for approximately twenty minutes, did about 5 minutes of practicing, and then I went to work on a cheap low quality set of house scissors. WOW! I literally could shave the hair from my forearm with ease. Never, ever have I been able to do that! After one month of use I have sharpened virtually every set of scissors, pocket knife, field knife, and every kitchen knife. All of them one could shave with. So, yes, to all that are reading this, I highly recommend this tool. You will not be disappointed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

makes me look good

,
July 18, 2014
By wond444
from east tawas ,mich
"the sharpener works about the best i have ever seen. i'm not the greatest knife sharpener around but this one does the best job .......pretty much foolproof"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for FREE SHIPPING - Work Sharp Knife and Tool Sharpener, Model# WSKTS
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful household tool

,
July 17, 2014
By BobbyB2
from Sanger, TX
"Got it out of the box, read instructions, followed them and my fillet knife will shave your arm. Son used it and we sharpened everything in the home. I would recommend this product to anyone that needs sharp knives."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.